Sunday, September 30, 2012

Wicked Business by Janet Evanovich

janet evanovich - wicked businessWicked Business by Janet Evanovich

Book Stats:
Genre: Paranormal
Reading level: Adult
Hardcover: 299 pages
Publisher: Random House
Release date: June 19, 2012

Series: Lizzy and Diesel #2

Source: Library

Reviewed by: Stéphanie

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

When Harvard University English professor and dyed-in-the-wool romantic Gilbert Reedy is mysteriously murdered and thrown off his fourth-floor balcony, Lizzy and Diesel take up his twenty-year quest for the Luxuria Stone, an ancient relic believed by some to be infused with the power of lust. Following clues contained in a cryptic nineteenth-century book of sonnets, Lizzy and Diesel tear through Boston catacombs, government buildings, and multimillion-dollar residences, leaving a trail of robbed graves, public disturbances, and spontaneous seduction.

As a huge fan of the Stephanie Plum novels (I promise, it has nothing to do with the fact that I share the same name with the main character), I was overjoyed a couple years ago when I heard Janet Evanovich was coming out with a paranormal series. To combine the wit and the comedy of Stephanie Plum with paranormal stuff, it had the makings of a great series. To tell you the truth, I was satisfied with the first installment but this sequel, WICKED BUSINESS, left me a bit disappointed.

Don’t get me wrong. All the comedy and sarcasm you could ask for was included in this novel but I think, what I didn’t enjoy, is the actual story itself. At times, it felt as if the story had no true storyline, like a scavenger hunt branching out into a dozen different paths. Of course, that might have been Janet’s way of keeping her readers on their toes, but personally, all it did for me is kind of annoy me. Characters were popping out here and there, sometimes being nice and sometimes being evil. It was kind of hard to make up my mind about some of them when I didn’t know if I should hate them or if I should pity them. The characters’ goal of finding the Luxuria Stone (one of the seven stone representing the seven deadly sins) is quite obvious but it’s the hodgepodge of scenes on their quest to find the stone that I didn’t enjoy. Most of the scenes, on their own were enjoyable but the flow between them was just too fast and seemed unplanned.

What saved the book is the setting and the eccentric characters. To set a paranormal novel in Salem, Massachusetts, is quite gutsy, because really, who would want to be that stereotypical and cliché? But since Janet Evanovich’s writing style is all about the clichés, the setting actually works to her advantage. The small town feel and the cozy New England imagery is perfect, and of course, it includes all the awesome eccentric townies. Glo, one of my favorite characters in the series, is simply awesome because one of her aspirations in life is to be like Harry Potter. How can you beat that? And the two main characters, Lizzy and Diesel are just great together, even if they can’t sleep with each other because that would risk one of them losing their paranormal powers. Their hilarious banter and chemistry makes them the perfect couple, even if Lizzy is reluctant to have Diesel sleep in her house. Oh, and beware of the monkey. The things he does will have you laughing for sure!

I will definitively continue reading this series, just to meet with the characters again. Even if the storyline of WICKED BUSINESS wasn’t my favorite, I do think this series is worth checking out. I’m hoping the next story will be more enjoyable and since you can’t go wrong with this type of comedy, I’m sure Janet Evanovich will keep making me laugh with whatever she come out with next. The author has a very unique style that is obvious in everything she writes and, after years of enjoying her novels, its has kept me coming back for more.

Read an excerpt

0stephsig

Saturday, September 29, 2012

Stacking The Shelves [23]

STSmall_thumb[2]

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

Guidelines:

  • Create your own Stacking The Shelves post. You can use my official graphic or your own, but please link back to Tynga’s Reviews so more people can join the fun!

  • You can set your post any way you want, simple book list, covers, pictures, vlog, sky is the limit!

  • I am posting Stacking The Shelves on Saturdays, but feel free to post yours any day that fits you.

  • Visit Tynga’s Reviews on Saturday and add your link so others can visit you!

  • Visit other participants link to find out what they added to their shelves!

If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!

------------------

AHHH! It’s already Saturday! How did that happen?

I’ve been so busy this week between doctor visit, getting a new apartment and trading in our car for a newer one, one that’s big enough for Lily-Ann’s car seat (!), that I didn’t realize it was already Saturday. Thus I haven’t asked one of the girls to show their books (because I didn’t get any), and have nothing to show you Sad smile

My apologies!!

Now please show me what YOU added to your shelves this week!

tynsig_thumb[1]_thumb

Friday, September 28, 2012

Kiss of Steel blog tour: Interview with Bec McMaster + giveaway!

We have an exciting visitor today: debut author Bec McMaster! She's the mind behind a new steampunk romance series; the first book, KISS OF STEEL, was released at the start of the month. She's stopped by Tynga's Reviews to chat about KISS OF STEEL and her publishers have graciously offered up a giveaway copy for one lucky reader.

Keep reading to get to know Bec and the world of her London Steampunk series!

-------------------------

Hi, Bec, and welcome to Tynga's Reviews! To start, can you tell us a little bit about the world you've created for your London Steampunk series?

Bec McMaster Kiss of SteelHi! And thank you for the welcome!

Kiss of Steel is set in a world where the Echelon rules London; blue bloods who are afflicted with a virus that makes them crave human blood. Faster, almost immortal and terribly dangerous. Humans are considered a lesser class, existing only to serve and below them are the mechs – those forced by circumstance to take a metal limb or organ and considered less than human. Into this world comes Honoria Todd, with a secret that could change the very social structure of London. On the run from a duke who would kill to get his hands on her secret, the only one she can turn to is Blade, the notorious Devil of Whitechapel – and one of the very creatures she despises.

So far, we've met blue bloods (who can eventually turn into vampires) and verwulfen. Are there other supernatural beings in the London Steampunk world? Can we expect to encounter different beings or creatures in future installments?

There will be creatures, but whether they are supernatural, mechanical or human is something I might keep to myself. There is so much to explore in the blue blood and verwulfen worlds that I doubt I will delve too deeply into other supernatural tropes, but that’s not to say never. I know where the main arc is going, but my best writing occurs when I let surprises pop up.

Did you do any research for Blade's accent? Was it challenging to write in dialect?

The funny thing is, Blade came to me almost fully formed and that was simply how he spoke. I could almost hear him in my ear, whispering in that distinctive dialect. Of course, there was a lot of slang I researched, but the majority of it was simply Blade. I didn’t find it challenging at all, though a few of the other characters speak the same dialect and I had to work at them a little bit more.

One of the ideas you introduce in KISS OF STEEL is the possibility of a vaccine that saves people from being infected with the virus that turns them into blue bloods. Will we see more of this science in future novels?

Yes. Though the effects of it won’t be felt for a little while. Blade’s not about to let it become common knowledge – for protective reasons – and it’s the sort of thing that might change the entire structure of the world.

If you only had seven words to describe KISS OF STEEL, what would you say?

Dangerous dukes, devilish rogues and blue-stocking heroine.

What inspired you to write steampunk and paranormal romance?

I love it. Pure and simple. But the main inspiration was this world where there was an entire aristocratic class comprised of blood-drinkers, almost like the ton, but paler. And far more dangerous. For any writer, most ideas are sparked by asking questions about that hint of inspiration. How could this ruling class hold their power? What is the history behind it? And what does the future hold for them? From this, the steampunk elements sprang up.

What are your favourite aspects of steampunk fashion?

Honestly, I spend far too much time trawling the internet for Victorian fashions. I do love corsets though. I’ve always had a fascination with them, and there are some amazing examples out there. Something in leather… with brass buttons. That’s the type of steampunk fashion I adore. Or maybe parasols. Especially lacy ones.

Why do you think steampunk (specifically steampunk romance) has exploded in recent years?

I hesitate to call steampunk a genre on its own, as I think it “corrupts” a lot of other genres and that is the appeal. For example, most readers will find strong paranormal romance elements in Kiss of Steel, and it can appeal to readers of historical romance as well. Also, it’s so much fun. It’s sexy and it’s unique. For those who are fed up with the same-old, it’s a breath of fresh air.

Thanks very much for visiting us as part of your blog tour, Bec!

Thank you so much for having me!

-------------------------

More about KISS OF STEEL:

Bec McMaster Kiss of SteelA brilliantly creative debut where vampires, werewolves, and clockwork creatures roam the mist–shrouded streets of London…

When Nowhere is Safe…

Most people avoid the dreaded Whitecapel district. For Honoria Todd, it's the last safe haven. But at what price?

Blade is known as the master of the rookeries—no one dares cross him. It's been said he faced down the Echelon's army single–handedly, that ever since being infected by the blood–craving he's been quicker, stronger, and almost immortal.

When Honoria shows up at his door, his tenuous control comes close to snapping. She's so…innocent. He doesn't see her backbone of steel—or that she could be the very salvation he's been seeking.

Jenn's thoughts

Read an excerpt

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

-------------------------

giveaway

To enter the giveaway, fill out the Rafflecopter form below.

US/Canada only

Ends Thursday, October 11, 2012

a Rafflecopter giveaway

-------------------------

Bec McMasterAward-winning author Bec McMaster lives in a small town in Australia and grew up with her nose in a book. A member of RWA, she writes sexy, dark paranormals and steampunk romance. When not writing, reading, or poring over travel brochures, she loves spending time with her very own hero or daydreaming about new worlds.

Website | Facebook | Twitter

Jenn

Kiss of Steel by Bec McMaster

Kiss of Steel by Bec McMaster Kiss of Steel by Bec McMaster

Book stats:
Reading level: Adult
Mass market paperback: 448 pages
Genre: Steampunk
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Release date: September 1, 2012

Series: London Steampunk #1

Source: Personal shelf

Reviewed by: Jenn

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

A brilliantly creative debut where vampires, werewolves, and clockwork creatures roam the mist–shrouded streets of London…

When Nowhere is Safe…

Most people avoid the dreaded Whitecapel district. For Honoria Todd, it's the last safe haven. But at what price?

Blade is known as the master of the rookeries—no one dares cross him. It's been said he faced down the Echelon's army single–handedly, that ever since being infected by the blood–craving he's been quicker, stronger, and almost immortal.

When Honoria shows up at his door, his tenuous control comes close to snapping. She's so…innocent. He doesn't see her backbone of steel—or that she could be the very salvation he's been seeking.

I've been looking forward to this book for quite some time. The cover is absolutely gorgeous, even if the lady's outfit is far too scandalous for the period. Between the amazing cover and the cover copy, I knew that I had to pre-order KISS OF STEEL! And once it arrived, I dived right in.

I really like the world that Bec McMaster has created. In fact, it's probably my favourite part of the novel! The author brings a different take on the supernatural, with many of the upper class (the Echelon) being infected with a virus that makes them crave human blood. These blue bloods are faster than humans and nearly immortal. If their counts get too high, however, they succumb to their bloodlust and becoming rampaging killing machines. The blue bloods tend to be choosy about who they infect but sometimes non-nobles get infected, like Blade, the Devil of Whitechapel and the male romantic lead in KISS OF STEEL. Honoria Todd, our heroine, has only recently entered Blade's domain, after her father, a man of science, was murdered by a blue blood, who hunts for Honoria and her two siblings. This world is also inhabited by verwulfen and mechs, who have metal parts and are considered the lowest class, making KISS OF STEEL a very engaging read. I love books that blend genre elements and KISS OF STEEL has a little bit of everything: there's steampunk, paranormal romance, mystery, and more!

Honoria was a great main character. I empathized with her from the start and was really rooting for her. She has a lot of adversity but she makes the most of her situation. I also liked that she's smart and tries to figure out the best way to survive her situation. I'm not a fan of helpless heroines who wait for people to take care of them and Honoria is very independent, even in a setting where keeping her independence is a challenge, particularly in a Victorian era.

In contrast, I wasn't as keen on Blade. He's got an interesting history and I really enjoyed his relationship with Honoria but I couldn't get behind him 100% because of the fact that his speech is written in dialect. The author's done a nice job of it, and uses the presence or absence of Blade's Cockney accent to tell you whether he's in control of himself or not (which was a great device), but the linguist in me always gets nervous when people decide to write in dialect, especially when it's not their native variety. For me, it's distracting. I don't know if other people have the same problem but it's just one of those things that I'm hyperaware of, no matter how well it's done.

On the whole, however, I very much enjoyed KISS OF STEEL. The romance is steamy, the world really captured my imagination, and Bec McMaster has me desperate for more! There are ideas that were left unresolved and I hope they'll be discussed in the next book, which features secondary characters from KISS OF STEEL.

Read an excerpt

Jenn

Thursday, September 27, 2012

Daring You to Read… Strange Angels by Lili St-Crow

0daringyou_thumb[2]

Daring You To Read is a weekly feature here on Tynga’s Reviews where we dare you to read some of our favorite older releases (at least 6 months old). All the books/series we choose to feature are titles we adored and think you should give them a shot! We think it’s a super awesome way to discover that special book who might have slipped off your radar!

You’ve already read the book? Let’s us know what you thought!
You are accepting the dare? We’d love to know!
Have a dare of your own? Leave a comment ^^

This week I am daring you to read a really strong YA series, the Strange Angels series by Lili St-Crow a.k.a. Lilith Saintcrow!

The Strange Angels series has a strong Supernatural (the TV show) vibe, with a YA twist that really got me hooked from the beginning. Now that the series is over, it’s a great opportunity for you to read it all without suffering the torture of awaiting the next instalment. Lilith Saintcrow delivers an action-packed series with strong characters that will definitely appeal to YA lovers. All fun and spunk without a sorry-for-herself weepy heroine, much better than so many YA series out there!

Strange Angels (Strange Angels, #1)

 

In Strange Angels, Dru Anderson has what her grandmother called “the touch.” (Comes in handy when you’re traveling from town to town with your dad, hunting ghosts, suckers, wulfen, and the occasional zombie.) Then her dad turns up dead—but still walking—and Dru knows she’s next. Even worse, she’s got two guys hungry for her affections, and they’re not about to let the fiercely independent Dru go it alone. Will Dru discover just how special she really is before coming face-to-fang with whatever—or whoever— is hunting her?

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

 

Betrayals (Strange Angels, #2)Jealousy (Strange Angels, #3)Defiance (Strange Angels, #4)Reckoning (Strange Angels, #5)


So, will you take the dare?

tynsig

Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Personal News!

Hello guys!

I just wanted to let you know that I’ll be moving within the next month, so I might be a bit quite for the next month or two. Don’t worry though, Tynga’s Reviews will still be very active with Lili, Jenn & Steph contributing. I should also be able to post my regular weekly review, so really… you might not even notice I'm missing LOL.

I’m moving into a 3 bedroom apartment, with no upstairs neighbour (CHEERS), closer to my mom’s place (she’ll babysit when i get back to work). SO it’s all for the best, but I have to admit I'm a little bit nervous, we signed the lease just a few hours ago!

tynsig_thumb[1]_thumb

Spark by Brigid Kemmerer

Spark by Brigid Kemmerer

Book Stats:
Genre: Fantasy
Reading level: Young Adult
ARC: 345 pages
Publisher: K Teen
Release date: August 28, 2012

Series: Elemental #2

Source: ARC sent by Publisher

Reviewed by: Lili

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

Gabriel Merrick plays with fire. Literally.

Sometimes he can even control it. And sometimes he can’t. Like the fire that killed his parents.

Gabriel has always had his brothers to rely on, especially his twin, Nick. But when an arsonist starts wreaking havoc on their town, all the signs point to Gabriel. Only he’s not doing it.

More than Gabriel’s pride is at stake -- this could cost him his family, maybe his life. And no one seems to hear him. Except a shy sophomore named Layne, a brainiac who dresses in turtlenecks and jeans and keeps him totally off balance. Layne understands family problems, and she understands secrets. She has a few of her own.

Gabriel can’t let her guess about his brothers, about his abilities, about the danger that’s right at his heels. But there are some risks he can’t help taking.

The fuse is lit…

I had incredibly high expectations for this novel because I loved its prequel so much, so I’m beyond happy to report that Kemmerer completely blew me away with this one. As much as I loved its prequel, SPARK was even better than STORM. This series promises to continue getting better and better. After all, we’re talking about a boy with an affinity for fire. How could this book not be hot?

I don’t even know where to begin with this review! This book focuses on a different Merrick brother, Gabriel. He’s so used to doing everything with his calm, level-headed twin named Nick. But Nick develops a sudden interest in a girl, so Gabriel is feeling more alone than ever. He inadvertently seeks friendship in a brainy sophomore named Layne before realizing that there’s a lot more to her than what he originally thought. And she stands right beside him as both of their worlds slowly spiral out of control as an arsonist begins to attack their town.

It was really interesting to watch Gabriel’s character development. If you read the first book, which I now insist you do, you’ll know that he’s arrogant, though his family is very important to him. While Nick would be the one beating girls off with a stick, Gabriel would be the one welcoming their advances and egging them on. But in this book, we learn a lot more about his character and realize that first impressions aren’t always true. He’s deep and complicated in ways I never would have imagined. And most importantly, he was lonely and dissatisfied with his life. He wanted to find a way to help others, but never could because the fire that fueled him was uncontrollable.

The other characters in the book--all the same with the addition of Layne, her family, and her tormentors--grew exponentially. Their development is promising and I’m eager to see what else we’ll learn about them in the next book in the series. Since it picks up only days after the prequel ended, the series was easy to follow and you could easily appreciate the plot developments.

This book will satisfy anybody who picks it up. It has a really nice romance, an amazing plot, a slight mystery, family bonding, family troubles, and an amazingly hot male lead to tie it all together. It’ll make you beg that the May 2013 release date for SPIRIT get moved up.  Though Hunter clearly is not a Merrick brother, Kemmerer still has me on the edge of my seat begging for more.

Read an Excerpt 

 

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

"When I'm not writing..." with Gina Damico + giveaway!

Gina Damico

Today's guest is Gina Damico, author of CROAK and SCORCH, YA novels about a teenage reaper named Lex Bartleby. She's currently doing a real life blog tour around the eastern half of the United States (!) but she's graciously made time to join us in the virtual world to tell us what she does when she's not working on her next story.

Do you want to know what Gina does when she's not writing? Well then, you better stick around! And don't forget to enter the giveaway for a signed copy of SCORCH!

WINW_logo

When I'm not writing, I'm keeping busy somehow or other, no matter what. If I'm not being productive in some way, I feel like a useless lump, and then I get cranky, and then I yell at my cat, and then the entire situation devolves into a feline staredown, and there's just no way I'm winning that.

So, productive it is. Here is a list of ways that I keep busy:

1. I market. Writing is fun and all, and I wish I could do it all the time, but these books have got to sell, sell, sell, baby. Or get checked out of the library, checked out of the library, checked out of the library, baby. However they're read, people aren't just going to wake up one day with the idea that they should read this book they've never heard of, and so it's (partially) my job to get the word out there about it. So I blog, I make swag, I do these lovely blog interviews. One of these days I'll get a sandwich board made and take to the streets.

2. I crochet or knit. Yes, I'm one of these nerds. I knit garments, and I crochet all sorts of things - including this little grim and other kinds of monsters and freaks of nature. You should see my yarn stash. It's embarrassing.

3. I travel. I'm writing this from a hotel room in Chicago, where I have stopped on my big Slapdash Road Trip Book Tour. I'm driving from Boston, MA to Austin, TX and then back again - in part to accomplish a bit of #1 - but mostly because I realized I'd never been on a road trip before and wanted to see some more of the country through the windows of a poo-colored rental car. So far I have determined that Ohio has a lot of farmland, Indiana has a lot of Amish, and hotels have a lot of crappy coffee that I will suck down regardless of their taste or ability to perk up.

Reaper Madness banner

4. I watch TV. A lot of it. Less than I used to, but still enough for me to feel guilty that I'm wasting my life away.

5. I deal with the puppy. My husband and I rescued a dog a few months ago, and he was only three months at the time, and HOO BOY puppies are a lot of work. I do a fair amount of following him around the house, hoping and praying that he's not going to start peeing everywhere. This, one might argue, is the least productive thing of anything on this list, and that would be correct. I can't tell you how many times this summer I've had to stop working on my third book just to get up, drag the dog outside, and lovingly coax some bodily fluid out him. Quite a talent, that.

Thanks for having me, and happy reaping reading!

---------------------------------

Thanks for visiting, Gina, and good luck on the book tour!

For more information about Gina and her books, check out her website or follow her on Facebook and Twitter.

---------------------------------

Here's the scoop on SCORCH (coming October 25):

Gina Damico ScorchSixteen-year-old Lex Bartleby is a teenage grim reaper with the bizarre ability to Damn souls. That makes her pretty scary, even to fellow Grims. But after inadvertently transferring her ability to Zara, a murderous outlaw, Lex is a pariah in Croak, the little town she calls home. To escape the townspeople’s wrath, she and her friends embark on a wild road trip to DeMyse. Though this sparkling desert oasis is full of luxuries and amusements, it feels like a prison to Lex. Her best chance at escape would be to stop Zara once and for all—but how can she do that from DeMyse, where the Grims seem mysteriously oblivious to Zara’s killing spree?

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

You should also check out CROAK, the first book in the series:

Gina Damico CroakSixteen-year-old Lex Bartleby has sucker-punched her last classmate. Fed up with her punkish, wild behavior, her parents ship her off to upstate New York to live with her Uncle Mort for the summer, hoping that a few months of dirty farm work will whip her back into shape. But Uncle Mort’s true occupation is much dirtier than that of shoveling manure.

He’s a Grim Reaper. And he’s going to teach her the family business.

Lex quickly assimilates into the peculiar world of Croak, a town populated entirely by reapers who deliver souls from this life to the next. Along with her infuriating yet intriguing partner Driggs and a rockstar crew of fellow Grim apprentices, Lex is soon zapping her Targets like a natural born Killer.

Yet her innate ability morphs into an unchecked desire for justice—or is it vengeance?—whenever she’s forced to Kill a murder victim, craving to stop the attackers before they can strike again. So when people start to die—that is, people who aren’t supposed to be dying, people who have committed grievous crimes against the innocent—Lex’s curiosity is piqued. Her obsession grows as the bodies pile up, and a troubling question begins to swirl through her mind: if she succeeds in tracking down the murderer, will she stop the carnage—or will she ditch Croak and join in?

Christine's thoughts

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

---------------------------------

giveaway

Gina is generously offering one (1) lucky reader a signed copy of SCORCH!

To enter the giveaway, obey the Rafflecopter!

US only

Ends Monday, October 8, 2012

a Rafflecopter giveaway

---------------------------------

Do you guys have suggestions for who you’d like to see featured on the blog? If so, you can make your suggestions on this page. No guarantees that your favorite authors will be able to participate but we’ll try!

Authors, would you like to visit and share with us? Please email me at jennblogs (at) gmail (dot) com and we’ll set it up!

Jenn

Monday, September 24, 2012

Lethal Rider by Larissa Ione

Lethal Rider (Lords of Deliverance, #3)Lethal Rider by Larissa Ione

Book Stats:
Reading level: Adult
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Mass Market Paperback: 464 pages
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Release date: June 1, 2012

Series: Lords of the Underworld #3

Reviewed by: Tynga

Source: Personal shelf

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

Thanatos, the most deadly Horseman of the Apocalypse, has endured thousands of years of celibacy to prevent the end of days. But just one night with the wickedly sexy Aegis Guardian, ReganCooper, shatters centuries of resolve. Yet their passion comes with a price. And Thanatos must face a truth more terrifying than an apocalypse-he's about to become a father.
Demon-slayer Regan Cooper never imagined herself the maternal type, but with the fate of the world hanging in the balance she had no choice but to seduce Thanatos and bear his child. Now, as the final battle draws closer and his rage at being betrayed is overshadowed by an undeniable passion for the mother of his child, Thanatos has a life-shattering realization: To save the world, he must sacrifice the only thing he's ever wanted-a family.

What an amazing instalment by miss Ione! I was anxious to read this book since I read the previous one, because of they way it ended, and I was not disappointed in the least. I enjoyed every page! Thanatos has been cheated by Regan, a demon-slayer, and I enjoyed witnessing his reactions and decisions in this novel. This horseman has a killer temper, quite literally, and the treason he undergo is too important even for words to describe, to say the consequences are dire is to put it mildly. His brother and sister had to immobilize him with hellhound spit for months to keep him from retaliating and the moment he is freed, without his siblings knowledge, he is out for blood, Regan’s blood. Imagine his surprise though when he finds her pregnant… with his son.

The emotions were raw and real and I command Larissa for that. Thanatos was betrayed in the worst possible way, Regan regrets her actions, and both of them are struggling but have to work together to protect their son, but can’t agree on the path to follow. Conflict after conflict both of them faceoff, alternating between hate and lust, both unable to admit to love each other. It was truly amazing!

True to herself, Larissa Ione delivered an action-packed plot even though this book is classified as paranormal romance. But hey, I like my romance with some action and blood! Pestilence is still out there, wrecking havoc, and he is kicking up his pace. Nothing can stop him and he is determined to start the apocalypse, going as far as trying to kill Thanatos’ son. Regan’s pregnancy isn’t the easiest either, and having just given birth myself, I felt for her. One detail didn’t sit right with me though, at the end, after the baby is born, Regan is all worried because Thanatos won’t have sex with her within the first week, and she pretty much jumps his bones. I don’t know about you girls, but in the week after giving birth, sex wasn’t exactly on my mind… just sayin’!

The conclusion to Lethal Rider is down right amazing and I MUST read Rogue Rider NOW! God, I am even more excited for the next book than I was for this one. Good thing I have a copy waiting for me on my kindle! The wait would’ve killed me. I won’t tell you why I’m so excited, but if you’ve read the book, I’m sure you know why!

The Lords of Deliverance series is one I strongly recommend to paranormal romance lovers out there. You don’t need to read the Demonica series to read this spin-off series, I didn’t and I easily jumped right in. Sensual, original and action-packed, this series will please!

tynsig_thumb[1]_thumb

Sunday, September 23, 2012

Silver by Talia Vance

talia vance - silverSilver by Talia Vance

Books Stats:
Reading level: New Adult
Genre: Paranormal/Celtic Mythology
Trade paperback: 374 pages
Publisher: Flux
Release date: September 8, 2012

Series: Bandia #1

Source: Publisher

Reviewed by: Stéphanie

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

"As I step into the room, a silver flash blurs my vision. Before I can take a breath, the world falls away."

Brianna has always felt invisible. People stare right past her, including the one boy she can't resist, Blake Williams. But everything changes at a house party where Brianna's charm bracelet slips off and time stands still. In that one frozen, silver moment, Blake not only sees her, he recognizes something deep inside her she's been hiding even from herself.

Discovering she is descended from Danu, the legendary Bandia of Celtic myth, Brianna finds herself questioning the truth of who she is. And when she accidentally binds her soul to Blake, their mutual attraction becomes undeniable.

But Blake has his own secret, one that could prove deadly for them both.

Bound together by forbidden magic, Brianna and Blake find themselves at the heart of an ancient feud that threatens to destroy their lives and their love.

Love that’s destined to cause feuds and wars. There’s something about that type of love that has readers coming back for more. Personally, I think Talia Vance created a wonderful romance between her two main characters, Brianna and Blake. However, SILVER isn’t just a simple love story. Brianna is a teenage girl who, until recently, was ignored by everyone. Not ignored in the sense that no one liked her, but in the sense that no one was actually aware of her. Because of something paranormal. Her high school years were spent in the shadows of her friends as she saw them fall in and out of love. But for Brianna, going out with a boy wasn’t possible because boys literally had no clue she was there. I think this theme of being invisible in high school is very interesting, even though Talia Vance isn’t the first one to elaborate on it. I mean, probably everyone ends up feeling invisible, once in their lifetime, so it’s a great way to have the readers form a link with the main character.

As a huge fan of Greek Mythology, it was no surprised that the Irish Mythology from this book enthralled me. The mythology and the world Talia Vance has created is refreshing and very interesting. However, it does feel like the author was in a rush to write out her story and I truly think more time could have been dedicated to details of the paranormal aspects. As a descendent of Danu, an Irish goddess, Brianna is considered a Bandia and must learn how to manage her new and destructive powers, all on her own. Especially controlling her attractiveness and appeal from anyone surrounding her because being recognized and noticed might not be in her best interest. Since the book left me wanting more information on the Bandias, I found myself searching the Internet for more details. My search didn’t reveal much so I’m assuming the author elaborated quite a bit on the myth surrounding Danu and truly made it her own.That being said, I hope we learn more about the Bandias in the future books.

I think a lot of the book’s appeal comes from the fast pace and the easy flow. Never a dull moment, the story is very youth oriented because of the gossip and teenage quarrels, but it adds so many interesting bits. Conflicts between Brianna and the group of men set out to destroy all the Bandias also creates interesting action that’s sure to please any type of readers.

One last thing I want to mention is Brianna’s love of horses. Obviously horses are a symbol of Irish culture and her dedication to horses was a great way to foreshadow her Irish roots. I think small details like this make novels so much more complete and enjoyable. For a debut, I think SILVER was well written but I really hope to get more information about the world of the Bandias in the future release. SILVER will surely be stacked on many shelves this fall because it’s a debut YA novel you don’t want to miss. Let yourself be enthralled by the Bandias and I’m sure you won’t regret it!

Read an excerpt

0stephsig

Saturday, September 22, 2012

Stacking The Shelves [22]

STSmall_thumb[2]

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

Guidelines:

  • Create your own Stacking The Shelves post. You can use my official graphic or your own, but please link back to Tynga’s Reviews so more people can join the fun!

  • You can set your post any way you want, simple book list, covers, pictures, vlog, sky is the limit!

  • I am posting Stacking The Shelves on Saturdays, but feel free to post yours any day that fits you.

  • Visit Tynga’s Reviews on Saturday and add your link so others can visit you!

  • Visit other participants link to find out what they added to their shelves!

If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!

------------------

My apologies for the quickly put together post. It was my hubby’s birthday yesterday and I didn't have time to record a blog Sad smile

For Review:

The Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa
Angel in Chains by Cynthia Eden
Entice by Jessica Shirvington
Reaper by K.D. McEntire

Gifts:

Awaken at Dawn by C.C. Hunter
Taken at Dusk by C.C. Hunter
The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller
Wood Queen by Karen Mahoney

Thank you!

So, what did YOU add to your shelves this week?

tynsig_thumb[1]_thumb

Friday, September 21, 2012

Giveaway and Tour Stop: The Goddess Legacy by Aimée Carter

ButtonI

I’m happy to be one of the tour stops for Aimée Carter’s The Goddess Legacy tour today. It’s a nice teaser book for the fans of the series who are waiting impatiently for the next book of series. The Goddess Legacy features novellas from many different characters that Aimée Carter has introduced us to. Here’s more information about the book, which ends up being book 2.5 of the series.

Goddess-Legacy_cover-637x1024

For millennia we’ve caught only glimpses, of the lives and loves of the gods and goddesses on Olympus. Now Aimée Carter pulls back the curtain on how they became the powerful, petty, loving and dangerous immortals that Kate Winters knows.

Calliope/Hera represented constancy and yet had a husband who never matched her faithfulness….

Ava/Aphrodite was the goddess of love and yet commitment was a totally different deal….

Persephone was urged to marry one man, yet longed for another….

James/Hermes loved to make trouble for others-but never knew true loss before….

Henry/Hades’s solitary existence had grown too wearisome to continue. But meeting Kate Winters gave him a new hope….

Five original novellas of love, loss and longing and the will to survive throughout the ages.

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

Click on the covers below to read my thoughts on book 1 and 2.

carter the-goddess-test2 9780373210459_TS_SMP.indd

-------------------------

Underworld

My love for Greek mythology started when I was in 7th grade when we were asked to present to the class an independent study. We could present anything we wanted and for a reason I don’t remember, I chose to present Greek Mythology. My “love affair” with these myths began at a young age but the “love” story of Persephone and Hades will always remain my favorite myth.

As part of the blog tour, I was asked to review and feature one of the novella from the book and you can imagine how happy I was when I was given the novella that features Persephone.

My obsession with the myth is quite obvious since, when I first discovered the art print called Persephone Destroys (images below) from Schin’s Etsy shop, I knew I had to purchase a print or something. Because, let’s all agree, it looks pretty amazing. When I noticed that I could actually buy a bookmark, it was as if it was made for me! I even added my purchase to one of my Stacking the Shelves posts!

Persephone Destroys book mark

-------------------------

So, without further ado, here are my thoughts on one of the novellas from The Goddess Legacy,

The Goddess of The Underworld

To be truthful, I was quite disappointed with this novella. I expected Aimée Carter to deviate from the real myth but not to this extent. She didn’t really stay true to the original myth and I at least expected to see the symbol of the pomegranate to make an appearance. But the forbidden fruit was nowhere to be found in that story even if it was mentioned later on in another novella. Although I was disappointed with the the story, I think it explained quite a lot about Aimée’s Persephone character. Described as selfish and unfaithful, it’s exactly how I pictured her in the first two books of the series. I could not find any pity for her and her arrange marriage to Hades. You would think with the new title of Queen of the Underworld she would have at least tried to make her marriage work, but for some reason, she could not find within herself the ability to love or at least recognize her partnership.

However, I must admit the novella provided the much needed background information the previous books lacked. We now understand why Hades/Henry was in need of a new queen and why he’s so gloomy and moody all the time. Despite her selfishness, Persephone was able to redeem herself at the end (even if she somewhat did it for herself). You can’t help but feel bad for Hades/Henry, and after reading this novella, I’m truly hoping it ends well between him and Kate. Fans of the series will enjoy this novella because it answers so many questions about the mystery surrounding Persephone’s past.

You can read my full review of the book here.

-------------------------

giveaway_thumb[2]_thumb[2]

Each tour host is offering the chance to win a copy of The Goddess Legacy to one (1) lucky winner and a grand prize full of “Goddess Goodies” to be chosen from among all the entries from all of the tour stops!

To enter the giveaway, obey the rafflecopter!

Giveaway ends October 1st, 2012.

Open to US and Canada only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

-------------------------

aimee carterAbout Aimée Carter

Aimée Carter was born and raised in Michigan, where she currently resides. She started writing at age eleven and later attended the University of Michigan, graduating with a degree in screen arts and cultures. Currently she spends her time continuing with The Goddess Test series and working on new projects. You can tweet her at @aimee_carter or catch updates on her website.

Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

 

 

0stephsig

Wicked Nights by Gena Showalter

Wicked Nights (Angels of the Dark, #1)

Wicked Nights by Gena Showalter

Book Stats:
Genre: Paranormal romance
Reading level: Adult
Mass Market Paperback: 416 pages
Publisher: Harlequin
Release date: June 26, 2012

Series: Angel of the Dark #1

Source: Personal shelf

Reviewed by: Tynga

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

Leader of the most powerful army in the heavens, Zacharel has been deemed nearly too dangerous, too ruthless—and if he isn't careful, he'll lose his wings. But this warrior with a heart of ice will not be deterred from his missions at any cost…until a vulnerable human tempts him with a carnal pleasure he's never known before.Accused of a crime she did not commit, Annabelle Miller has spent four years in an institution for the criminally insane. Demons track her every move, and their king will stop at nothing to have her. Zacharel is her only hope for survival, but is the brutal angel with a touch as hot as hell her salvation—or her ultimate damnation?

Wicked Nights is the first book in the Lords of the Underworld spin-off series, but fear not, you need not have read the original series to be able to step right into this new one. In fact, I’ve only read the first two Lords books (though I plan to read the rest of them) and I had absolutely no problem to follow the story or understand the world. And for those Lords fans out there, yes some of those demon-possessed sexy boys make an appearance in this novel.

I really liked Wicked Nights for many reasons, the main one being Annabelle. First, I LOVE that she’s of Japanese origin, so few books have main characters of other ethnicities, and that she is actually pictured as such on the cover, another unfortunate rarity in our publishing world. Second, because she is such a strong character, despite her very troubled past. She was accused of brutally murdering her parents and was sent to a psych ward where doctors abused her and where demons lined up to attack her. She had to build a thick shell to survive and keep her sanity and even when Zacharel came in and reluctantly saved her she remained strong and determined to stand-up for herself.

The plot also met my expectations. Annabelle, with Zacharel’s help, launches on a quest to defeat the demon who killed her parents and bound her to him. The mission proves really hard and full of obstacles, providing an interesting read. I honestly never guessed who the big bad might be, and when he was finally revealed I face-palmed because all the hints where there, yet I never suspected. High-five Gena!

I also enjoyed the progression of the complex relationship between the two protagonists. Annabelle has been violated, Zacharel is inexperienced, let me tell you, it’s a set-up for a colourful intimate scene. I particularly liked that the relationship was at times strained between the two of them, making the whole thing that much more believable.

I loved the secondary characters, and just like Showalter did with her Lords series, the main characters of each book will be different, making me really anxious for the following novels.

The only aspect I wasn’t thrilled about is Zacharel’s tendency to over analyse everything. He is very clinical with his feelings, and while its in character with his I-haven't-felt-a-thing-for-centuries persona, it sat uncomfortably with me. I hoped he would be more in sync with his emotions as the story progress, but it didn’t quite happen. On the other hand, I love how protective of Annabelle he was, and the sacrifices he was willing to make for her. I was really cheering for him during the final scene, and felt for him in this bittersweet moment.

All things considered, Wicked Nights is an amazing debut for this new series by Gena Showalter. Fans will be pleased to find themselves in such a finely woven world, filled with amazing characters, just like Gena accustomed us to. Hats off to an action-filled sizzling romance!

Read an excerpt

tynsig_thumb[1]_thumb

The Goddess Legacy by Aimée Carter

Goddess-Legacy_cover-637x1024

The Goddess Legacy by Aimée Carter

Books Stats:
Reading level: New Adult
Genre: Paranormal/Greek Mythology
Trade paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Release date: July 31, 2012

Series: Goddess Test #2.5

Source: Netgalley

Reviewed by: Stéphanie

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

For millennia we’ve caught only glimpses, of the lives and loves of the gods and goddesses on Olympus. Now Aimée Carter pulls back the curtain on how they became the powerful, petty, loving and dangerous immortals that Kate Winters knows.

Calliope/Hera represented constancy and yet had a husband who never matched her faithfulness….

Ava/Aphrodite was the goddess of love and yet commitment was a totally different deal….

Persephone was urged to marry one man, yet longed for another….

James/Hermes loved to make trouble for others-but never knew true loss before….

Henry/Hades’ solitary existence had grown too wearisome to continue. But meeting Kate Winters gave him a new hope….

Five original novellas of love, loss and longing and the will to survive throughout the ages.

I rarely read anthologies. I tend to stay away from them because most of the time, I only know one of the authors that have written the stories and I’m not interested in reading short stories or novellas from series I’ve never read before. However, reading an anthology like THE GODDESS LEGACY really appeals to me because it’s only written by one author, and all the novellas in the book are from the same series (of which I’ve read all the books).

THE GODDESS LEGACY was a good addition to THE GODDESS TEST and GODDESS INTURRUPTED. If it’s even possible, I think I enjoyed some of these novellas more than the previous books. The novellas add so much more background information about many of the characters. First, we meet Hera and we more or less begin to understand why she did those things in the previous books. Then we see Hephaestus and Ares fight for Aphrodite’s love. Persephone makes an appearance in her own novella and we truly learn why she left Hades. Hermes also has his own story in which he learns more about the mortals and explains to the other gods why they should take on new, modern names. And of course, the anthology wouldn’t be complete without Hades’ story where we learn how hard it was for him to find his new queen.

Personally, I don’t find the novellas are meant to be read individually. Combined, the five novellas tell one big story, with five different point of views. The flow from story to story is perfect and allows the reader to enter a new story without any problems.

One theme that is dominant in each story is love. Whether it’s a tragic love story or a heart warming love story, the main character of each novella face difficult issues as they deal with love and unfaithfulness. Not only was Aimée Carter able to give us more information about the individual gods and goddesses, she also found similarities in each of them by drawing out the human emotion out of each character. Fans of The Goddess Test series will enjoy this anthology because it answers so many questions about the mystery surrounding Persephone’s past and all the other gods that are so important in Aimée’s series. Also, it’s a good teaser as we wait for book 3 to be published!

0stephsig