Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Guest Posting at The Savy Reader!

Hello my friends!

I just wanted to let you know that I was invited by Harper Collins to guest post about the upcoming A Christmas With .. event and I wanted to invite you to take a look!

Can’t wait for the event to start!

First stop tomorrow with Nancy Holder and Debbie Viguie!

tyngasig

Legend by Marie Lu

Legend by Marie Lu

Book Stats:
Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Hardcover: 336 pages
Genre: Dystopian
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Release date: November 29, 2011

Series: Legend #1

Source: Penguin Canada

Reviewer: Tynga

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic's wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic's highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country's most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths - until the day June's brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family's survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias's death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills.

The Republic of Los Angeles, at war against the colonies, is controlling its civilians with an iron fist in a time burdened by plague and poverty.  Day and June are on opposite spectrum of this harsh reality. He is a 15 years old boy, supposedly deceased 5 years ago, fighting for Justice and Freedom, helping the poor and oppressed as best he can, while living in the streets, which deserved him the title of most wanted criminal. She is part of the high society and a genius. Obtained a perfect score on her Trial (a test every 10 years old takes to be assigned their role in society) and graduated from University at age 15. She is the bright star of the Republic's Army and has strong confidence in her government.  What happens though when the two of them collide?

Legend, Marie Lu’s debut novel, is breathtaking. Set in a very imaginative and crude dystopian world, Legend’s plot will sweep you off your feet and drag you in a harsh reality. The way Marie chose to narrate the story provides a much more intense experience for its reader. The POV alternates between Day and June, opposing the poor’s lifestyle to the privileged one, highlighting a stark contrast in opinion. I’d also like to point  that the publisher took an extra step by printing the two POV with inks of different colors (brown for Day and black for June), a nice touch contributing to the narrator’s distinction.

Day is fighting to protect his family from the shadows, breaking into an hospital to steal plague remedy when his childhood house is marked for quarantine. He couldn’t know that his prank would be the spark igniting his downfall though. June will be dragged out of school by the death of a loved one and will end up working for the government, hired to hunt down Day. The plot is all about this hide and seek game between a criminal and a law enforcer and the face off will be a very emotional one. The twist and turns Lu plotted for us were often unexpected and shocking, leaving you with a strong urge to smack a character behind the head or throw the book across the room.

Day and June are both strong-minded and capable, the cultural shock of their meeting is simply delightful. I love them both to death and they were also surrounded by an equally awesome cast of secondary characters. Tess is lovely and Metias left a strong impression even though he is present only for a short part of the story.

The end was torture and I find it hard to describe because on one hand it seems the tension drags on forever, yet everything happens at a fast and furious pace. The consequences of the grand finale will be immense and I honestly can’t wait for this second round, full of promises.

Marie Lu delivered the work of a genius with Legend and I can only praise her ability to collide two cultures in an incredible dystopian showdown. Legend is definitely one of the best release of 2011 and I strongly urge you to get your hands on a copy. I read it within a couple of hours because it’s just impossible to stop reading once you start!

Read an excerpt

Artwork by Marie:

June on the left & Day on the right.

dayjune

tyngasig

Random Act of Kindness… December Edition!

The girls at Book Soulmates started a very cool project. The concept is to post a wish list and someone might just send a gift to you! Of course, you might wanna be nice to and offer someone something from their wish list as well!

Here are the details, from their website.

Rules:

• Sign up each month you'd like to participate in.

• Show off your participation! Grab one of the buttons available :)

• Create a wishlist and post it in the Google Doc located in each R.A.K post for the month.

{Post on your blog, Amazon, where ever as long as there's a link to it.}

• If you choose to do a R.A.K for someone, check out their wishlist and contact that blogger for their address.

• At the end of the month, SHOW US YOUR R.A.K!

Make a post saying 'Thank You' to whoever granted one of your wishes and share it with us :)

OPEN TO EVERYONE!

Let's keep our International bloggers in mind and in our hearts.

Remember, there's always the Book Depository and they offer FREE shipping!

Last month I received …

The Darkest Surrender  (Lords of the Underworld, #8)

Thank you very much Mélanie!

----

Here’s my wish list for this month ^^ I know it’s quite long, but you’ll have plenty to choose from!

If you wish to offer me something, just email me at TyngaUF(a)gmail.com and I will give you my mailing addy

  • Beautiful Chaos – Kami & Margaret

  • Wicked Circle – Linda Robertson

  • Venom, Tangled Threads & Spider’s Revenge– Jennifer Estep

  • Personal Demon, Living with the Dead, Frostbitten, Waking the Witch – Kelley Armstrong (I’d like the MM edition, to match my collection ^^)

  • Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon (MM please ^^)

  • Demon Bound by Caitlin Kittredge

  • Alien Huntress series by Gena Showalter

  • Wraith by Phaedra Weldon

  • Frost – Marianna Baer

  • Cold Sight – Leslie Parish

  • The Rift Walker -  Clay & Susan Griffith

  • Charlie Madigan series by Kelly Gay

  • Unknown, Unseen – Rachel Caine

  • Firestorm, Thin Air, Gale Force, Cape Storm, Total Eclipse – Rachel Caine

  • Blood Red Road – Moira Young

I really hope you join the fun! I think it’s a great way to meet new bloggers as well as give a bit of joy in this world!

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

“When I’m not writing” with Linda Poitevin

image This week, our featured writer is a fellow Canuck, Linda Poitevin! Though she visited Tynga’s Reviews a couple months ago as part of her blog tour for Sins of the Angels, we just can’t get enough of her. Linda has graciously agreed to return today, this time to talk about her life outside of writing. And while there’s part of me that would prefer to chain Linda to her desk so she’ll write more Gregori Legacy stories, it’s been an absolute delight getting a glimpse into her life off the page. Enjoy!

 

notwriting

When Jenn contacted me about participating in Tynga’s “When I’m not writing” event, I immediately thought “Where in heck would I even begin?!?” or something equally borderline-hysterical. Why? Perhaps because, on any given day, my to-do list rivals one of my own books (336 pages) for length…and no matter how hard I try to reverse the trend, it keeps growing. At one point, I even had a list of my lists. That’s just sad, don’t you think?

No matter how hard I try, it seems that I’m one of those people destined to be running after the rest of the world, pleading with it to “Wait for me!” When Christmas is looming, I’m blinking in confusion, wondering what happened to May and the summer I planned to spend in my garden; when June arrives, I remember that I wanted to start my own tomato and cucumber seeds…in March. And so my life goes. *sigh*

image

On the other hand, if I’m honest, I have to admit that I’m the author of my own failure to succeed in life outside my writing. While I try to maintain a modicum of organization, the truth is that, regardless of the length or importance of my daily to-do list, I am all too willing to be distracted. If a nice day beckons, I would much rather be out walking the trails with my dog than doing laundry; if a friend calls for coffee, I’m in…and the yard-chore list is cheerfully out. And if a story demands my attention? Yeah, not much chance of reality winning out over that one, lol!

image

So to answer Jenn’s question of what I do when I’m not writing, I juggle the rest of my own life along with those of my husband and my not-quite-yet-entirely independent children. I try to keep myself reasonably organized and not panic when my stack of lists grows tall enough to become a hazard. I try to be the calm in the storm my own life can become on occasion. And I happily wander off the path of good intentions as often as I possibly can, because truthfully? Life is just too darned short to be responsible all the time.

What about you? What do you do when you’re not [insert occupation of choice here]? Are you any better at ignoring the distractions than I am?

---------------------------------

Thank you, Linda, for coming back to visit us! Hopefully we’ll see you again soon.

If this isn’t enough Linda for you, you can visit her website or check out her books.

image

 

A detective with a secret lineage. An undercover Hunter with a bullet-proof soul. And a world made to pay for the sins of an angel…

Homicide detective Alexandra Jarvis answers to no one. Especially not to the new partner assigned to her in the middle of a gruesome serial killer case-a partner who is obstructive, irritatingly magnetic, and arrogant as hell.

Aramael is a Power—a hunter of the Fallen Angels.  A millennium ago, he sentenced his own brother to eternal exile for crimes against humanity. Now his brother is back and wreaking murderous havoc in the mortal realm. To find him, Aramael must play second to a human police officer who wants nothing to do with him and whose very bloodline threatens both his mission and his soul.

Now, faced with a fallen angel hell-bent on triggering the apocalypse, Alex and Aramael have no choice but to join forces, because only together can they stop the end of days.

Read an excerpt

Tynga’s review

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

image

 

Coming March 27, 2012!

A detective with a secret…

When homicide detective Alexandra Jarvis sees a photo of Seth Benjamin on a police bulletin, she knows that Heaven’s plan to halt Armageddon has gone terribly wrong. As the only mortal aware of Seth’s true nature, only she can save him.

An exiled angel turned assassin…

Aramael was a hunter of Fallen Angels until a traitor forced him into earthly exile. Now, with no powers and only a faint memory of Alex, his mortal soulmate, he will stop at nothing to redeem himself—even if it means destroying Seth in the name of the Creator.

A world with little chance of redemption…

As Alex’s need to protect Seth sets her on a fiery course with the determined Aramael, the coming conflict between them may push the world over the edge—and into the very chaos they’re trying to prevent.

Read an excerpt

Preorder: Amazon | Book Depository

---------------------------------

“When I’m not writing” will be taking a break for December since Tynga’s running an amazing event for the holidays. But we’ll be back in January with more authors!

---------------------------------

Do you guys have suggestions for who you’d like to see featured on the blog? If so, you can make your suggestions on this page. No guarantees that your favorite authors will be able to participate but we’ll try!

Authors, would you like to participate? We’d love to have you. Please email me at jennblogs (at) gmail (dot) com and we’ll set it up!

Jennsig2

Monday, November 28, 2011

Cover Love!

How about some new covers?

Never To Sleep by Rachel Vincent

Don't Close Your Eyes.

Sophie Cavanaugh is not going to let her freak of a cousin's strange psychiatric condition ruin high school for them both. Not after all the work she's put into cultivating the right look, and friends, and reputation. But then, Sophie sees something so frightening she lets out a blood-curdling scream—and finds herself stuck in a bizarre parallel world where nothing is safe and deadly creatures lurk just out of sight, waiting for her to close her eyes and sleep...forever.

Could this world be real? Or does insanity run in the family...?

Release date: January 1st, 2012.

I think this one is my favorite in that series, I really like it!

-----------

Magic Without Mercy by Devon Monk

This is the eighth book in the Allie Beckstrom series and I think this cover is simply amazing! It fits right in with the previous ones and it’s simply black and white coloring has impact!

Release date: April 3rd, 2012.

----------------------

Tin Swift (Age of Steam, #2)

Tin Swift, also by Devon Monk

This one is the second book in the Age of Steam series and I love this cover. The first one was amazing as well so they fit right together!

Release date:  July 3rd, 2012.

--------------------

Thirteen (Women of the Otherworld, #13)

Thirteen by Kelley Armstrong

This is the last book in the Women of the Otherworld series and I quite honestly don’t really like it. Doesn’t really matter though, I’ll sure get my hands on a copy!

Release date: July 5th, 2012.

------------------

The Taken by Vicki Pettersson

He’s a fallen angel. She’s a rockabilly reporter. Together they must solve a deadly string of murders plaguing the mortal and the immortal worlds.

Griffin Shaw used to be a PI, but that was over fifty years ago when gumshoes hoofed the streets . . . and he was still alive. Now he’s a Centurion, an angel who assists other murdered souls through their journey to the afterlife. But while Shaw might be an angel … he’s no saint. Haunted by the mysterious events surrounding his own death, he seizes a chance to wreak some vengeance when he witnesses a deadly attack on journalist Katherine “Kit” Craig.

Joining forces, the unlikely avengers take to the streets, hunting a killer whose trail of bodies stretches across Las Vegas and into an immortal netherworld. It is a dangerous trek that lead them into the darkest corners of Sin City and into the heart of an evil conspiracy extending beyond the lights of the Strip that could destory them both.

But destruction isn’t the only threat Griffin faces. The closer he gets to Kit, the more he finds himself bewitched by her mortal charms. Can he resist falling under her spell? And does he want to?

Release date: July 12th, 2012

This is the first book in a new series, and I’d be willing to pick it up simply for the cover. I couldn’t explain while I love it so much but the atmosphere in this cover rocks!

------------------------

Just For Fins By Tera Lynn Childs

When Lily Sanderson decided to remain Crown Princess Waterlily of the mermaid kingdom Thalassinia, she knew she couldn’t just coast along in the current. But since she’s spent the last couple of years on land—with gorgeous human Quince by her side—Lily’s not sure she has the fins to lead a kingdom. Even her maddeningly pretentious cousin Dosinia seems to know more about ruling than she does. But Lily has to dive in deep to keep her promise to Tellin, her mer bond in name only, whose kingdom is suffering in the changing ocean climate. Lily knows this is a seven seas–sized problem: from sea animals dying to oil spills and threats to humans. They’ll need to create some serious waves to make the mer community aware and get it to join together to make things right. Even if that means facing one of the iciest queens in the mer kingdoms. Just when Lily thinks her double life on land and sea can’t get any more complicated, an ancient mer law might separate Lily and Quince after all. It feels as if the pair is up against a solid tsunami wave! In this third installment in the series that began with Forgive My Fins and Fins Are Forever, Lily will have to find a way to balance safety and justice for the mer people as well as for the humans she loves.

Release Date: July 3rd, 2012

This is the third book in the series and I think this latest cover is a great addition to the previous one.

------------------

Lethal Rider by Larissa Ione

They're here. They ride. The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse.

Born of a match between good and evil, four siblings stand between hell's minions and everything they want to destroy. They are the Lords of Deliverance, and they have the power to ward off Doomsday...or let it ride...
LETHAL RIDER

Thanatos, the most deadly Horseman of the Apocalypse, has endured thousands of years of celibacy to prevent the end of days. But just one night with the wickedly sexy Aegis Guardian, Regan Cooper, shatters centuries of resolve. Yet their passion comes with a price. And Thanatos must face a truth more terrifying than an apocalypse-he's about to become a father.

Demon-slayer Regan Cooper never imagined herself the maternal type, but with the fate of the world hanging in the balance she had no choice but to seduce Thanatos and bear his child. Now, as the final battle draws closer and his rage at being betrayed is overshadowed by an undeniable passion for the mother of his child, Thanatos has a life-shattering realization: To save the world, he must sacrifice the only thing he's ever wanted-a family.

Release date: June 1st, 2012

This is the third book in the Lord of Deliverance series and it’s by far my favorite cover so far. Love the steaminess!

-------------------

Fallen in Love by Lauren KateRapture by Lauren Kate

Those two Lauren Kate covers were also recently released.

I especially like the one of Fallen in Love (It’s a short story)

----------------

Well I think this week’s cover are quite amazing, and I find it hard to pick a favorite!

Which one is yours?

tyngasig

Darkness Unbound by Keri Arthur

image Darkness Unbound by Keri Arthur

Book stats:
Reading Level: Adult
Mass market paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Dell
Release date: September 27, 2011

Series: Dark Angels #1

Source: Personal shelf

Reviewed by: Jenn

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

The fight against darkness rages on for the next generation—in New York Times bestselling author Keri Arthur’s exciting new series set in the world of the Guardians.

Being half werewolf and half Aedh, Risa Jones can enter the twilight realms between life and death and see the reapers, supernatural beings that collect the souls of the dead. But she soon makes a terrifying discovery: Some sinister force is stealing souls, preventing the dead from ever knowing the afterlife.

Reapers escort souls—not snatch them—but Risa is still unnerved when a reaper shadows her in search of someone Risa has never met: her own father, an Aedh priest, who is rumored to be tampering with the gates of hell for a dark purpose. With the help of her “aunt”—half-werewolf, half-vampire Riley Jenson—and an Aedh named Lucian who may have lost his wings but none of his sex appeal, Risa must pursue whatever shadowy practitioner of blood magic is seizing souls, and somehow stop her father . . . before all hell breaks loose.

Having followed Keri Arthur’s work for many years, particularly her Riley Jensen series, I was very excited when I heard she was going to be writing Risa’s story. The Riley Jensen books are fantastic paranormal romance novels with lots of action and great storylines and I was hoping that I’d be able to say the same about the Dark Angels series. Thankfully, I can!

Risa Jones was just a kid in the Riley Jensen books but she’s all grown up in this series, running a restaurant with a couple friends and trying to lead a normal life -- at least as normal as a half-werewolf, half-Aedh woman can. (For the uninitiated, the Aedh are winged beings who have varying powers and can take different states (flesh vs. energy).) It’s a change from the Riley books; Riley was a Guardian, tasked with protecting Melbourne from the evil supernaturals, while Risa definitely does not want to be a Guardian, not after seeing the toll it took on Riley. Nonetheless, she has a good grasp of her powers and knows how to defend herself, which comes in handy when her curiosity has her running around town trying to figure out why everyone is suddenly interested in her absentee father.

Risa also has to deal with new developments on the romantic front, in the shape of an Aedh named Lucien. He’s very mysterious and I’m curious to see what his role will be in future novels. In Darkness Unbound, he proves himself to be a capable ally and a sexy, sexy dude, much like Quinn in Full Moon Rising (the first Riley Jensen novel). Risa’s also attracted to one of the reapers, the beings responsible for shepherding souls after people die. This particular reaper, Azriel, is one of the many folks looking for her father and just happens to be quite appealing. This also reminded me of the Riley books since Riley found herself torn between two men for almost the entire series. But this is good news, because Keri Arthur is a genius when it comes to writing love triangles in which you (and the character) have a hard time choosing who’s a better match!Another comparison with the Riley series: lots of steaminess. Keri Arthur doesn’t shy away from the sex and Darkness Unbound is no exception. Her characters have *very* healthy lives, if you know what I mean. ;) But the romantic antics in no way detract from the main plot, which is completely engrossing.

Fans of Keri’s other work won’t be disappointed in any way, and I suspect that this new series will attract even more readers since Darkness Unbound hooks you from the start! Plus there are a lot of familiar faces, like Riley and Rhoan, who were main characters in the Riley books but who take a more secondary role in the Dark Angels series, at least so far. It’s a fun glimpse into what happened to these guys after the series was over, but you don’t have to be familiar with the characters to enjoy them in Darkness Unbound.

Everything about Darkness Unbound made me happy and I can’t wait to see what happens to Risa next, in Darkness Rising, currently in my TBR stack.

P.S. How lush is this cover? I think it’s one of my favourites of the fall. Such dramatic colours and it really incorporates a lot of elements of the story and captures Risa nicely.

Read a teaser over at The Deadline Dames

Jennsig2

Friday, November 25, 2011

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Book Stats:
Reading level: Ages 14 and up
Hardcover: 352 pages
Genre: Dystopian
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release date: November 15, 2011

Series: Shatter Me #1

Source: ARC sent by Harper Collins Canada

Reviewed by: Tynga

Purchase: Amazon

Juliette hasn't touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette's touch is fatal. As long as she doesn't hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don't fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war-- and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she's exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

In this electrifying debut, Tahereh Mafi presents a world as riveting asThe Hunger Games and a superhero story as thrilling as The X-Men. Full of pulse-pounding romance, intoxicating villainy, and high-stakes choices, Shatter Me is a fresh and original dystopian novel—with a paranormal twist—that will leave readers anxiously awaiting its sequel.

Taken away from her family 3 years ago – and they were all too happy to get rid of her – Juliette finds herself locked-up in a cell in an asylum, after accidentally killing someone. How was she suppose to know a simple touch of her bare hands could end a life? She hasn’t breathe fresh-air (or what passes for it anyway), haven’t seen the light, or spoken a word in 264 days, when a boy is shoved with her in her cell. Boys and girls aren’t suppose to mingle. Have they finally decided to kill her and give her cell to this boy? Is he a test? A treat? An ally? Juliette isn’t sure of anything, but she was right about one thing: The day this boy entered her life, is the day her life changed forever.

Tahereh Mafi is an amazing and stunning writer. Shatter Me is her debut novel and from the very first page I was engrossed in this broken world she created. We destroyed our planet: animals are sick, crops are dying and food is hard to come by, the vegetation is destroyed, the seasons are a mess and the sky isn’t even blue anymore. A group stood-up and pretended they would save us all: The Reestablishment. Their plan is to destroy everything that could’ve caused our downfall. Art, languages, comfort, everything is destroyed and anyone standing in their way is killed. Nobody is safe and Juliette will be able to witness the damage firsthand when she’s unexpectedly taken away from her prison.

Mafi didn’t only create an addictive world, she also painted multi-faceted characters you have no choice but to have a strong opinion about. Juliette is a broken girl. She was always mistreated, cast out as a monster by other children and never got to enjoy a loving embrace – not even from her own mother. She’s been isolated for nearly a year, without a single human contact, and even though she is still very sane, Mafi’s writing let’s us privy to her insecurities. Here’s an excerpt, I’m sure you’ll understand what I mean.

I want to be angry-angry-angry.
I want to be the bird that flies away.
"What are you writing” Cellmate speaks again.
These words are vomit.
This shaky pen is my esophagus.
This sheet of paper is my porcelain bowl.
"Why won’t you answer me?” He’s too close too close too close.
No one is ever close enough.

Adam, her cellmate is very mysterious. Mean an instant, sweet the moment after, following orders yet sometimes breaking them. Juliette just doesn’t know what to do of his attitude and feels more lonely than ever when he turns his back on her. Along their journey, we also meet other amazing characters, cruel psychopath men and some goofy allies, providing us a wide and completely variety of personalities.

Original and surprising, Juliette’s journey in this harsh world will keep you on your toes. I haven’t foreseen any of the events and was delighted by the intensity of their quest. Shatter Me is full of twist and turns that will keep you hooked to its pages and when you finally reach the end, all you can do is pray for the second installment to release soon because even though the end isn’t a cliffhanger, it promises the new beginning of an outstanding adventure.

The novel as a whole is a masterpiece if I may say. The story, the world, the characters are exquisite, but Tahereh Mafi’s writing is what makes this adventure so special. I’d end this review with a couple of amazing quotes if you don’t mind =) (quotes from ARC, may have changed in the final edition)

I have no idea where I am.
I only know that I was transported here by someone in a white van who drove 6 hours and 37 minutes to get me here. I know I was handcuffed to my seat. I know I was strapped to my chair. I know my parents never bothered to say good-bye. I know I didn't,t cry as I was taken away.
I know the sky falls down everyday.

Adam is pointing a gun at my chest.
Adam is pointing a gun at my chest.
Adam is pointing a gun at my chest.
His eyes are foreign to me, glassy and distant, far, far away.
I am nothing but novocaine. I am numb, a world of nothing, all feelings and emotions gone forever.
I am a whisper that never was.

Read an excerpt

tyngasig

Thursday, November 24, 2011

Supernatural fans in the house? AWESOME DEAL!

Any Supernatural fans out there?

The DVD set for the complete season 6 is now 13$ on amazon! Yes, you read right!

I ordered mine lol

Happy Thanksgiving my American Friends!

tyngasig

Daring you to read… Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

daringyou_thumb[2]

Today my dears, I am daring you to read my favorite YA series: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. It’s one of the first series I started reading and it remains on the top of my list ^^

This story evolves along 6 books, which are all released now and started with Vampire Academy in 2007 and ended with Last Sacrifice in 2010. The story is about a Dhampir (half-human half vampire) girl named Rose who trains on a boarding school to protect her best friend Lissa, a moroi (good vampire). She is very talented but she’s a pig-head and have a big mouth, both of which will get her in worlds of troubles. She also falls for a certain hot Russian dhampir, her trainer, called Dimitri. The relationship between those three is the main plot line amongst the entire series and let me tell you, you are in for quite a ride, so buckle up! My favorite book of the series was the third one, Shadow Kiss and I think it has it all. The danger, the passion, the pain: It got me weeping. Shadow Kiss was the first book to manage that!

I got my mom and my grandmother to read this series in French and they are both hooked and impatiently awaiting the release of the French edition of Last Sacrifice.

So I am Daring you to read this series dear to my heart, with fans among three generations in my family! Will you rise up to the challenge?

On a side note, Vampire Academy was recently made into a Graphic Novel, if you’re more into that sort of thing, and my Husband liked it =)

Here’s more about the series:

Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with an unbreakable bond to the earth's magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest and most dangerous vampires--the ones who never die.

The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa's best friend, makes her a Dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making her one of them.

After two years of illicit freedom, Rose and Lissa are caught and dragged back to St. Vladimir's Academy, hidden in the deep forests of Montana. Rose will continue her Dhampir education. Lissa will go back to being Queen of the elite Moroi social scene. And both girls will resume breaking hearts.
Fear made Lissa and Rose run away from St. Vladimir's – inside the Academy’s iron gates, their world is even more fraught with danger. Here, the cutthroat ranks of the Moroi perform unspeakable rituals and their secretive nature and love of the night creates an enigmatic world full of social complexities. Rose and Lissa must navigate through this dangerous world, confront the temptation of forbidden romance, and never once let their guard down, lest the Strigoi make Lissa one of them forever...

Read my Review

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

Click the cover to read my review

9781595142504HLastSacrifice2

 

How to participate?

- You choose a book you’ve read, loved and would dare your readers to read!

- The book you choose must be an older release (at least 6 months ago), because let’s be honest, we’re all quite aware of the latest releases.

- Write your own blog post, using the button and linking back to Tynga’s Reviews, inviting your readers to read your chosen book.

- Come back on Tynga’s Reviews and put your link in the linking tool.

- Browse other bloggers Dare and let them know if you’ve read their featured book, or plan on reading it.

- Super easy and an awesome way to discover that special book who might have slipped off your radar!

Don’t forget to add your own Daring You To Read… post in the linky below.





Make sure to let me know if you plan to read/have read the series!

tyngasig

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

“When I’m not writing” with Berinn Rae…and giveaway!

1-BerinnRae_headshot Today’s visit is from the lovely Berinn Rae, author of the Guardians of the Seven Seals series. The first book in the series, Knightfall, is available now as an eBook and Berinn has graciously offered up one (1) copy for a giveaway. But before we get to that, you have to hear what Berinn does in her spare time because it is – and she is! – super cool.

Without further ado, here’s Berinn!

 

 

 

WINW_logo

When I’m not writing (which I do every chance I get because I LOVE it), I’m often at my day job where I sit in conference rooms during many long days of meetings. But I’d rather talk about the fun stuff I do when I’m not writing... flying vintage airplanes, trying to make a dent in my TBR (to-be-read) pile, and catering to my very spoiled sixty-pound lap dog named Annabelle.

I learned to fly later in life – after I met my husband to be exact. He was already a pilot, and I instantly became hooked. It wasn’t long before I was taking to the skies and loving every hour in the clouds (or feet above the trees). Many of my vacations involve a fly-in of some sort (a fly-in, like the world-famous Oshkosh Airventure is just that: aviation enthusiasts come from miles away to fly or talk about flying). But I would never leave home without my kindle library and a few paperbacks. Paranormal romance and SciFi/Fantasy are my faves. I’m wrapping up a Nalini Singh novel today.

2-BerinnRae_vacation

I fly whenever I can. Sunset flights are beautiful in an open cockpit biplane (mine is a 1942 Stearman PT-17). Sometimes my husband will join me in formation flying, which is great for keeping skills current.

But it’s not always easy being a woman pilot. Did you know women make up less than 5% of all pilots? I’d like to see that number grow. A lot. Every year, I work with girl scout groups to help them add the aviation badge to their collection. Even if just one girl goes on to get her pilot’s license, that makes it all worthwhile. If you’ve always wanted to learn to fly and don’t know where to start, reach out to me. Trust me, it’s not as scary (or expensive) as you’d think, and it’s even more fun than you think. :)

4-BerinnRae_girlscouts

Now onto the fur ball in my life. Annabelle is the most snuggly dog. Ever. Even though she’s a hunting breed, the only things that need to fear for their lives are bugs (and even they are pretty safe). She loves people and has designated herself as the official airport greeter. She never turns down the chance to fly. Or a walk. Or a treat. Well, come to think of it, she never turns down anything. That dog loves everyone and everything (except for those Japanese beetles that look like ladybugs; she thinks they taste gross).

 
Well, I guess that sums up what I do when I’m not writing. Oh, look, the sun just came out. I’m going flying. See you around!

---------------------------------

Thank you, Berinn, for taking the time to share with us! My boyfriend is a pilot and he dreams of flying a biplane so I can only imagine how much fun you and your husband must have!

To get to know Berinn even better, you can visit her website or Facebook page, or follow her on Twitter.

Knightfall_cover400x600

 

Available Now… KNIGHTFALL

Life is relatively normal for bush pilot Kerra Cain. That is, until a fallen angel reveals himself, with plans to use her to destroy the Seven Seals. To escape, she must place her trust in the arms of Gareth, a dangerously sexy but enigmatic man who has haunted her dreams for years. Thrown into a desperate war for survival, Kerra must embrace a heritage long denied her in Knightfall, the first book in the Guardians of the Seven Seals series.

Purchase: Amazon

 

Coming Spring 2012… HELLBOUND

Book 2 in the Guardians of the Seven Seals series

Everyone has monsters under their bed. But what if you’re one of them?

Orion Benandanti isn’t just a hellhound. He is the Alpha of all hellhounds and host to the Third Seal. Thanks to the Guardians, the evil Dominion has splintered, and he takes a much-needed break at his vacation house in the Midwest United States. But the world still isn’t safe. One night, Orion is attacked by a pack of monstrous hellhounds. If hunting a rogue alpha wasn’t enough, Orion also has to deal with his growing attraction to the newcomer in his territory, a female hellhound in the form of a beautiful yet stubborn pragmatist.

In one night, Lana Wolfe’s life was destroyed and she was reborn a walking nightmare. Still healing the scars of the past, a year later, she dedicates her life to destroying others like her. But when the hunter becomes the hunted, the only way for her to survive is to trust the man who very well may break her heart. Will she let him claim her—for the Seal’s protection and for a passion forged in hell’s hottest fires?

---------------------------------

giveaway_thumb[2]

Berinn is offering one (1) e-copy of Knightfall to a lucky reader.

To enter, follow the instructions in the Rafflecopter!

Giveaway closes December 10, 2011.

Open internationally.





---------------------------------

Do you guys have suggestions for who you’d like to see featured on the blog? If so, you can make your suggestions on this page. No guarantees that your favorite authors will be able to participate but we’ll try!

Authors, would you like to visit and share with us? Please email me at jennblogs (at) gmail (dot) com and we’ll set it up!

Jennsig2

Monday, November 21, 2011

The Affinity Bridge by George Mann

image The Affinity Bridge by George Mann

Book stats:
Hardcover: 336 pages
Genre: Steampunk
Publisher: Doherty, Tom Associates
Released: July 7, 2009

Series: Newbury & Hobbes #1

Source: Personal shelf

Reviewed by: Jenn

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

Welcome to the bizarre and dangerous world of Victorian London, a city teetering on the edge of revolution. Its people are ushering in a new era of technology, dazzled each day by unfamiliar inventions. Airships soar in the skies over the city, while ground trains rumble through the streets and clockwork automatons are programmed to carry out menial tasks in the offices of lawyers, policemen, and journalists.

But beneath this shiny veneer of progress lurks a sinister side.

Queen Victoria is kept alive by a primitive life-support system, while her agents, Sir Maurice Newbury and his delectable assistant Miss Veronica Hobbes, do battle with enemies of the crown, physical and supernatural. This time Newbury and Hobbes are called to investigate the wreckage of a crashed airship and its missing automaton pilot, while attempting to solve a string of strangulations attributed to a mysterious glowing policeman, and dealing with a zombie plague that is ravaging the slums of the capital.

Get ready to follow dazzling young writer George Mann to a London unlike any you’ve ever seen and into an adventure you will never forget…

I picked up The Affinity Bridge and its sequel, The Osiris Ritual, on a bookcloseouts.ca sale a while back. I had no idea what to expect, having never read George Mann before, but the premise--a classic mystery with a steampunk twist--was just too delicious to resist.

In some ways, The Affinity Bridge took me back to my Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Agatha Christie days. (I used to devour their work on virtually a daily basis.) The tone is quite similar, particularly to the Sherlock Holmes stories, which is a definite plus in my mind. And the two main problems before Newbury and Veronica--the airship crash and the murders in Whitechapel--positively reek of classic mystery. Again, a good thing. What sets The Affinity Bridge apart from these classic tales is the fact that it's set in a steampunk Victorian London, where automatons are the new hip thing and airship travel is au courant as well. George Mann has done a wonderful job of marrying the two ideas and The Affinity Bridge is a delightful adventure for the readers (though not so much for poor Newbury, who gets rather battered).

Sir Maurice Newbury and Miss Veronica Hobbes are an excellent pair. They're both incredibly capable, smart people who are also forward-thinking, though Veronica is slower to embrace some of the technological advancement. In The Affinity Bridge, they've only recently started working together, so the reader gets to watch them learn each other, which is always delightful. Veronica seems a little taken with Newbury so it'll be interesting to see whether their relationship remains strictly professional in future books.

I was also fascinated by Veronica's sister, Amelia, who's been institutionalized because of her ability to see the future. When Amelia was first introduced, I was a little surprised since this was the first mention of these types of powers existing in this world but I'm curious to see what happens with Amelia in other stories (if she shows up at all). Of course, I don't know why I was so surprised by Amelia's gift since there are elements of the super/preternatural in The Affinity Bridge, primarily the presence of zombies, or revenants as they are called in the book. Don't worry, this isn't a spoiler -- the first chapter is all about a zombie attack in India!

I'm very happy that I have The Osiris Ritual sitting in my TBR pile as I thoroughly enjoyed The Affinity Bridge. It was a lot of fun to read, and I really liked getting to know Newbury and Hobbes. There are some fantastic little moments in the book, particularly towards the end, that have made me quite curious about where George Mann will take them next.

Jennsig2

Saturday, November 19, 2011

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox

Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every week =)

For Review:

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
Hallowed by Cynthia Hand
Everneath by Brodi Ashtoni
Under The Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

tyngasig