Monday, October 31, 2011

Random Act of Kindness–November Edition

The girls at Book Soulmates started a very cool project. The concept is to post a wish list and someone might just send a gift to you! Of course, you might wanna be nice to and offer someone something from their wish list as well!

Here are the details, from their website.

Rules:

• Sign up each month you'd like to participate in.

• Show off your participation! Grab one of the buttons available :)

• Create a wishlist and post it in the Google Doc located in each R.A.K post for the month.

{Post on your blog, Amazon, where ever as long as there's a link to it.}

• If you choose to do a R.A.K for someone, check out their wishlist and contact that blogger for their address.

• At the end of the month, SHOW US YOUR R.A.K!

Make a post saying 'Thank You' to whoever granted one of your wishes and share it with us :)

OPEN TO EVERYONE!

Let's keep our International bloggers in mind and in our hearts.

Remember, there's always the Book Depository and they offer FREE shipping!

 

Here’s my wish list for this month ^^ I know it’s quite long, but you’ll have plenty to choose from!

If you wish to offer me something, just email me at TyngaUF(a)gmail.com and I will give you my mailing addy

  • Beautiful Chaos – Kami & Margaret
  • The Bite before Christmas – Jeaniene Frost
  • Eve – Anna Carey
  • Starcrossed by Elizabeth C Bunce
  • The Pledge – Kimberly Derting
  • Carrie of the Mark – Leigh Fallon
  • Bloodlines by Richelle Mead (HC)
  • Cold Magic by Kate Elliott
  • Venom, Tangled Threads & Spider’s Revenge– Jennifer Estep
  • Personal Demon, Living with the Dead, Frostbitten, Waking the Witch – Kelley Armstrong (I’d like the MM edition, to match my collection ^^)
  • Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon (MM please ^^)
  • Demon Bound by Caitlin Kittredge
  • Alien Huntress series by Gena Showalter
  • Wraith by Phaedra Weldon
  • Demons Not Included & Zombies Sold Separately by Cheyenne McCray
  • Undead on Arrival & Cursed to Death by L.A. Banks
  • Frost – Marianna Baer
  • Cold Sight – Leslie Parish
  • The Rift Walker -  Clay & Susan Griffith
  • After Obsession – Carrie Jones
  • Charlie Madigan series by Kelly Gay
  • Unknown, Unseen – Rachel Caine
  • Firestorm, Thin Air, Gale Force, Cape Storm, Total Eclipse – Rachel Caine
  • Working Stiff – Rachel Caine (penguin)
  • Blood Red Road – Moira Young

I really hope you join the fun! I think it’s a great way to meet new bloggers as well as give a bit of joy in this world!

Saturday, October 29, 2011

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox

Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every week =)

Bought:

Trance by Kelly Meding [Amazon | Book Depository]
Darkness Rising by Keri Arthur [Amazon | Book Depository]
Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick [Amazon | Book Depository]

Gift:

Changeling Dream by Dani Harper [Amazon | Book Depository]

Review:

Magic on the Line by Devon Monk [Amazon | Book Depository]
Nightshine by Lynn Viehl [Amazon | Book Depository]
Lover Unleashed by JR Ward [Amazon | Book Depository]
Drink Deep by Chloe Neill [Amazon | Book Depository]
Reckoning by Lili St-Crow [Amazon | Book Depository]

tyngasig

Cheap Kindle Reads!

It’s been a while since I last did a round up of cheap reads so I thought now was the time!
(Make sure you visit the blog, or you won’t see the amazon buttons from Google Reader)

First stop is a bunch of 0,99$ books, I only selected ones with great ratings =)



 

 

Now onto some 2,99$ books!

 

 

Are you gonna pick any of them? Personally I’m very tempted by the Daughters of Saraqael series, its covers are so stunning!

Happy Reading!

tyngasig

Friday, October 28, 2011

Time for some cover love!

I’ve gathered some very nice cover for you guys! Please try not to drool on your keyboards *winks*

Photobucket

Survive by Alex Morel, to release on August 2nd, 2012.

I have no idea what this is about, but I think the cover is simply stunning!

Now onto a book I’m super freaking excited about: Shadow Bound by Rachel Vincent.

If you live in the dark long enough, you begin to forget the light…

KORI DANIELS is a shadow-walker, able to travel instantly from one shadow to another. After weeks of confinement for betraying her boss, she’s ready to break free of the Tower syndicate for good. But Jake Tower has one final job for Kori, one chance to secure freedom for herself and her sister, Kenley, even if that means taking it from someone else…

The job? Recruit Ian Holt—or kill him.

Ian’s ability to manipulate the dark has drawn interest from every syndicate in the world, most notably an invitation from Jake Tower. Though he has no interest in organized crime, Ian accepts the invite, because he’s on a mission of his own. Ian has come to kill Tower’s top Binder: Kori’s little sister.

Amid the tangle of lies, an unexpected thread of truth connecting Ian and Kori comes to light. But with opposing goals, they’ll have to choose between love and liberty…

I LOVED Blood Bound, think it’s amazing and it’s my favorite read of 2011, so I’m very anxious for Shadow Bound! Release date: June 1st, 2012.

Now we’ve got Until I Die by Amy Plum, which is the second book in the series.

Kate has chosen to leave the comfort and safety of her human world in order to join Vincent in the dangerous supernatural universe he inhabits. For his part, he has sworn to go against his very nature and resist the repeated deaths that are his fate as a revenant—even though it will bring him immeasurable suffering.

Heady with romance and rife with danger, the second book of the DIE FOR ME trilogy follows Vincent and Kate as they search—separately—for a solution to their plight, pursuing their quest from the glamorous streets of Paris to the city’s squalid underbelly. Although the experiment that Vincent attempts is progressively destroying him, he insists on seeing it through to the end. This prompts Kate to strike out on her own into the dangerous world of the revenants to find another way. But she unwittingly puts everyone she loves at risk when she discovers a family of ancient healers who hold the key to a secret that could help the bardia—the good revenants—overthrow their murderous enemies, the numa, forever.

And while the lovers search for something they have little chance of finding, a new threat arises among the numa. Kate finds herself in the midst of an ancient and deadly war, not as a bystander...but as a target.

Release date: May 3rd, 2012.

Next is Alien Diplomacy by Gini Koch, the fifth book in the series.

Release date: April 3rd, 2012.

 

And here’s a very original cover, as always, for Tempest’s Fury by Nicole Peeler.

Jane’s not happy. She’s been packed off to England to fight in a war, when she’d much rather be snogging her new boyfriend. Unfortunately, Jane’s enemies have been busy stirring up some major trouble—the kind that attracts a lot of attention. In other words, they’re not making it easy for Jane to get any alone time with Anyan, or to indulge in her penchant for stinky cheese.

Praying she can pull off a Joan of Arc without the whole martyrdom thing, Jane must lead Alfar and halflings alike in a desperate battle to combat an ancient evil. Catapulted into the role of the most unlikely hero ever, Jane has to fight her own insecurities as well as the doubts of those who don’t think she can live up to her new role as Champion.

Along the way Jane learns that some heroes are born, some heroes are made, and some heroes are bribed with promises of food and sex.

Release date: July 5th, 2012.

 

Another great cover in this series, I really like ‘em all. Black Howl by Christina Henry.

 

Agent of Death Madeline Black is finding out that some of the spirits of Chicago aren't ready to cross over.

Something is wrong with the souls of Chicago's dead. Ghosts are walking the streets, and Agent of Death Madeline Black's exasperating boss wants her to figure out why. And while work is bad enough, Maddy has a plethora of personal problems too. Now that Gabriel has been assigned as her thrall, their relationship has hit an impasse. At least her sleazy ex-fiancé Nathaniel is out of the picture — or so she thinks...

Release date: February 28th, 2012.

 

 

Here’s Deadly Descendant by Jenna Black, the second book in the series.

As a living descendant of Artemis the Huntress, private investigator Nikki Glass knows how to track someone down. But when an Oracle shows up, warning the descendants about wild dog attacks in Washington D.C., Nikki is afraid it might be a trap. The Olympians believe the “dogs” are jackals, controlled by a blood-crazed descendant of the Egyptian death-god Anubis. Whatever. . . . If Nikki hopes to muzzle Dogboy, she’s got to catch him in the act. But when she stakes out a local cemetery, she ends up face-to-snout with a snarling pack of shadow-jackals whose bite is worse than their bark. These hellhounds are deadly—even for an immortal like Nikki. “Dog” spelled backwards may be “god,” but that won’t stop Nikki from teaching these old gods some new tricks. Like playing dead.

Release date: April 24th, 2012.

 

Another series I really like is Sabina Kane’s series by Jaye Wells and here’s the cover of Blue-Blooded Vamp.

Blue-Blooded Vamp (Sabina Kane, #5)

Release Date: June 7th, 2012.

Next is, Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake, the sequel of Anna Dressed in Blood.

I really like that one. I think it’s stunning!

Release date: 2012

You’ve probably seen that one already, The Savage Grace by Bree Despain.

 

A troubled soul. An impossible choice. A final battle.

Wrestling with the werewolf curse pulsing deep inside of her, Grace Divine was finally able to find her brother, but it nearly cost her everything.

With her boyfriend, Daniel, stuck in wolf form and Sirhan's death approaching, time is running out for Grace to stop Caleb Kalbi and his gang of demons. If she fails, her family and hometown will perish. Everything rests on Grace's shoulders.

The final installment in The Dark Divine trilogy brings Daniel and Grace's love story to a breathtaking conclusion.

Release date: March 13th, 2012.

 

I think it’s safe to say 2012 is gonna have some pretty amazing covers and I can’t wait to get my hands on those babies! I think my favorite one is Survive, but I’m most anxious for Shadow Bound!

Which title interests you most?

tyngasig

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Daring You To Read… Graceling by Kristin Cashore! + Giveaway

daringyou

Hello my bookish friends!

Today I’m happy to introduce a brand-spanking-new meme and I hope you will join the fun!

The ultimate goal is to discover books that we might have not noticed before, and the concept is very easy!

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Giveaway: Destined by P.C. & Kristin Cast

giveaway

House of Night fan’s will be very this Halloween with the release of Destined, the latest book in the popular series by P.C. & Kristin Cast. It released just yesterday, and I have a copy to offer you guys! But before, here’s a bit more about the book:

DestinedIn Destined, the forces of Light and Dark collide as their epic struggle focuses on Tulsa’s House of Night. Zoey is home where she belongs, safe with her Guardian Warrior, Stark, by her side – and preparing to face off against Neferet. Kalona has released his hold on Rephaim, and, through Nyx’s gift of a human form, he and Stevie Rae are finally able to be together – if Rephaim can truly walk the path of the Goddess and stay free of his father’s shadow.

But is Zoey really safe? Does she truly know those who are closest to her? And will love win when it is tested by the very soul of Darkness? Find out what’s destined in the next thrilling chapter of the House of Night series.

Read an Excerpt

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

To enter the giveaway just fill the Rafflecopter from.

Giveaway open to US & Canada.

Ends November 4th, 2011.

 




Heartless by Gail Carriger

Gail Carriger - HeartlessHeartless by Gail Carriger

Book stats:
Reading level: Adult
Genre: Steampunk
Mass market paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Orbit
Release date: July 1, 2011

Series: Parasol Protectorate #4

Reviewed by: Jenn

Source: Personal shelf

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

Lady Alexia Maccon, soulless, is at it again, only this time the trouble is not her fault. When a mad ghost threatens the queen, Alexia is on the case, following a trail that leads her deep into her husband's past. Top that off with a sister who has joined the suffragette movement (shocking!), Madame Lefoux's latest mechanical invention, and a plague of zombie porcupines and Alexia barely has time to remember she happens to be eight months pregnant.

Will Alexia manage to determine who is trying to kill Queen Victoria before it is too late? Is it the vampires again or is there a traitor lurking about in wolf's clothing? And what, exactly, has taken up residence in Lord Akeldama's second best closet?

There is little I love more than a new Parasol Protectorate novel. I fell in love with the series with Gail Carriger’s debut, Soulless, and each installment has improved on its predecessors. I was especially excited to read Heartless because I was expecting the “infant-inconvenience” would make his or her exit from the womb.

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

All Hallows Read

All_Hallows_Read_StickerNeil Gaiman started a very cool idea called All Hallow Read and I’m gonna let him tell you about more about it!

The objective is pretty much to share and love of reading and Harper Collins Canada jumped in on the crazy wagon and sent bloggers all across Canada books to randomly drop off all around the country!

What’s going on on Tynga’s Reviews?

Well I’ve neglected the blog a bit in the past weeks because the side effects of pregnancy were keeping me down, and it directly showed with my number of followers. I haven’t gained any since the end of Fantastic Fables, I even lost a couple and it really saddens me =(

Now I’m getting better, still not ready to run a marathon, far from that (!), but I have some new projects cooking for you guys and I hope you’ll be as excited as I am!

First, I decided to add “Continue Reading” links to the homepage to make browsing easier. It doesn’t change a thing if you view it from google reader but I’d like to know how you feel about it. I’d be glad if you took a second to fill the poll:

A Vampire for Christmas Blog Tour + Giveaway

VampXmasTourButton_thumb1_thumb

I’m super happy to have four amazing lady on the blog today, to kick start their blog tour! A Vampire For Christmas released on October 18th, and imma let the girls tell you a bit more about it Smile

Monday, October 24, 2011

Tour: Death’s Hand by SM Reine + Giveaway

I’m really happy to have the chance to kick-start Sara book tour this morning! Sara is celebrating the release of the first book in her new Descent series, Death’s Hand. Here’s a bit more about the book!
deathshand_thumb3_thumb

 

Policing relations between Heaven, Hell, and Earth is messy and violent, but Elise Kavanagh and James Faulkner excelled at it—until coming across a job so brutal that even they couldn't stand to see one more dead body.
 
Now they've been pretending to be normal for five years, leaving their horrific history a dark secret. Elise works in an office. James owns a business. None of their friends realize they used to be one of the world's best killing teams.
 
After years of hiding, something stirs. Bodies are vanishing. Demons scurry in the shadows of the night. A child has been possessed.
 
Some enemies aren't willing to let the secrets of the past stay dead...
 
 
 

Sunday, October 23, 2011

In My Mailbox

IMM2

Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every week =)

Today’s my first solo post since Tynga doesn’t have any new books this week. I haven’t quite figured out the whole vlogging business yet so I’m going old school on this one, in case you haven’t guessed from the photo.

 IMM-20111023

Saturday, October 22, 2011

Winner: Parallel by Claudia Lefeve

Parallel-ClaudiaLefeve

The giveaway ended last night and the lucky winner of an e-copy of Parallel is…

Julie said...

Count me in on this awesome giveaway!! I really, really want to read this book! Thanks for the chance to win a copy:)

Congratulations, Julie!

I just sent you an email confirming your address. You have 72 hours to reply.

Hope everyone’s having a great Saturday!

Jennsig2

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Eternal Rider by Larissa Ione

Eternal Rider by Larissa Ione

Book Stats:
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Mass Market Paperback: 432 pages
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Release date: April 1, 2011

Series: Lords of Deliverance #1

Source: Personal Shelf

Reviewer: Tynga

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

They are here. They ride. The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse.

His name is Ares, and the fate of mankind rests on his powerful shoulders. If he falls to the forces of evil, the world falls too. As one of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, he is far stronger than any mortal, but even he cannot fight his destiny forever. Not when his own brother plots against him.

Yet there is one last hope. Gifted in a way other humans can't-or won't-understand, Cara Thornhart is the key to both this Horseman's safety and his doom. But involving Cara will prove treacherous, even beyond the maddening, dangerous desire that seizes them the moment they meet. For staving off eternal darkness could have a staggering cost: Cara's life.

Whoever thought being one of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse would be a fun ride would be right, according to Pestilence. If you ask his siblings though, they will have a whole different story to tell. As Ares fights alongside Thanatos & Limos to avoid breaking his seal and becoming War, simultaneously kick-starting the end of the world, he will discover a new side of himself as he stumbles into Cara, a human woman. Will she be his lighthouse or the cause of his & humanity’s downfall? Only time will tell.

Monday, October 17, 2011

Book Tour: Parallel by Claudia Lefeve

Parallel-tour-button-horizontal

Today, Claudia Lefeve is stopping by the blog as part of her blog tour. I’m very excited about this because I loved Parallel, her debut YA novel -- so excited that I probably asked way too many questions! (Sorry, Claudia!)

I’d like to give *huge* thanks to Claudia and Kismet Book Touring for this opportunity! I should also mention that there are two different covers for Parallel: one for the e-book, and a newer one that came out more recently that will be used for the print edition. That’s why you’re seeing a couple different versions here. :) 

Keep reading to get to know the delightful Claudia Lefeve, and to enter the giveaways at the end of this post.

Parallel by Claudia Lefeve

Parallel-ClaudiaLefeve

Parallel by Claudia Lefeve

Book stats:

Reading level: Young Adult
Genre: Paranormal
E-book: 295 KB
Publisher: Sugar Skull
Release date: August 26, 2011

Series: Travelers #1

Reviewed by: Jenn

Source: Kismet Book Touring

Purchase: Amazon (only $0.99 right now!)

Destiny has a way of catching up.

Saddled with powers she doesn’t understand, Etta Fleming’s world turned upside-down the day she meets Cooper Everett, the man who transports her to an alternate reality. A reality she was meant to be a part of.One minute, she’s an orphan living in Dominion House for Girls, an institution for delinquent foster kids, then finds herself attending the exclusive Dominion Hall Academy.

Plucked from the only world she’s ever known, Etta now has to deal with an aunt she never knew, a boyfriend she doesn’t know, and a best friend who can’t know.

Before I start off, I want to give a huge thank you to the ladies at Kismet Book Touring for this opportunity. I’ve had a lot of fun getting to know Claudia and reading Parallel. :)

Sunday, October 16, 2011

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox

Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every week =)

Sorry guys, not link to all the books today, it would take too long =( *lazy*

tyngasig

Saturday, October 15, 2011

Winner announcement + Survey

PictureBefore getting down to business let’s announce the lucky winner of a copy of Sins of the Angels by Linda Poitevin:

mandaespi said...

I don't think it matters where the book is set as long as it's a good story. But, this book sounds amazing. Thanks for the giveaway!!!

Congrats darling! I’m about to email you and you will have 72 hours to reply with your mailing addy Smile

-------------

Now onto the survey, you’ve probably seen a new means to enter the giveaways around the blogosphere called Rafflecopter. I signed up on the waitlist to be able to use it eventually and I’d like to you know what are your thoughts on it.

Here’s what it looks like.

raffle

I could put as many or as little extra entries as I want.

Would you be willing to use Rafflecopter to enter Tynga’s Reviews giveaway?

Would you be willing to use it? Do you find it easy to use? Thoughts on extra entries? Any critique?

Thanks for your output as I might use it for future giveaways!

 

tyngasig

Friday, October 14, 2011

Poison Study by Maria V Snyder

Poison Study by Maria V Snyder

Book Stats:
Genre: Fantasy / YA
Paperback: 416 pages
Publisher: Mira
Release date: December 1, 2008

Series: Study #1

Source: Personal Shelf

Reviewed by: Tynga

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She'll eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace—and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia.

And so Yelena chooses to become a good taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly's Dust—and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison.

As Yelena tries to escape her new dilemma, disasters keep mounting. Rebels plot to seize Ixia and Yelena develops magical powers she can't control. Her life is threatened again and choices must be made. But this time the outcomes aren't so clear…

Yelena never had it easy. She grew up in an orphanage and ended-up locked in the Commander’s dungeon after she killed the son of the man who took her in at age 6. Under the Commander’s rule, murder (premeditated or accidental) is punishable by death. On the day she was to meet with the noose, she was offered another option. She could taste the Commander’s food and risk death by poisoning any day, or meet her fate right away. Hoping for escape, she chose to become the food taster, but after escaping multiple murder attempts, she realizes poisoning might be the least of her worries.

I’ve had the Study series books on my bookshelves since 2009 and I can’t believe it took me so long the read them. I’ve read the entire series and the spin-off series (the Glass series) in about two weeks and they were all so good I couldn’t pause to write my reviews.

Right after reading the first page of Poison Study I was hooked and knew I was in for an epic ride. Set in a medieval setting with a government led by military, Poison Study is engrossing, heart-thumbing and dangerous. All the elements for an exceptional book,  including a love interest (!), were present and I couldn’t find an aspect I didn’t like. While reading, I was reminded of the atmosphere present in Graceling by Kristin Cashore (another book I’m nuts for) and I was in Heaven!

The plot is intricate and surprising. All the event are flowing even though they don’t seem related at first. Maria kept just the good amount of intrigue knitted with an expert dose of answers, to keep you on your toes and have you craving for more.

The characters are also a big part of the appeal. Yelena is stunning. She grows from unsteady girl to a strong woman in front of our eyes and it’s a delight to witness. It wouldn’t  have been possible without the help of a couple of friends though. Valek works as an assassin for the Commander and he is Yelena’s immediate superior. He’s a sneaky bastard made of awesome and I love him to pieces! Ari and Janco, two soldiers in the Commander’s army will also befriend with Yelena and they bicker all the time like an old married couple. They always put a spark of hope and humor in certain-death situation, making the tension bearable.

The conclusion was surprising and exciting, and as you can guess, I was extremely glad to have the second book awaiting for me, which I picked up right away! And I can tell you, after reading the trilogy, that even though all the books were great, Poison Study was my favorite. Mostly because the action is in Ixia vs Sitia.

My Verdict:

Poison Study is a work of genius by Maria V Snyder. Everything from the plot, the pace, the characters, is perfectly set-up for this novel to be unforgettable. If you love fantasy books, this is one of the best you’ll be able to find!

Read an Excerpt

tyngasig

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

It *should* be a boy!

Hey my fellow book lovers! I announced 3 weeks ago I was awaiting a baby and yesterday I went to the 12 weeks ultrasound and we discovered that we should be having a baby boy *throws confetti*

I say should, because at 12 weeks they are still very tiny, so there’s possibility of a mistake, but the technician seemed pretty sure ^^

9weeks

12weeks
Sorry don’t have a better shot where we can see his arms and legs =(

I was surprised by how fast he grew and it was awesome to see him move! He was sleepy and didn’t want to move for the pictures at first, he even turned his back on us showing us his tiny booty lol. It was really amazing and I can’t wait to see him again in 2 months!

My husband and I started discussing names, and so far Joshua is a winner, we still have 6 months to decide though, so if you have name suggestions, feel free to shoot them! A little inspiration is always nice :)

*a very happy soon-to-be mom*

tyngasig

Monday, October 10, 2011

Nocturne by Syrie James

SyrieJames-Nocturne Nocturne by Syrie James

Book Stats:
Reading level: Adult
Genre: Paranormal romance
Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Vanguard
Release date: August 2, 2011

Series: n/a

Reviewed by: Jenn

Source: FSB Associates / Vanguard Press

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

From international bestselling author Syrie James comes a haunting and deeply romantic story of forbidden love that will steal your heart and never let you go.

When Nicole Whitcomb’s car runs off a Colorado mountain road during a blinding snowstorm, she is saved from death by a handsome, fascinating, and enigmatic stranger. Snowbound with him for days in his beautiful home high in the Rockies, she finds herself powerfully attracted to him. But there are things about him that mystify her, filling her with apprehension.

Who is Michael Tyler? Why does he live alone in such a secluded spot and guard his private life so carefully? What secret—or secrets—is he hiding? Nicole has secrets of her own and a past she is running from—but Michael understands her better than anyone she has ever known. Soon, she is falling as deeply in love with him as he is with her—a profoundly meaningful experience that is destined to change their lives forever.
As the sexual tension between them builds, however, the clues mount up. When Nicole learns her host’s terrifying secret, there is nowhere for her to run but into the blizzard raging outside, and Michael may be the only one who can save her life.

This is the first book that I’ve read by Syrie James. I’ve heard good things about her work and I was looking forward to reading Nocturne. I’m pleased to report that Nocturne is a satisfying slice of paranormal romance.

Oddly enough, what stands out most about Nocturne to me is the fact that there are really only two characters in the entire novel, if you don’t count animals (which I don’t here because they’re regular animals not super awesome sidekicks like Kevin Hearne’s Oberon). It didn’t really strike me until towards the end of the novel but the book really is all about Nicole and Michael and their interactions. Thankfully, Nicole and Michael are good characters, so I didn’t mind that there were no secondary folks in the story. Michael does the tortured thing well, striving to avoid temptation and hide the fact that he’s a vampire, while Nicole is a sweet but guarded young woman. I was particularly fond of Nicole because she’s bright (aside from driving out in a snow storm) and charming. I like that it didn’t take her forever to figure out that Michael was a vampire, because I was worried that that aspect of the story would take over the book. She’s also a bit mysterious since there are things in her past she doesn’t talk about, though she tries very hard to get to know Michael. Michael was a little bit harder to get to know, probably because most of the book is told from Nicole’s point of view. He’s very clever, and it shows in the fact that he’s devised so many different ways of hiding his vampirism.

What I didn’t like about them is the fact that they seemed a little too perfect for each other. Don’t get me wrong, I love romance stories and the fact that you’re typically on your way to a Happily Ever After when you pick up a book from the romance section. But I don’t think that the characters need to have the exact same set of interests. Some overlap is often necessary for the story to feel real but I didn’t like the fact that Nicole and Michael just happen to have the same hobbies: piano, gardening, reading. It made their story seem contrived, which was unfortunate since I really enjoyed watching them get to know one another.

It’s impossible to talk about Nocturne without wanting to talk about the ending. To avoid spoilers, I’m not going to be explicit but I will say that I was surprised by the ending. It grounded the novel in a way I didn’t expect and I’m still not entirely sure how I feel about it. So much of Nocturne fed into the romance formula that I was truly taken aback when things deviated, so much so that I kept flipping through thinking there had to be another chapter. But I do love that Syrie James took a chance and adding something less rote into the story, because it made the story so much stronger. 

Read an excerpt

Jennsig2

Sunday, October 09, 2011

When I’m Not Writing… Is Making A Comeback!

notwriting

I started this feature back in 2010 and didn’t have time to maintain it after the Paranormal Spring Break with my promotion at work, my wedding and now my pregnancy, let’s just say life got in the way!

Now that Jenn joined me though, it allows for more flexibility and Jenn will take control of the feature, as it used to be one of your favorites!

Here’s a bit more about the concept, in case you don’t remember ^^

Discover your favorite authors in their natural habitat (!) and learn more about the man/woman, when they don’t have their author-faces (as opposed to poker-faces!) on.

Each post will be unique and flavored to the author's personality. The post subject? Well the sky is the limit really!

They might talk to us about their past time, where they like to hang out, what kind of music they listen to. Do they practice any sports? Any artistic talents? Show us their pets, neighbors or best friend. Like I said, sky is the limit, and each author will choose their very own subject!

You can expect a new post within a few weeks and now is the perfect time to suggest authors you’d want to see featured. Just Fill the form below, and we will contact the author see if they are interested!

Please remember, filling the form doesn’t guaranty your favorite author will be featured, because they may simply decline our invitation, but we will give it try =)


JTsig

Saturday, October 08, 2011

Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore–FINALY!

YAY! Ok I made the insane happy dance on Thursday when Kristin Cashore announced the official release date of Bitterblue. I LOVED Fire (my review) and Graceling (my review) and I feel like I’ve been awaiting Bitterblue forever! So I’m excited out of my mind right now lol

Bitteblue USBitterblue UK

US  //  UK

Kristin said:

Bitterblue will be released on May 1, 2012 in the USA, Canada, UK, Australia, and New Zealand. It will be released on the same day in a few other countries/languages as well; I'll supply that information when I have it.

The official Publisher’s Weekly announcement:

The [US] cover to Kristin Cashore’s eagerly awaited third novel is royal blue -fitting since the title character has blue in her name and is the king’s daughter. But, oooh. What’s with those keys: one gold, one silver, one bronze? 

Dial will publish Bitterblue, a companion to Cashore’s bestsellers Graceling (Harcourt, 2008) and Fire (Dial, 2009) on May 1, 2012 but this first look at the cover ought to tantalize her many fans.

The novel, which has an announced first printing of 200,000 copies and clocks in at a hefty 576 pages, picks up eight years after Graceling,with Bitterblue now 18 and the reigning queen of Monsea. Cashore says the story constitutes more of a companion than a strict sequel. Graceling fans, however, will likely be thrilled to learn that the heroine of that book – the different-colored-eyed Katsa – returns in Bitterblue, as does her lover, Po.

Other characters from Graceling appear, too, most notably (and unavoidably, since he is Bitterblue’s father), the nefarious King Leck, the only character who appears in both Graceling and Fire.

For Cashore, the completion of her third novel allows her to take a deep breath – of relief. “Fire was such an emotionally hard book for me to write that when I started Bitterblue I vowed to write something light and fun,” Cashore said. “I was well into it before I had the realization that if light and fun is what you’re after you probably shouldn’t have a main character whose father murdered her mother.”


The only down side to all this excitement? My due date is May 2nd, so unless I’m lucky enough to score an ARC I might not get to read it right away =(

Either way, I’m super excited and I CAN’T WAIT to get my hands on Bitterblue, and I will pre-order a UK copy as my copies of Fire & Graceling have UK covers to. Anyone from the UK would be sweet enough to pre-order for me? I’d pay you via paypal ^^ [tyngauf(a)gmail.com]

While you wait, you might want to check the Study series by Maria V Snyder, I rushed through it this week and thought they have a lot of similarities =)tyngasig

Friday, October 07, 2011

Lover Revealed by J.R. Ward

Lover Revealed by J.R. Ward

Books Stats:
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Paperback: 480 pages
Publisher: Signet
Release date: March 6th, 2007

Series: Black Dagger Brotherhood #4

Reviewed by: Tynga

Source: Personal Shelf

Purchase: Amazon | Book Depository

Butch O'Neal is a fighter by nature. A hard-living ex-homicide cop, he's the only human ever to be allowed in the inner circle of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. And he wants to go even deeper into the vampire world-to engage in the turf war with the lessers. His heart belongs to a female vampire, Marissa, an aristocratic beauty who's way out of his league. And if he can't have her, then at least he can fight side by side with the Brothers.

But fate curses him with the very thing he wants. When Butch sacrifices himself to save a civilian vampire from the slayers, he falls prey to the darkest force in the war. Left for dead, he's found by a miracle, and the Brotherhood calls on Marissa to bring him back, though even her love may not be enough to save him.

Overtime, Butch O'Neil, human, once-cop, became the Brothers’ protégé and it’s now his time to shine in this novel. He lives with the Brothers, they pay for his clothes, his food and won’t let him fight with them: he feels like a well kept human pet, like a loser. On top of this, the woman he wants, the stunning Marissa, high class vampire, doesn’t want anything to do with him. But honestly, why would she? Butch decides to take matters in hands when he stumbles into a party of Lessers attacking a vampire civilian. Not everything went as expected though…

Lover Revealed was a very exciting read and I really enjoyed it, even though Zhadist’s book remains my favorite. Butch isn’t one of my favorite male in the series but I liked to discover more about him. We learnt a lot about his past and his courage and determination shone. His human actions are often misinterpreted by Marissa and it spiced-up the plot. Marissa is a lovely bright female who’s unfairly shunned-out by the high society and she will fight hard to earn what she deserves.

My favorite aspect of this novel was, by far, Vishious’ turmoil. He lost his ability to see the future and it drives him nuts. He is also hunted by recurring nightmares and he is very unstable. His relationship with Butch is also very special and I hope we’ll get to the bottom of things. I honestly can’t wait to read Vishious’ book!

Even though Lover Revealed is my least favorite of the series, the book was really hard to put down due to high-running emotions and action-packed plot. What happened in this round will change all the rules and I’m really excited for what’s to come.

Read an Excerpt

tyngasig