Monday, February 28, 2011

HCC March Madness

HCC

The HCC March Madness is back for a fourth year in a row and the voting just started today!

What’s the HCC you gonna ask me?

64 books (or teams in basketball if we’re referring to college sports) are divided into 4 brackets. In each bracket books face off one-on-one with voters picking a winner out of the two to move on to the next round. Eventually four books will each ‘win’ their respective brackets and face off in the finals.

There are tons of great books in the competition but I’m personally rooting for four books in particular:

 

Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison

Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by Lewis C S

Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

Wondrous Strange by Lesley Livingston

What’s in it for you?

GRAND PRIZES

One (1) grand prize winners will receive one (1) copy each of every book entered in the tournament

And

One (1) trip for two 2 to Breezes Grand Resort in Bahamas

The Grand Prize package consists of:

  • 2 round trip economy seats departing from (Toronto, Halifax, Ottawa, Calgary, Edmonton, Winnipeg or Vancouver, based on seasonality and promotional availability) to Bahamas
  • 7 nights all inclusive stay in a standard room at Breezes Grand Resort and Spa in the Bahamas

Approximate Value: $3000

(See Rules here)

But that’s not it, if one of those four books wins the competition, I will win those four books. I already own 3 out of 4, so what does it mean?

If I win, you win!
If I win, I will hold a giveaway offering those three books I already own =)

What are you waiting for?

go on and CAST YOUR VOTE!

Paranormal Spring Break Launch & Master List

**Scroll down for a list of all events**

PSB2

Hello My Darlings!

I am really excited to finally launch the Paranormal Spring Break!

In this amazing month, you will be caught in a tsunami of incredible events and giveaways, I suggest you buckle-up! Starting tomorrow and until March 31st Rachel from Parajunkee’s View and myself will present you the most fabulous authors releasing paranormal books this spring! So stay tuned for a bunch of treats!

I would also suggest you to show some love to all these very generous authors who made some room in their schedule to work with us and make this event possible. Commenting on their Interviews and Guest Posts is greatly appreciated!

To make sure you don’t miss anything, I will keep a master sheet of all Paranormal Spring Break Events, including shipping restrictions (see at the end of this post)!

Here are some key guidelines you might keep in mind thorough the event.

-No limit on the number of unique giveaways you can win: You could potentially win a giveaway from each day. We won’t limit the number of giveaways each person can win.

-No requirements to enter giveaways: Although we greatly appreciate you following/subscribing to Parajunkee’s View & Tynga’s Reviews, you aren’t required to in order to enter any of the giveaways. 

-Read Shipping Restrictions Carefully: Some are US only, other US/Canada, other International. Please pay attention before you enter =)

-Giveaways end on April 6th:  All the giveaways for Paranormal Spring Break start on the day they are posted and end on April 6th.  All the winners will be announced on the blog on April 8th, make sure you come back to see if you won

-One extra entry:  To have to maximum exposure for our guests, we made it possible to earn one extra entry (not mandatory) for each giveaway by spreading the word. Put those twitter & facebook accounts to work!

I will be personally mailing some of the prize, and shipping in Canada is a down right rip off. If you want to help open those giveaway to US & INT, you can donate using this button (It will be on the side bar also).
You don’t have to make big donations, our budgets are all limited, but if a bunch of people give 0,50$ or 1$ it will make a difference in the end =)
(a 30¢ + 2,9% cut is made by paypal on every donations)

Thanks for your generosity!

Donate

You can also help us spread the word by posting the event button on your blog =)

PSBsmall2

Mastersheet!

Legend:
I: Interview       GP: Guest Post          G: Giveaway            TR: Tynga’s Reviews          PJV: Parajunkee’s View

Date Event Prize Shipping Restrictions TR PJV
1 GP-Vlog – Jana Oliver Signed The Demon Trapper’s Daughter + Swag US & Canada X  
1 G – Rachel Ward Numb3rs + The Cha0s US Only X  
1 I- Richelle Mead Signed ARC of Iron Crowned US & Canada   X
2 I – Caitlin Kittredge The Iron Thorn INT X  
2 I – Mark Henry Signed Happy Hour of the Damned (2 winners) US Only   X
3 GP – Jaye Wells Green-Eyed Demon INT X  
3 I – Ann Aguirre Shady Lady US Only   X
4 Cover Contest – Jeaniene Frost This Side of the Grave & Eternal Kiss of Darkness (2 winners) INT X  
4 G – Kimberly Derting Desires of the Dead & Swag (2 winners) US Only   X
5 GP – Allison Pang Signed A Brush of Darkness INT X  
5 G – Lauren DeStefano ARC of Wither (2 winners) US Only   X
6 G – Nalini Singh Signed Angel’s Blood INT X  
6 G – Adrian Phoenix Etched in Bone (2 winners) US Only   X
7 I – Karen Mahoney The Iron Witch INT X  
7 GP – Kelly Keaton Signed Darkness Becomes Her + swag US Only   X
8 GP – Darynda Jones Signed First Grave to the Right INT X  
8 GP – Adrian Phoenix Signed Etched in Bone (2 winners) US Only   X
8 G – Jeaniene Frost Signed This Side of the Grave US Only   X
9 G – Kresley Cole Signed? Pleasure of a Dark Prince and Deep Kiss of Winter INT X  
10 I – Gwen Hayes Falling Under US & Canada X  
10 I- Franny Billingsly n/a     X
11 I- Kim Harrison Complete Madison Avery series (2 winners) Canada Only/ INT X  
11 I- Joy Preble Haunted US Only   X
12 Vlog I – Hannah Jayne Under Wraps + Swag INT X  
12 GP – Justin Gustainis n/a     X
13 G – Justin Gustainis Signed Those Who Fight Monsters (2 winners) INT   X
13 G - Cherie Priest Signed Bloodshot INT X  
13 I – Heater Dixon Entwined Canada Only X  
14 I – Lori Handeland $25 CG at Barnes & Nobles US Only X  
14 GP – EJ Stevens Spirit Guide Prize Pack US Only   X
14 G – Rachel Caine Ghost Town US Only   X
15 GP – Sophie Littlefield Aftertime & Banished INT X  
15 I – Lee Nichols Signed Betrayal US Only   X
16 I – Rachel Hawkins Hex Hall + Signed Demonglass + Tote Bag US & Canada X  
16 G – Rachel Caine Signed Unseen US Only   X
16 GP – Rob Tobin n/a     X
17 GP – Kevin Hearne Hounded US & Canada X  
18 GP – Regan Hastings

 Vanished, Eternally, Bedeviled or Beguiled. (3 winners)

INT X  
18 GP – Dianne Duvall Signed Darkness Dawns INT   X
19 I – Nancy Holder Screaming Season & Crusade INT X  
19 I- Lisa Sanchez Pleasure Untold US Only   X
20 GP – Tessa Gratton n/a      
20 G – S&S S&S Prize pack #1 (2 winners) US Only X  
20 I – Kinsley Holley Yours, Mine & Howls INT   X
21 Vote for you favorite cover!     X  
21 I – Crescent Moon Press – Part 1

Silver necklace with tigers eye gem and rose quartz
pendent & signed copy of Memories of Murder
(2 winners)

US Only X  
21 I – Crescent Moon Press – Part 2 Signed Demon Soul & Knightfall (2 winners) US Only X  
21 I – Crescent Moon Press – Part 3 Signed Piper’s Fury & Entangled (2 winners) US Only X  
21 I – Crescent Moon Press – Part 4 Kiss of Blarney & Soul Reborn + 4 bundle of 3 Ebooks (6 winners) US Only / INT X  
21 GP – Gini Koch Alien Tango US Only   X
22 G – Sherrilyn Kenyon Invincible US Only X  
22 I – Ellen Datlow ARC of Teeth INT X  
22 G – Sonya Bateman Master & Apprentice (2 winners) US Only   X
23 I – Casey Daniels Book of Choice (3 winners) US Only X  
23 GP – Killian Mcrae 12.21.12 US Only   X
24 I – Lilith Saintcrow Strange Angels, Betrayals & Jealousy (signed if US winner) INT X  
24 G – L.A Banks Surrender the Dark (2 winners) US Only   X
25 GP – Suzanne McLeod Book of Choice INT X  
25 R – Rachel Hawkins n/a     X
26 GP – Jennifer Estep Tangled Threads US & Canada X  
26 I – Lisa McMann Cryer’s Cross US Only   X
27 G – S&S S&S Prize pack #2 (2 winners) US Only X  
27 I- Jennifer Archer n/a   X  
27 G – Molly Harper The Art of Seducing a Naked Werewolf (2 winners) US Only   X
28 G – Alayna Williams Rogue Oracle US Only   X
28 I – Jackie Morse Kessler Rage INT X  
29 GP – Carolyn Turgeon Mermaid (2 winners) US Only   X
29 I – C.C. Hunter Born at Midnight + Swag INT X  
29 I – Carrie Ryan n/a     X
30 G – Kim Harrington Clarity (2 winners) US Only X  
30 G – Carrie Ryan The Dark and Hollow Places US Only   X
30 I- Larissa Ione Eternal Rider US Only   X
31 GP – Andrea Cremer Signed UK Nightshade INT X  
31 G – Courtney Summers, Jenna Black, Shannon Delany, Sherrilyn Kenyon & Lisa McMann Box of Books! INT X  
31 G – Multiple authors of choice Choose one of three boxes of books! US Only   X

Sunday, February 27, 2011

Some of the best advices you can find =)

(click on cc for English subtitles)

Enough Said.

Saturday, February 26, 2011

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox

Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every week =)

I decided to not do a vlog this week because I’m to damn sick to show my face on the internet lol, I’m sorry!

Here’s are the books I got:


(Cat not included)

For Review:

River Marked by Patricia Briggs
[ Amazon | Kindle | Book Depository ]
Thank you Penguin Canada!

For Giveaway:

Eternal Kiss of Darkness by Jeaniene Frost
[ Amazon | Kindle | Book Depository ]
Loved this book (you can read my review here) & I’ll give away this copy in the Paranormal Spring Break!

Bought:

Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton
[ Amazon | Kindle | Book Depository ]
I already read the ARC (I’ll post my review during PSB) and I loved it, so I bought a finished copy =)

 

I also got some swag.

  • Some Sweet Venom signed bookmarks I got for participating to the cover reveal, I’ll give some away when I review the book.
  • A signed sticker from Kevin Hearne & a thank you card I got for pre-ordering Hounded before Feb 15th. I thought I would receive an actual book plate but oh well.

Bloody Valentine Winner

The Bloody Valentine giveaway ended last night at night so it’s now time to announce a lucky winner.
Using random.org, the winner is…

Jenny N. said...

I like the original US cover the most. The flower really draws my attention to it.

Congrats Jenny! I’m about to email you and you will have 72 hours to get back to me with your mailing address =)

If you didn’t win, you can always purchase the book here:

A53  AmazonNew53  BDnew43

Friday, February 25, 2011

Showing my P!nk LOVE

Well I show you some songs/videos I love from time to time and tonight I felt like sharing my
P!nk LOVE with you guys.
I like her so much because she’s different, she rocks and the message she delivers is always a strong one.

I particularly like her latest songs where she promotes individuality, strong woman and gives a big pat on the back to all of us who sometimes feel down.

do that I say…

ROCK ON GIRL!

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Kindle Deals–round two!

I found another bunch of cheap reads I wanted to share with you!
All under 3$, big majority are 0,99 or 1,99 $

Thought you might be interested =)

for 0,99$:

This is your chance to get addicted to Bones, for only 1,99$ also, if you’re not a kindle user, you can get it for the same price from B&N.

The last three are a series that’s having a huge success:

Happy Reading Y’all!

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

When I’m not Writing… with Jess Haines

Image of

 

 

Hi my lovelies! I’m super excited to have Jess Haines, author of H&W Investigations series, with me today for a When I’m not Writing.. post. Jess is an amazing author, and an even better person. She’s so much fun! Follow her on twitter and you’ll see what I’m talking about *winks*

 

 

 

Oh, man.  Tynga has opened up Pandora’s box by asking me to tell you about what I do when I’m not writing.
Let’s get the boring stuff out of the way first.
Mostly, I work.  On top of my writing, I have two jobs.  Doesn’t sound like fun, I know, but it pays the bills, and I do enjoy what I do!  During the day, I write company policies and training manuals.  To keep myself from getting lonely, Bob and Not-Spot (not to be confused with Spot) keep me company.  
Pic1Pic2

Then, in the evenings, I work some more.  I’m usually on the phones, as you can see here.
Pic3

In all seriousness, that second job is working for my church.  We do a lot of things to help improve our neighborhood through our social betterment campaigns, our anti-drug campaigns, our Human Rights campaigns, our literacy campaigns—plus the services we actually deliver in the church.  It does keep me busy!  I don’t work at this job for the money; it’s for the difference I feel I am making to help others.  Ever since I was a volunteer minister at Ground Zero after the fall of the Twin Towers, I’ve wanted to do more to make a bigger impact.  I hope this helps explain why:
[Video link: http://www.scientology.org/videos/category/what-we-do/scientology-commercial-one-day.html]

When I’m not working, I have fun with my menagerie at home!  I’ve got two stinky cats, four crazy birds, two neurotic lizards, and a stuck up ball python named Monty.  They keep me busy as most of ‘em are constantly clamoring for my attention.  Chico, my cockatoo, is especially rambunctious.  He’s also insanely jealous of anyone or anything else that takes my attention off of him.  
This is Sugar being spied on by Chico:
Pic4

This is Mouse, who will run away and glare if you try to pet her, but secretly loves the attention:
Pic5

This is Booger, who is the only bird on the planet that purrs like a cat when you pet him:
Pic6
And this is Squeak Toy and Sunshine:
Pic7aPic7b
Squeak Toy has a huge man-crush on Chico.  Chico does not appreciate the attention.
I also love watching movies.  My friends usually come over on Sunday nights.  We’ve formed the inimitable Sunday Night Movie Madness crowd.  We’ve been known to MST movies so bad, your eyeballs will literally wilt in the sockets, your IQ will drop, and your brains will dribble out your ears simply for sitting through them.  It’s awesome.

Of course, I take some time to read, too.  My TBR (“to be read”) pile is constantly growing at a greater rate than I can whittle it down.  I usually take books with me to read during breaks, so I do make some headway now and then.  When I have time left over (ha! I crack myself up), I review the books that really had an effect on me—good or bad—on my blog and on Goodreads. This is an actual picture of some of my book collection (and what you don’t see are the three identical stacks behind these, or the other books I have scattered around my house because I can’t find another place to put them):
Pic8
As you can see, I have plenty to keep me busy when I’m not writing!

---------------------------------

Thank you so much Jess for your time! It was nice to discover more about you! And what a lovely bunch of pets you got there =P

HuntedbytheOthers2_35204208_std

They are the Others — the vampires, mages, and werewolves once thought to exist only in our imaginations. Now they’re stepping out of the shadows, and nothing in our world will ever be the same again...

IN A TOWN LIKE THIS, BEING A P.I. CAN BE MURDER

Shiarra Waynest’s detective work was dangerous enough when her client base was strictly mortal. But ailing finances have forced her to accept a lucrative case that could save her firm — if it doesn’t kill her first. Shiarra has signed on to work for a high-level mage to recover an ancient artifact owned by one of New York’s most powerful vampires.

As soon as Shiarra meets scary, mesmerizing vamp Alec Royce, she knows her assignment is even more complicated than she thought. With a clandestine anti-Other group trying to recruit her, and magi being eliminated, Shiarra needs back-up and enlists her ex-boyfriend–a werewolf whose non-furry form is disarmingly appealing–and a nerdy mage with surprising talents. But it may not be enough. In a city where the undead roam, magic rules, and even the Others aren’t always what they seem, Shiarra has just become the secret weapon in a battle between good and evil–whether she likes it or not…

My Review

Purchase: Amazon | Kindle | Book depository

Taken By The Others (H & W Investigations, #2)Jess Haines draws readers deep into the mesmerizing world of the Others--werewolves, vampires, and mages who make their home among humans, and are turning Shiarra Waynest's life upside down. . .

Once, New York P.I. Shiarra Waynest's most pressing problem was keeping her agency afloat. Now she's dealing with two dangerous, seductive vampires who have been enemies for centuries. The only thing Max Carlyle and Alec Royce agree on is that they both want Shia--for very different reasons.

Max is determined to destroy Shia for killing his progeny, while Royce's interest is a lot more personal. That's not sitting well with Shia's werewolf boyfriend, Chaz. As the feud between Max and Royce gets ever more deadly, a powerful vampire-hunting faction is urging Shia to join their side. Shia has always believed vamps were the bad guys, but she's discovering unexpected shades of grey that are about to redefine her friends, her loyalties--and even her desires. . .

My Review

Purchase: Amazon | Kindle | Book Depository

Oh God, look what I found!

Here’s another fan-made trailer for the Hunger Games, by the same team who did the Katniss/Rue scene.

Let me know what you think!

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

City of Fallen Angels News!

Alright guys, you must know by now what a huge fan of Cassandra Clare I am, so I’m really excited with her upcoming release, City of Fallen Angels!

City of Bones

The first chapter, in it’s integrity, is now available on the official website, and I won’t lie I haven’t read it, ok ok I read the first paragraphs to pick an excerpt for you *g* but I won’t read more! You say what? Well it’s just more teasing than I can handle, so I’ll wait nicely until I can read the whole thing lol

But not everyone is like me, so I thought I’d share!

Here’s a small excerpt, but you can click here to read the whole first chapter.

Simon glanced toward the window. It was a brisk night, and the wind was blowing leaves across Second Avenue like handfuls of thrown confetti. There was a girl walking down the street, a girl in a tight belted trench coat, with long black hair that flew in the wind. People turned to watch her as she walked past. Simon had looked at girls like that before in the past, idly wondering where they were going, who they were meeting. Not guys like him, he knew that much.

Except this one was. The bell on the diner’s front door rang as the door opened, and Isabelle Lightwood came in. She smiled when she saw Simon, and came toward him, shrugging off her coat and draping it over the back of the chair before she sat down. Under the coat she was wearing one of what Clary called her “typical Isabelle outfits”: a tight short velvet dress, fishnet stockings, and boots. There was a knife stuck into the top of her left boot that Simon knew only he could see; still, everyone in the diner was watching as she sat down, flinging her hair back. Whatever she was wearing, Isabelle drew attention like a fireworks display.

Beautiful Isabelle Lightwood. When Simon had met her, he’d assumed she’d have no time for a guy like him. He’d turned out to be mostly right. Isabelle liked boys her parents disapproved of, and in her universe that meant Downworlders-faeries, werewolves, and vamps. That they’d been dating regularly for the past month or two amazed him, even if their relationship was limited mostly to infrequent meetings like this one. And even if he couldn’t help but wonder, if he’d never been changed into a vampire, if his whole life hadn’t been altered in that moment, would they be dating now?

There is also a very nice section on the website called Meet the Characters where you can find descriptions of the main players, with some nice artwork. Can you guess who’s who?

ClaryJaceSimon
IsabelleAlecLuke
MagnusValentineHodge

Illustrations are by James L. Barry and I think they are pretty cool!


And last, in case you haven't seen it yet, here's the top 10 things that WON'T happen in CoFA

 

So are you guys as excited as I am?

Sunday, February 20, 2011

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox

Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every week =)

Here are the books I got in the last two weeks! I also put in my word regarding the latest IMM drama.

For Review:

Hounded by Kevin Hearne [ Amazon | Kindle | Book Depository ] Thank you Del Rey!
The Sweet Scent of Blood by Suzanne McLeod [ AmazonBook Depository ] Thank you Penguin!
The Iron Witch by Karen Mahoney [ AmazonBook Depository ] Thank you Flux!
Th3 Cha0s by Rachel Ward [ AmazonBook Depository ] Thank you Big Honcho Media!
Clarity by Kim Harrington [ AmazonBook Depository ] Thank you Big Honcho Media!

Saturday, February 19, 2011

Kindle Deals!

I was shopping books for my kindle this morning, and I found some awesome deals I had to share with you!

First stop, some free books!


                       

  • Dead Witch Walking is the first book in The Hollows series, so here’s a chance to see if you like it!
  • Cat Calls is a short story from Cynthia Leitich Smith that’s part of her Tantalize, Eternal, and Blessed series.
  • Darcula .. well do you really need an explanation? *winks*
  • How To Marry a Millionaire Vampire is a chance to get an exclusive sneak peek at Kerrelyn's forthcoming novel, Vampire Mine, available March 29th

Now some discount bundles!

       

  • Kresley Cole Immortals After Dark: The Clan MacRieve is a bundle contains….

The mighty king: In A Hunger Like No Other, Lachlain MacRieve will stop at nothing to capture his ethereal vampire mate and make her his queen. As passion burns between them, can the tormented beast win the gentle beauty’s heart?

The ruthless warrior: In Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night, Bowen MacRieve must protect his former enemy, a  vulnerable young witch whose breathless kiss haunts him. He’ll demand her body and soul, and no deed is too wicked for her seduction.

The fierce prince: In Pleasure of a Dark Prince, Garreth MacRieve aches to claim the Valkyrie archer he’s long coveted from afar. But when his need for her reaches a feverpitch, will the proud huntress dare surrender to his uncontrollable desires?

If you buy them separately, they’re worth 20$, but with this bundle you get all 3 for 10$ =)

  • Blood Ties bundle includes Blood Ties Book One: The Turning, Blood Ties Book Two: Possession, Blood Ties Book Three: Ashes to Ashes and Blood Ties Book Four: All Souls' Night. You get all four books for 12$ instead of 19$ if you’d bought them separately.

 

  • Lara Adrian's Midnight Breed Bundle includes the first 8 books: Kiss of Midnight, Kiss of Crimson, Midnight Awakening, Midnight Rising, Veil of Midnight, Ashes of Midnight, Shades of Midnight, Taken by Midnight. Bought seperately you’d pay 45$ but you can get all 8 for 34$.

 

  • Lords of the Underworld Bundle includes The Darkest Fire, The Darkest Night, The Darkest Kiss and The Darkest Pleasure. You get all four books for 10$ instead of 18,50$ =)

 

  • Gena Showalter's Atlantis Series Bundle includes Heart of the Dragon, Jewel of Atlantis, The Nymph King, The Vampire's Bride and The Amazon's Curse. You can all 5 books for 9,99$ instead of 18+ (can’t give an exact prize because Heart of the Dragon isn’t available anymore).

  • Last one will be available on March 1st, and it includes all three books in the Dark Swan series (Storm Born, Thorn Queen & Iron Crowned) for only 10$ instead of 14$. A great opportunity to start the series =)

Now that’s worth a shopping spree lol

**Edit**

JenM from also found some great deals, all available for less than 3$!

        

Friday, February 18, 2011

Cover Reveal: Supernaturally by Kiersten White

Kiersten just revealed the cover of Supernaturally, the second book in her debut series. I really liked the first book, Paranormalcy and you can read my review here if you wish =)

Now I won’t make you wait any longer, here are both covers side by side!

I love that they used the same model, and that the cover still have the same feel to it. Still flowers in the front and the same details around the title. Love it! And the color scheme is even more impressing.

Here’s the wrap-around cover.

Unfortunately I couldn’t find a product description yet, but I’m sure it’s gonna be great!

So what do you guys think?

Supernaturally will release on August 30th, 2011 and you can already pre-order it!

amazon      BD2

Thursday, February 17, 2011

The Mage in Black by Jaye Wells

The Mage in Black (Sabina Kane, #2)Sabina Kane doesn't have the best track record when it comes to family. After all, her own grandmother, leader of the vampire race, wants her dead. So when she arrives in New York to meet her mage relatives, the reunion puts the fun in dysfunctional. Not only is mage culture completely bizarre, but everyone seems to think she's some kind of 'Chosen' who'll unite the dark races. Sabina doesn't care who chose her, she's not into destiny. But the mages aren't Sabina's only problem. In New York's Black Light District, she has run-ins with fighting demons, hostile werewolves and an opportunistic old flame. Sabina thought she'd take a bite out of the Big Apple - but it looks like it wants to bite back.

After turning her back on everything she’s ever known, Sabina Kane, half-vampire/half-mage, must now build herself a new life. Meeting with her long lost twin sister seemed promising at first, but good times won’t last. On her very first night in New York, two attempts on her life were already made. Apparently, somebody isn’t happy to have her around and she is determined to find the culprit and make them pay the prize.

I really like the world Jaye Wells created in the Sabina Kane series. Mages and Vampires, old enemies, are on the verge of war and Sabina and her twin sister Maisie are smack in the middle. Maisie, oracle and leader of the mages, had a very important vision concerning Sabina and not everyone is happy about it, including Sabina herself. Destiny? Yeah, whatever.
In this magical world, humans are completely oblivious to the Dark Races surrounding them and the latter (including faeries and werewolves) would like to keep it that way.

The entire novel is a big political mind game. Who will get the upper hand? And they all seem to think Sabina is the key. I really liked the mystery surrounding every attack made on Sabina, and I never figured out who was “the bad guy” until it was right in my face, so kudos Jaye.

The characters were great. I loved their gritty sense of humor and strong personalities. Really appreciated the fact that Sabina didn’t become a kick-ass magic user overnight but still learned a trick or two. Can’t wait to see her progress in the next book. Our heroine also had two male interests (do not mix up with love interest) which added some spice but not in a typical love-triangle way, which I found refreshing. Also Giguhl, Sabina’s demon, has a very endearing personality.

The end was promising as Sabina and her sidekicks enroll for a new mission, so I can't wait to read the next book, Green-Eyed Demon.

Set in a world where apple juice is lethal (you got curious here hen?), the Sabine Kane series is a great Urban Fantasy set up, sitting just out of the box. Looking for a dark yet funny original story? Search no longer!

Read an excerpt

Purchase:

Amazon | Kindle | Book Depository

Sabina Kane series:

Red-Headed Stepchild
The Mage in Black
Green-Eyed Demon
Silver-Tongued Devil (2012)

Book stats:

  • Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit; 1 edition (April 1, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 031603780X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316037808

Book Source: Personal Shelf

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Movie Review: I Am Number Four

Thanks to Harper Collins Canada I had the chance to see I Am Number Four tonight, at the media premiere, and I wasn’t disappointed!

The opening scene is breath-taking and the whole story goes by at the speed of light. I went with a couple of friends, and one of them mentioned she thought the beginning was a bit slow because John (Alex Pettyfer) moves in a new town, is the new guy at school etc. But I think it was necessary means to introduce the story and some main characters.

The lore was interesting, and it’s unfortunate they have to cut it short in book to movie adaptation. Enough info was available though to follow the story without having read the book first.

I liked the casting, I think every actors delivered their characters well, but unfortunately I haven’t read the book yet (but I REALLY want to! I need to get a copy) so I can’t really compare the two.

I though it was a good scifi/action movie, and I’m looking forward to the next one. I left with a few questions still, but I guess that’s what the book is for!

I strongly suggest you guys to see it!

Tuesday, February 15, 2011

Free ebook!

I just discovered on twitter that Diane Duvall’s book Darkness Dawns is free on kindle right now!

Make sure you get your copy! Diane will be part of the Paranormal Spring Break, so why not get your hands on a copy while it’s free! *winks*

Sweet Venom Cover Reveal!

Tera Lynn Childs called to all bloggers a while ago to help reveal the cover of the first book, in her new Medusa Girls series: Sweet Venom. So I jumped on the occasion!

Good Reads’ description is:

New series, in which triplet descendants of Medusa learn they are destined to guard the door between the world of monsters and the world of men – pitched as a mythological Charmed.

The official blurb isn’t available yet, but the promotional book marks will say:

Three teenage descendants of Medusa, the once-beautiful gorgon maligned by myth, must reunite and embrace their fates in a world where monsters lurk in plain sight.


Curious yet? Personally, I think it sounds great!

Ok enough talking, let me show you the goods!

sv_hc_reveal

I really like it. I think it’s simple and sophisticated, yet mysterious and very attention catching! I love the details in the hair, that reminds us of Medusa’s head. The font chosen is also very nice =)

We’ll have to wait until October 2011 (tentatively 4th) to get our hands on it, but you can already pre-order it!

amazon    

So what do you guys think of the cover? Excited?

Monday, February 14, 2011

Guest Blog + Giveaway with Melissa de la Cruz

Creating Oliver, A Girl's Best Friend
by Melissa de la Cruz


When I first imagined the character of Oliver Hazard-Perry, I knew certain things about him from the beginning: that he was Schuyler's best friend, that he was a quiet, sarcastic, artsy guy, who preferred shopping to lacrosse, and was cool and rich enough to hang with the in-crowd, and yet preferred to throw spitballs at the in-crowd from the sidelines. I picked his last names from a list of prominent American family names (the Hazards and the Perrys), and I put them together because they sounded good together, and it gave him a more 'richie-rich' air. And yes, later I realized there was a commander called Oliver Hazard-Perry who won the War of 1812 for the Americans, which made his name resonate even more, because now there was some history behind it. Cool.

The inspiration for Oliver came from my best friend in college, who had lived in Paris and was sophisticated and worldly and sarcastic, and who was slim and handsome and had a swoop of caramel hair over his hazel eyes. But as with all my characters, Oliver took on a life of his own once I began to write the story. For instance, in the beginning, I thought that Oliver book cover of 

Bloody Valentine 

 (Blue Bloods, book 6)

by

Melissa De La Cruzwas a Blue Blood, that he was a vampire. It was only halfway through writing the first book that I realized—no. Oliver was human. He was a conduit.

And as for when he began to love Schuyler, in the books he states that he loved her from the beginning, and also that he only loved her when she became a vampire. I get some emails pointing out this "discrepancy". This is funny to me, because to me, Oliver is a real person, and real people change their minds all the time, or lie to themselves. In Masquerade, when Schuyler sees that Oliver has been in love with her from the very start, she is seeing what she wants to see, she is interpreting wbloody-valentine-copie-3.jpghat she is seeing so is it the truth? Who knows? In Revelations, when Oliver filed his Conduit reports and stated that in contrary to what Schuyler believed, he only fell in love with her when she turned vampire, that's what he believes in that moment. Maybe he's lying to himself. Maybe he's trying to sound braver than he is. I don't think it's a contradiction at all. Human beings are full of contradictions.

What I love about Oliver is his sense of humor. He's so grounded in the middle of all this supernatural craziness, so he keeps his head. He's also privileged and yet he carries it lightly, and he's a hard worker. No one pushes him around. He's very strong and he's dependable, and I can see how people have a hard time choosing between Jack and Oliver, but I always tell them they can be like me and love them both.

I have a lot of affection for Oliver. There's a scene from the beginning of Revelations, when he and Schuyler sneak out to perform the Sacred Kiss, and she touches his soft, soft hair. Swoooon. I can still feel his hair in my fingers, it's baby soft, and it smells like grass.
Sigh.

--------------------------------

Thank you so much Melissa for taking the time to stop by! It’s always nice to know how authors came to create our favorite characters =)

Melissa is also offering one copy of Bloody Valentine to one lucky reader!
Please note that I don’t know which edition you will receive.

To enter, you have to leave a comment letting me know which cover is your favorite.
Please include your email addy if it’s not in your profile.

You can also earn an extra entry for spreading the word, please provide link in a separate comment.

Open to US & Canada

Ends Feb 25th, 2011.

Bloody ValentineVampires have powers beyond human comprehension: strength that defies logic, speed that cannot be captured on film, the ability to shapeshift and more. But in matters of the heart, no one, not even the strikingly beautiful and outrageously wealthy Blue Bloods, has total control. In Bloody Valentine, bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz offers readers a new story about the love lives of their favorite vamps - the passion and heartache, the hope and devastation, the lust and longing. Combined with all the glitz, glamour, and mystery fans have come to expect, this is sure to be another huge hit in the Blue Bloods series.
Also, witness the bonding of Jack and Schuyler.