Friday, December 31, 2010

In My Mailbox + Happy New Year

In My Mailbox

Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every week =)

Mentioned:

Won:

City of Bones audio book
City of Ashes audio book
City of Glass audio book

Thanks Mundie Moms!

Thursday, December 30, 2010

Dark Winter Tale Winners!

Dark Winter Tale

The Dark Winter Tale is now truly over and it’s time to announce some winners!

To forget to visit Dark Faerie Tales to find who won the giveaways she hosted ^^

Please follow the rules at the bottom to claim your prize!

Italic means claimed

Prize Winner Name Email addy
Entice MannaB crazypplrok@…
Captive Soul justpeachy36 justpeachy36@…
Dreaming Anastasia + Books marks Momo booksoverboys@…
Hellforged Teri C/ Teril terilhack@…
Deadtown Natalie mindfulmusings@…
Night's Cold Kiss (3)

Kristen H
Moonlight Gleam
Jess (The Cozy Reader)

kristen_babygurl@…
moonlightgleam@…
thecozyreader@…

set of the whole Persephone Alcmedi series

Bianka bianka.009@…
Vampire Crush Spav spav05@…
Bond of Justice Donna Newman vampiremistress2010@…


 

To claim your prize, please fill the form below using the name & email addy you used to enter the giveaway.
You have until January 2nd to do so.
Happy New Year!!

If you have any comments about this event feel free to comment on this post =)

Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Dayhunter by Jocelynn Drake

Dayhunter (Dark Days, #2)A new day dawns blood red

A master of fire, Mira is the last hope for the world. For centuries she has secretly enforced the history-altering edicts of the Triad. Now she and her unlikely ally—the human vampire hunter, Danaus—have come to Venice, home of the nightwalker rulers. But there is no safety in the ancient city, for the threat of conflict is in the wind . . . with unholy alliances and earth-shattering betrayals taking hideous form in the shadows.

Banished for eons beyond the world's boundaries, the malevolent naturi prepare to feed once again upon a vulnerable earth—and treachery is opening wide the portal that will enable their dread re-emergence. The great battle that has always been Mira's destiny is looming, and she must remain powerful in the face of a shocking revelation: that Danaus, the only creature she dares to trust, is something more than the man he claims to be . . .

Dayhunter starts right after the failed attempt, by the Naturi, to break the seal and even though Mira win this battle, the war is far from being over. Not only does Mira have to fight the Naturi, she also have to watch her back because Jabari, her former mentor, also wants a piece of her, namely her head, preferably on a plate or a spike.

At the beginning, Mira is summoned by the Nightwalkers Council to Italy and brings Danaus, Vampire Hunter and Tristan, her new protégé, along for the ride. At destination, quite a few unpleasant surprises awaits our heroes and one in particular Mira wouldn’t have believed if she hadn’t see it with her own eyes.

This book is mostly about secret agendas, treason, unknown threats and power struggles. Our red-haired girl does her best to untangle this mess and protect everyone in the process, but nothing is as it seems and like in every war, there are casualties.

In this round, we got to meet some great new characters, including two werewolves and an handful of interesting vampires. I can’t wait to know more about Nicolai and Valerio a bit more. Danaus is still my favorite though, and I really want him to end up with Mira!

The end was indeed one epic battle with surprises, injuries and death. I won’t tell you if Mira succeeded in stopping the seal from being broken, but I will tell you that I didn’t expect what happened. The war isn’t over and some enemies still need to be dealt with, but overall, this chapter wrapped-up nicely, with promises of more adventures.

Read an excerpt

Dark Days series:

Nightwalker
Dayhunter
Dawnbreaker
Pray for Dawn
Wait for Dusk
Burn the Night

Book Stats:The Book Depository

  • Mass Market Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Eos; Original edition (April 28 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0061542830
  • ISBN-13: 978-0061542831
  • Book Source: Personal Shelf

    Monday, December 27, 2010

    Entice by Carrie Jones

    Zara and Nick are soul mates, meant to be together forever. But that's not quite how things have worked out.

    For starters, well, Nick is dead. Supposedly, he's been taken to a mythic place for warriors known as Valhalla, so Zara and her friends might be able to get him back. But it's taking time, and meanwhile a group of evil pixies is devastating Bedford, with more teens going missing every day. An all-out war seems imminent, and the good guys need all the warriors they can find. But how to get to Valhalla?

    And even if Zara and her friends discover the way, there's that other small problem: Zara's been pixie kissed. When she finds Nick, will he even want to go with her? Especially since she hasn't just turned. She's Astley's queen.

    Entice, the third book in the Need series picks up right where the second book (Captivate) ended. Zara is now “pixified” as she says and is attending the school dance. It won’t be long until Pixie troubles arise though. Determined to protect her town, even though she’s not human anymore, Zara will take matters in her own hands, all the while trying to find her way to Valhalla and save her werewolf boyfriend Nick.

    This installment was once again full of adventure  and enormous obstacles stands in the way of our heroes. My heart was broken when more friends fell in battle, pushing Zara to question her decisions. Is saving Nick the right thing to do? Will he even want to leave Valhalla? Will he accept her now that she is a pixie?

    One of the prime aspect of this book was Zara’s insecurities about her new self. Is she still the same? Is she evil now? Would she hurt her friends? Not everyone accepts her easily and it definitely hurts her, but her struggles provides the perfect occasion for her to grow, and she will.

    Astley is also one big question mark. Could the pixie King really be good? Yes he is helping her finding Valhalla, but can she trust him? Does he have ulterior motives? Personally, I am very fond of him and would chose him over Nick any day =)

    The end was ok but I was kinda disappointed that so many questions were left unanswered. One of the big downs for me in this series is that the books are so short, it always lets you craving for more. Thankfully, a fourth book is already scheduled, so hopefully we’ll finally get answers.

    If you’re looking for a good YA series about Pixies, Shifters and Fey then search no more, the Need series is for you.

    Need Series:

    Need
    Captive
    Entice

    Book Stats:

  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury US (Dec 14 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1599905531 The Book Depository
  • ISBN-13: 978-1599905532

    Book Source: Review copy sent by Penguin Canada

  • Guest Blog by Lucy Weston


    The Secret History of Elizabeth Tudor, Vampire slayer

    as told to Lucy Weston

    On certain nights in London, when the moon is high and the stars align, you may turn a corner on a street in a very old part of the city near the Thames and find your way into a lane that most mortals never notice. Stop and think before you go any farther. Dangers and temptations abound up and down that lane, but at the far end of it lies the very exclusive club where Mordred, the most powerful and seductive of all the vampires, holds court.

    I found him there not long after I returned to London after an extended absence. It was there that I first heard Mordred speak of the existence of Elizabeth Tudor’s secret journals recording her experiences as a vampire slayer. And there that I conceived the plan to find those journals and bring them to the world’s notice so that humans may, at long last, know the peril that they face.

    It is my hope that the revelation of “The Secret History of Elizabeth Tudor, Vampire Slayer” will spark a new accord between vampires and mortals, to the benefit of both. For myself, I continue to evade both British Intelligence and the vampire kindred that seeks to stop me from revealing the truth. How long I will be able to do so is anyone’s guess but be assured that I will try my best to stay in contact here and elsewhere.

    Lucy Weston

    Follow Lucy on Twitter http://twitter.com/Lucy_Weston and at http://www.lucywestonvampire.com/lucyweston/

    Sovereign Power. Eternal Pleasure.

    Revealed at last in this new vampire saga for the ages: the true, untold story of the “Virgin Queen” and her secret war against the Vampire King of England. . . .

    On the eve of her coronation, Elizabeth Tudor is summoned to the tomb of her mother, Anne Boleyn, to learn the truth about her bloodline—and her destiny as a Slayer. Born to battle the bloodsucking fiends who ravage the night, and sworn to defend her beloved realm against all enemies, Elizabeth soon finds herself stalked by the most dangerous and seductive vampire of all.

    He is Mordred, bastard son of King Arthur, who sold his soul to destroy his father. After centuries in hiding, he has arisen determined to claim the young Elizabeth as his Queen. Luring her into his world of eternal night, Mordred tempts Elizabeth with the promise of everlasting youth and beauty, and vows to protect her from all enemies. Together, they will rule over a golden age for vampires in which humans will exist only to be fed upon. Horrified by his intentions, Elizabeth embraces her powers as a Slayer even as she realizes that the greatest danger comes from her own secret desire to yield to Mordred . . . to bare her throat in ecstasy and allow the vampire king to drink deeply of her royal blood.

    As told by Lucy Weston, the vampire prey immortalized in Bram Stoker’s Dracula, this spellbinding account will capture your heart and soul—forever.

    Lucky you I have three copies up for grab!

    All you have to do is leave a meaningful comment and a way to contact you =)

    Open to US Only

    Ends Jan 9th, 2011.

    Sunday, December 26, 2010

    In My Mailbox

    In My Mailbox
    Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every week =)
     

    Mentioned:

    Won:

    The Darkest Kiss by Keri Arthur

    Bought:

    Moon Sworn by Keri Arthur
    Bound to Shadows by Keri Arthur
    Dark Beginnings by Gena Showalter
    The Darkest Lie by Gena Showalter

    For Review:

    Wither by Lauren DeStefano
    Choker by Elizabeth Woods
    My Soul to Steal by Rachel Vincent

    Friday, December 24, 2010

    Happy Holidays!

    Nikita and I want to wish you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

    May 2011 be a as happy and as full of books as ever =)

    <3

    Thursday, December 23, 2010

    I little treat!

    Click here to read the first 100 pages of ANGELFIRE!

    I haven’t read it yet, so no spoilers please! I plan to read the book when I get it, samples are just to much teasing for me lol but I thought I would share =)

     

    Also the cover of Night Veil (July 2011) the second book in the Indigo Court series has been revealed. Am I the only the think this book should release around Xmas with a cover like that?

    Wednesday, December 22, 2010

    Dark Winter Tale: Thank you!

    2 paranormal blogs + 15 spine-tingling days + 15 wickedly talented authors, creepy adventures, and the most chilling new releases of the season =
    Darkwintertalefinal

    I would like to sincerely thank Angela from Dark Faerie Tales, for inviting me in this amazing project of hers! It’s been some hard work to organize but the result was definitely worth it!

    Thanks for trusting me ^^

    Also thanks to all of you who stalked our blogs day after day to discover what would happen to our characters, it’s been a pleasure to read your reactions!

    And thanks to the 15 authors who jumped in our crazy project head first to create such an original story!

    Here’s a list of the fearless authors who contributed to the story (alphabetic order)!

    Adrian Phoenix (Etched in Bone)

    A.M. Robinson (Vampire Crush)

    Anna Windsor (Captive Soul)

    Carrie Harris (Bad Taste in Boys)

    Carrie Jones (Entice)

    Jess Haines (Taken by the Others)

    Joy Preble (Haunted)

    Lesley Livingston (Tempestuous)

    Linda Roberston (Arcane Circle)

    Mari Mancusi (Night School)

    Nancy Holzner (Hellforged)

    Rebecca York (Day of the Dragon)

    Sarwat Chadda (Dark Goddess)

    S.L. Wright (Demon Underground)

    Tracey O'Hara (Death's Sweet Embrace)

    HauntedTempestuousEnticeBad Taste in Boys Etched in Bone
    Vampire CrushCaptive SoulTaken By The OthersArcane CircleNight SchoolHellforgedDay of the DragonThe Dark GoddessDeath's Sweet EmbraceDemon Underground

    finally, I would also like to thank the following publishers for offering copies of their release to giveaway!

    Berkley/Penguin
    Ace/Penguin
    Eos/ Harper Collins
    Roc/ Penguin
    Disney/ Hyperion

    I hope you all enjoyed this event and don’t forget that you still have until Dec 27th, 2010 to enter all of the Dark Winter Tale giveaways (Master list Here)!

    Tuesday, December 21, 2010

    Black Wings by Christina Henry Winner + announcement!

    The giveaway for Black Wings by Christina Henry ended today, so here’s the winner!

    SandyG265 said...

    I can't understand why people enjoy running since I don't. But whatever helps her write.
    +1 followe


    Also I just wanted to let you you that I decided that if I win the grand prize of my makeup competition, I would share my prize with one voter OR offer 10$ at Book Depository if you don’t like makeup.

    All you have to do is Vote (click the link, then “view poll” in the top left corner and vote for Cindy Bacon) and let me know you voted on this post.

    Very honored!

    I’m super happy to be nominated once again on Mindful Musing for Best Blog of the year.

    It’s so amazing to feel the love of your pairs. THANKS to everyone who nominated me <3

    And I’m really happy to be up there with some of my favorite bloggers =)

    You can vote and enter to win a book of your choice from BookDepository.com

    HERE at Mindful Musings!!

    Here are some extra details:

    What YOU Can Win!

    Everyone who votes will be entered to win his or her choice of any of the books nominated Readers' Choice Awards. Winner gets to pick one book, which I will buy from the Book Depository. This means the giveaway is INTERNATIONAL, as long as the Book Depository ships to your country. So far, the only book category that's been posted is Best Cover, but I will update the links below so you can see all of the books you can choose from if you win! The Best Cover Category already has 30 nominees, so the winner will have LOTS of books to choose from

    How to Vote

    -Each person gets two votes--one vote for each category

    -Fill out the form below. Your name and e-mail are used for two reasons: 1) to make sure people don't just reload the form and vote for the same person over and over again and 2) to contact you if you win the giveaway!

    -Since I already have the URLs of all the blogs listed, all you have to do is type the name of the blog you wish to vote for. The only time you need to provide a blog URL is if you choose to use the write-in option.
    -Voting ends 12/31st at 11:59 PM (CST, US)

    -The top 10 will be announced the week of January 1st, as well as the winner of the giveaway!


    THANK YOU! <3

    Dark Winter Tale, Alternative End! with A.M. Robinson

    Dark Winter Tale

    Please visit the Master List if you missed the previous parts of the story!

    To find to official end to this story, written by Sarwat Chadda, please visit Dark Faerie Tales !

    Now because we want you to choose your own adventure, here’s an alternative ending, written by A.M. Robinson

    “Santiana ekkos nascissus!” she started again, gaining speed when she saw how close she was to the end of the incantation. “Hakka! Morgana! Dut!”

    And that was it. Liv looked up, eager to see if her instincts had been right. Wyatt and Alice were still surrounded by trolls, and not only were there movements slower, Alice had a bloody gash across one cheek. It hadn’t worked. It hadn’t worked.

    The laughter grew louder.

    “Perhaps you are not as special as we thought,” Aodh’s voice said, coming from nowhere and everywhere at once. Liv watched in horror as more of the creature appeared--a lumpen, scaly black shoulder, and then the tip of a pointed ear.

    She flipped through the pages again, stopping on “Unwanted Unicorns.” Well, these were unwanted asshats, so maybe it would be close enough. But just as she was about to start into the next verse, a high keening noise sprung up among the trolls.

    “What the--” Aodh’s voice rumbled as his minions began to clasp their hands to their ears and moan. The few who were still on their feet ran to the crevasse, stepping on Aodh in their frenzy to dive underground. The ones who had fallen to their knees were sinking into the turf as though it were quicksand. The earth was swallowing them.

    Aodh started to scream. “No! Not again! I have waited decades for this. Decades!” he roared as the fractured ground started to knit itself back together. “I will rise! I will take my rightful place as mmmmhmmmm.”

    And that was it. The last thing Liv saw of Aodh was a single claw, and then even that was gone, so quickly that she almost wondered if she had imagined it. Before she could react, Alice sprung off the ground and ran over to embrace Liv in a hug. Liv was so happy just to have non-shaky earth beneath her feet that she hugged back.

    “You did it!” Alice said. “I knew you couldn’t be Rose’s granddaughter for nothing.”

    “I did it,” Liv said numbly, and then with more conviction. “I did it.”

    Alice pulled back and punched her on the shoulder. “Welcome to the Guardianship!”

    “No,” Wyatt said, and when they turned to face him, his brow was furrowed.

    “Are you kidding?” Alice said, impatiently wiping at the cut on her cheek. “She was amazing! And we’ll need her for next year if Aodh--”

    “She doesn’t join unless she wants to.” He looked at Liv. “We shouldn’t have tried to manipulate you into doing something you didn’t want to do. It’s not . . . you could have been hurt. And I understand if you don’t want to see any of us again.” After a second, he reluctantly added, “I understand if you don’t want to see me again.”

    No one spoke for a moment, and then Alice sighed. “Well?” she asked. “I still think it would be a gigantic waste of talent.”

    Olivia looked at the two of them, her world still feeling a little like a tilt-a-whirl. After all of the running and all of the denial, it was hard to say “well when you put it like that” and take the biggest plunge of her life.  But at the same time, defeating a dark fey hellbent on your destruction? Kind of makes a life full of late-night pizza runs and term papers seem . . . well, a little boring. And when Wyatt dipped his head contritely, as he was doing now, his hair fell over his eyes in that way that made her melt, and she had a hard time thinking anything at all. God save her from boys with lazy haircut regimens.

    “So Aodh is going to come back?” she said, deciding that there wasn’t any harm in asking a few questions.

    Wyatt looked up, startled. It was obviously not the question he was expecting. “He’ll try,” he said. “It’s sort of an annual thing.”

    “I see. And I can shoot lightning from my arms?”

    A hint of a smile tugged at the corners of Wyatt’s lips. “Sort of. It’s a . . . well, it’s going to take some explaining. Alice?”

    Alice opened her mouth to answer, but then closed it, her eyes darting from Wyatt to Liv and then back again. “You know,” she said. “I think Wyatt explains it better.” She pointed to her cheek. “I’m going to go put some Neosporin on this bad boy and get some sleep. Got a big Psych test in the morning. See you back in the room! Don’t wake me up,” she said before taking off across the field.

    Liv looked up. It had started to snow again, but it was a gentle snow, with the kind of flakes that tickle when they land on your nose.

    “You were amazing, you know,” Wyatt said softly. “Even if you don’t want to be one of us, you should know that.”

    That did it. Liv came to a very important decision. “Want to get breakfast tacos?” she asked.

    Wyatt blinked for a few moments before his lips broke into a slow smile. “At Lupe’s?”

    “Where else?” she said. She slipped her hand into Wyatt’s, holding her breath until it became obvious that he wasn’t going to pull away. If anything, he pulled her in closer. “Come on,” she said, bumping his shoulder affectionately. “You can tell me everything I’m going to need to know on the way.”

    THE END

    Feel free to discuss both ending and let us know which one you preferred!

    Don’t forget, Andrea is offering One signed finished copy of Vampire Crush.

    Open Internationally!

    Ends Dec 27th, 2010.

    To enter FILL THE FROM

    Monday, December 20, 2010

    Begging for help =)

    Hello my darlings!

    In the last month I’ve created a different make-up look everyday to enter in a contest. The grand prize is AWESOME (375$ worth of make-up!)and I would need your help!

    Here are all the looks I’ve created:

    OrglamixChallenge30ways

    Now how can you help me?

    By VOTING on facebook using the following link: VOTE for Cindy Bacon

    My real name is Cindy Bacon, so check that one ^.-

    Your help would be insanely appreciated =)

    ** Update I decided that if I win the grand prize, I will share my prize with someone who voted for me! Also if you don’t like makeup, I’m willing to trade this gift for 10$ at Book Depository. If you already voted, you are indeed already entered =)

    Dark Winter Tale Part 14 with A.M. Robinson

    Dark Winter Tale

    Please visit the Master List if you missed the previous parts of the story!

     

     

    I am happy to have debut author Andrea M Robinson with us today! Her first book, Vampire Crush will be released by HarperTeen on Dec 28th, so I am very excited! I really hope you enjoy her part of the story, and please come back tomorrow for more of her writing!

     

     

     



    Olivia didn’t know what to expect. When Wyatt had first handed her the book, it was wrapped in a paper bag, and she had stashed it away without looking, too scared to investigate what she had imagined might be a cover made of hair or human skin or at least something scaly. She had definitely not imagined that the key to their survival would be a slim tattered paperback with the initials “R. L.” scribbled on the corner.

    “This is it?” she asked.  “This is worth a horde of trolls?”

    As if to prove a point, a troll leaped forward and swiped at her with a ragged claw. Liv stepped out of reach just as Wyatt yelled another spell word that threw the hissing minion back several yards.

    “Oh, it is,” he said, stepping in front of her. “Alice and I can hold them off for a little while, but we need the book’s magic to send them back underground.”

    “And you’re the only one who can release it,” Alice added. She threw the now-empty shoulder bag at an approaching troll and followed it up with her own one-two magical punch.

    “But why--”

    “It was your Nana Rose’s,” Alice said.  “Family stuff, blood stuff, yadda yadda. But you have to use it now.”

    The ground started to shake again, and the edges of the hole where Alice had pulled them to safety began to crumble and widen until the fifty yard line was a jagged crevasse. A screech split the air, followed by a clap of unexpected thunder.

    “That’s Aodh,” Wyatt shouted. “And above ground he’s not going to look like a demon biker elf.”

    Well, that’s one thing for the thankful list at least, Olivia thought as she hurriedly flipped through the book’s thin pages, her fingers feeling numb and stupid. For all that they were telling her she had to use it, no one was telling her how to use it. Her eyes skimmed over the titles of what seemed to be spells. “For Redcaps and Their Ilk” . . . “For Meddlesome Pixies” . . . “For Unwanted Unicorns” . . . nothing that said “For Aodh and his Trolls When They Are Coming To Kill You.”

    She came to the last page, which was covered in faded script that looked to be an entirely different language. She was about to turn back to the the beginning, but something deep inside told her to stop, here, focus on this. What the hell--her instincts had gotten her this far, hadn’t they? She took a deep breath and started to yell.

    “Melio abram pavlavakesh!”

    The first few words were accented much like her eighth-grade French--Madame Remy would be so proud--but as she continued, they began to flow off her tongue, easing into something that sounded much more melodious, much more ancient.

    “Helios standata kush!” she continued. “Mandata reyes! Fortunata libris san--”

    Suddenly, a dark laugh cut through the cacophony, loud enough that it set the metal of the goalposts and bleachers humming. A hand shot over the edge of the crevasse, its long, skeletal fingers trying to find purchase in the quickly shifting earth. The palm alone was easily the size of a Shih Tzu.

    There was no way in hell she wanted to see what was attached to that.

    -------------------------
    Here's a bit more about Vampire Crush

    Supernatural suspense, star-crossed love, and drama of undead proportions. Meet Sophie McGee. Her life is about to get very interesting.

    First, six mysteriously pale new students show up at Sophie McGee’s high school. Then, Sophie’s childhood nemesis James reappears, still displaying a knack for making Sophie’s blood boil. When Sophie finds out that James has a connection to the new students, she decides to investigate…never expecting her life will quickly begin to resemble a campy horror movie, complete with budding crushes and bloodthirsty villains.

    Available in stores December 28th · Read an excerpt »

     

    Andrea is offering One signed finished copy of Vampire Crush.

    Open Internationally!

    Ends Dec 27th, 2010.

    To enter FILL THE FROM

    Saturday, December 18, 2010

    In My Mailbox

    In My Mailbox
    Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every week =)

     

    Very short IMM this week..

    Mentioned:

    Won:

    The Darkest Passion by Gena Showalter

    For Review:

    Fallen Angel by Heater Terrell

    Thursday, December 16, 2010

    Dark Winter Tale Part 12 with Linda Robertson

    Dark Winter Tale

    Please visit the Master List if you missed the previous parts of the story!

     

    For today’s part of the Dark Winter Tale story, please welcome author Linda Robertson! Did you know she used to be in a cover band playing AC/DC, Metallica, Guns N Roses and the likes? I’m a bit young for their glory years but I have to admit I love them all, so I was really surprised to discover her love of rock music! Without further intro, let’s see what the author of the Persephone Alcmedi series cooked for us!

     


    Following what appeared to be a sharp turn in the tunnel, they came to an abrupt dead-end. “Any more great ideas?” Olivia asked, panting.

    “Trust me,” Wyatt said, more like the young man she was accustomed too.

    He reached up to the earthen ceiling and his fingertips stroked the pale web of roots saying, “Aperio.” It was the kind of gentle, adoring caress a girl sometimes wants. Can I really be jealous of dirt and roots?

    Nothing happened.

    Wyatt repeated the word, and his voice was laced with urgency.

    The tunnel rumbled with the echo of the pursuing horde of trolls.

    Olivia raised a brow. “Should I continue to trust you, Wy?”

    Wyatt growled. “Aperio!”

    Still nothing.

    “Aodh’s locked it.” His voice conveyed misery.

    “Locked the ground?”

    “He must have changed the word to open it.”

    “He can do that in the few seconds it takes for us to flee?”

    “No.” Wyatt’s expression was utterly ashamed. “I’ve been here a while, hiding. Waiting. He must have known, changed them after I arrived. He set me up.”

    Olivia made the connection. “Those were your prints that just stopped abruptly in the snow.”

    “Yeah. Short cut.”

    The sound of the trolls was getting louder. Olivia swallowed down the lump in her throat and stared at her hands. It seemed her previous attack-bolt was a direct response to the threat. Do I have it in me to kill again? Already she felt guilty over the ugly little thing’s demise. It was self-defense, she consoled herself, but she could still see the burnt carcass in her mind’s eye. She faced Wyatt. “Suggestions?”

    He looked miserable, desperate. “Get behind me.”

    She didn’t move.

    He gripped her arms. “Olivia! You must be protected. I’ll give my life to save yours if I have too.” He pulled her into an embrace; she was too stunned to object. “I never should have gotten you into this. I am so sorry.”

    With his arms around her he maneuvered her behind him then stepped into the tunnel where he would be able to see the trolls when they arrived. He took a ready stance.

    Olivia was about to object when suddenly, the earth over her head shuddered. The ground slowly dilated open like the aperture of a camera. Dirt fell around her, then a crown of snow plopped onto Olivia’s head.

    “Well, isn’t that just like a poetic sign from the gods,” a familiar voice drawled.

    Olivia brushed away the snow and peered at the hand extended toward her. Her roommate Alice was lying on her belly in the snow, reaching down. “C’mon already. We’ve got little time!”

    Olivia could see the strap of her book-bag around Alice’s shoulder. She reached up.

    Alice began pulling her up and it became immediately evident that she had more strength—and leverage—than a human girl on her belly should have.

    “This would be so much easier if you’d just listened to me,” Alice grumbled.

    -----------------------------------------

    More about Linda’s book….

    Vicious Circle (Persephone Alcmedi, #1)A girl's got to do what a girl's got to do....

    Being a witch doesn't pay the bills, but Persephone Alcmedi gets by between reading Tarot cards, writing her syndicated newspaper column, and kenneling werewolves in the basement when the moon is full — even if witches aren't supposed to mingle with wolves. She really reaches the end of her leash, though, when her grandmother gets kicked out of the nursing home and Seph finds herself in the doghouse about some things she's written. Then her werewolf friend Lorrie is murdered...and the high priestess of an important coven offers Seph big money to destroy the killer, a powerful vampire named Goliath Kline. Seph is a tough girl, but this time she bites off more than she can chew. She needs a little help from her friends — werewolf friends. One of those friends, Johnny, the motorcycle-riding lead singer for the techno-metal-Goth band Lycanthropia, has a crush on her. And while Seph has always been on edge around this 6'2" leather-clad hunk, she's starting to realize that although their attraction may be dangerous, nothing could be as lethal as the showdown that awaits them.

    And you think beauty pageants are scary?

    Persephone Alcmedi has been persuaded to compete for the position of High Priestess of the Cleveland, Ohio, coven — now that the former priestess, Vivian Diamond, has strangely gone missing. Unfortunately, there are a few small problems with the idea. Not only does Seph know rather more about Vivian's disappearance than the other witches realize, but the epic struggle she's just survived has left her with some highly unusual powers — ones that could be dangerous to reveal. Despite her reluctance, she agrees to participate, if only to prevent snooty Hunter Hopewell, an obnoxious but talented witch, from ending up in the winner's circle. Can Seph hide her secrets — including her connection to the master vampire-wizard Menessos — from the terrifyingly wise judges? Plus, there's her rock 'n' roll werewolf boyfriend, Johnny, and some angry fairies to deal with....

    Once the competition begins, a finalist turns up dead. It looks as if one of the contestants is willing to do anything — including murder — to win. Suddenly Seph has even more on her plate than she thought: from solving a murder to working out what her new powers really are...and exactly why they're creating so much havoc in her love life.

    Fatal Circle (Pershephone Alcmedi, #3)Destiny sucks. . . .

    There was a time when Persephone Alcmedi thought her life was hard to manage, what with wondering how to make sure she took adequate care of both her grandmother and her foster daughter, Beverley, whether she’d end up in the unwanted position of high priestess of a coven, and whether her wærewolf lover, Johnny, would resist the groupies who hang around his band Lycanthropia.

    But that was before the fairies started demanding that Seph’s frightening, unpredictable ally—the ancient vampire Menessos— be destroyed . . . or the world will suffer. Seph and Menessos are magically bonded, but that’s a secret she dares not reveal to her fellow witches lest they be forced to reject her and forbid her use of magic. And, despite the strain this casts on her relationship with Johnny, as a showdown with the fairies nears, she and Menessos badly need the wærewolves as allies.

    Life, death, and love are all on the line, but when destiny is calling, it doesn’t help to turn away. With the individual threads of their fates twisted inextricably together, can Seph, Johnny, and Menessos keep the world safe from fairy vengeance?

    Arcane Circle (Persephone Alcmedi, #4)Even magic can’t solve everything. . . .

    After facing down the forces of Fairy in mortal combat, Persephone Alcmedi still must deal with the aftermath. Not only does Seph now possess deadly secrets she must hide from the arcane and mundane world alike, but the dozens of magical creatures who’ve taken up residence behind her cornfield need food and shelter, and there’s still her foster daughter Beverly’s tenth birthday party to plan.

    And that’s not all. . . . Seph’s boyfriend Johnny has revealed himself as the wærewolf Domn Lup, and the ruler of the wære world is en route from Romania to make sure Johnny really is the “king” he claims to be. But Johnny’s hiding a dangerous secret: his magic is locked in his mysterious tattoos. He and Seph must find a way for him to reclaim it—fast—despite those who have no intention of letting Johnny gain his full powers. Seph knows that, in the arcane world, strength is always a necessity and power must be constantly proven, but how far is she willing to go to succeed . . . and at what cost?

    Sounds amazing right?

    Well let me tell something else that’s amazing, Linda offered a whole set of the series, including Arcane Circle, signed, to one lucky reader!

    Open to US & Canada

    Ends Dec 27, 2010.

    All you have to do is FILL THE FORM

    And feel free to thank Linda in a comment *winks*

    Wednesday, December 15, 2010

    The Darkest Night by Gena Showalter

    His powers -- Inhuman
    His passion -- Beyond immortal . . .

    All her life, Ashlyn Darrow has been tormented by voices from the past. To end the nightmare, she has come to Budapest seeking help from men rumored to have supernatural abilities, not knowing she'll be swept into the arms of Maddox, their most dangerous member -- a man trapp ed in a hell of his own.

    Neither can resist the instant hunger than calms their torments . . . and ignites an irresistible passion. But every heated touch and burning kiss will edge them closer to destruction -- and a soul-shattering test of love . . .

     

    Maddox and his brothers are Immortals from ancient Greece, each of them carrying their own burden to pay for opening the Pandora box eons ago. Our dark hero is also cursed, an extra gift from the Gods for his misconduct. Shuffling through a meaningless life, they hate but accept their Fate, until something disrupts their fragile equilibrium. The Gods are threatened, Hunters are invading the Lords’ refuge and a woman sets passions ablaze. Are those changes for better or for worst?

    The entire lore in this novel was a breath of fresh air in a literature full of vampires, werewolves and angels. Immortals sharing their bodies with demons, constantly fighting for control is rather interesting and opens up to so many possibilities.  And Gods and Titans fighting for supreme power over the earth? Definitely unheard of. The first novel felt like an introduction to the entire Lore and I’m sure there is much more to discover in the following books, but it grabbed my attention that’s for sure.

    The characters have a lot of potential, each Lord have their own curse, linked to their demon, personality, and strengths. One of the thing that bothered me a bit though, is that the two main characters fell for each other way too easily and even though the passion was described and worked perfectly at some points (see shower scene), it sometimes felt fake and superficial. I just felt like something was off, compared to lets say, the instant passion main characters have in the Immortals After Dark series by Kresley Cole. It didn’t stop me from enjoying my read, but I’m hoping the passion will feel more sincere in the following books.

    Even though there is almost 400 pages to this book, the plot flew by at the speed of light. Every development felt natural and I appreciated how surprises unfolded. Showalter takes you on a ride and you don’t see anything coming, and just like a rollercoaster ride, it’s over too quickly.

    The end surprised me in some way. I was expecting the “save the day” moment, but not in the form it took place (if that makes any sense?). The end is opened and leaves lots of room for speculation, so I’m glad I have the second book at hands reach, to cut short on the torture. Overall I loved the Lore, characters have a lot of potential and I am looking forward to reading the rest of the  series!

    Read an excerpt


    Very good trailer, it gave me goosebumps!

     

    Lords of the Underworld
  • The Darkest Fire (Novella ebook)
  • The Darkest Night
  • The Darkest Kiss
  • The Darkest Pleasure
  • The Darkest Prison (novella ebook)
  • The Darkest Whisper
  • The Darkest Angel (novella in the anthology Dark Beginnings)
  • The Darkest Passion
  • The Darkest Lie

    Book Stats:

    The Book Depository
  • Mass Market Paperback: 379 pages
  • Publisher: HQN Books; Reprint edition (January 1, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0373775229
  • ISBN-13: 978-0373775224

    Book Source: Personal shelf

  • Anyone up for a wedding update? (not book related)

    Well as my long term followers have know for a while, I am getting married in May 2011 and things are progressing slowly but steadily!

    • I have my wedding dress and veil already hung at my mom’s place.
    • The church is reserved and we filled some papers just last Thursday. We now have to “build the ceremony”, as in choosing excerpt and what not.
    • The reception place is reserved as well.
    • Hair and Makeup artist chosen
    • Jewelries bought
    • The most recent progress happened Tuesday when my sister and I finally chose the bridesmaid dresses. I had my eyes on a model for a while now, but didn’t know which colors to pick just yet. Unfortunately my second bridesmaid couldn’t be there ‘cause she working the night shift and going to school, so it just wasn’t possible.

    Now you wanna see the goods don’t you?

    On the left is the model we chose, and on the right is the color we chose.

    Now what’s still to do…

    • Pick shoes and garter
    • Find a photograph to take couple pictures (after ceremony & before reception)
    • Find a DJ
    • Confirm Menu
    • Find, buy & send announcements
    • Flowers
    • Guests gifts
    • and probably a million things I can’t think of right now lol

    So what do you think?

    Tuesday, December 14, 2010

    Cover Reveal: City of Fallen Angels

    We’ve been waiting for a while and the day has finally come!

    Love it! I truly can’t wait to read it ^^

    You can also read an excerpt here!

    Source: Cassie’s Blog

    We have a winner!

    The winner of a signed copy of Eternal Kiss of Darkness by Jeaniene Frost is…

    EternalKissLJ

    I love the Night Huntress series! I love this post because we get to see authors in a different prospective - as readers :)

    Congratulations darling!

    You have 72 hours to email me (TyngaUF(a)gmail.com) your mailing addy and let me know whom you want your book signed to.

    Dark Winter Tale Part 10 with Tracey O’Hara

    Dark Winter Tale

    Please visit the Master List if you missed the previous parts of the story!

     

     

    I am very happy to have author Tracey O’Hara with me today for the follow up of the Dark Winter Tale story. She is the debut author of Night’s Cold Kiss, and her next novel (the second in the same series), Death’s Sweet Embrace, will be available at the beginning of 2011. If you haven’t read her first book yet I strongly suggest you do, I really liked it (review here)!

     

     


    Aodh’s shrieks unsettled the trolls. At first they huddled together, clutching at each other in confusion, then almost as one they turned on Liv and Wyatt, teeth bared and eyes feral. Wyatt stepped in front, pulling her to safety behind him.

    “When I give the word,” he whispered over his shoulder, “run down the tunnel to the left and keep going. No matter what.”

    “What’re you going to do?” she hissed back as the ugly little trolls inched to toward them, pure menace in their eyes as the saliva dripped from their twisted mouths.

    “Don’t worry—just get outta here,” he turned to her for a brief second, apologetic concern clouding his expression. “I’m sorry I got you into this.”

    She shook her head. “I can’t just leave you here.”

    “You don’t have any choice….” Wyatt’s voice trailed off as he turned away.

    For a moment, Liv couldn’t work out what had changed. Then she realized the fey’s screams were now silent and raised her gaze to stare straight into the murderous bloodlust burning in Aodh’s once mesmerizing eyes.

    “I never meant it to go this far,” Wyatt whispered.

    The tingling started in her extremities, flowing from her fingers and toes towards the center of her chest where it pooled and swirled.

    There was something else Nana Rose had told Liv that she found hard to believe—until this very moment when she felt it building deep within her.

    The first of the snarling little troll men launched at them.

    “Go now—” Wyatt growled through gritted teeth. “RUN!”

    Instead she held her ground, acting on instinct. The energy rocketed up her arms and shot out of her fingertips, hitting the troll mid leap and the smoking carcass dropped to land harmlessly at Wyatt’s feet.

    “It’s true!” Aodh’s triumphant roar rebounded off the surrounding rock. “I’ve found her at last.” 

    To Be Continued….

    ----------------------------

    The tension between the Aeternus, an ancient vampiric people, and humanity has been mounting for over a century. But when rogue vampires begin to drain humans in order to achieve an illegal blood-high, all bets are off.

    After the death of her parents, Antoinette Petrescu devoted her life to becoming one of the top Venators, the elite hunters who destroy the rogue Necrodreniacs. Her kill count is legendary and her skills superb.

    But now the serial killer who killed her parents has returned. And to stop him Antoinette must join forces not only with the Aeternus, but also their most legendary killer. One that is both dangerously attractive, and involved in buried secrets of her past. More dangerous still, a dark attraction grows between them--one that could doom both races.

    After thousands of years of secret conflict, humans and parahumans have reached an uneasy truce. But unspeakable evil now threatens to shatter the tenuous peace.
    Teenaged shapeshifters are being slaughtered by a twisted, sadistic serial killer who rips their still-beating hearts from their paralyzed bodies. A task force must be formed to halt the madness—a union of avengers including the vampiric Aeternus, Christian Laroque and Antoinette Petrescu, as well as Kitt Jordan and Raven Matokwe, members of enemy Animalian tribes…and forbidden lovers.
    A centuries-old blood feud has divided their peoples—pitting wolf against snow leopard in a battle to the death—and if their passion is discovered it will doom them both. But past hostilities must be put aside in light of the scourge that is now upon them. For the killer they seek is but the first sign of a blossoming terror rising up from their long-buried pasts: the all-consuming nightmare of The Dark Brethren.

    Interested yet? Well here’s your shot to get your hands on the first book.

    Harper Collins is offering three copies of the first book, Night’s Cold Kiss to three lucky winners!

    Open to US & Canada

    All you have to do is FILL THE FORM

    Ends Dec 27th, 2010.