Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Giveaways Shout-out!

Simon & Schuster US just contacted me and are also offering a finished copy of Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare so all American readers can now enter the giveaway I announced earlier!

So there is now 2 copies up for grab!

CLICK HERE TO ENTER

If you are Canadian and you already entered, no need to enter again, your entries are already saved =)

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare Giveaway

Clockwork-Angel_213

Magic is dangerous—but love is more dangerous still.
When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother in Victorian England,  something terrifying is waiting for her in London's Downworld. Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark Sisters, who are members of a secret organization called The Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns that she has the power to transform, at will, into another person. The Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the Club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa's power for his own.
Friendless and hunted, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons. She soon finds herself fascinated by—and torn between—two best friends: James, whose fragile beauty hides a deadly secret, and Will, whose volatile moods keep everyone at arm's length.  As their search draws them deep into the plot that threatens to destroy the Shadowhunters, Tessa realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world...and that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.
  - book cover



Simon & Schuster and S&S Canada are offering a finished of Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare each to celebrate today’s release !

So there will be 1 Canadian & 1 American winner!

Click here to read my review

This Giveaway is opened to Canadian Addresses only. Canada & US

To enter, all you have to do is FILL THE FORM

Ends September 6th, 2010.

You don’t need to be a follower, but you will be responsible for claiming your prize =)

Monday, August 30, 2010

Mockingjay Discussion **Contains Major Spoilers**

**** Warning!! This post is meant as a discussion with people who read the book and contains MAJOR SPOILERS. If you haven’t read the book yet, I suggest you do so and come back =) In the mean time, you can read my spoilers free review! ****

MockingjayCover

First things first, I LOVED MOCKINGJAY!

I’m gonna try and put some order in my thoughts, but it might come out all weird, please don’t judge me *winks*.

First let’s talk about Finnick, it was so sad to see that he was so strong in Catching Fire and now so broken in Mockingjay. I really felt for him and I love his character so much! His reunion with Annie was amazing and they got married YAY! Then everything went downhill when they invaded the Capitol and he died! OMG I didn’t want him to die =( And it happened all so fast, with no mourning like it was no big deal *heart-broken*. But at least there is still a little bit of Finnick in his child =)

Second stop is Cinna, I have to confess I was nursing the hope that he wasn’t killed in Catching Fire but was only (ok understatement) taken and tortured by the Capitol and that we would see him again. He was so calm yet so fierce and determined and made a world of difference for Katniss, I really loved the guy!

Now onto Gale, I really like him. He is fierce and would do anything for Katniss. I wasn’t surprised when he volunteered to raid the Capitol to recover Peeta, but it showed how much he cared for her. While I don’t doubt his feelings, I don’t think they were meant to be together. He has so much anger and frustration and Katniss already have loads of those feelings to, so I guess the both of them together would just bring more hatred (not toward each other mind you!) on a daily basis.

Sweet sweet Peeta, I was speechless when we discovered in Catching Fire that he’s been taken by the Capitol. I can’t even imagine what he suffered while held prisoner and the way he reacted when he first saw Katniss again was a slap in the face. I honestly never saw it coming and it was heart-clenching to see him that way. And they way he was fighting the mind control (because let’s be honest that’s pretty much what it was) was breath-taking. He loves Kat so much, and we already knew he would do anything for her, but everything was more intense in Mockingjay. I think Katniss made the right choice when she chose Peeta. They are both broken beyond repair but they find comfort in each other.  They are so different, yet so alike that it’s a perfect match.

I was really impressed with Katniss, the way she fought so hard to try and redeem herself of all the death she is feeling guilty for. Taking over district 2 was very special I think, mostly because of the memories of her dad, and the whole invading the Capitol chapters, well I can’t even find words to describe how awesome and exciting it was. And the death of Prim, caused most likely by the bombs Gale and Beetee created. I never saw that move coming. It was intense, cruel, but so perfect.

Maybe you guys can help me, there’s one thing I didn’t understand in the book. It’s when all Victors still alive voted to have an arena with Capitols children. Why did Katniss voted yes for Prim? I honestly don’t get it.

So anyway, this is all that comes to my mind right now, please discuss and add your own favorite moments! I wanna know what you guys thought!

Sunday, August 29, 2010

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox
Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)
 
I decided to do another vlog this week, you’ll prolly notice I’m kind of distracted by the strings of my hoodie. What you can’t see, is my cat is lying in my lap biting and pulling on the strings lol

 

Books mentioned, all for review:

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins (Click to read my review)

Firelight by Sophie Jordan

Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning (click to read my review)

Bloodfever by Karen Marie Moning

Saturday, August 28, 2010

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

This review (including the book description) contains spoilers from the previous books only. I suggest you read my The Hunger Games review if you haven't started this series yet =)

 

MockingjayCover

Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss’s family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.

It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had an hand in the carefully laid plans – except Katniss.

The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss’s willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrusts. She must become the rebel’s Mockingjay – no matter what the personal cost.

Katniss made it out of the Games alive for a second time, but the Games won’t really be over until the Capitol is defeated. She has to deal with the loss of her home, her friends and more importantly Peeta who’s been taken by the Capitol and probably tortured as she is being patched up by district 13 medics. Barely hanging onto her sanity, she will have to step up her game and raise the crowds in hopes of removing President Snow from his dictatorship.

There is a lot of controversy around the final installment in the series, I read that many were disappointed and I think I know why. Suzanne Collins isn’t into sugarcoating. Mockingjay is raw, cruel, tragic, heart-breaking, violent, sad, utterly amazing and BALSY. The whole story is bittersweet, so everyone hoping for a walk-in-the-park happy ending (have they read the same first two books as me to hope that?) will be baffled.

Collins writes her story with such intensity that it’s sometimes hard to bare. The desperation Katniss and especially Finnick live are described so perfectly that you find yourself locked in the feeling. I have to admit I cried in more than one occasion. So many tragic events happens, and none of which I expected. When I finished the book I found myself wondering how an author can kill so many important characters and still make it work.

I loved every pages of this book and I’m sad it’s the last one. The end was powerful and the epilogue brought a bit of much needed closure. I don’t wanna discuss details in the review, but I will post a discussion next week to talk spoilers with you guys!

I most definitely recommend this series to everyone, young and adults alike. It’s not my usual kind of read but I fell for it heals over head. Suzanne Collins is a genius and I can’t wait to see what her next project will be!


Read an excerpt


The Hunger Games series:

The Hunger Games

Catching Fire

Mockingjay

 

Book Stats:

  • Reading level: Young Adult The Book Depository
  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Scholastic Press (August 24, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0439023513
  • ISBN-13: 978-0439023511

     

    Book Source: Review copy sent by Scholastic Canada

  • Friday, August 27, 2010

    Fan Art Friday

    Hello my darlings!
    Once more I am joining Katie from Sophistikatied Reviews, to feature Fan Art!

     

    None of the Fan art I am presenting this week are mine, so the images will link back to the artist =)

    This week, for obvious reasons I think, I chose to feature fan art of The Hunger Games series! I will probably finish reading Mockingjay today, so keep an eye open for my review soon!

     

    Which ones are your favorites?

    Wednesday, August 25, 2010

    Amazing cover reveal!

    Nalini Singh just revealed the cover of the next book in the Guild Hunter series, Archangel’s Consort. I love this series and I am looking forward to it!

    Archangel's Consort

    Release date: January 25th, 2011

    Isn’t stunning?

    Here’s the product description from GoodReads.com

    When vampire hunter Elena Deveraux became an angel, with magnificent wings the colours of midnight and dawn, it turned her world upside down. Her lover, the stunningly dangerous archangel Raphael, is used to being in control even when it comes to the woman he considers his own.
    But Elena has never done well with authority ...especially not when it seems Raphael is the one who needs her help. The archangels may be almost all-powerful, but there are some things that only a Guild Hunter can get done, and Elena and Raphael may be heading for their most dangerous investigation yet.

    Previous books in the series (click to read my review):

    Archangel's Kiss - Small

    Shadowfever by Karen Marie Moning Giveaway!

    Hello everyone!

    I was contacted a while ago by the lovely Lisa from TLC Book Tours to be part of the huge promotion for the upcoming release of Shadowfever by Karen Marie Moning (January 2011), and I indeed jumped right in! I hadn’t start this series yet but heard so many things that I wanted to read it to =) And I wasn’t disappointed! You can read my review of the first book in the series, Darkfever, here.

    Here’s a bit more about the already released books!


    Darkfever

    MacKayla Lane’s life is good. She has great friends, a decent job, and a car that breaks down only every other week or so. In other words, she’s your perfectly ordinary twenty-first-century woman. Or so she thinks…until something extraordinary happens.
    When her sister is murdered, leaving a single clue to her death–a cryptic message on Mac’s cell phone–Mac journeys to Ireland in search of answers. The quest to find her sister’s killer draws her into a shadowy realm where nothing is as it seems, where good and evil wear the same treacherously seductive mask. She is soon faced with an even greater challenge: staying alive long enough to learn how to handle a power she had no idea she possessed–a gift that allows her to see beyond the world of man, into the dangerous realm of the Fae….
    As Mac delves deeper into the mystery of her sister’s death, her every move is shadowed by the dark, mysterious Jericho, a man with no past and only mockery for a future. As she begins to close in on the truth, the ruthless Vlane–an alpha Fae who makes sex an addiction for human women–closes in on her. And as the boundary between worlds begins to crumble, Mac’s true mission becomes clear: find the elusive Sinsar Dubh before someone else claims the all-powerful Dark Book–because whoever gets to it first holds nothing less than complete control of the very fabric of both worlds in their hands….


    Bloodfever


    “I used to be your average, everyday girl but all that changed one night in Dublin when I saw my first Fae, and got dragged into a world of deadly immortals and ancient secrets. . . “
    In her fight to stay alive, MacKayla must find the Sinsar Dubh—a million-year-old book of the blackest magic imaginable, which holds the key to power over the worlds of both the Fae and Man. Pursued by assassins, surrounded by mysterious figures she knows she can’t trust, Mac finds herself torn between two deadly and powerful men: V’lane, the immortal Fae Prince, and Jericho Barrons, a man as irresistible as he is dangerous.
    For centuries the shadowy realm of the Fae has coexisted with that of humans. Now the walls between the two are coming down, and Mac is the only thing that stands between them.


    Faefever


    “He calls me his Queen of the Night. I’d die for him. I’d kill for him, too.”
    When MacKayla Lane receives a page torn from her dead sister’s journal, she is stunned by Alina’s desperate words. And now MacKayla knows that her sister’s killer is close. But evil is closer. And suddenly the sidhe-seer is on the hunt: For answers. For revenge. And for an ancient book of dark magic so evil that it corrupts anyone who touches it.
    Mac’s quest for the Sinsar Dubh takes her into the mean, shapeshifting streets of Dublin, with a suspicious cop on her tail. Forced into a dangerous triangle of alliance with V’lane, a lethal Fae prince, and Jericho Barrons, a man of deadly secrets, Mac is soon locked in a battle for her body, mind, and soul.


    Dreamfever


    MacKayla Lane lies naked on the cold stone floor of a church, at the mercy of the erotic Fae master she once swore to kill. Far from home, unable to control her sexual hungers, MacKayla is now fully under the Lord Master’s spell.…In New York Times bestselling author Karen Marie Moning’s stunning novel, the walls between human and Fae worlds have come crashing down.
    He has stolen her past, but MacKayla will never allow her sister’s murderer to take her future. Yet even the uniquely gifted sidhe-seer is no match for the Lord Master, who has unleashed an insatiable sexual craving that consumes Mac’s every thought—and thrusts her into the seductive realm of two very dangerous men, both of whom she desires but dares not trust.
    With her parents missing and the lives of her loved ones under siege, Mac is about to come face-to-face with a soul-shattering truth—about herself and her sister, about Jericho Barrons…and about the world she thought she knew.

    And now the last book in the series, releasing on January 18th, 2011, Shadowfever

    MacKayla Lane was just a child when she and her sister, Alina were given up for adoption and banished from Ireland forever.

    Twenty years later, Alina is dead and Mac has returned to the country that expelled them to hunt her sister's murderer. But after discovering that she descends from a bloodline both gifted and cursed, Mac is plunged into a secret history: an ancient conflict between humans and immortals that have lived concealed among us for thousands of years.

    What follows is a shocking chain of events with devastating consequences, and now Mac struggles to cope with grief, while continuing her mission to acquire and control the Sinsar Dubh--a book of dark, forbidden magic scribed by the mythical Unseelie King that contains the power to create and destroy worlds.

    In an epic battle between humans and Fae, the hunter becomes the hunted when the Sinsar Dubh turns on Mac, and begins mowing a deadly path through those she loves.

    Who can she turn to? Who can she trust? Who is the woman that haunts her dreams? More importantly, who is Mac and what is the destiny she glimpses in the black and crimson designs of an ancient tarot card?

    From the luxury of the Lord Master's penthouse, to the sordid depths of an Unseelie nightclub, from the erotic bed of her lover, to the terrifying bed of the Unseelie King, Mac's journey will force her to face the truth of her exile, and make a choice that will either save the world...or destroy it.

    Would like to get one copy of Shadowfever?

    Easy, just FILL THE FORM

    Giveaway is open to US/Canada Only.

    Ends September 12th, 2010.

    You will be responsible for claiming your prize within 72 hours.

    **Please take note that your prize will to be sent you once the publisher have them in stock. Do not expect to have it before January 2011**

    For more reviews of Darkfever, and more chances the win Shadowfever, you can stop by the following blogs!

    Monday, August 16th:  All Things Urban Fantasy
    Wednesday, August 18th:  Jenn’s Bookshelves
    Monday, August 23rd:  Rundpinne
    Thursday, August 26th:  Savvy Verse and Wit
    Monday, August 30th:  Peeking Between the Pages
    Wednesday, September 1st:  The Cajun Book Lady
    Tuesday, September 7th:  Book Junkie
    Thursday, September 9th:  Angieville
    Friday, September 10th:  Luxury Reading
    Monday, September 13th:  Dark Faerie Tales

    Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning

    dark

    MacKayla Lane’s life is good. She has great friends, a decent job, and a car that breaks down only every other week or so. In other words, she’s your perfectly ordinary twenty-first-century woman. Or so she thinks…until something extraordinary happens.
    When her sister is murdered, leaving a single clue to her death–a cryptic message on Mac’s cell phone–Mac journeys to Ireland in search of answers. The quest to find her sister’s killer draws her into a shadowy realm where nothing is as it seems, where good and evil wear the same treacherously seductive mask. She is soon faced with an even greater challenge: staying alive long enough to learn how to handle a power she had no idea she possessed–a gift that allows her to see beyond the world of man, into the dangerous realm of the Fae….
    As Mac delves deeper into the mystery of her sister’s death, her every move is shadowed by the dark, mysterious Jericho, a man with no past and only mockery for a future. As she begins to close in on the truth, the ruthless Vlane–an alpha Fae who makes sex an addiction for human women–closes in on her. And as the boundary between worlds begins to crumble, Mac’s true mission becomes clear: find the elusive Sinsar Dubh before someone else claims the all-powerful Dark Book–because whoever gets to it first holds nothing less than complete control of the very fabric of both worlds in their hands….

    Mac used to be a pretty young woman who’s biggest concern in life was which accessories to wear to compliment her Barbie look, but her normal life will go havoc when her sister is murdered on the other side of the planet. Determined to solve her sister’s murder, Mac will end up knee deep into a world she didn’t even know existed.  Her quest will become that much more difficult when her own life becomes at stake. Faeries, Vampires and nameless creatures are out there to get her, will she end up like her sister?

    I really enjoyed this book, I had heard many great things about the series, but hadn’t picked it up yet, and now I’m glad I got a chance to! One of the things I appreciated is the atmosphere, even though I know the story is set in the present (Ipods, shiny modern cars, silent alarm systems etc…) I really felt like I was in the 50s with a bunch of Mafia boys ruling town. Karen created a mysterious world just beyond human’s reach and the inhabitant of this realm aren’t exactly boy scouts.  It seems like every character Mac meets is more dangerous than the next, and even thought it’s clear they all play by some rules, our heroine has no idea what they are. She relies on the not-really-trustworthy Jericho Barrons to help her in her quest, and it might lead to her dismay.

    The paranormal element is omnipresent in the story, but the mystery aspect took a lead role for me. The goal is to solve Alina’s murder (Mac’s sister) and find the Sinsar Dubh, because even if Mac doesn’t really know what it is, Alina said it was important. The whole mission just happened to be a minefield of paranormal creatures also trying to get their hands on the book. If I had one less positive comment to make, it’s that I was hoping for more romance. There are bits of sexual tension between Barrons and Mac, but nothing major, and I would have liked more. On a positive note, the end hinted that I might just get what I want in the second book, which I am looking forward to!

    I would definitely recommend this series, the fifth book will be out in January 2011, so you should have time to catch if you start now!

    Read an Excerpt



    Fever Series:

    Darkfever

    Bloodfever

    Feafever

    Dreamfever

    Shadowfever (Jan 2011)

    Book Stats:

  • Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages The Book Depository
  • Publisher: Dell (August 28, 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0440240980 
  • ISBN-13: 978-0440240983

    Book Source: Review Copy sent by TLC Book Tours

  • Tuesday, August 24, 2010

    This Side of the Grave cover revealed

    The fifth Night Huntress series book will release February 22nd, 2011 and I am extremely excited about it! Jeaniene Frost revealed it’s cover today and it’s absolutely amazing! I LOVE it!

    So here’s the cover:

    thissideofthe grave

    And the stepback

    stepback 

     

    I couldn’t find a product description jsut yet, but I’m sure it will be amazing.

    Jeaniene just posted the product description on her website, here it goes!

    Danger waits on both sides of the grave

    Half-vampire Cat Crawfield and her vampire husband Bones have fought for their lives, as well as for their relationship. But just when they’ve triumphed over the latest battle, Cat’s new and unexpected abilities threaten to upset a long-standing balance…

    With the mysterious disappearance of vampires, rumors abound that a species war is brewing.  A zealot is inciting tensions between the vampires and ghouls, and if these two powerful groups clash, innocent mortals could become collateral damage. Now Cat and Bones are forced to seek help from a dangerous “ally”—the ghoul queen of New Orleans herself. But the price of her assistance may prove more treacherous than even the threat of a supernatural war. …to say nothing of the repercussions Cat never imagined.

    What do you guys think?

    3 giveaway winners!

    I had three giveaways ending last Saturday at midnight and here are the winners!

    Dracula, My Love           Clockwork Angel            Mistwood

    Jen D.                     thekams                      debbie

    Who’s email starts with twoofakind12@…

    Congrats Ladies!

    Monday, August 23, 2010

    Giveaway: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

    MockingjayCover

     

    Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she’s made it out of the bloody arena alive, she’s still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge. Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Katniss. And what’s worse, President Snow has made it clear that no one else is safe either. Not Katniss’s family, not her friends, not the people of District 12. Powerful and haunting, this thrilling final installment of Suzanne Collins’s groundbreaking The Hunger Games trilogy promises to be one of the most talked about books of the year.

    Description from GoodReads.com

    The highly anticipated third and final book in The Hunger Games trilogy is just around the corner, and I have 2 (!!) copies to offer you!

    But first, here’s a bit more about the series in case you haven’t started reading it yet:

    In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capital surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capital is harsh and cruel and keeps the other districts in line by forcing them to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight-to-the death on live TV. One boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and sixteen are selected by lottery to play. The winner brings riches and favor to his or her district. But that is nothing compared to what the Capital wins: one more year of fearful compliance with its rules. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her impoverished district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to death before—and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love. Acclaimed writer Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this stunning novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

    Pretty cool hen?

    You can find my review of The Hunger Games here, and Catching Fire here.

    Us Covers:HungerGamesCovers

    UK Covers:330px-The_Hunger_Games_and_Catching_Fire_cover_art mockingjay_uk

    Here’s an awesome fan made trailer I found:


     
    And the Official trailer:
     
     
     

    What you gotta do for a chance to get your hands on 1 of 2 Mockingjay copies? (Courtesy of Scholastic Thank you!)

    Just FILL THE FORM!

    Giveaway open to US Addresses Only

    Ends August  September 3rd, 2010.

    You are responsible for claiming you prize within 72 hours.

    Which of the 6 covers is your favorite?

    Sunday, August 22, 2010

    Great Deals latest additions

    Hello everyone! While I keep the Great Deals master sheet updated, I will post the latest additions once in a while to make sure you don’t miss any deals =) Here’s in Alphabetical order the most recent discoveries added to the list!

    Title Author Format Price (US$) As of…
    Blameless Gail Carriger Paperback 6,99 2010-08-22
    Ecstasy in Darkness Gena Showalter paperback 5,99 2010-08-22
    Firewalker Allyson James Paperback 5,99 2010-08-22
    Haven’s Spite Lilith Saintcrow Paperback 5’99 2010-08-22
    Magic at the Gate Devon Monk Paperback 5’99 2010-08-22
    Taken by Midnight Lara Adrian Paperback 5’99 2010-08-22

     

    Please remember if you find any deals you’d like to share, fill the form!

     
     

    In My Mailbox

    In My Mailbox
    Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)
     
    Cat & Page Turners girls you need to watch this! ^^
     

    Books Mentioned:


    For Review:

    Sacrifice by Dakota Banks

    Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

    Kisses from Hell Anthology

    Won:

    Linger by Maggie Stiefvater

    Bought:

    The Mortal Instrument set by Cassandra Clare

     

    Also I wanted to mention it in the vlog but I completely forgot *doh*, I will announce the winners of the three giveaway that ended at midnight on Tuesday August 24th!

    Saturday, August 21, 2010

    Giveaways Reminder

    Hello guys!

    I just wanted to remind you that my 3 giveaways are ending tonight at Midnight EST, click on the book covers to enter the specific giveaways!

    Dracula, My LoveClockwork AngelMistwood

    Also, I wanted to invite you to drop by on Monday 23rd and Wednesday 25th because I’ll be hosting giveaways for… Hold your breath….

    MockingjayCover shadowfever

    That’s right! Mockingjay and Shadowfever!

     

    Have a great week end!

    Friday, August 20, 2010

    Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

    catching-fire Against all odds, Katniss has won the Hunger Games. She and fellow District 12 tribute Petta Mellark are miraculously still alive. Katniss should be relieved, happy even. After all, she has returned to her family and her longtime friend, Gale. yet nothing is the way Katniss wishes it to be. Gale holds her at an icy distance. Peeta has turned his back on her completely. And there are whispers of a rebellion against the Capitol – a rebellion that Katniss and Peeta may have helped create.

    Much to her shock, Katniss has fueled an unrest she’s afraid she cannot stop. And what scares her even more is that she’s not entirely convinced she should try. As time draws near for Katniss and Peeta to visit districts on the Capitol’s cruel Victory Tour, the stakes are higher than ever. If they can’t prove, without a shadow of a doubt, that they are lost in their love for each other, the consequences will be horrifying.

    Katniss and Peeta might have gotten out of the Hunger Games alive, but the nightmare isn’t over. They are forced to visit district after district and face the families of the other kids who died in the arena. Not only that, but their little act of rebellion in the Games didn’t go unnoticed. Some districts are restless and President Snow is blaming Katniss, and he will do anything to make her pay.

    I really loved The Hunger Games and I didn’t think I could love Catching Fire more but I did! I don’t want to give anything away because I kinda spoiled it for myself by reading the description of Mockingjay. Anyway, I loved how there is that much going on behind the scene that we are totally unaware of and that everything is revealed at the right moment.

    Both Katniss and Peeta were strong in the first book and this time around the stakes are even higher. I admire their stubbornness, determination and enjoyed being surprised by the sacrifices they are willing to make. They will meet new allies/possible enemies, which I enjoyed liking or hating depending LOL. If there is such a thing as Team Cinna and Team Finnick please sign me up! Haymitch will hold an even more important role this time, which I honestly didn’t see coming. In fact, apart from the bits I spoiled by reading book three’s description, I didn’t see anything coming. The whole book is a maelstrom of emotions, heart-breaks, surprises and fierceness. There is also the whole deadly blood-bath necessary to the Games.  

    I have a hard time putting my love of this series into words so I will tell you this, since I started reading the first book (5 days ago) I went to bed every night thinking of the books. What would happen next, what could have been different, what would’ve happen if X or Y happened, What I would’ve done if I were Katniss. The intensity of the books literally kept me awake at night, that’s how good they were! I don’t know how all of you guys who read this book on release in 2009 managed to wait until now to get the third book, ‘cause even though we are just a few days from release, the wait is unbearable!

    Now I’m gonna pronounce myself. At this point I am Team Peeta, but I wouldn’t be surprised to switch to Team Gale during book three. I already love Gale, but he hasn’t been under the spotlight long enough to truly judge if I prefer him over Peeta, as opposed to the latter proving his loyalty over and over in the hardest situations. Either way, I will always be…

    katniss

    Read an excerpt

    Exceptionally I joined 2 fan-made trailers to the review, I couldn’t decided which one I liked better hehe




     

    Hunger Games series:

    The Hunger Games

    Catching Fire

    Mockingjay

     

    Book Stats:

  • Reading level: Young Adult
  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Scholastic Press; 1 edition (September 1, 2009)
  • Language: English The Book Depository
  • ISBN-10: 0439023491
  • ISBN-13: 978-0439023498

     

    Book Source: Personal Shelf

  • Thursday, August 19, 2010

    The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

    Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with every one out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?
    In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV.
    Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister's place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before—and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that will weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

    Katniss is a determined young woman who lives with her mother and her younger sister. When her father died in the mines of district 12 and her mother suffers from depression, Katniss is forced to step up to keep her family alive. She will cross many rules punishable by death to keep their bellies full and will learn quite a few tricks along the way. When the time for the Reaping starts (A draw to choose which girl and which boy will fight to death in the Hunger Games), Katniss will have to sacrifice her life to protect her sister. The Hunger Games is nothing like you’ve ever seen, 12 girls and 12 boys fight in an arena and the last one alive wins, the whole thing is a deadly reality TV show to force the district folks to remember who has the ultimate power: The Capitol.

    I already owned the first two books in the series, and they have been waiting there for quite a while and with the upcoming release of the last book in the series, Mockingjay, I thought it would be time to read them. And am I glad I did? YES! My friends always teases me saying if there’s no vampire in a book, I don’t like it. Well The Hunger Games sure proved them wrong. This book is about simple teenagers fighting day after day to remain alive. They are slaves to the Capitol’s cruelty and must leave a part of their humanity aside if they hope to make it back home, and I LOVED it.

    Katniss or Catnip as Gale calls her (I just love that nickname!) is strong and fierce. She always fought hard to stay alive back home but The Hunger Games is nothing like she ever faced before. Pushing her limits and hanging to her humanity, Katniss’ journey was amazing, heart-breaking and hard to bare. She is forced to fight against Peeta, the unlucky boy drawn on the Reaping day, even though he saved her life once when they were younger. Haymitch, who won the games about 25 years ago, will be Peeta’s and Katniss’ coach, he works from outside the arena trying to keep them alive.  He is an interesting character to say the least, he’s a drunk and lonely wolf bumping through life until P & K gives him a reason to sober up and fight. The sober part is temporary, but they say you can’t show an old dog new tricks =P. Cinna, Katniss’ fashion designer also got thumbs up from me. I love that he is a simple and talented man in the crazy Capitol. He is quiet but oh so attentive, and his help will do a world of difference for Katniss. Of course there’s always dark and sexy Gale back home. Partner in crimes for years, the Hunger Games will now split them, will their relation survive?

    The Hunger Games series is one of a kind and I strongly suggest everyone to give it a try. You find yourself sucked in the story, rooting for your favorite tributes and you won’t be able to stop ‘til it’s over. I’m glad I already had the second book at home (I’m already halfway into it) and that the third is releasing next week because I wouldn’t have been able to handle the wait. In a sentence, The Hunger Games isn’t only a fight to death, it’s a fight to keep your humanity and hopes of freedom.

    Read an excerpt (1st Chapter)


     

    Hunger Games trilogy:

    The Hunger Games

    Catching Fire

    Mockingjay

     

    Book Stats:

  • Hardcover: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Scholastic Press (Oct 1 2008) The Book Depository
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0439023483
  • ISBN-13: 978-0439023481

     

    Book Source: Personal Shelf

  • Wednesday, August 18, 2010

    Clockwork Angel Trailer!

    This meme was inspired both by Dark Fairie Tales and Stop, Drop and Read.

    That’s it, Hollywood Crush revealed the official Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare trailer at 2pm EST! I Loved Clockwork Angel (you can read my review here) and I’m pleased with the trailer, it was worth waiting some extra time for it!



     

    I really like it, but I have to admit I am not thrilled with the casting. Either way, the book is amazing, so you should definitely get yours hands on it!

    What do you think?

    CSN Review!

    Remember in late July I posted about this opportunity? Not sure yet which bean bag I would choose?

    Well I finally chose this one, for only 55$ :

    Why I chose that one?

    First I liked the size (32" H x 27 1/2" W x 21" D)

    I like that it’s some kind of leather imitation, because with my two furballs it would’ve been full of hair all the time.

    And doesn’t it look comfortable?

    Now the review details!

    My order was put on August 3rd and shipped on August 6th and I received it on August 13th, which is pretty fast if you keep in mind that I am Canadian!

    Here’s what the package looked like:

    There’s actually two layers of plastic protecting it, and it wasn’t damaged in any way.

    No need to tell you there wasn’t any assembly needed, break the wrapper and Enjoy!

    Perfect to play video games (lol!), read or simply lay your feet on when you sit on the couch (my personal favorite lol).

    I’d also like to add that it has:

  • Double zippered bottom for added security
  • Childproof safety lock zipper pulls
  •  

    Overall, I’m happy with my “purchase” and recommend CSN Stores products!

    You can also click here to see the review I did for one of their shelves.

    Tuesday, August 17, 2010

    Nightwalker by Jocelynn Drake

    01

     

    For centuries Mira has been a nightwalker—an unstoppable enforcer for a mysterious organization that manipulates earth-shaking events from the darkest shadows. But elemental mastery over fire sets her apart from others of her night-prowling breed . . . and may be all that prevents her doom.

    The foe she now faces is human: the vampire hunter called Danaus, who has already destroyed so many undead. For Mira, the time has come to hunt . . . or be hunted.

     

     

    Before getting to the core of my review, I think some definitions are required. All the quotes are from Jocelynn's website.

    Nightwalkers:  “Folklore has called them Nosferatu, Langsuir, Strigae, Upir, the undead, and finally, Vampire, but among their own kind, they are simply known as Nightwalkers. Humans by birth, nightwalkers are created when a nightwalker of significant age takes a human past the edge of death and brings him or her back with an infusion of nightwalker blood.

    Nightwalkers are dependent upon blood for their survival and only exist under the caress of night. As the sun peeks above the horizon, nightwalkers fall into a coma-like state from which they cannot awaken before their time. Furthermore, any nightwalker exposed to the sun's rays will be quickly incinerated.”

    Ancients:Ancients are any nightwalker who has achieved an age of 1,000 years or more, putting them close to the top of the food chain. Meanwhile, the Keeper of a domain is any nightwalker who has claimed an area as his or her own. The Keeper is the ultimate power in the region; maintaining the peace and protecting the nightwalker secret from human discovery.”

    Naturi:Ancient mythology claims that after the birth of the human race, two more races came into existence: guardians of the earth and guardians of the soul. The Naturi are the protectors of the earth and all the animal life that prowls the jungles, soars in the sky, and swims in the waters.

    The naturi are divided into five separate clans: light, water, earth, wind, and animal. Each clan has its own unique strengths, powers, and weaknesses. In addition, there is a definite hierarchy within the naturi race based upon which clan the Queen of the naturi is a part and which clan her Consort is a member.” They are victims of a superiority complex and wants to destroy Nightwalkers and Humans alike to rule the earth.

    Alright now that you all know what I’m talking about, Let’s get down to business!

    Mira is a 600 years old vampire who chose to make her home in the new world. She is the Keeper of Savannah and works really hard to keep a peaceful balance between the Nightwalkers and the Lycanthropes, all the while keeping their existence a secret from humans. Her little haven will become a fighting ground though, when vampire hunter Danaus shows up in her town and start killing her people. Like it wasn’t enough, it seems like Danaus also got Naturis on his trail:  Nightwalkers biggest enemy.  While Mira was happy minding her own business, she will end up in the middle of an epic quest to save Nightwalkers and Humanity alike.

    I’ve had the first five books on my to-be-read shelf for a while now, and shame on me for not picking it up earlier. Nightwalker is full of action, surprises and treason. Drake maintained a fast pace that will keep you breathless until the end.

    One of the aspect I appreciated is the blur of lines between good and evil, allies and enemies, love and hate. And the perfect example is the relationship between Mira and Danaus. He is a more or less catholic human, she is a vampire. They keep making death treats to each other, yet they trust each other in combat situation. They keep protecting each other because they both want the honor to kill the other, all the while being affectionate (to a certain point) with the other. I loved the ambiguity of their relation and I can’t wait to see what Drake has in stock for us in the following installment.

    I really liked Mira, her ability to manipulate fire makes her rather unique and while it’s a great asset in battle, it also might be her death warrant. Nightwalkers and Naturi alike are scared of her powers and while some would like to control it, many would be glad to just get rid of her. She is smart and resourceful and a strong head with desires of independence. 

    I love the world Drake built for us, while their are some “regular” paranormal creatures, the introduction of the Naturi race is refreshing and the lore is brilliant. I still have many interrogations after reading the first book, but I’m sure I’ll find answers in the upcoming books!

    The end was somewhat shocking and I can’t wait to see what Mira is gonna do from there. If you haven’t started this series yet and you are a Urban Fantasy fan, I strongly suggest you get your hands on the first book. Jocelynn Drake was contracted for 6 books in the series (but there may be more depending on sales) and five are already out, so if you start reading the series now, you can already read the five first without the waiting!

    Read an excerpt (first 64 pages)

     

    Dark Days series:

    Nightwalker

    Dayhunter

    Dawnbreaker

    Pray for Dawn

    Wait for dusk

     

    Book Stats:

  • Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Eos (July 29, 2008) The Book Depository
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0061542776
  • ISBN-13: 978-0061542770

     

    Book Source: Personal Shelf

  • Monday, August 16, 2010

    Beautiful (and strong!) Monday

    I am a big fan of Photography and in this feature, I will present you some pictures that I absolutely love!

    Please note that I do not own any copyrights on these images, and I will link to the artist to give them all the credit they deserve!
     
    This week I decided to join my love of reading to my love of photography. I don’t know about you guys, but I love my leading female character to be strong, so I decided to present some very artistic and powerful shots of strong woman! Hope you’ll agree ^^
     
    Apocalyptic Costuming… 2
     
     
    Disturbia
     
     
    And my personal favorite,
    Survivor

    by ValentinaKallias

     

    What you think?