Saturday, July 31, 2010

900 followers giveaway winner!

That’s right, it’s time to reveal the lucky winner of an ARC of Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare and a finished copy of Eternal Kiss of Darkness by Jeaniene Frost.

I sorted through no less than 380 entries (I mean OMG!) and with the help of random.org the winner is…

A & C Book Junkies

Congrats Ashley! I’ll be mailing out your books later today =)

Friday, July 30, 2010

Giveaway Reminder

Hello everyone! Just a little reminder so two giveaways ending very soon!

First stop is my 900 followers giveaway, Ending Tonight.

Because it’s a followers giveaway, You MUST be a follower (either Google or subscriber, old or new)

 

You must FILL THE FORM

You can earn 1 extra entry for spreading the word, not mandatory.

Giveaway is open INTERNATIONALY

Click here to visit the original post

Next is The Iron King by Julie Kagawa + 25$ Visa Card Giveaway, Ending August 2nd.

9780373210084_TS_PRD.indd

To enter please FILL THE FORM

 

You don’t have to be a follower, but you are responsible for coming back see if you won, and claim your prize (you’ll have 72hours).

 

Open to US & Canadian addresses

Click here to visit the original post

 

Good Luck Everyone!

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

More Covers!

I don’t know if they are official yet, but I found those three covers while browsing =)

First one is Entice by Carrie Jones, the third book in the Need series.

EnticeZara and Nick are soul mates, meant to be together forever. But that's not quite how things have worked out.
For starters, well, Nick is dead. Supposedly, he's been taken to a mythic place for warriors known as Valhalla, so Zara and her friends might be able to get him back. But it's taking time, and meanwhile a group of evil pixies is devastating Bedford, with more teens going missing every day. An all-out war seems imminent, and the good guys need all the warriors they can find. But how to get to Valhalla?
And even if Zara and her friends discover the way, there's that other small problem: Zara's been pixie kissed. When she finds Nick, will he even want to go with her? Especially since she hasn't just turned. She's Astley's queen.

it’s suppose to release in December 2010 =)

-----------

Up next is Heaven’s Spite by Lilith Saintcrow, the fifth book in the Jill Kismet series

heavenspite

When a new hellbreed comes calling, playing nice isn't an option. Jill Kismet has no choice but to seek treacherous allies - Perry, the devil she knows, and Melisande Belisa, the cunning Sorrows temptress whose true loyalties are unknown.
Kismet knows Perry and Belisa are likely playing for the same thing--her soul. It's just too bad, because she expects to beat them at their own game. Except their game is vengeance.
Nobody plays vengeance like Kismet. But if the revenge she seeks damns her, her enemies might get her soul after all...

 

This one is suppose to release November 2010!

---------------

Last one is Awakened UK by PC & Kristen Cast, eighth book in the House of Night series

awakened  At the start of Awakened, the pulse-pounding eighth installment of the bestselling House of Night series, Zoey has returned, mostly whole, from the Otherworld to her rightful place as High Priestess at the House of Night. Her friends are just glad to have her back, but after losing her human consort, Heath, will Zoey - or her relationship with her super-hot Warrior, Stark - ever be the same? Stevie Rae is drawn even closer to Rephaim, the Raven Mocker with whom she shares a mysterious and powerful Imprint, but he is a dangerous secret that isolates her from her school, her red fledglings, and even her best friends. When the dark threat of Neferet - who is coming closer and closer to achieving her twisted goal of immortality - and Kalona returns, what will it take to keep the House of Night from being lost forever, and what will one desperate girl do to keep her heart from being irreparably broken?

Last one is planned to release on January 2011

CSN Preferred Blogger Opportunity‏

Hey everyone!

I was lucky enough to be give another opportunity to review CSNs product and I’ve browsing their inventory for a few hours (no kidding!) and I’m still not sure what I’m gonna get lol. I thought of getting a coffee maker since I don’t have one at home, then I thought maybe getting another bookshelf because I’m already running out of space but I’ve also ran out of wall to put them against haha. So I think I’m gonna surprise my bf with an ottoman or bean bag. He has been wanting one to sit closer to the TV (like 40inch wasn’t big enough) to play his video games.

I’m still debating which of these two models I’ll get

What do you guys think?

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Great Deals latest additions

Hello everyone! While I keep the Great Deals master sheet updated, I will post the latest additions once in a while to make sure you don’t miss any deals =) Here’s in Alphabetical order the most recent discoveries added to the list!

Title Author Format Price (US$) As of…
Desires of the Dead Kimberly Derting Paperback 5,24$ 07-25-2010
Double Cross Carolyn Crane Paperback 5,99$ 07-18-2010
Mockingjay Suzanne Collins Paperback 5,24$ 07-17-2010
Radiant Shadow Melissa Marr Paperback 8,07$ 07-27-2010
The Replacement UK Brenna Yovanoff Paperback 5,24$ 07-18-2010

 

Please remember if you find any deals you’d like to share, fill the form!

 
 

Guest Post with Jocelynn Drake

 

(source: Jocelynn Website)

Today is the release of the much anticipated novel Wait for Dusk by Jocelynn Drake!

05

There is no sanctuary in the night…

Feared even by her own kind for her mastery of fire, the Nightwalker Mira is summoned by the Coven to take her rightful place as Elder. But with this honor comes grave responsibility—a commitment to the annihilation of the unleashed naturi. For now the foul creatures walk the earth—and neither vampire nor human will survive their horrific onslaught.

A tide of blood is sweeping relentlessly across the European continent, as Mira is dispatched to Budapest for the most devastating test yet of her astonishing powers—and falls into a well-laid trap. With the dark secrets that haunt her growing darker by the hour, she must confront the terrible truth of her past and protect her fragile sanity in the face of unanticipated treachery—a betrayal by her ally, her enemy, her lover…the vampire slayer, Danaus.  

To celebrate the event, We have another edition of the Nightwalker Nightly (you can read the first episode here). Tonight, we have the honor to meet Valerio!

------------

Good evening and welcome to another edition of Nightwalker Nightly, a hard-hitting news program dedicated to giving you the edge you need each night you step outside your door. 

First off tonight, nightwalkers are to remain on high alert when out at night due to the continued naturi infestation of the major cities and countryside around the globe.  We urge nightwalkers to continue to travel and hunt in packs, while taking extra precautions to protect your lair before the sunrise each day. 

In other news, Mira has been officially inducted as a member of the Coven as an Elder after a brief scuffle with Yuri from Russia.  From the reports that are coming from the Coven court, it appears that Yuri did not think Mira had the best interest of her race in mind, particularly now that she has proclaimed Danaus to be her Consort.

Also in reports coming out of the Coven, the Elders are going to visiting various cities throughout Europe in an effort to restore order and get rid of the naturi that are nesting there.  Hopes are running high that Aurora will be next on their list of naturi to be exterminated, but no plans have been reported as of yet.

Moving on to tonight’s special guest, we have been given a rare opportunity to speak with Valerio.  A long-time member of the Coven court and a frequent supporter of both Jabari and Tabor, may he rest in peace, Valerio makes his home in Vienna and is frequently seen at Mira’s side as she travels throughout Europe.

Interviewer:  Valerio, first off, I want to say what an honor it is to have you with us tonight.  Your reputation precedes you as a powerful and wise nightwalker who has seen the changing times of the world, and has been able to easily adapt to her shifting façade.

Valerio: Thank you for having me.  You are far too generous with your praise.  I am nothing more valerio than a servant to our people, helping to offer guidance where I can.

Interviewer:  Now, it is our understanding that you have long been a member of the Coven court, attending sessions frequently and doing the bidding of the Coven, particularly with the Fire Starter at your side.

Valerio: That is partially true.  Many years ago, Mira and I worked together on many assignments to help maintain the peace and protect the secret of our kind.  However, it has been several centuries since I held such a position with the Coven.  I had recently become more a hermit, preferring to remain in my home in Vienna.

Interviewer: During the time that you spent with Mira, there are rumors that you maintained more than just a platonic working relationship with the Fire Starter.  Is there any truth to those rumors?

Valerio: I am reluctant to speak about my past with the Fire Starter as I know that she and I both value our privacy.  However, I have to ask whether any man would not be tempted by the Fire Starter’s beauty even if she is a great danger to be around?  Or maybe it is that danger that drawn men to her side like moths to a flickering flame?  Regardless of the rumors that may be flutter about regarding Mira and myself, I will say that we are close friends and I hope to remain so for many more years.

Interviewer: In truth, we thought there may be more to your relationship with the nightwalker since you were the one to give Mira the ring that she wears on her ring finger at the moment. 

Valerio: You have done your homework.  Yes, I gave her that ring many, many years ago and I am flattered that she continues to wear it.  I think for us both it is a reminder of lighter and happier times before the concerns of the naturi and the Coven.

Interviewer: Due to your long-standing relationship with Mira, are there any hard feelings that she has chosen to make Danaus, the nightwalker hunter, her Consort as she takes a seat on the Coven?

Valerio:  Mira is free to do as she chooses.  She has long been a stout supporter of the nightwalker race and always put forth an extraordinary amount of effort to protect our people.  If she believes having the hunter at her side is a good decision for our people, then I support her choice.

Interviewer: But there are no hard feelings considering your past?

Mira Valerio: Mira is free to pursue any man or woman she chooses, whether they be human, nightwalker, or other.  Naturally, she has the same view as myself when it comes to my freedom.  Our past is simply that – the past.

Interviewer: I just have a couple more questions before we have to go.  There are rumors that with Mira taking a seat on the Coven, it may not be long before a new seat opens up due to the ongoing war between Mira and Macaire.  If a seat were to open up on the Coven, would you have any interest in claiming it due to your experience and knowledge of the nightwalkers that could certainly help to guide us forward during these trying times.

Valerio:  I do not currently, nor will I ever, have any interest in claiming a seat on the Coven.  I like my privacy and my freedom.  Both are something that are not afforded to members of the Coven.  I trust in Mira and the other members to help take the steps necessary to get rid of the naturi problem that we are currently facing.

Interviewer:  Finally, it has come to our attention that Knox, Mira’s second-in-command in her domain of Savannah, was actually sired by you.  Is this true and do you find it ironic that your child is now working within your former companion’s domain?

Valerio:  To answer your first question, yes, I did sire Knox more than a couple centuries ago.  After we parted on good terms, he traveled to the New World, and it is my understanding that Knox sought out Mira because she had established a domain that was a place of safety for other nightwalkers.  While it may seem ironic due to my past connection with the Fire Starter, it only makes logical sense that he sought out Mira because she offers the most stability and safety of all the domains in the New World.

Interviewer: I would like to thank you again, Valerio, for spending time with us today to discuss your opinion on the shifting world of the Coven and the changes that might be brought forward with the new Elder of the Coven. 

I’m afraid that’s all the time we have tonight.  Tune in tomorrow night when we take a closer look at human teeth whitening products and their impact on proper fang care over the ages.  Which are the most effect ways to maintain that pearly white complexion?

Thank you very much Valerio and Jocelynn for stopping by Tynga’s Reviews! It’s always a pleasure to have you on board =)

Now dear readers it’s your time to talk *winks* I’d like to know which books in the series so far is your favorite (if you read the series) and which cover is your favorite?

(each cover leads to Book Depository)

0102030405

Also here are some of the International Cover I found on Jocelynn’s Facebook page.

German:  

Polish:

 

Monday, July 26, 2010

Beautiful Monday

I am a big fan of Photography and in this feature, I will present you some pictures that I absolutely love!

Please note that I do not own any copyrights on these images, and I will link to the artist to give them all the credit they deserve!
 
This time I chose a sunshine theme =) I hope you enjoy!
 
xx 135s
 
 
xcc 12
 
 
Colorful Song

 

Have a great monday!

Sunday, July 25, 2010

In My Mailbox - Vlog

In My Mailbox
Before getting to serious business, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)
 

I had a great response last week with my very first vlog so I decided to do another one this week ^^

Also because many of you asked, my kittens are in the video, you can’t see ‘em all that well at the beginning but I added a better shot of them at the end =)



 

Books I talked about:

Mark of the Demon by Diana Rowland

Blood of the Demon by Diana Rowland

Tracking the Tempest by Nicole Peeler

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater

Have a great week!

Saturday, July 24, 2010

Taken by the Other by Jess Haines snippet

I tried to convince you yesterday to not let the Taken by the Other cover stop from reading the book, and Jess just provided me with a great argument. Here’s the snippet from inside the front cover…

(source: Jess Haine’s blog)

THE MOST DANGEROUS OF OTHERS

I tried to find the words to speak, to tell Royce to stop, but all I could manage was a feeble cry when he took hold of my wrists, pulling my hands off his chest and pressing them to the wall. He said nothing, simply studied me while that gibbering terror romping through my mind didn’t want to acknowledge that he hadn’t hurt me yet. It only wanted to focus on the fact that I was pinned, he looked ravenous, I was the only human in sight, and his fangs were literally inches away from some all too vulnerable parts of my body. Places where the blood runs hot and fast and close to the surface of the skin.

Why was he doing this? What did he want from me? Panic clawed at my throat, and as he leaned in, his lips brushing against the side of my neck, I found my voice again, letting loose with a shriek as I twisted away. He was going to bite me!

“I’d never hurt you,” he whispered, his voice low and soothing. He didn’t touch me save for the velvet soft brush of his lips against my skin, followed by the brief rake of fangs. Hinting at penetration, but never quite sinking in. It was enough to drag a little cry from my lips, too breathy to properly be called a scream. I thought I might just die of fright right then, closing my eyes and trying to remember how to breathe as my heart tried to pound its way out of my chest.

“You could stay young and beautiful and strong forever,” Royce whispered. “With me. Think about it…”

If this doesn't convince you, I don't know what will *winks*

What do you think?

Winter’s Passage by Julie Kagawa

Winter

Winter’s Passage is a short story from the Iron Fey series and takes place between The Iron King and The Iron Daughter. As the title hints, this novella tells Meghan’s passage from the human world to the Winter court to hold her part of her bargain with Prince Ash. On their journey, they will meet with another highly know fey even Ash is scared of.

I don’t think there is much to critique about the novella because it’s only 60ish pages long, and while I haven’t read The Iron Daughter yet, I would strongly recommend reading Winter’s Passage so you don’t miss any evolution into the Ash-Meghan relation.

Quick read, but not less filled with adventure than The Iron King was, Winter’s Passage is an enjoyable read and you can download it for free here, until July 31st, 2010. So why not read it? *winks*

The Iron Fey series:

The Iron King
Winter’s Passage
The Iron Daughter

Novella Stats:Clipboard01

  • Pages: 59 pages
  • Publisher: Harlequin Teen (June 1, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003N2QUZG
  • Source: Iron Fey website

    Friday, July 23, 2010

    Fan Art: Taken by the Others

    I don’t know if you’ve seen the cover reveal for Taken by the Others by Jess Haines yet, but there is a bit of, I’ll say controversy for lack of better word, around it. The general feeling is that it doesn’t meet reader’s expectations, so I decided to created my own cover, while keeping the general feel of the original one, here’s what it looks like! (left one is original, right one is mine)

    TBTO TBTOfan2

    I would like to have your thoughts! Also while the cover isn’t very attractive, the first book in the series Hunted by the Others was really good (you can read my review here). So I really hope the cover won’t stop you from purchasing the book, because you’d be missing on something great =)

    Your thoughts?

    Thursday, July 22, 2010

    Hairy Friends news!

    I have some news from my favorite shifters!

    First stop is the cover reveal of River Marked by Patricia Briggs, the sixth book in the Mercy Thompson series. I don’t think it’s the final version yet, but it’s already super kool!

    rivermarked_

    What do you think?

     

    Also, Rachel Vincent with the help of her husband, release a map of the American territory, werecat style!

    Here’s a preview, please click on it to access to real map with all the mouse over information

    mappreview

    Tuesday, July 20, 2010

    Buy a book, Win a prize!

    Lauren from Shooting Stars Mag has a super event going on, here are the details (from her post)

    Buy a Book, Get a Prize

    You may have seen them around, but this is probably the last one that I will host. At least for awhile. So let's make it a great one. This time around though...if you pre-order Trance by Linda Gerber YOU WIN! At least until the contest ends or the prizes are all gone...so don't delay. You don't want to miss the prizes you most want! Thanks to everyone for helping out with donating and spread the word about this even if you didn't. It's supportive and awesome and we'd all love you.


    So rules (U.S. Only I'm Afraid)
    1. Pre-Order Trance by Linda Gerber, out this October.
    2. Send your "receipt" to the following email address: lauren51990 AT aol DOT com
    3. Along with your proof of pre-order, you must send me what you want off the prize list below.
    --You will find this on many blogs, but THIS post is the Master Prize List. The prizes will start disappearing, so make sure you check here to see what is left. If you ask for something and it happens to be gone already, I will let you know and you can get another prize.
    4. This giveaway will end on August 31 or once all the prizes are gone.
    5. Okay, it's not a rule...but it would be great if you would check out the various blogs who made this all possible and follow the ones you like best!
    Don't wait long. This is a fun, new YA paranormal novel from an author you already know and should love, so if you're going to buy it anyway...why not now when you could get a two-for-one deal, huh? And the book is super cheap as well. No hardcover, annoying costs here!

    There is a list of super prize to win, so please head over to her page to see all the details!

    Trance is only 5,99$ on book depository, so you'd get two awesome books for a very low price. I say it’s a great deal ^^

    Book Covers + Shout-out

    There have been some amazing covers popping in the last week and I thought I would share them with you! (by release date)

    The Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead

    Release date: 12/07/2010

    LastSacrifice2

     

    I couldn’t find a product description for that one, but this is the final cover. Richelle revealed it this morning. I am so excited about this title and while I want to read it now and know what happens to Rose & Dimitri, I’m really sad that it will be the end of their story.

    Thankfully, Richelle is working on another series, set in the same world, with some characters we already know, to be released in 2012. She even said we might see Rose a bit!

     

     

    The Lost Saint by Bree Despain

    Release date: 12/28/2010

    LostSaintHC catalog

    A family destroyed. A love threatened. An enemy returns.
    Grace Divine made the ultimate sacrifice to cure Daniel Kalbi. She was infected with the werewolf curse while trying to save him, and lost her beloved brother in the process. When Grace receives a haunting phone call from Jude, she knows what she must do. She must become a Hound of Heaven.
    Desperate to find Jude, Grace befriends Talbot—a newcomer to town who promises her that he can help her be a hero. But as the two grow closer, the wolf grows in Grace, and her relationship with Daniel is put in danger—in more ways than one.
    Unaware of the dark path she is walking, Grace begins to give into the wolf inside of her—not realizing that an enemy has returned and a deadly trap is about to be sprung.

    Once a Full Moon by Ellen Schreiber

    Release date: 12/28/2010

    onceafullmoon

    Beware of a kiss under the full moon. It will change your life forever.
    Celeste Parker is used to hearing scary stories about werewolves—Legend’s Run is famous for them. But when, after an unnerving visit with a psychic, she encounters a pack of wolves and gorgeous, enigmatic Brandon, she must discover whether his transformation is more than legend or just a trick of the shadows in the moonlight. Brandon may be Celeste’s hero, or he may be the most dangerous creature she could encounter in the woods of Legend’s Run.

     

     

     

    Fallen Angel by Heather Terrell

    Release date: 12/28/2010

    fallenangel

     

     

    When Ellie Faneuil first sees Michael Chase, she feels an instant connection. They soon learn that they share more than a powerful attraction: They have powers that are otherworldly. Together they go in search of what they are...and find themselves center stage in an ancient conflict. But will they choose the same side?

     

     

     

    Secrets of the Demon by Diana Rowland

    Release Date: 01/04/2011

    secrets

     

     

     

     

    No Description available yet, but this is the third book in the Kara Gillian series!

     

     

     


     

    Vesper by Jeff Sampson

    Release date: 1/25/2011

    vesper

    Emily Webb is a geek—and happy that way. Content hiding under hoodies and curling up to watch old movies, she’s never been the kind of girl who sneaks out for parties. And she definitely doesn’t start fights or flirt with other girls’ boyfriends. Until one night Emily finds herself doing exactly that…the same night a classmate—also named Emily—is found mysteriously murdered.
    The thing is, Emily doesn’t know why she’s doing any of this. With every nightfall, she gets wilder until it’s no longer just her personality that changes; she’s also becoming strong, fast, and utterly fearless. Has she been bewitched by the soul of the other, murdered Emily? Or is she becoming something else entirely—something not human?
    As Emily hunts for answers, she learns that she’s not the only one this is happening to—other teens are changing as well. Who is turning them into monsters, and how many people will they kill to get what they want?

     

    Nightshade by Michelle Rowen

    Release Date: 02/2011

    Nightshade_cover

    Jillian Conrad never believed in vampires. But she’s just become a living, breathing weapon against them. Attacked by a desperate scientist, she is injected with a serum that was supposed to act as a deadly poison to vampires. And when the scientist is gunned down in front of her, his secrets die with him.
    Declan Reyes was only half-vampire, but he hates them with all his heart. He knows that the poison in Jillian’s veins could finally destroy the undead kingdom. Also, the serum has had an unintended effect, making her blood irresistible to all vampires—including Declan, whose bloodthirsty traits are driven into a frenzy by her.
    Driven by duty to protect her and by instinct to crave her, Declan takes Jillian into his shadowy world of blood and battle. But he soon realizes his increasing need for her may be a different kind of hunger…


    Through Her Eyes by Jennifer Archer

    Release date: 4/5/2011

    through

     

    The last thing Tansy wants to do is move with her family to middle-of-nowhere Texas. But once there, she is immediately drawn into her new home’s disturbing history. Through the lens of her camera, Tansy enters a surreal black-and-white time and finds her life linked to mysterious, troubled Henry, who lived in the very same house and died as a teenager decades earlier. But the more time she spends in the past, the more her present world starts to fade away, and Tansy must untangle herself from Henry’s dangerous reality before her own life disappears completely.

     

     

    Teeth Anthology

    Release date: 4/5/2011

    teeth

    Sink your teeth into these bite-sized tales exploring the intersections among the living, dead, and undead. The vampires in these stories range from romantic to chilling to gleeful—and touch on nearly every emotion in between. The one thing they have in common? Their desire for blood....


    Contributors include:
    Genevieve Valentine • Steve Berman • Christopher Barzak • Neil Gaiman • Delia Sherman • Garth Nix • Suzy McKee Charnas • Kaaron Warren • Cecil Castellucci • Jeffrey Ford • Nathan Ballingrud • Kathe Koja • Catherynne M. Valente • Melissa Marr • Ellen Kushner • Cassandra Clare • Holly Black • Lucius Shepard • Emma Bull • Tanith Lee

     

    Red Glove by Holly Black

    Release date: 4/5/2011

    Red-Glove

     

     

     

    Couldn’t find a product description for that one, but it’s the second book in the Curse Workers series and I really liked the first one and I’m looking forward to Red Glove!

     

     

     

     

     

    ghost-and-the-goth_cover_powerpoint-207x300

     

     

     

    Also, I wanted to let you know that I offered my ARC of The Ghost & The Goth by Stacey Kade for an ARC tour. There are still a few spots available if you want to join! Please visit Good Golly Miss Holly’s blog for details!

    Monday, July 19, 2010

    The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

    9780373210084_TS_PRD.inddMEGHAN CHASE HAS A SECRET DESTINY— ONE SHE COULD NEVER HAVE IMAGINED…

    Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school…or at home.

    When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she’s known is about to change.

    But she could never have guessed the truth—that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she’ll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face…and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.

     

    Meghan is an outcast at her school, either people don’t even notice she’s there or they take great pleasure in tormenting her, her best friend Robbie is the only exception. Sweet sixteen is suppose to be the day of your life, but Meghan’s sixteenth birthday has a sour after taste when on top of being humiliated at school, she gets home to find her mom injured and her brother in an violent tantrum. Life as she always knew it is now over, and it might not be for the best…

    I find it kinda hard reviewing this book because it is so unique. The best way I can think of to describe this world is Alice in Wonderland turned into Faery, where countless weird creatures are out there to eat you. The story really begins when Meghan crosses an hidden door in her 4 years old brother’s closest to land in Nevernever: The Faery world. She then starts an epic journey full of creepy creatures, magic and adventure.

    Our protagonist is driven but oh so naive and will get herself in a lot more trouble than she bargained for. Thankfully, she has many companions helping her, with more or less shady intentions. One of my favorite is Grimwalkin, a Cait Sith (magical cat). He is corky and smart, we don’t really know what his ultimate goal is, but he appears and disappears as he pleases, with amazing timing. His dry humor really worked for me. Puck and Ash, respectively Summer fey and Prince of the Winter Fey, will also accompany Meghan in her task. While Puck is selfless and friendly, Ash is dark and brooding, and he might be Meghan’s demise.

    While there is a touch of romance, the biggest part of the story is about adventure in a weird and foreign realm where motley creatures crashes into each other  to amaze the reader. The journey the main characters live will change them forever and I really enjoyed watching them grow. The end isn’t a deadly cliffhanger but you really want to know more, because even thought quest comes to an end, there is a promise of much more to come. 

    Kudos to Julie for creating such a marvelous world where each character is more prodigious than the next. I really had a great time  living their remarkable story and I can’t wait to learn more about the lot of them =)

    Read an Excerpt



    The Iron Fey series:

    The Iron King
    Winter’s Passage
    The Iron Daughter

    Book Stats:

  • Reading level: Young Adult
  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Harlequin; Original edition (February 1, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0373210086
  • ISBN-13: 978-0373210084 The Book Depository

     

    Book Source: Harlequin for review.

  • The Iron King & 25$ visa card Giveaway

    You probably heard about The Iron King by Julie Kagawa ( you can read my review here) before, but with the upcoming release of The Iron Daughter (August 1st, 2010), now is a good time to get started on this series if you haven’t yet!

    Here’s a bit more about Julie:

    Kagawa_Julie_01_10

    Julie Kagawa was born in Sacramento, California. But nothing exciting really happened to her there. So, at the age of nine, she and her family moved to Hawaii, which she soon discovered was inhabited by large carnivorous insects, colonies of house geckos and frequent hurricanes. She spent much of her time in the ocean, when she wasn’t getting chased out of it by reef sharks, jellyfish and the odd eel.
    When not swimming for her life, Julie immersed herself in books, often to the chagrin of her schoolteachers, who would find she hid novels behind her math textbooks during class. Her love of reading led her to pen some very dark and gruesome stories, complete with colored illustrations, to shock her hapless teachers. The gory tales faded with time, but the passion for writing remained, long after she graduated and was supposed to get a real job.
    To pay the rent, Julie worked in different bookstores over the years, but discovered the managers frowned upon her reading the books she was supposed to be shelving. So she turned to her other passion: training animals. She worked as a professional dog trainer for several years, dodging Chihuahua bites and overly enthusiastic Labradors, until her first book sold and she stopped training to write full-time.

    Let’s learn more about her novels now shall we?

    9780373210084_TS_PRD.inddIn less than twenty-four hours Meghan Chase will be sixteen. Countless stories, songs and poems have been written about this wonderful age, when a girl finds true love and the stars shine for her and the handsome prince carries her off into the sunset.

    But Meghan suspects that it won’t be that way for her.

    After all, Meghan has a secret destiny—one she could never have imagined….

    Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school…or at home.

    When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she’s known is about to change.

    But she could never have guessed the truth—that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and a pawn in a deadly war.

    Now Meghan will learn just how far she’ll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face…and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.

    Click HERE to read the first three chapters!





    Winter

    From the author’s website:

    WINTER'S PASSAGE,a free novella in the Iron Fey series will be available for download June 1st. It takes place between THE IRON KING and THE IRON DAUGHTER and follows Meghan and Ash on their perilous journey deep into the heart of Winter

    Clipboard01

    Click to download, or head here to choose a different format.

    And last both not least, The Iron Daughter, coming out August 1st, 2010.

    irondaughter Half Summer faery princess, half human, Meghan Chase has never fit in anywhere. Deserted by the Winter prince she thought loved her, she is prisoner to the Winter faery queen.

    As war looms between Summer and Winter, Meghan knows that the real danger comes from the Iron fey—ironbound faeries that only she and her absent prince have seen. But no one believes her.

    Worse, Meghan’s own fey powers have been cut off. She’s stuck in Faery with only her wits for help. Trusting anyone would be foolish. Trusting a seeming traitor could be deadly.

    But even as she grows a backbone of iron, Meghan can’t help but hear the whispers of longing in her all-too-human heart.

    Got you curious yet?

    Yeah I thought so!

    Harlequin is offering one lucky reader…

    Treat the faery creature in you to something magical and mysterious with a $25 Visa Gift Card and a copy of The Iron King!

     9780373210084_TS_PRD.indd

    To enter please FILL THE FORM

    You don’t have to be a follower, but you are responsible for coming back see if you won, and claim your prize (you’ll have 72hours).

    Open to US & Canadian addresses

    Ends August 2nd, 2010.