Wednesday, March 31, 2010

My trip in Cuba (obviously not book related)

Hola!
As promised here are some pictures of my trips, I'm not one of those pictures freak (and my boyfriend complained I didn't take enough pictures lol), but here are my favorite ones =)
I hope you enjoy!
(sorry if it takes a little time to load, I reduced picture size to try speed up the process)

Day 1 - I just got off the plane and I'm heading to my hotel!

Here are pictures of my hotel room, inside and out =P


Our hotel room was on an island away from the rest of the resort (VIP yo! lol), that's the area linking to the main resort.


Now what you all want to see... the Sea!


On friday we went for a boat tour and swim with dolfins!

Enjoying a little sun on the boat =P


the dolfins!



Dolfins weren't the only animals around, we also came face-to-face with that bird


on the same activity we went to a natural reserve and met these cute animals,
they ask me what they are called cuz I don't know lol



On sunday we went on a jeep safari



We visited Cuba's country side


My boyfriend also made friends with local animals lol


We also drove speed boats on the river


We also some poeple Bungee jumping, but they don't use elastic! They use regular cables!


Here's a pretty kool statue we ran into in Varadero


My Bf going all Pirate-y


The End


I hope you enjoyed!
I had a blast, had a hard time with the food though =/
And the plane was hell, It's official. I hate planes!

Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Back from Cuba!

Hello my Darlings!

I just wanted to let you know I just got back from Cuba (2 hours ago actually!), I had a great time!
I'm gonna have like 2000+ blog post to read on my google reader o.0 it's scary!
I had a great time, I will post you some pictures later!

I missed you guys <3

Monday, March 29, 2010

Beautiful Monday

I am a big fan of Photography and in this feature, I will present you some pictures that I absolutely love!

Please note that I do not own any copyrights on these images, and I will link to the artist to give them all the credit they deserve!

Lovely


Landryna



Pszczola



I really love the colors! Are they fabulous?

Saturday, March 27, 2010

Cover look-Alikes

I've never done one of these posts before but I have seen quite a few around,
and the other day I ordered two books and I had not noticed how alike they are until I got to the recipe page of Bookdepository.com


It's the paperback UK edition



I really love both, but If I had to pick a favorite I think I would go for Shadows,
What about you?

Thursday, March 25, 2010

Trailer Thursday - Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

This meme was inspired both by Dark Fairie Tales and Stop, Drop and Read.

I've seen this book in quite a few place this past week and I thought it seems great!

Nightshade by Andrea Cremer will release October 2010, so we still have a long time to wait unfortunately =(



How gorgeous is that cover?

Product description (from the 10'ers blog):

While other teenage girls daydream about boys, Calla Tor imagines ripping out her enemies’ throats. And she wouldn’t have it any other way. Calla was born a warrior and on her eighteenth-birthday she’ll become the alpha female of the next generation of Guardian wolves. But Calla’s predestined path veers off course the moment she saves the life of a wayward hiker, a boy her own age. This human boy’s secret will turn the young pack's world upside down and forever alter the outcome of the centuries-old Witches' War that surrounds them all.

Now on to the trailer!
I was a bit disapointed cause it doesn't give much info, but hey it's a teaser so I guess it filled it's purpose since I'm completely teased =P



Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday - Mistwood by Leah Cypess

Waiting on Wednesday
This meme is hosted by Breaking the Spine.

This week I chose to highlight you Mistwood by Leah Cypess, I really can't wait to read that book (release on April 27th, 2010) and I'm sure you'll be convinced to by the end of this post!


I'm not sure I like the cover all that much, but I'm respressing my "cover-whore" habits here lol.

Product Description (from Leah's website):

Everyone tells Isabel that she is the Shifter – the ancient shape-shifting creature who has protected the kings of Samorna for centuries. They need her to be the Shifter. Prince Rokan risked everything when he rode into the Mistwood to summon her to his side; Ven, the magician's apprentice, has devoted his life to studying her legend; and even Princess Clarisse, who fears and hates her, depends on Isabel's powers to further her own plans.


But Isabel doesn't feel like the Shifter. She feels like a lonely human girl, beset by flashes of memory that do more to confuse than to help her. If she is the Shifter, why can't she change her shape? Why doesn't she remember what made her flee the castle so many years ago? As she is drawn deeper into a web of magic and assassination, Isabel will have no choice but to look for answers. But her search will lead her to the one question the Shifter hasn't faced in a thousand years: where does she come from, and what does she really want?

Sounds totally awesome doesn't it?
Click here if you want to see the trailer!

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Succubus Shadows by Richelle Mead


"Georgina Kincaid has formidable powers. Immortality, seduction, shape-shifting into any human form she desires, walking in heels that would cripple mere mortals child's play to a succubus like her.

Helping to plan her ex-boyfriend's wedding is a different story. Georgina isn't sure which is worse that he's marrying another woman or that she's having to run around trying on bridesmaid dresses. Still, there are distractions. Thanks to her roommate, her apartment's crackling with sexual tension plus there's Simone, the new succubus in town who seems intent on corrupting Georgina's soon-to-be-wed ex.

But the real danger lies in the mysterious force that's taken to visiting Georgina's thoughts. It's trying to draw her into a dark, frightening, otherworldly realm and there's going to come a point when she won't be able to resist. And when that happens, she's going to discover who she can trust, who she can't and that there are far worse places than Hell in which to spend eternity... " - Book Cover

Poor Georgina never has it easy, in her latest adventure, events are lining and competing for the "worst that could happen" title. Our lovely succubus never got over her ex, fabulous author Seth, and she now lives with her potential nemesis, Roman. Not only does she have to deal with seeing Seth with his new girlfriend Maggie everyday, she has to help them with wedding plans, which involve her as bridesmaid. Can the picture get any worst? Yes.
Some supernatural force manifest itself when Georgina is down, which is quite often lately, and tries to lure her for some darker motives.
 
I particularly loved this installment in the series because we get to live many events from Georgie's past. In doing so, we get a new light on why she's how she is now and the reasons behind a good conscience even though she's a servant of hell.
 
Friends and foes aren't always as black and white, the line between truth and lies is very thin and Georgina reaches a point where she doesn't know the difference.
 
Most of the book is about Georgie's unhappiness and I dare say despair, but her true friends will rise up to the occasion and get her out of deep trouble, helping her find a spark of hope in what she thinks is a lost cause.
 
I love Carter as much as usual, but I truly can't wait to see what's behind all his cryptic advise and what his true intentions are.
 
I really loved the end, it's bittersweet and leaves a door open for hope, even maybe a glimpse of solution to Georgina's Succubus status. Could she possibly get her soul back?
 
If you haven't read Richelle Mead's books yet, you are seriously missing out on some fabulous material. I read every single one of her released books and I can't get enough of her witting. Give her a chance, you won't be disappointed!

Read an excerpt

Georgina Kinkaid Series:
Succubus Blues
Succubus on Top
Succubus Dreams
Succubus Heat
Succubus Shadows

Books Stats:
Paperback: 356 pages

Éditeur: Bantam (Mars 18 2010)
Langue: English
ISBN-10: 0553820311
ISBN-13: 978-0553820317

Book Source: Personnal Shelf

Monday, March 22, 2010

Away From Keyboard


I just wanted to let you guys know that I will be away from March 23rd to March 30th.
I'm on vacation and I will not have internet access for that period of time, I'm afraid I might get into withdrawal!

Anyway lol, I schedualed a few posts for you so you don't miss me *winks*

If you contact me while I'm gone, please be patient I will reply to you when I get back =)

If I win a contest at your blog you'd be awesome if you held on to me until March 30th so I can give you my shipping info ! <3

I will show you pictures when I get back!

<3

Sunday, March 21, 2010

2 giveaway winners!

Hello my Darlings!
I closed two of my giveaways early because I won't be reach-able from March 23rd to March 30th and I wanna be able to pass winner's infos to authors before I leave!

So without further babbling, here are the winners:

The winner is:




ReaganStar from StarShadow Blog

I already contacted both of you, Please reply to me before Monday night if you want to receive your prices sooner than later *winks*

Thanks to everyone who entered!
Don't forget that you can still enter to win

and

Saturday, March 20, 2010

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox

Before getting to serious buiness,
would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)



For Review:
Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs <3 Ty Penguin Canada!
You can't see it well on the picture but the cover is stunning, totally awesome!

from Book Mooch:
See Jane Score by Rachel Gibbon

Bought:
Succubus Shadows by Richelle Mead
You can't see on the image we've had from this cover but the girl on it has red eyes! I'm 100 pages or so into the book and I don't know why yet!

So it was a great week, I'm really excitted about those books!
What did you get?

Friday, March 19, 2010

Fan Art Friday - Hush, Hush

Hello my darlings!
Once more I am joining Katie from Sophistikatied Reviews, to feature Fan Art!

I'm officially on vacation since midnight last night *Happy Dance*
And I plan to read Hush, Hush, yes yes I know why haven't I read it yeyt? Shame on me!
Anyway, I was looking at some Hush, Hush inspired Fan Art and I wanted to share with you my favorites!

First,
made by Katie!

Now a beautiful drawing..
made by C-Pro!


Fallen Angel (Patch)


And now a beautiful picture inspired by the book,
picture taken by alicewolfnas!

I might do one of my own after I read the book, if I do I'll make sure to post it.

They are all awesome!

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Teaser Tuesday - Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Teaser Tuesday


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along!

Today's quote is from the fabulous Graceling by Kristin Cashore, I'm only 25% in the book but geez it's good!
I chose a quote that made me laugh out lout!

Sighing, Helda carried the dress from the batting room.
"It would look stunning, My lady," she called, "with your dark hair and your eyes."
Katsa yanked one of the more stubborn knotsin her hair. She spoke to the bubbles gathered on the surface of the water, "If there's anyone I wish to stun at dinner, I'll hit him in the face." -p.50

I mean how good is that quote? Priceless!

Monday, March 15, 2010

Guest Blog : Erica Hayes author of Shadowglass + Giveaway

This morning I am honored to leave my metaphysical keyboard in the hands of Erica Hayes, Author of Shadowfae (October 2009) and Shadowglass (March 2010), fear not my lovelies, I promise it will be fun! And there might jsut be a little surprise for you at the end *winks*


"So why do you do so many guest blogs?"

Heh. Well, I'm glad you asked. I have done quite a few this month, in honour of my new release SHADOWGLASS. And the reason I do so many is that I want to reach a lot of people. Different aspects of my book might appeal to different readers, and I wouldn't want anyone to miss out :)

If I'm at a romance blog, I talk about the emotional connection between the characters and how scorchin' hot the hero is. If I'm at a vampire blog, I talk about my vampire characters and how mean and nasty and un-sparkly (yay!) they are. You get the idea.

So here I am at Tynga's Reviews, an urban fantasy/paranormal blog. Some of you might even have read my first book, SHADOWFAE. That one's about a succubus, and it's very sensual, as well as colourful, dark, gritty and romantic.


SHADOWGLASS is book 2 in the series, and it's about a shy fairy thief, Ice, who steals a demon's magic mirror and inadvertently makes a wish. Suddenly, she's transformed into the cool and confident girl she's always wanted to be. But fairies should be careful what they wish for…

Is Ice a typical urban fantasy heroine? Well, she's not a kick-ass vampire hunter or a powerful witch. The fairies in my world are a crazy, capricious bunch, always flitting off after new and shiny things. Ice's fascination with pretty diamond necklaces that don't belong to her is what gets her into trouble in the first place. But she's tough and resourceful and knows what she wants, even if she doesn't stake a single vampire…

Is there a hint of romance? Of course! When the mirror goes missing, Ice must enlist the help of Indigo, a frosty metalfairy thief with melting hot eyes and an attitude. She's got a crush. He's got a dirty secret. Fireworks ensue :)

Is there, y'know, a lot of sex? There's some. Ice gets her share, hee hee. Not as much as Jade in SHADOWFAE, who has sex for a living. But SHADOWGLASS has the same edgy erotic atmosphere.

What other books is it like? Umm… well, it's set in underworld Melbourne, like Keri Arthur's Riley Jenson series, though Riley seems to have all the werewolves over on her side of town :) It's also a bit like Laurell K Hamilton's Merry Gentry books, filled with colourful, sensual fairy creatures who are out to get you.

I hope that gives you a hint of what SHADOWGLASS is like. You can read Tynga's review of book 1, SHADOWFAE, here. Thanks for having me, Tynga!

And chapter one of SHADOWGLASS is at my website: http://www.shadowfae.net/shadowglass.html




You guys are a bunch of lucky ducks because Erica generously offered a copy of Shadowglass to one lucky follower!

You will even get a tiny piece of me inside!

It's like a Two-for-One!

Here are the rules:
You Must be a follower/subscriber.
(Click the follow icon on the right, or enter your email on the left)
You Must be 18 years old +.
You Must fill The Form.

Open to US and Canada Only.
Contest ends April 2nd, 2010.

Num8ers Giveaway!

Hello my darlings!
I have the joy of hosting a Num8ers giveaway on behalf of Big Hondo Media.

What's to win?

Well 3 lucky followers will win a Hardcover copy of Num8ers by Rachel Ward.

Synopsis:
Ever since she was child, Jem has kept a secret: Whenever she meets someone new, no matter who, as soon as she looks into their eyes, a number pops into her head. That number is a date: the date they will die. Burdened with such awful awareness, Jem avoids relationships. Until she meets Spider, another outsider, and takes a chance. The two plan a trip to the city. But while waiting to ride the Eye ferris wheel, Jem is terrified to see that all the other tourists in line flash the same number. Today's number. Today's date. Terrorists are going to attack London. Jem’s world is about to explode!


Rules:
Open to US resident only (sorry!)
Must be a follower
Fill the Form
Contest ends April 2nd, 2010.

Sunday, March 14, 2010

Death's Mistress by Karen Chance

" Dorina Basarab is a dhampir—half-human, half-vampire. Subject to uncontrollable rages, most dhampirs live very short, very violent lives. So far, Dory has managed to maintain her sanity by unleashing her anger on those demons and vampires who deserve killing.


Back home in Brooklyn after the demise of her insane uncle Dracula, Dory’s hoping her life is about to calm down. But then she gets some visitors. A friend wants Dory’s help in finding a magical Fey relic, and the gorgeous vampire, Louis-Cesare, is desperate to find his former mistress Christine.


Dory and Louis-Cesare quickly discover that the same master vampire Christine is bound to is also rumored to be in possession of the relic. But when the master vampire turns up dead, they realize that there’s more at stake than a missing mistress. Someone is killing vampire Senate members, and if Dory and Louis-Cesare can’t stop the murderer, they may be next…" - Book Cover

      Actually, the book cover description isn't very accurate. Dorina is now working for/with her father running errands, aka killing vamps and bringing in their heads as trophies. Trying to live an as-normal-as-possible life isn't easy when you are a dhampir and being best friend with a fey princess on the run may spice up things a little. Claire is back from faery and needs help retrieving a family heirloom meant to protect her son. So far so good, but the difficulty level hits the roof when the missing heirloom ends up at a secret auction where multiple vampires, member of the Senate, try to get their hands on it, and some of them are found dead.
Like Dori didn't have enough on her hands, Louis-Cesare got involved, after being MIA for over a month, because his mistress, Christine, is held prisoner by one of the greedy Senate member.

I have conflicted feeling about that book. I think the intrigue was fairly good, the entire book was action-packed and I didn't guess the real culprit until the last 30 pages or so. But I think some aspect might have needed a little more polishing. For instance, I felt like chapter 39 would have been a great deleted scene, as I found it useless, it's about 15 pages long, Dori is at the Mages Championship (some kind of race), in the whole thing brought nothing to the story.

Overall I preferred the first book over this one, I felt like even though there was a good plot, something was missing, I didn't get that little spark I'm looking for in a book. I am suspecting it's probably because we didn't see Louis-Cesare much. Maybe also because I didn't connect as much with Dori is I did in the first book. She doesn't have any rage-fits, she's not as spicy. I have to admit I was kind of disappointed.


On the plus side, we got to discover more about Dori's parents. I loved to see Mircea open up a bit and hope we discover more!
Also, the end was really good. The loop was well rounded and there is hope for a good follow-up. I am not giving up on this series, but I really hope I'll get more romance in the next book because I was romance-depraved in that one.

Read an excerpt
 
Dorina Basarab series:
Midnight's Daughter
Death's Mistress
 
Book Stats:
Paperback: 432 pages

Éditeur: Onyx (MM); Original édition (Janv. 5 2010)
Langue: English
ISBN-10: 0451412761
ISBN-13: 978-0451412768

Book Source: Provided by Penguin Canada for review

Saturday, March 13, 2010

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox

Before getting to serious buiness, I would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)


For Review:
Dead, Undead, or Somewhere in Between by J.A. Saare

Won:
Once Bitten, Twice Shy by Jennifer Rardin (Thank you Ivy)

Gift:
My Love Lies Bleeding by Alyxandra Harvey (Thank you Book Lovers Inc)

And I was lucky enough to have a signed copy of Dead, Undead! Thank you Jaime!

Friday, March 12, 2010

First Rate Friday + Awards




The goal of this new weekly meme is to share the best posts you've come across this week.
Let's spread the love and support those awesome posts out there!
It's impossible to follow every book blogger so hopefully this will also help in finding amazing new blogs as well.
This Meme is officialy hosted by Mel and was inspired by Jennifer at Reading with Tequila, Lisa at The Little Reader and yours truly! , so stop by to post your link!


Now here are my choice of best posts this week:

The first stop is a discussion about respect between readers and authors over at Babbling About Books, And More, the comments are very insteresting as many authors gave their input!

Second stop, a discussion about false expectations over at Bloody Bookaholic.

Last stop a post called In Defense of Hush, Hush over at The First Novels Club, it's a discussion about judgement and book-banning, very interesting!

I hope you join the fun! Happy Reading!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Awarded to me by Myriam from Backchat Girl Reviews and Kat from Paranormal Fantasies.

The Rules are:


Thank and link to the person that gave you the award
 State 7 things about yourself
 
I won't state the obvious by saying I like to read, I think you all figured it out by now *winks*
1- My main language is french, I actually never speak english lol just read and write!
2- I'm a HUGE hockey fan! Go Habs Go!
3- My boyfriend and I celebrated our 6th anniversairy 3 month ago <3
4- I love cats! My babies name are Nikita and Mystiq
5- I am a lab tech spec in hematology, cloating and blood bank.
6- I love photography as you can prolly tell from my Beautiful Monday meme
7- I paint from time to time =)
 
 
I received this award from Wendy at Wendy's Minding Spot

I'm also suppose to tell 7 things about myself, but it was hard enough to find the previous seven so I'll refrain from doing it lol


was given to me by Melissa over at Spellbound By Books


Received from Amber at Reading Addict

Thank you to every single one of you for thinking of me when you received this award yourself, it is very appreciated!

I would like to pass em all to Katie from Sophistikatied Reviews, because I really like her blog!