Sunday, February 28, 2010

Go Canada Go!

I'm not much into politics but I wanna say how proud I am of my country and our atlhetes!


We won 14 gold medals which is a first in Olympics Winter Games History!
Congrats to every single of our athletes, also to all of them who didn't get a medal but still gave it their best shot.

<3 Canada

Saturday, February 27, 2010

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox

Before getting to serious buiness,
would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)

This week was very exciting and I'll explain why, but first let's see what I got this week!

For Review:
Faery Rebels by R.J. Anderson (Thank you Haper Collins)
Beastly by Alex Flinn (Thank you Haper Collins)

Won:
Shadowglass by Erica Hayes

Now the exciting part..
Yes you guessed right! This is a quote of me on the very first page of my shiny new Shadowglass copy.
I still can't believe I was quoted!
I mean how kool is that?

In the same line of thoughts, Erica will stop by for a guest post and a giveaway on March 15th, I asked her to talk about demons and fae in Urban Fantasy, and if you have any questions on that subject, you have a few hours to ask them here and I'll pass them to Erica so she can consider them when she writes her post!

Friday, February 26, 2010

Fan Art Friday

Hello my darlings!
Once more I am joining Katie from Sophistikatied Reviews, to feature Fan Art!

This week is pretty much on a Tempest Rising theme, so I follow suit and Showcase some Tempest Rising by Nicole Peeler Fan Art!



The next one is by me, Beware there's a lot of skin =P
(click for full size version)

Thursday, February 25, 2010

Trailer Thursday - Shift by Rachel Vincent

This meme was inspired both by Dark Fairie Tales and Stop, Drop and Read.

Earlier this week I got a newsletter from Rachel with Alpha's cover, My Soul to Take Cover sneak peek and... Shift's trailer!
My copy of Shift isn't here yet, but I am SO excitted about this book!
I had the chills the entire trailer lol, I hope you enjoy it too!




Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Tempest Rising by Nicole Peeler

" Living in small town Rockabill, Maine, Jane True always knew she didn't quite fit in with so-called normal society. During her nightly, clandestine swim in the freezing winter ocean, a grisly find leads Jane to startling revelations about her heritage: she is only half-human.



Now, Jane must enter a world filled with supernatural creatures alternatively terrifying, beautiful, and deadly- all of which perfectly describe her new "friend," Ryu, a gorgeous and powerful vampire.



It is a world where nothing can be taken for granted: a dog can heal with a lick; spirits bag your groceries; and whatever you do, never-ever-rub the genie's lamp. " - Book Cover

      First of all, I'd like to point that it's written "If you love Sookie Stackhouse, then you'll want to dive into Nicole Peeler's enchanting debut novel" on the book cover, I hadn't noticed it when I started the book, but while reading I was actually thinking how the story reminds me of Sookie.

Jane is an outcast in a tiny village, because of disastrous events from her past, villagers call her crazy, murderer and mocks on her all the time. Jane is used to it, and isn't making a big deal, but it hurts every time nonetheless.
One night, while she's out swimming in the ocean, she finds a body floating, and she doesn't know yet, but it's gonna change all of her life, for better or for worst.

I loved Nicole's story, I think it was fun and refreshing, but there was a lot more to it: She flirts with subjects like mortality and grief, mental illness and self-esteem. She built a fabulous world where magical creatures are omnipresent but hidden from humans eyes. You can expect to meet shapeshifters, gnomes, goblins, vampires, elementals, to name only theses.
Jane's character was interesting, she's broken inside, so much grief and hate strangle her, but she's fighting hard to keep it together. I loved how she's talking to herself, debating this or that options etc. I'm also glad that the end of the book hints that we'll learn more about her powers, cause she's pretty powerless in this round, I can't wait to see what she can do!
Ryu and Anyan were great characters to and I wish more information on their past were revealed, they are both lovely but also fierce and mysterious.
Grizzie, one of Jade's friends, she isn't a major character in the story but I was really fond for her "colorness" and originality, I hope we see her more in the next installments!

I'm glad I won a copy of this book (thank you Parajunkee), because even though I read good reviews about it, the cover really doesn't attract me, so I'm not sure I would have bought it. Yes I know, Shame on me for judging a book by it's cover, but I can't help it!
One thing is sure, I will keep a eye out for the next books in the Jane True series!


Jane True series:
Tempest Rising
Tracking the Tempest (July 2010)
Tempest Legacy (January 2011)

Book Stats:
Mass Market Paperback: 368 pages

Publisher: Orbit; Original edition (November 1, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0316056588
ISBN-13: 978-0316056588

Book Source: Won in a giveaway

Waiting on Wednesday - Nearly Departed by Rook Hastings

Waiting on Wednesday



This meme is hosted by Breaking the Spine.

I discorvered this book just last week peeking at Harper Collins' releases and I thought it look interesting!
So this week I will present you ..

Nearly departed by Rook Hastings

Product description (amazon.ca):

"I've seen a ghost," said Emily. "Well, not seen one exactly. Heard one. At least, I think I have!" Everything has a rational explanation. Unless it doesn't. Welcome to Weirdsville! Woodsville is not like other towns. Night falls a little earlier there, the shadows are darker and denser, and everyone knows it's a place where strange things happen. Even if they won't admit it. Bethan would prefer to be anywhere but here. Jay has his theories, but isn't ready to share. Hashim sees more than he'll say, while Kelly's demons are all too flesh and blood. But Emily's freak-out brings them out of denial and face to face with the supernatural. Anywhere else, Friday night would be date night. But not in Weirdsville!

Release date: March 26th, 2010.

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Teaser Tuesday - Tempest Rising by Nicole Peeler

Teaser Tuesday


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


-Grab your current read
-Open to a random page
-Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
-BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn't give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
-Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!

"For hearing he knew about my past and that he didn't care floored me. The breath I hadn't realized I'd been holding whoosed out of my body and, to my horror, I felt the telltale pinprick of forming tears. " p.80

From Tempest Rising by Nicole Peeler!

Build your own book boyfriend

I was tagged by the fantastic Patti from Book Addict,
here's the official definition of what I gotta do:

The Gutter Girls say: We all have our favourite book boyfriends and now you have the chance to create one just for yourself and your fantasies! How do you play? Fill out the quiz bellow, post a picture of sexy man and tag five (5) other book addicts to do the same. Don't forget to pop to their blogs as let them know they have been tagged! Once tagged... you have do do the same, grab the button, answer the questions, and keep it rolling! But don't forget the picture of the sexy man! It doesn't have to match your fantasy man, just a little eye candy for the rest of us... heheheee!

Looks like I'm gonna have to reveale my darkest secrets o.0
Buckle your seat-belt, we're going for a ride!

1- Hair colour and style
I like dark brown hair, LOVE shaved hair because it's so fun to touch, but clean short-cut hair (à la Dean Winchester style) is perfectly fine to.


2- Eye color and facial features

I love green eyes, nicely eat-able lips and 1 dimple! Saved or with a pinch.

3- Height and body type

I want him to be 6'2 to 6'4 I'd say, I am 5'9-10 so I want him to be same height or a bit taller when I wear heals. I want him to be fit but not to buffed. To quote Michael Cammalleri, I don't want my man "to look like he is carrying two luggage wherever he goes". See the picture? I'm sure you do =P

4- Visible age

I'm 24, so I'd want him to look late twenties to mid-thirties.

5- Bangability ie: kinky/bi/size

Now we're into serious business ain't we? Close your eyes if you're under 18 =P
I'd want him to know how to please me, and I want him all for myself. No other man, no other girl =P
I prefer sensual and slow over wild, but I like to be in control, so he better be ready for it hehe
I don't want him to be too big, just to know how to get the best out of it *grins*

6- Human or other

I'd go with a shapeshifter. I want him to be hawt ann hot! No cold Undeads for me.
Shapeshifter is best cause they are fairly human and still powerful.
7- Paranormal skills

Werecat would be awesome. Sneaky, wild, powerful and oh so beautiful.

8- Interests

He must love hockey, it's non-negotiable, and I also want him to like traveling and cooking =P

9- Habitat

I prefer urban over country, but I want a big house anyway, I guess I could deal with surburb.

 
10- Special skills

Cooking! He must cook and wash the dishes =P The two chores I hate the most.
I want him to be affectionate, want kids and I'd like if he plays sports.


Now some hotties:

Thomas Plekanec (Hockey player)


Jensen Ackles (Actor):


Channing Tatum (actor):



And I want a body like this..


or this..


Yumm....
Ok enough fantasies lol


Now I tag....
PattePoilue
Brizmus
Brooke Reviews
Abigail
and
The Book Vixen

Monday, February 22, 2010

Cover Art - Alpha by Rachel Vincent

I don't post cover arts very often, but I love LOVE LOVE Rachel's Shifters series and Alpha's cover is totally awesome!
I mean seriously, can it be anymore gorgeous? I think NOT.
I love the feel of it, love the purple and the loepard thights, it's beyond!

I pre-ordered my Shift copy weeks ago but it's not here yet, I'm about to pull my hair out 'cause I want to read it so badly!
I saw the trailer for Shift last night in Rachel's newsletter so you can expect me to post it here on thursday for my Trailer Thursday meme.
If you haven't picked this series yet you really should, it's definately a must read, and it's in my top 4 favorite ever =D

Interview with Foz Meadows

Hola! Today I have the huge honor to introduce you to a debut author from Australia, Foz Meadows.
Before you guys go wild reading the interview, please take a look at the blurp of her very first published novel, Solace & Grief.

"Solace Morgan was born a vampire. Raised in foster care, she has always tried to keep her abilities secret, until an eerie encounter with a faceless man prompts her to run away. Finding others with similar gifts, Solace soon becomes caught up in a strange, more vibrant world than she ever knew existed. But when the mysterious Professor Lukin takes an interest in her friends, Solace is forced to start asking questions of her own. What happened to her parents? Who is Sharpsoft? And since when has there been a medieval dungeon under Hyde Park?"
Sounds good right?
So keep an eye out! Release date is March 1st, 2010.

Would you like to introduce us to your first book, Solace & Grief?

Solace Morgan is a teenage girl who suspects she might be a vampire. Growing up in foster care, she's always done her best to keep her abilities - like the fact that she can bend metal - hidden, but some things, like her being weak in sunlight, are common knowledge. Just before her seventeenth birthday, Solace has a strange dream, and then encounters a frightening, faceless man in the streets near her group home. Realising how little she knows about either herself or the everyday human world, she runs away, and finds herself mixed up with her first ever group of friends. They live together in an abandoned warehouse, and the more Solace gets to know them, the more she realises that she's not alone in being strange - that maybe some of her housemates are even stranger. Together, they decide to learn about themselves. But when they run into Professor Lukin, a man who claims to be researching people with unusual gifts, things take a turn for the weird.

In one sentence, how would you describe the main character? How did you choose their name?
Solace is stubborn and cynical in some ways, but hesitant in others. She's never had to live in the real world, and although growing up surrounded by the damaged or dangerous inhabitants of the group home has given her a solid grounding in the negative extremes of human behaviour, she's only just learning how to interact with friends. I called her Solace because, well - I have a thing for words-as-names. It's a weakness :)

Your blurp mention "abilities", what kind of abilities can we expect? Or is it to secret to mention? hehe
In Solace's case, she's abnormally strong; she dreams true things, uses thrall, and can prise secrets out of people, although she tries not to. When it comes to her friends, though, you'll have to wait and see!

Vampires are all over paranormal bookshelves, How do you think your book will stand out?
Solace & Grief isn't set at school, it isn't primarily a romance - although there are some tender moments - and it's not exclusively about vampires. Don't get me wrong: I am an absolute sucker for stories featuring vampire romance at school, as can be evidenced by the fact that I've watched every episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer an absolute minimum of four times. (Seriously. I need help.) But when I sat down to write, Solace wasn't having a bar of normal teenage routine, and I think the trajectory of the book ultimately reflects that.

How was your publishing journey? Any tips for a aspiring author?
From my perspective, lucky - part of me still can't believe it's happened. I sent my manuscript to Ford Street during a period of open submissions, but I was still unsolicited, and their first response was to ask for some major edits. Fortunately, I agreed with just about all of them, and some I'd even been planning to make anyway. I decided relatively early in life, when I was about twelve or so, that I wanted to be an author - all through school, but especially in my last two years, I was constantly working on something, printing out manuscripts to edit on the train (or in class, when I could get away with it!) and trying to make my stories better. The most valuable thing I learned from that was to self-edit; to not be afraid of scrapping something and starting over. It's easy to get attached to what you've written just because of how long it took you to write, but if you keep something dodgy just because fixing it seems too hard, you won't learn how to structure things better next time. That being said, I still have a long way to go!

Let's learn more about you =)


What's your favorite book ever? No your can't pick your book ^.--
I'd have to go with The Jungle Books, by Rudyard Kipling - and yes, I mean books, plural: it's sort of a two-in-one, although they're sometimes published separately. I grew up thinking there was just one, because I only had the first volume as a child; it wasn't until I was about fifteen that I found its companion, and fell in love with the world all over again. The first time I finished the second part all the way through, I was catching the train home from school: I cried when Baloo and Bagheera, Kaa and Grey Brother sang the Outsong of the Jungle to the grown-up Mowgli, and since then, I always choke up. The logic of wolves is a powerful thing.

Your favorite perfume?
I don't have one - actually, I'm not sure if I've ever owned any perfume. I've only had my ears pierced for a couple of years, and my makeup collection consists of two kinds of gloss and some hand-me-down lipstick from my mother. When it comes to basic femininity, I'm what you call slow on the uptake.

Last movie you saw on big screen?
Like most of the moviegoing world, Avatar in 3D. Despite all the controversy and the fact that it was basically Disney's Pocahontas with blue people and dragons, I really liked it - but then, I like Disney's Pocahontas, too. Aesthetically, it was like being inside a Final Fantasy game. (Avatar, not Pocahontas.) If Squall Leonhart had shown up in the Ragnarok with Kimhari on board to help in the climactic battle, I wouldn't have been surprised. Also, if they had done? Geeky squee factor of ten to the million.

One of your guilty pleasures?
Cheese. Good cheese, on many biscuits, eaten in such vast quantities that I have to roll away afterwards.

The silliest thing you ever did?
Oh, man. There are too many, and they are not for public recitation! Or at least, not the sort of recitation where I write them down for posterity. Hand me some wine, point me in the direction of a cheese platter, wait ten minutes and then ask - it's that sort of silliness :)
Thanks for having me!

Cheers,
Foz


Thank you very much for your time Foz! Best of luck with the release ^^ !

Saturday, February 20, 2010

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox

Before getting to serious buiness,
would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)

This week was another great week for me book-wise, and here's an update on my postman.
He actually stopped throwing my books at me, I think he is really enjoying the fact that he wakes me up at 9 every morning (I work until midnight, so I'm never in bed until 2-3 AM, so 9 is early =P ).
Oh well as long as my precious are sound and safe =D


For Review:
and Falling, fly by Skyler White (Thank you Skyler and Penguin!)
Num8ers by Rachel Ward

Bought:
Fallen by Lauren Kate - I already had a paperback copy but I liked to book so much I wanted a HC ^^
Kitty Takes a Holiday by Carrie Vaughn

Friday, February 19, 2010

Mark of the Demon by Diana Rowland

"Cop and conjurer of demons, she's a woman in danger of losing control—to a power that could kill....


Why me? Why now? That’s what Beaulac, Louisiana, detective Kara Gillian was asking herself when an angelic creature named Rhyzkahl unexpectedly appeared during a routine summoning. Kara was hoping to use her occult skills to catch a serial killer, but never had she conjured anything like this unearthly beautiful and unspeakably powerful being whose very touch set off exquisite new dimensions of pleasure. But can she enlist his aid in helping her stop a killer who’s already claimed the lives—and souls—of thirteen people? And should she? The Symbol Man is a nightmare that the city thought had ended three years ago. Now he’s back for an encore and leaving every indication on the flesh of his victims that he, too, is well versed in demonic lore.


Kara may be the only cop on Beaulac’s small force able to stop the killer, but it is her first homicide case. Yet with Rhyzkahl haunting her dreams, and a handsome yet disapproving FBI agent dogging her waking footsteps, she may be in way over her head... " -Book Cover

      Kara is working on her very first homicide investigation, it's not a usual case, but Kara isn't a usual inspector either. Her town is the victim of a serial killer. Everyone thinks he is a lunatic satanist, but she knows better. The murderer is using the Arcane - a magical energy used to summon demons and friends. Gillian is leading her investigation by 2 fronts: Forensic and Arcane, unfortunately she can't share the latter aspect if she doesn't want everyone to think she's crazy and remove her from the case.

This book is a perfect mix of CSI and UF, and both aspect of the book get the credit they deserve. Let me explain =) While I'm not an inspector, I've been to autopsies before, and I was pleased to see that most of the description was fairly accurate, and the intrigue for the culprit was a secret until the very end, I never saw the blow coming. On the Fantasy side, Diana created a very believable world, with good descriptions of the summonings, creatures and the Arcane altogether.

If I had to point one not-so-good aspect, I'd go with the sex scenes description. There's only 2-3 of those, they aren't a big deal really, but I was disappointed in them. You know they happened, but they happen so quick, you barely get a rough description and it's over.

Overall, Rowland did a great job in her first novel, a very interesting bland of CSI and UF, the end was very exciting and I find myself wondering how everything will wrap-up in the second installment.


Kara Gillian series:
Mark of the Demon
Blood of the Demon

Book Stats:
Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages

Éditeur: Bantam (Jui 23 2009)
Langue: English
ISBN-10: 0553592351
ISBN-13: 978-0553592351

Book Source: Personnal Shelf

Fan Art Friday

Hello my darlings!
I decided to join Katie from Sophistikatied Reviews, and start doing Fan Art Friday.
I will do this meme twice a month and will alternate with Beautiful Monday meme.
Hope you enjoy!

For my first week I decided to showcase some The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare Fan Art!
(click for bigger version)



And last but not least, here's the one I made =)

Thursday, February 18, 2010

Trailer Thursday - One foot in the Grave - Jeaniene Frost

This meme was inspired both by Dark Fairie Tales and Stop, Drop and Read.

I usually try to post trailers with my reviews but I wasn't able to find one for One foot in the Grave when I posted my review last week.
But look what i just found! A trailer for the German version of the book!
No worries the trailer is in english, so you won't be at lost!




Isn't the cover awesome? To bad I can't read German!

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday - Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris

Waiting on Wednesday



This meme is hosted by Breaking the Spine.

I finaly pre-ordered Dead and Gone from Charlaine Harris (I was patiently waiting for the MM paperback), so I thought it might be a good moment to talk about Dead in the Family.


Product Description (from gooreads.com):

Sookie Stackhouse has finally settled into a relationship with the Viking vampire Eric, and her errant brother Jason seems to have his life in order, too. But all the other people in Sookie’s life – Eric himself, her former lover Bill, her friend and boss Sam – are having family problems. Eric’s maker shows up with Eric’s ‘brother’ in tow, the ailing Bill can only be healed by a blood sibling, and Sam’s brother’s marriage is about to take place... or will it? The furor raised by the coming out of the two-natured has yet to settle; some people are just not ready to sit down to dinner with a man who turns into a dog. And Sookie herself is still recovering from her last ordeal. She’s definitely improving, physically and mentally, but she’s always going to have some dark moments now. The werewolves tell her that there have been strange and ominous passers-by in the Stackhouse woods; now Sookie is about to come face-to-face with one of her more distant relatives...

I personnaly don't like this set of covers, it's what originaly slowed me to pick that series, but hey the books are good so I can deal with a not-so-good-looking cover hehe.
Looking forward to read Dead and Gone and Dead in the Family!

Signed Firespell + Swag winner!

Hello my Darlings!
It's now time to announce the Firespell + swag giveaway winner, generously offered by Chloe Neill!


The winner, selected by Random.org is...

Aleksandra from Aleksandra's Corner
and she's from Macedonia, how kool is that?

Thanks everyone for entering! Only 38 more followers until I launch a new giveaway, so stay tuned ^^

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

Teaser Tuesday - Mark of the Demon by Diana Rowland

Teaser Tuesday


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


-Grab your current read
-Open to a random page
-Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
-BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn't give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
-Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!

I am currently reading Mark of the Demon by Diana Rowland, in fact I'm almost done, only 100 pages left. Here's my teaser!

"I've done my share of crazy things in my day,kiddo," Aunt Tessa remarqued dryly as she watched me work on the lock, "but I don't believe I've ever broken into a morgue in the middle of the night." p.123

Monday, February 15, 2010

Richelle Mead Valentine part 2

I just did a new one while playing with photoshop ^^

Beautiful Monday

I am a big fan of Photography and in this feature, I will present you some pictures that I absolutely love!
Please note that I do not own any copyrights on these images, and I will link to the artist to give them all the credit they deserve!

In honor of all the snow you guys got these past 2 weeks I decided to go with a "white as snow" theme!

From the White Island...


Annie


Soft.



Aren't they all awesome?

Interview with Skyler White, author of and Falling, Fly

I am very happy to introduce you to author Skyler White. Her first novel, and Falling, Fly will hit the shelves on March 2nd, so keep reading on to discover the whole different world Skyler has built for our pleasure!

Product Description (amazon.com):
In a dark and seedy underground of burned-out rock stars and angels-turned- vampires, a revolutionary neuroscientist and a fallen angel must put medicine against mythology in an attempt to erase their tortured pasts...but at what price?

Olivia, vampire and fallen angel of desire, is hopeless...and damned. Since the fall from Eden, she has hungered for love, but fed only on desire. Dominic O'Shaughnessy is a neuroscientist plagued by impossible visions. When his research and her despair collide at L'Otel Mathillide-a subterranean hell of beauty, demons, and dreams-rationalist and angel unite in a clash of desire and damnation that threatens to destroy them both.

In this fractures Hotel of the Damned, Olivia and Dominic discover the only force consistent in their opposing realities is the deep, erotic gravity between them. Bound to each other finally in a knot of interwoven freedoms, Dominic and Olivia-the vision-touched scientist and the earth-bound angel, reborn and undead-encounter the mystery of love and find it is both fall...and flight.

 
and Falling, Fly is your first novel. How would you describe it?

and Falling, Fly is a dark fable of desire between a fallen angel turned vampire and a self-medicating neuroscientist. It’s a ‘primal scream’ of a novel – all the things that had been cooking in me for years, in allegorical form.

Vampires are always a big hit in fantasy novels, and angels seem to be a new trend. How do you think your book stands out?

Well, there are a couple of ways in which and Falling, Fly is different from much of what’s out there right now. First of all, it’s not YA. It’s a deliberately adult novel. Another difference is that my heroine is a vampire, not a vampire hunter, and the hero is the human. Most stories I’ve read recently, if there’s a mythological, demonic or angelic being, it’s the male character, with a female human in relationship with or against him.



I think and Falling, Fly is different, too, in that it wrestles with some pretty big questions. Olivia is the fallen angel of desire. She is desire incarnate. Everyone who looks at her wants her, but she has no idea what they see. She literally can’t see herself in a mirror unless someone else is looking at her. Without the desire of others, she has no image, and no sustenance, because she feeds on that hunger she inspires. It’s sexy, yes, and it was fun to write, but it also gives me space to let readers play conceptually

You are now working on a second book. It's in a similar world to and Falling, Fly, but they are not a series?

That’s right. In Dreams Begin (December 2010, Berkley) exists in the same universe and there are a few cross-over characters, but Dreams is a dark time-travel/horror/romance between a modern, newly-married woman and the Irish poet and occultist WB Yeats. They meet in 1889 through the body of Maud Gonne, a radical Irish freedom-fighter and world-famous beauty who channels Laura from the twenty-first century by mistake. What makes this project particularly different (and fun) is that all of the characters are, to a greater or lesser degree, real people.

You have this kool feature on your website where readers can upload pictures of themselves with your temporary tattoos. Are you tattooed?

I’m not. I’m too indecisive for tattoos. My husband has one that runs from his second toe to his navel though, and I’ve loved it consistently for over thirteen years, so maybe I’m not as fickle as I thought.


Now some questions to get to know you better =)
It seems like you had many jobs before starting your writing carreer, what would be the most surprising job you've had?

I was a ballet teacher for a while; is that surprising? Also, I worked in a Ramen Noodle factory. Some people seem to be born knowing what they want to do with their lives. I was never one of those. A wise person once told me, “the path is where the trees are not.” Let’s just say I’ve been blessed to walk in a very dense forest.

What kind of music do you listen to? Favorite signer/band?

I like a lot of different music. Right now, I’m beginning to stew over a new book I want to write, and music is going to play a critical role in it, so I’m listening to some very specific things for that, but I can’t tell you what, because it’d give too much away. ;-P

Is Skyler White your real name or a pen name?

‘Skyler White’ is the name I use every day. ‘Skyler’ is a nickname; my given name is ‘Laura,’ but I’ve been ‘Skyler’ or ‘Skye’ to everyone who knows me for more than twenty years.

Your favorite perfume?

At the moment, I have five, all from this funky company called Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab, but I’ve only begun to scratch the surface of their collection, so that’s subject to change.

What's the craziest thing you ever did?

I’ve done a lot of crazy things that I’m not proud of, that were stupid or dangerous. Honestly, writing this book, selling it and now having it “out there” where other people can come and peer into my psyche is probably the most truly crazy. But since the creation, sale and marketing of the novel plays out over three years and was really very deliberate, I’ll say the craziest thing I’ve done was putting myself and my family into a reality TV show. My husband and I switched houses with a dear friend and her sister for an episode of Trading Spaces about four years ago. And for anyone familiar with the series: Yes, we worked with Hildi and No, it did not go well (though we did get a beautiful room redesign out of the deal).

Thank you very much for your time Skyler, and best of luck for your upcoming release!

Sunday, February 14, 2010

Happy Valentine Day + Award Love

Happy Valentine Day everyone!
I hope you all have a great time with your loved one!

I'll be working 4 to midnight today, so my date will be with ym co-worker lol.
Hopefully I'll celebrate some other day this week hehe

Now I haven't post awards since New Year, so I thought Valentine Day was a great time to share the love!


This award was given to me by Aleksandra from Aleksandra's Corner and Sarah from Sarah's Book Reviews. Thank you so much ladies!

Is from Jessica from Book Bound.
Thank you Darling!

I would like to share both awards with the following bloggers:

Saturday, February 13, 2010

One Foot in the Grave by Jeaniene Frost

" You can run from the grave, but you can't hide . . .


Half-vampire Cat Crawfield is now Special Agent Cat Crawfield, working for the government to rid the world of the rogue undead. She's still using everything Bones, her sexy and dangerous ex, taught her, but when Cat is targeted for assassination, the only man who can help her is the vampire she left behind.


Being around him awakens all her emotions, from the adrenaline kick of slaying vamps side by side to the reckless passion that consumed them. But a price on her head—wanted: dead or half-alive—means her survival depends on teaming up with Bones. And no matter how hard she tries to keep things professional between them, she'll find that desire lasts forever . . . and that Bones won't let her get away again. " - Book Cover

      How amazing that book is? I'm at lost for words to explain how much I loved the second installment in the Night Huntress series.


Cat is powerful, sexy, resourceful and full of surprises. She is now a Federal agent killing and capturing vamps for the greater good. Working with a crew of very unique men, Cat is dully doing her job trying not to think of her one true love, Bones.

I'd like to take a moment to mention that I love Tate, Juan, Dave and Cooper, Cat's co-worker because they are all different, funny and they would do anything for their beloved Cat. They would give their lives for her, and so would she.
Bones is as sexy as ever, smoldering hot isn't a strong enough word, I just love the guy to the bones (pun intended).
We were also introduced to Denise and Randy in that book. Denise is Cat's best friend and Randy her new husband, they weren't major characters, but I'm hoping we'll discover more about them in the future books!

There were so many treason and lies revealed in this book, it was insane. There is a lot more to the whole story than you think at first, and it's stunning to see all the events unfold that way.

Jeaniene is truly a genius, I loves the characters, love the story, I can't have enough of Jeaniene's writing!

I have the next two books in the series, and I am trying to hold back a bit to make the pleasure last, I don't want to rush through the whole series, but geez it's gonna be hard lol.

Read an excerpt

Night Huntress series:
Halfway to the grave

One foot in the grave
At Grave's end
Destined for an early grave

Book Stats:
Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages

Publisher: Avon (April 14 2008)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0061245097
ISBN-13: 978-0061245091

Book Source: Personnal Shelf

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox

Before getting to serious buiness,
would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)

This week was an awesome week ^^ Here's what I got!

For Review:
Archangel's Kiss by Nalini Singh (Thank you Penguin Canada)
Must Love Hellhounds - Anthology (thank you Penguin Canada)

Bought:
One Foot in the Grave by Jeaniene Frost
At Grave's End by Jeaniene Frost
Destined for an Early Grave by Jeaniene Frost
Beautiful Creatures by Kami Gracia & Margaret Stohl
Elphalme's Choice by P.C. Cast

I LOVE Jeaniene's books, I already finished One Foot in the Grave and will post my review later today!

Thursday, February 11, 2010

Valentines - Richelle Mead Style!

Richelle Mead came out with this really kool idea to make valentines base on her series, so here's what I created!

First of all, a LolCat version of Dimitri, I used a Blue Russian cat, gotta keep up with the theme =P

The following was based on a foreign cover of Storm Born!


I had fun doing them, just thought I would share ^^