Saturday, October 31, 2009

Lord of Misrule by Rachel Caine

"In the college town of Morganville, vampires and humans coexist in (relatively) bloodless harmony. Then comes Bishop, the master vampire who threatens to abolish all order, revive the forces of the evil dead, and let chaos rule. But Bishop isn’t the only threat.Violent black cyclone clouds hover, promising a storm of devastating proportions as student Claire Danvers and her friends prepare to defend Morganville against elements both natural and unnatural. " - product description (amazon)

All hell broke loose, and Morganville is now at war. Two gangs of vampires are struggling for power and some lunatic humans are trying to get their piece out of the pie.

Claire, Shane, Michael and Eve once again find themselves knee deep in trouble. The fifth round of the series is kind of different though, we are used to having all four of them together most of the time, but in that book we barely see them together. I read from other reviewers that it was a down side for them, but I actually liked it. It allow us to discover another perspective on the main characters.

Claire and Shane's relation also evolve nicely in this book, but I have to admit all this chastity is kind of getting on my nerves, I wish they would get it over with already lol.

I liked liked the atmosphere in this book, you feel the stress, tension and despair in every page your read and the story really take you to another level.

True to herself, Rachel Caine dropped another bomb at the end of that book and I truly can't wait to read Carpe Corpus; I am really wondering how the gang will get out of that one!

Read an excerpt

The Morganville Vampires:
Glass house
Dead girls Dance
Midnight Alley
Feast of Fools
Lord of Misrule
Carpe Corpus
Fade Out (nov 2009)

Book stats:
Reading level: Young Adult
Mass Market Paperback: 256 pages
Publisher: Signet (January 6, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0451225724
ISBN-13: 978-0451225726

**This book was bought

Ethan & Christine Rose Giveaway Winner!

Thanks everyone for entering the contest!
The lucky winner of this fabulous price on the left is...


You will e-mail you in a moment and you will have 48 hours to give me your mailing address =)
Your price will be sent to you by Christine & Ethan!

In My Mailbox

** Giveaway Reminder: **









Before getting to serious buiness,
would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)




Books for review:

Fade out by Rachel Caine (Thank you Penguin Canada!)

Books from BookMooch:

None

Books won:

none

Books Bought:

Tempted by P.C. & Kristen Cast

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

All Hallows Eve Event


The all Hallows Eve event over at Book Chick City is comming to an end and she is holding a huge givveaway to celebrate! Make sure you stop by!

Thursday, October 29, 2009

ZOMG 250 followers contest!!!

Yay I woke up this morning and I saw that I have 250 followers *happy dance*

I sorry If my posting slowed down a little lately, My boyfriend and I both have new schedual and it's pretty insane at work right now, so I don't have as much time to read as I wish =(

Now on with the contest!

This won't be a book giveaway, but as some of you may know, I opened a Blog Design Services blog, So In this spirit I would like to give one of my readers a new Custom Made blog button!


This giveaway is very simple, All you have to do is follow my blog, and follow my Design Blog and fill the easy form below =)
If you are interested by what i can do, Take a look at my policies!

I would pick a winner once I have 25 entries!



Giveaway Reminder!!
You can still enter for the following giveaways:
You could win you very own Team Edward or Team Jacob charm bracelet, also up for grabs, 2 signed books and an handmade journal!

Sunday, October 25, 2009

Pincess Bookie Contest

Here are my entrie for Cindy's cover contest!






Hope you like them!
Make sure to stop by her blog there are still some contest you can enter!

Offering blog design services!



Hi everyone!



I enjoy playing with Photoshop and webcoding so I thought it could be a great thing to offer my services to fellow bloggers for a fair and original fee.



In fact I will work for you for books!



Services I offer:




I will customize a background (wallpaper) just for you.




If you are working on a special project, feel free to ask I might be able to help!



For more information please stop by!

To Celebrate my new blog, the first person to comment on that post will win a free button for their blog!

Saturday, October 24, 2009

In My Mailbox

** Giveaway Reminder: **











Before getting to serious buiness,
would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)





Books for review:
None

Books from Book Mooch:
Kitty and the midnight hour by Carrie Vaughn (Thank you Ailsa)
Santa Olivia by Jacqueline Carey
Damphir by Brab & J.C. Hendee


Books won:

Demon Princess: Reign or Shine by Michelle Rowen (Signed copy) Thank you Nancy and Michelle!

Books bought:

None


Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday - Shadowland by Alyson Noel



My pick this week is..
Shadowland by Alyson Noel

I would like to wait until it releases in paperback, but I'm very impatient so I might buy the hardcover anyway ^^
Am I the only one bothered when your series are hald PB and half HC?
It irrtates me =P
I wished they would release both HC and PB at same time so we can choose which ever we prefer.


So enough with the whinning, here's Shadowland Description:

Ever and Damen have traveled through countless past lives—and fought off the world's darkest enemies—so they could be together forever. But just as their long-awaited destiny is finally within reach, a powerful curse falls upon Damen...one that could destroy everything. Now a single touch of their hands or a soft brush of their lips could mean sudden death—plunging Damen into a bleak afterlife in the Shadowland, an eternal abyss for lost souls. Desperate to break the curse and save Damen, Ever immerses herself in magick—and gets help from an unexpected source...
Jude Knight. Although she and Jude have only just met, he feels startlingly familiar. Despite her fierce loyalty to Damen, Ever is drawn to Jude, a green-eyed golden boy with magical talents and a mysterious past. She's always believed Damen to be her soul mate and one true love—and she still believes it to be true. But as Damen pulls away to save them from the darkness inhabiting his soul, Ever's connection with Jude grows stronger—and tests her love for Damen like never before...




Tuesday, October 20, 2009

Teaser Tuesday - Lord of Misrule by Rachel Caine




Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:




-Grab your current read
-Open to a random page
-Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
-BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn't give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
-Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!




This is the fifth book in the Morganville Vampires series by Rachel Caine.

This cover isn't the edition I own but I like that one better =)

Here's my teaser:

"Dawn, yeah. I know" Eve said. She offered a high five to Hannah, who took it. " Damn, girl, love the Rambo look."

"Rambo was a Green beret," Hanna said. "Please. We eat those army boys for breafast."

p.63

If you want to find more about the Morganville Vampires series, feel free to stop by Rachel's Caine Website.

You can also take a look at my past reviews!

Dead Girls Dance (MV 2),Midnight Alley (MV 3), Feast of Fools (MV 4)

Fade Out, Morganville Vampire #7 will release at beginning of November.


The cover of the 8th book (Kiss of Death) have also been revealed, Isn't it awesome?

Saturday, October 17, 2009

In My Mailbox




Before getting to serious buiness,
would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)




Books for review:

Magic in the Shadows by Devon Monk (Thank you Penguin!)

Bite Marks by Jennifer Rardin (Thank you Orbit). Now that book was a surprise, I had no idea I would get it, and the funny thing is: this book is 6th in a series and I haven't read the first 5s lol. I don't know what I'm gonna do haha.


Books won:


Horns and Pitchfork! Not a book, but you get the idea =P (thank you Nancy)


Books Mooched:


none


Books Bought:


Never Cry Werewolf by Heather Davis


Dawnbreaker by Jocelynn Drake


Revelations by Melissa De La Cruz


Meridian by Amber Kizer


Ash by Malinda Lo


Vampire Academy, Frostbite and Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead. I already had those books but I wanted to new shiny box set, unfortunately the box got here completely trashed and useless =(





I also got this shiny new bracelet from the Charm Factory for review,

You could win your own Team Edward or Team Jacob charm bracelet by clicking the link!

Guest Post + Giveaway with Ethan Rose





You guys might not know yet, but the authors of Rowan Of The Wood are celebrating the release of another book, Which On The Water! It's official release date was Oct 12th, and I am please that Ethan took a moment to write his thought about Young Adult novel for us!










Why Young Adult

Young adults for the most part are still in the habit of learning. Their imaginations are still active, not having atrophied yet through years of the daily grind. Truly imaginative fiction is needed to fuel these vibrant imaginations and this need is suitably filled by the young adult novel.
The young adult novel has much to offer the older adult as well. It can re-light the fires of youth, blow dust off of unused imaginations, and shake life back into their lives. Television and movies have become so realistic that there is no real need to engage the imagination when watching them. This may be why more and more adults are turning to YA fiction. It emphasizes the imaginative and minimizes the pretensions. The great American novels are fine, but they can also be heavy going. For light, relaxing reading, YA is the way to go. It's an escape into another world. It's a magical transformation back to a simpler time. It's a world where there are no bills or mortgages or screaming kids or medical bills.


The YA novel holds an additional benefit for parents. By enjoying the same books as their children, they can enter their children's world in a new way. They share the experience with their child, thereby bridging the gap and brining them closer together. This is one of the reasons that we like to call Rowan of the Wood a "family book," even though it is generally billed as young adult.
It is a book that the entire family enjoys together. We've had mothers tell us how they raced their sons through it or traded off chapter by chapter. We've had other parents tell us how they read it to their younger ones who are too young to read it themselves. Daughter hands it to mother, who in turn shares it with her mother. It's multi-generational enjoyment!
I remember when I was a teen, I loved to talk about the books I was reading. I made the friends I did in High school because we all enjoyed the same books and could talk about them together. Imagine parents and their children having a similar connection through the tumultuous years of puberty.
As a young adult, I didn't limit myself to that category. Then, as now, I read anything that would hold my interest.
Nothing makes me sadder than when someone says to me “your book sounds interesting, but I don't have any kids of the appropriate age.”
My only possible reply is “everyone is a kid of the appropriate age."





I have to admit, being still young myself, I never tought of the parent-teen bounding a novel can bring! Thank you so Much Ethan and Christine for stopping by my blog! I really enjoyed having you two around!




And because they are very generous they offered....
A signed copy of Rowan of the Woods....
A signed copy of Witch on the water...
AND! an 100% hand-made Green Man Journal, Christine is also a very talented artist!

Here's a picture of the price!





How to participate?

- You MUST be a follower (Click on the icon on right side if you aren't already one)
- Must write your email adress
- Open to US and Canada sry!


For extra entries:

- Comment about the interview (+1)
- Blog about my contest and link here (+5)
- +1 entry for every extra places you post about my contest!
- +1 Follow me on Twitter (@tynga)
- +10 if you put one of my buttons (and link) on your sidebar!
- The contest will last until October 31st at midnight EST.

Fill the form Below to enter!


Your book will be mailed by Ethan and Christine themselves =)

If you'd like to know more about their novels and artwork please stop by their website!

You can also follow Christine on twitter!

Caption contest winner! (Demon Princess Giveaway)

Hey guys!



Before giving you the winner name I wanted to let you know that there were a lot of great captions there and I want to thank you for the thinking you put into them =)

The caption I chose is..


- puppy-I finally got laid!!!
I also really liked
puppy to baby chick: uhhh...hello.. are you gonna just stand there or are you gonna help me out?
And they are both form the same person so it made the choice easy ^^
The winner of Demon Princess: Reign or Shine is...
Elaing8

I emailed you and you have 48hours to give me you mailing address

or I will pick another winner =)

You didn't win? No stress I am holding a giveaway for a chance to win a team Edward or Team Jacob charm bracelet!

Also stay tuned for another Giveaway starting in a few hours!

Friday, October 16, 2009

Charm Bracelet + giveaway!

Isn't it lovely? This is my charm bracelet! It was delivered yesterday in this lovely box, and it is exactly what I ordered!

You'll ask me, where did you get that cute bracelet Tynga?
Charm Factory is a US company selling a great variety of bracelet, necklace, rings and tons of charms! You can find a charm to represent about anything.

Here's the list of charm I personally chose:
Paws on Heart Charm ('cause I love cats)
Florida panther ('cause it makes of think of Shifters series by Rachel Vincent)
Birthstone Heart- October (I was born in June but I love pink ^^)
Pink Ribbon ('cause my mom had breast cancer)
Large Fleur de Lys ('cause it's Quebec emblem)
I (heart) Hockey ('cause, well I love hockey =P)

As you can see, you can really create a jewelry that will truly represent you!

Interesting facts about the company:
They have online live support! When I had a question, I got an answer within seconds and I was able to chat with a very ncie and helpful employee!
Sterling Silver is an alloy of silver containing 92.5% pure silver and 7.5% other metals, which normally is copper.
All of our products (unless otherwise noted) are manufactured and assembled in the United States.
They offer free shipping via First Class Mail to addresses within the United States and its territories when your order totals more than $25.00.
But they also deliver worldwide!
If you are not 100% satisfied, simply return your order to them within 30 days, and we'll refund the entire purchase price.


Interesting hen?

Well Charm Factory generously offered to one lucky follower a twilight theme Bracelet!
Winner will have to choose between a Team Edward or Team Jacob bracelet.
You can also take a look at other special twilight items:

All in good time for the upcomming release of New Moon!

Want your very own twilight bracelet?

This contest is open to US and Canada Only!

Here's what you gotta do!
First of all, You MUST be a follower (click on the right-side bar if you're not one already)

Click those link and post a comment letting me know which charms are your favorites, and If you'd prefer winning a Team Edward or Team Jacob Bracelet, and leave your e-mail address!
and fill the form below!
This contest will close on November 6th.



** Discloser: My Charm Bracelet was given to me for free by The Charm Factory.

New Books for Trade

Just wanted to let you know I added 5 titles to my Books for Trade list (click for full list and details)
Murder under a mystic moon by Yasmine Galenorn
Vampire academy by Richelle Mead
Frostbite by Richelle Mead
Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead
The Hollow by Jessica Verday (UK cover)
VA is my favorite series, but I bought the brand new box set so I'm willing to trade my other copies =)

Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Feast of Fools by Rachel Caine


"In the college town of Morganville, vampires and humans have learned to live in relative peace. Still, students like Claire Danvers know that after dark, studying can take a backseat to staying alive. But the tenuous good-neighbor policy is really turned on its head with the arrival of Mr. Bishop.

Bad to the bone, the ancient old-school vampire cares nothing about harmony. Staying at the top of the food chain is enough. What he wants from the town's living and dead is unthinkably sinister. It's only at a formal ball attended by vampires and their human dates that Claire realizes Bishop's plan -- and the elaborately evil trap he's set for the warm-blooded souls of Morganville...." -Book Cover

The fourth installment in the Morganville Vampires series was really strong on mind games. In this series you never know who are friends and foes and this novel is no exception.

A new very powerful vampire is in town, and there are no question about his loyalties. He is so full of himself, it's plain scary. He wants to take over the town and is ready to put down any fool standing in his way. Will Morganville surrender? Will Amelie strike back?

While Amelie is cold and calculative I really like her, she's smart and fearsome. While playing with the locals lives like they are chess pieces isn't very nice, to say the least, she's got a goal and we can't quite put our finger on it just yet, can't wait to see the bigger picture!

I was a bit disappointed that Claire's parents didn't take a more important role in that book. With the big bomb at the end of book 3, I thought they would have a bigger impact in the story but they were only tools to Claire's misery.

The end of this book sets an awesome plate for the next episode and I'll be diving in as soon as tomorrow =)

The Morganville Vampires:

Glass house
Dead girls Dance
Midnight Alley
Feast of Fools
Lord of Misrule
Carpe Corpus
Fade Out (nov 2009)

Book stats:

Mass Market Paperback: 256 pages
Publisher: Signet (MM) (Jun 3 2008)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0451224639
ISBN-13: 978-0451224637

Monday, October 12, 2009

Find a name for my new kitten =)

Hey everyone!

I got a new babygirl today and I need to find a name for her, I would love if you could give me some suggestions ^^





I wanted to post better pics, but she's hiding under the couch right now =P I'll try to add some more later!

Name restrictions:

- She's a girl !

- I would prefer a name that IS NOT finishing with an "a" because my other cat's name is Nikita.

Can't wait to see your ideas!

Thank you!

Demon Princess Giveaway!

** Oct. 12 Update: Less then 30 entires so far, don't miss you chance to win! **

Alright ladies and gents! I am very happy to hold another giveaway!



To celebrate... my 180 followers (ok odd number, so what =P)



my 100th blogpost...



and of course Demon Princess: Reign or Shine release!



Please be all ears because this is another special giveaway, this one will be easy so make sure to enter!













We're gonna have a caption contest!

Pretty much, you pick either (or both) of these picture and create a silly caption for me!

Rules are easy:

-You must be a follower (click the follow button on the right if you're not already)

- you can enter as many time as you want!

-Open to US and Canada only, sorry!

I will choose my favorite caption on October 17th!

You can't earn entry entries by spreading the word as this is not a draw, but tweets/sidebar/blog post would be greatly appreciated =)

If you wanna learn more about the book you can read my review!

Michelle Rowen also stopped by my blog, make sure to check it out!

Saturday, October 10, 2009

In My Mailbox



Before getting to serious buiness,
would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)


This week was pretty good, see for yourself!


Books for review:

none

Books From Book Mooch:

Ill Wind by Rachel Caine

Heat Stroke by Rachel Caine

Chill Factor by Rachel Caine

WindFall by Rachel Caine

Books Won:

The Demon's Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan (Thank you Nicola)

Books Bought:

The Hollow by Jessica Verday

Thirst No.1 by Christopher Pike

Claimed by Shadow by Karen Chance

Embrace the Night by Karen Chance

Midnight Alley by Rachel Caine

" Claire has pledged herself to Amelie, the most powerful vampire in town. The protection her contract secures does little to reassure those closest to Claire. All of a sudden, people are turning up dead, a stalker resurfaces from her past, and an ancient bloodsucker extends a chilling invitation for private lessons in his secluded home. To what end, Claire soon discover - and it will give a terrifying new meaning to night school " - Book Cover.

At the end of Dead girls dance, Claire receives an invite to be Amelie's latest puppet, and has the book cover confirms, she signs the contract thinking it will protect her friends, her first mistake. Amelie the owner of Morganville as very little to care for Claire's friends, she has her own agenda and Claire's security doesn't really matter.

In the third round of this series, Claire will discover a terrible vampire secret and she will have to take some very important decisions, will Michael, Eve and Shane help her? No, 'cause they can't know!

This book was as action packed as the previous one, Jason (Eve's brother) is running Havoc in town, Dead girls and dead vampires are found at the glass house. Is it Shane's fault? Michael's signature?
Not everyone is what they seem in this book, and your best ally might turn out to be your worst enemy.

Another great book by Rachel Caine, she puts her characters in so many dead ends to push them as far as possible. Michael and Shane's relation is really nice to watch evolved and Claire is growing really fast with all the responsibilities on her shoulders.

I really liked how alliance and trust are put at stake in this book, to a certain extend we face this dilemma on a daily basis, of course we won't end up as a vampire lunch in the end, which ease up our decisions hehe.

True to herself, Caine drops a pretty impressive bomb at the very end of the book, I'm glad I have the Feast of Fools right next to me, I won't have to suffer very long!

The Morganville Vampires:
Glass house
Dead girls Dance
Midnight Alley
Feast of Fools
Lord of Misrule
Carpe Corpus
Fade Out (nov 2009)

Book stats:
Mass Market Paperback: 256 pages
Publisher: Signet (MM) (Oct 2 2007)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0451222385
ISBN-13: 978-0451222381

Wednesday, October 07, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday - Fallen by Lauren Kate




I ran into this book a few weeks ago and I really fell in love the the cover and the story! I really can't wait to read it! I've seen quite a few bloggers with ARCs and I am full of book-lust! lol

Release date: December 8th (US), December 31st (UK)

Here's the amazon product description:

There's something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price's attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah, Georgia.

He's the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even though Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce--and goes out of his way to make that very clear--she can't let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, she has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret . . . even if it kills her.Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic, Fallen is a page turning thriller and the ultimate love story.

I think it doesn't say much about the actual story, so here's a description from Fantasy Book Review:

17 year old Lucinda falls in love with a gorgeous and highly intelligent boy Daniel at their reform school. But then she discovers Daniel is a fallen angel, cursed, destined neither to ascend to Heaven or descend to Hell, and tormented by love. The two realise that they have spent their lifetimes finding and losing one another, and face the final challenge to keep evil forces at bay and seek redemption for all.

This book is the first of 4 (so far anyway), I'm sure it's gonna be amazing!

Tuesday, October 06, 2009

Teaser Tuesday - Rampant by Diana Peterfreund





Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:




-Grab your current read
-Open to a random page
-Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
-BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn't give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
-Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!



I am curretly reading e-book of Rampant by Diana Peterfreund, let me tell you, this is one original book!

Here's my quote:

"I never wanted to see another unicorn again, and here she was trying to turn me into someone who regularly engaged with them. Kill them. "
p.26

Monday, October 05, 2009

New Banner and Button!

After working on this all day (when I should have been readin *hides in shame*), I am very happy to show you my brand new banner and button!


Feel free to grab my button and put on it your blog! The code is available on the right side-bar!

So what do you think?

OMG Spirit Bound cover!!!! *Happy dance*

You guys all know how big of a fan I am of Richelle Mead and wasn't I totally ecstatic when I check twitter this morning to find that the cover of Spirit Cover has been revealed!!!

*Throws confetti everywhere*





Isn't it totally gorgeous?


I just bought the new VA box set to have all the new cover version (I like them better then the original ones) and seriously it's hard to pick which one is my favorite! But I would to say this one is. I mean I love the color, and it's so classy. I am speechless, I LOVE it!


Spirit Bound release on May 18, another great reason for me to wish spring was here already!

Sunday, October 04, 2009

The Dead Girls Dance - Rachel Caine


" Claire Denvers has her share of challenges - like being a genius in a school that favors beauty over brains, dealing with the homicidal girls in her dorm, and above all, finding out that her college town is overrun with vampires. On the up side, she has a great roommate (who tends to disappear rat sunup) and a new boyfriend named Shane... whose vampire-hunting dad has called in back-up: cycle punks who like the idea of killing just about anything." -Book Cover

Glass house, Morganville Vampires book 1, ended up on 1 major cliff-hanger with the death of Micheal, Claire's roommate. So I'll make a tease of myself and I will not talk about him in my reviews to not spoil the surprise =P

Claire, Eve and Shane are in deep trouble with Shane's dad being in town. The man plain crazy and he is on a mission - kill every single vampire in the town. Easy enough right?
The vampires knows what the guy is up to and they are determined to not let it happen and what vampire wants, vampire gets.The story takes one major turn when Brandon, one of the worst ass-hole in the vamp community, gets killed and Shane is accused of murder.

It was a great read, I liked it even more then the first book in the series. I really like the characters, and they all have their own issues to cope with. Claire being a 16 years old in a grown-up world with grown-up problems, Eve with her murderer brother being out of jail and Shane with his shady past and his insane father.

The plot followed some very interesting turns and twist I didn't expect, and Sam - a not so bad vampire- was a great addition to party! I'm really dying to give you updates on Michael but I won' t lol

If you haven't started this series yet, you really have to. It is a very refreshing series in which vampires aren't handsome guys to please your fantasies - They are the bad guy, just like it used to be!



Morganville Vampires series:
Glass House
Dead girls Dance
Midnight alley
Feast of Fools
Lord of Misrule
Carpe Corpus
Fade Out (Nov. 2009)

Book stats:
Reading level: Young Adult
Mass Market Paperback: 256 pages
Publisher: NAL Jam; 1st Printing edition (April 3, 2007)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0451220897
ISBN-13: 978-0451220899

Special giveaway winner!

First of all thank you very much to everyone who took the time to enter the giveaway!

I know it took an effort on your part and I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did!

30 followers entered the contest for a total of 352 entries!





Before giving the winner name, here are the answers:





1- "Kristin bring us so deep in the medieval atmosphere that you feel right in the middle of the action all the time, I could totally picture myself in a stone castle plotting to put an end to the kingdom's enemies."


Answer is: Fire by Kristin Cashore



2- "The novel is over-the-top-awesome, it's really hard to find words to describe how good it was. I just can't wait for *insert unknown title here* to release on August 25th."


Answer is: Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead, some people said Blood Promise, yes this was the unknown title, but the quote was from my Shadow Kiss review =)



3- "There were so many twist in that book, I never saw any of the blows coming. A lot of action going on at same time, it's a wonder how Rachel kept track of all the betrayals!"
Answer is: Prey by Rachel Vincent





4- "Raised by her grandmother, head of the vampire clan, Sabrina has been raised in a web of half-truth and lies. Brained-washed to the bones Sabrina dives deep down in a life-changing mission, and only realize it when she's waist deep in it."


Answer is: Red-Headed Stepchild by Jaye Wells



5- "Parents pay millions of dollars to move in with their problem child and are promised they will become good perfect kids. You smoke? We'll fix it. You have gambling problems? We'll fix it. In *insert title here*, nothing is to good to be true. But Oscar isn't fooled! "


Answer is: Candor by Pam Bachorz





Now the moment you were all waiting for...


The winner of the Special Giveaway is...






and she won...


A copy of Nice Girls don't have Fangs by Molly Harper!





I haven't read this book yet so i hope you will post a review! *winks*

For everyone else, don't be sad! I have another contest going on! Click the link for your chance to win a copy of Demon Princess: Reign or Shine by Michelle Rowen!

Saturday, October 03, 2009

Wanna find out more about me?


As part of her All Hallows Eve Event, Carolyn at the Book Chick City interviewed me!
Drop by if you wanna know more about me!

In My Mailbox!




Before getting to serious buiness,
would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)



Before I show you the awesome books I got this week, I wanted to show you a pictures of someone else enjoying my mailbox very much!











Isn't she cute? *winks*


Now down to business!


Disclaimer: Not cats were hurt for IMM ! ^^

Books for reviews:

Demon Princess: Reign or Shine by Michelle Rowen Click for your chance to win your copy!

My Soul To Save by Rachel Vincent

Books won:

The Den of Shadows Quartet by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes (Thank you Anna!)

A Kiss of Ashen Twilight by Rae Lori (Thank you Jackie!)

Murder Under a Mystic Moon by Yasmine Galenorn (Thank you Yasmine!)

Books Mooched:

The Cinderella Society by Kay Cassidy (ARC) (thank you Laura!)

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

Books Bought:

Night World no.1 by L J Smith

Night World no. 2 by L J Smith

Night World no. 3 by L J Smith

Touch the Dark by Karen Chance

Kushiel's Dart by Jacqueline Carey

Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews

Carpe Corpus by Rachel Caine


Interview with Michelle Rowen, Author of Demon Princess: Reign or Shine



Hi everyone!

I am really happy to introduce you to miss Michelle Rowen, Author of the new young adult series Demon Princess! She is also known for her adult series, Immortality Bites.


As you may know, Demon Princess: Reign or Shine released last Tuesday and to celebrate, Michelle accepted to drop by for an interview!


Enjoy!


How would you describe Demon Princess to readers who haven't heard of it yet?

Demon Princess: Reign or Shine is the first book in a new young adult series about a girl named Nikki Donovan who discovers that the father she’s never met before is a demon king in another dimension, and she’s heir to his throne. Now that she’s turned sixteen she’s going to start manifesting her demonic powers and needs to visit her dad for guidance. It’s a fun, exciting story with some romance between Nikki and the mysterious boy her father sends as his messenger and to protect Nikki from various forces of darkness.

I know you can't give any spoilers but what can we expect in the second book, Demon Princess; Reign Check?

Nikki’s status as a demon princess who’s half human comes to the attention of the ominous demon council in the Underworld who want to meet with her personally and check her out (thus the title Reign Check. Get it? LOL). Also, an otherworldly boy Nikki met in her travels in the first book comes to the human world and enrolls at her school in order to find out exactly how dangerous this half-demon is to his world. Chaos ensues.

How many books are planned for this series?

There is no definite number right now. I’m contracted for the first two books currently, and am very much hoping there will be many more -- I would like the chance to write at least six in order to tell the story I have in mind.

Why did you start writing for YA after writing your Immortality Bites series?

Actually I wrote YA long before I wrote anything else. And I wrote the first draft of Demon Princess back in 2006, so you could say I was writing them at the same time -- it just happened that their pub dates make it look as if one’s starting up just as the other’s ending on purpose, when really it was just a coincidence. I’m still going to write adult books as well. I love having the chance to write in both genres.

What is the most difficult part in the entire publishing progress?

Dealing with the uncertainty of whether or not your ideas are going to appeal to a wide variety of people who need to give the okay for that book to get on the shelves—agent, editor, publisher, and then ultimately the buying public.

And the most exciting part?

I absolutely love hearing from readers who’ve enjoyed my books. It makes the whole process worthwhile. Also, I love it when a story and the characters come to life on the page. It feels kind of like magic!

Now up to some fun and random questions =)

What’s you favorite breakfast?


Three Cheese Omelette with hashbrowns and lots of ketchup. Not the healthiest breakfast, however, so I don’t have it very often. *drools*

Where are we most likely to find you at 11pm ?

In front of the television with my MacBook propped on my lap, usually open to Twitter. Exciting, right?? (No, not really. I know.)

Your favorite perfume?

Donna Karan’s Cashmere Mist.

A bit morbid, but if you had to choose, what would be written on your gravemark?

Michelle Rowen, beloved wife of Robert Pattinson, brought joy and laughter to millions of people through her books. Gone but not forgotten. XOXO



(Tynga: I seriously laughed out loud when I read that answer lol)


I know you like Richelle Mead's books (I LOVE them too!), which of her series is your favorite?

Richelle is an amazingly consistent writer, which means everything she writes is excellent. I’m a fan of the Vampire Academy series for sure and have read them all (and have let Richelle know how I feel about everything and my hopes for future books! Ahem!!), but I just started reading Storm Born the other day and am definitely intrigued by this new world she’s created of fairies, shaman (shawoman?), and shapeshifters.

Last movie you saw on big screen?

I saw Love Happens and I really didn’t like it at all. After seeing the trailer it looked like a fun comedy romance, but it turned out to be a depressing story about grief, unforgiveable parrot abuse, and there was absolutely no chemistry between the leads. Too bad! I was looking forward to seeing it.


What would you consider the craziest thing you've ever done?

I quit a very well-paying job as a graphic designer almost two years ago to write full time. That’s pretty crazy, trust me on that! LOL

If you had to suggest an American a place to visit in Canada, what would it be?


Definitely Toronto! It’s like New York lite. Theater, art, great restaurants, you name it. We have it all!



Thank you so much Michelle for your time, It's greatly appreciated!



You can find my review of Demon Princess: Reign or Shine by clicking the link.

Find Michelle's website here!

And Michelle's blog here!