Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Demon Princess; Reign or Shine by Michelle Rowen


"As if trying to fit in at a new school isn't stressful enough, sixteen-year-old Nikki Donovan just found out that her long-lost father is, in fact, the demon king of the Shadowlands—the world that separates and protects us from the Underworld. When she is brought there by the mysterious—and surprisingly cute—messenger Michael, she learns that her father is dying, and he wants her to assume the throne. To complicate matters, a war is brewing between the Shadowlands and the Underworld, her half-demon qualities are manifesting, and her growing feelings for Michael are completely forbidden. Ruling a kingdom, navigating a secret crush, and still making it home by curfew—what's a teenage demon princess to do?" - Book Cover

Nikki lives with her mother and moves from town to town as her mother marries and divorces. Nikki's mom as it her 4th marriage when they move in Erin Heights, Ontario, Canada.

Nikki tries to live an as normal life as the "new girl" can live and it's about to change very abruptly when a strange stalker tries to convince her her father is a demon and she's a half-demon princess. Yeah Right! Crazy much?

Well not so much...

Demon Princess: Reign or Shine was a quick, fun and awesome novel! Michelle Rowen latest release will be a hit I'm sure of it! A special teenage girl, a dark, strange and awesome boy and a fabulous story. What else can a reader ask for?

I read the book in only a few hours, I couldn't put it down! I don't wanna sell the plot but it's nicely built, some characters aren't what they seem and everything unfolds at the very end. I can't wait for the next instalment, Demon Princess: Reign Check, coming out June 2010!

Read the first 2 chapters!
(scroll down a bit when get on the page)

Book Stats:
Reading level: Young Adult
Paperback: 288 pages
Publisher: Walker Books for Young Readers (September 29, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 080279534X
ISBN-13: 978-0802795342

Books For Trade

Hey girls!
Here's a list of books I would like to trade, I am shipping from Canada (it's 6 to 10$ shipping 1 book) so I would appreciate if we could trade more then 1 book at once!

All my books are in A+ condition and are paperback finished copies, unless stated otherwise!

You can find my wishlist here: http://tyngasreviews.blogspot.com/2009/08/my-wish-list.html (click on the bookmooch link to see already published books I want).

I would like to made the trades official using BookMooch, we would also get 1 free point for each book we trade across the border!

Books for trade:

Greywalker by Kat Richardson
Wake by Lise McMann
Murder under a mystic moon by Yasmine Galenorn
Witchling by Yasmine Galenorn
Changeling by Yasmine Galenorn
Darkling by Yasmine Galenorn
Dragon wytch by Yasmine Galenorn
Night Huntress by Yasmine Galenorn
Demon Mistress by Yasmine Galenorn
Candor by Pam Bachorz (ARC)
My Soul To Take by Rachel Vincent (ARC)
My Soul To Take by Rachel Vincent (the spine is a bit dented, it got to me that way)
Urban Shaman by C.E. Murphy
In the blood by Adrian Phoenix
Rush of Wing by Adrian Phoenix
Vampire academy by Richelle Mead
Frostbite by Richelle Mead
Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead
The Hollow by Jessica Verday (UK cover)

For for info please email me at tynga85AThotmailDOTcom!

Waiting on Wednesday - They Call Me Death



My pick this week is..
They Call Me Death


By Missy Jane

Book Description:

My name is Alexia Williams. In my world, North America is divided between north and south—but not the way it’s taught in the history books.After losing my family to the shifters, I joined the Combined Human States Army. Now I find myself on the front lines, defending the wall between my species and theirs. My mission is simple: keep the animals on their side by whatever means necessary—and I’m good at it. I don’t talk to them. I don’t sympathize with them. I sure as hell don’t admire them…until one saves my life.Andor isn’t like any shifter I’ve ever met. He’s a three-hundred-year-old golden eagle asking for help finding missing shifters who may be in my lands. I just have to decide between helping the animals or ignoring signs that my fellow humans aren’t what I thought they were. But how can I help a species I hate and fear? Even if Andor makes me feel alive again?In the land of the shifters…they call me Death.

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Teaser Tuesday: Demon Princess: Reign or Shine by Michelle Rowen

**Side note** This is my 100th blog spot YAY! *happy dance*





Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:



-Grab your current read
-Open to a random page
-Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
-BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn't give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
-Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!



Demon Princess releases today !!! If you haven't bought it yet, run and go buy it! It's really great!

Here's my teaser:

"My father was a demon.
A monster with big, black, batlike wings and sharp teeth like something out of a nightmare"

And you think your parents are evil hen? lol

Stay tuned for my review, I will also be interviewing Michelle Rowen soon, and you can expect a giveaway!

For more information about the book, you can check out Michelle Rowen's website.
You can buy the Paperback on Amazon for 9.99$
or at the book depository for only 8,99$ (look often their books often goes for 50% off)

Sunday, September 27, 2009

Special Giveaway!

** Edit Sept.27 As of today only 13 entries. Great chances to win! If you spread the word there will be more winners to!


SPECIAL TREAT!

On September 28th will be my 3 month bloganivesary and I would like to do a special giveaway to thank everyone for sticking around!
My blog wouldn't be worth anything without you guys to read it!


This giveaway is very special so pay attention to the rules!

But what is the price tynga??
I will pick a book from the winners wishlist!
How amazing is that?
*winks*


I will pick 5 quotes from my past book reviews, and you have to guess which book it is!
(click link for a list of all my reviews)
You get 1 point for each book you guess right.
and 1 more point if you comment on that book review!
All entries will have to be emailed to me (tynga85(a)hotmail(dot)com)
wouldn't want anyone cheating =P
Gotta put some little efforts here =)
*If you post your answers in comments your post will be deleted!*

For your entry to be eligible you must guess at least 3 out 5 right.
You will get 3 extra points if you have all 5 right!
When you email me your answers, make sure to include a link to your BookMooch/Library thing/Good reads wishlist!!
(or you can send me a list of 10 books you'd like to win)

If I get more than 50 entries I will pick 2 winners, if more than 100 I will pick 3 winners!
So Please Spread the word!

You will get +5 entries for making a blog post about my contest! (no sidebar)
and +1 for sidebar/twitter/facebook



Contest is for Followers ONLY! (you can start following now)
(click the link to see if your country is eligible)
*If any of the rules are not clear, please ask questions!*


Quotes:

1- "Kristin bring us so deep in the medieval atmosphere that you feel right in the middle of the action all the time, I could totally picture myself in a stone castle plotting to put an end to the kingdom's enemies."

2- "The novel is over-the-top-awesome, it's really hard to find words to describe how good it was. I just can't wait for
*insert unknown title here* to release on August 25th."

3- "There were so many twist in that book, I never saw any of the blows coming. A lot of action going on at same time, it's a wonder how Rachel kept track of all the betrayals!"

4- "Raised by her grandmother, head of the vampire clan, Sabrina has been raised in a web of half-truth and lies. Brained-washed to the bones Sabrina dives deep down in a life-changing mission, and only realize it when she's waist deep in it."

5- "Parents pay millions of dollars to move in with their problem child and are promised they will become good perfect kids. You smoke? We'll fix it. You have gambling problems? We'll fix it. In *
insert title here*, nothing is to good to be true. But Oscar isn't fooled! "


I tried to pick a clue in every quote I chose, hopefully it won't be to hard =)


**Reminder**
Open international (see BD country list)
you MUST email me you answers (tynga85(a)hotmail(dot)dom).
DO NOT post your answers in comments!
Don't forget to link me you wishlist with your answers!
Contest close on October 3rd at midnight est!

And the winner is...

Faythe
Who said..
"Oh! I would love to win this book! Count me in pretty please!
I am a new follower!"
Congrats Faythe! I am sending you an e-mail right now, you have 72 hours to get back to me with your snail mail address so Jocelynn can send you your price!

Don't forget to enter my Special Giveaway, to win a book from your wishlist! (ends Oct. 3rd)

Saturday, September 26, 2009

My Soul To Take - Rachel Vincent




"SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH KAYLEE CAVANAUGH
She doesn't see dead people, but...
She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.
Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about the need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who'll be next... " -Book Cover

Kaylee seems to be the girl next door, goes to school, works at the cine to pay her license. The only stand-out fact is that she lives with her aunt, uncle and cousin because her mom died and her dad pretty much abandoned her.
Well not all girls next door are totally normal....

Kaylee sometimes see people surrounded by weird shadows and is compelled to scream her lungs out but has no idea why. People say she's having panic attacks, but Kaylee knows she's not crazy!

Nash (cutest guy at school) and Emma (Kaylee's best friends) both believe she can predict people's death after some hard-to-ignore proofs, but question is how? and why?

My Soul To Take is an awesome read with a very original subject. Kaylee is a bean sidhe, also known in lores as Banshee. There is much ground to explore with this fantasy creature and even though we discover some very interesting details in My Soul To Take there is more to come in the second book, My Soul To Save.

Vincent is true to herself with very well written story, real characters and a great plot! I am totally in love with Nash, and there is a lot about him to discover! The end of the novel is like a surprise box, I didn't see anything coming, it was really awesome and I can't wait to read the second book.

Fantastic, mysterious and original, My Soul To Take is definitely a book to buy!

Read the prequel, My Soul To Lose.



Soul Screamers:
My Soul To Loose (prequel)
My Soul To Take
My Soul To Save (Dec. 2009)

Book Stats:
Paperback: 384 pages
Publisher: Harlequin Teen (Aug 1 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0373210035
ISBN-13: 978-0373210039

Friday, September 25, 2009

In My Mailbox


Before getting to serious buiness,
would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)



This week was an amazing week for my mailbox and I am really excited to share it with you!



Book for Review:

Gwenhwyfar by Mercedes Lackey

Books Mooched:

Fragile Eternity by Melissa Marr (Thank you Lilibeth!)

Dreaming Anastasia by Joy Preble (Thank you Vanessa!)

Books Bought:

Wicked By Debbie Viguie

Night Life by Caitlin Kittredge

Pure Blood by Caitlin Kittredge

Second Skin by Caitlin Kittredge

Witch Craft by Caitlin Kittredge

Curse the Dawn Karen Chance

Dark Visions L.J.Smith

Poison Study Maria V Snyder

The Time Traveler's Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

My Wish List

Here's my wish list for the upcoming months, I'll try to keep it updated and note it if/when I actually get them =) We have a tons of delicious release it front of us! It's hard to wait ^^

*I’ll die if I don’t get it ASAP


Wish List :

Past Releases:   
    
Angel’s Flight – Nalini Singh (penguin)
Archangel's Storm – Nalini Singh (penguin)  
Blood of the Sorceress by Maggie Shayne (Har)
Born of Fire – Sherrilyn Kenyon (St-Martins)
Darkness Eternal by Gena Showalter (S&S)
Darkness Hunts by Keri Arthur (Pen)      
Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick (S&S)
Gameboard of the Gods by Richelle Mead (Pen)
Nameless by Lili St-Crow (Penguin)
Prized - Caragh M. O'Brien (macmillan)
Pulse by Patrick Carman (HC)
Thirteen – Kelley Armstrong (RH)
Wraith by Phaedra Weldon (penguin)

July 2013

The Darkest Craving by Gena Showalter (Har)
Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews (Pen)
MacRieve by Kresley Cole (S&S)

August 2013

*Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas (Pen/bloom)  (pre-ordered)
Biting Bad by Chloe Neill (Pen)
Elysian Fields by Suzanne Johnson (Tor)


September 2013
*City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare (S&S)
The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson
The Falconer by Elizabeth May
*Reaver by Larissa Ione (pre-ordered)
Bound by Night by Larissa Ione (S&S) (pre-ordered)

October 2013

A Fool's Errand by Maureen Fergus (Razorbill Canada)
Resist by Sarah Crossan (HC)
*Allegiant by Veronica Roth (HC)
Archangel’s Legion by Nalini Singh (Pen)

November 2013

Black & Blue by Gena Showalter
Hell Bent by Devon Monk (Pen) (pre-ordered)
*Fiery Heart by Richelle Mead (Pen)
Champion by Marie Lu

December 2013

*Taste of Death by Maria V Snyder (Har)
*Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes (Pen)
Shadowdance by Kristen Callihan (hachette)

Undetermined 2014

*Mortal Heart R L LaFevers
Rooms Lauren Oliver
Acid by Emma Pass
*Bloodlines #5 by Richelle Mead
*Night Prince #3 by Jeaniene Frost
*Realmwalker by Jeaniene Frost
* Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo
* Throne of Glass #3 by Sarah J Maas

 

January 2014

*Up From the Grave by Jeaniene Frost (HC)


October 2014

Iron Trial by Cassandra Clare & Holly Black

2015

*Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
*Bloodlines #6 by Richelle Mead
*A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas
tyngasig

Thursday, September 24, 2009

Interview with Malinda Lo





I had the huge honor to interview the amazing Malinda Lo earlier this week, and here's the result =)


I hope you learn more about her and her debut novel, Ash.




How would introduce Ash to readers who haven't heard of it yet?

Ash is a retelling of Cinderella, except in Ash, the fairy godmother is a slightly creepy (and sexy) male fairy — and Cinderella falls in love with another girl, not Prince Charming.

If you could describe your main characters with only 2 words, what would they be?

Ash: complicated, new
Sidhean: strange, powerful
Kaisa: kind, confident

Are there plans for a series? or Ash is a stand alone?

Ash is a standalone novel, but my next book is a companion novel set in the same world. There are no crossover characters.

Any projects for a new books?

Yes, my second novel, as described above!

Is Malinda Lo a pen name or your birth name? Malinda seems like a very original Chinese name.

Malinda is an Old English name that I chose for myself when I was 6 years old; it is my legal name. I chose the name Malinda because in America, no one could pronounce my Chinese name, which I've retained as my middle name. Lo is the romanized form of my Chinese surname.

What is the most difficult part in the entire publishing progress?

The waiting is the most difficult part! Waiting to hear back from people on whether they like your book, whether they want to buy it, whether there are a thousand more edits to do, etc. There's a lot of waiting!

And the most exciting part?

The most exciting part for me has been seeing Ash as a real, live book! Holding it in my hands and turning the pages is an incredible experience.
Now up to some fun and random questions =)

Whats you favorite breakfast?

Mmm, I love breakfast. :) Well, I think that one of my favorite breakfasts of all time is definitely fresh berry buttermilk pancakes with maple syrup and bacon (mmm bacon). I drop the fresh berries into the pancakes once I've poured them onto the griddle, so each pancake has an even proportion of fresh, whole berries. Wow, my mouth is watering just thinking about it!

Where are we most likely to find you at 11pm ?

Asleep in bed! My days as a night owl are long gone. :)

Your favorite perfume?

I don't wear perfume actually; it makes me sneeze!

A bit morbid, but if you had to choose, what would be written on your gravemark?

My name ... spelled correctly. :)

If you could only read 1 book for the rest of your life what would it be?

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I can read that book repeatedly and it never ceases to amuse me.

Last movie you saw on big screen?

Julie & Julia -- loved it!

What would you consider the craziest thing you've ever done?

When I was 28 years old, I move from California to Boston, and then from Boston back to California, all within six months. That was definitely a crazy year for me.

Thanks for the interview!
Best,
Malinda
Thank you very much Malinda for taking the time to answer me questions! It is much appreciated ad I had a great time getting to know you better =)
I really love to learn the origine of your name!
If you wanna learn even more about Malinda and Ash, stop by her website!

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Waiting On Wednesday- The Van Alen Legacy



The Van Alen Legacy


by Melissa De La Cruz

Here's the book description (from Melissa's website):


With the stunning revelation surrounding Bliss’s true identity comes the growing threat of the sinister Silver Bloods. Once left to live the glamorous life in New York City, the Blue Bloods now find themselves in an epic battle for survival. Not to worry; love is still in the air for the young vampires of the Upper East Side. Or is it? Schuyler has made her choice. She has forsaken Jack for Oliver, choosing human over vampire. But old loves die hard...And even coldhearted Mimi seems to suffer from the ties that bind.

I really can't wait to happen what's gonna happen in that book! I loved the previous one and I'm pretty sure I won't be disapointed!

Book Release on October 6th, can I wait that long?

New Awards!

I woke up this morning discovering I got 3 awards over night *cheers*
I always love getting awards, It make sme feel the love! haha



This first one if from Book Chic City, thank you hun!


I have to pass it to 7 other bloggers, here are my nominees!


The Story Siren

Today's Adventure
Bookworming in the 21st Century
Park Avenue Princess

The NeverEnding Shelf

Michelle's Book Blog

Ellz Read


The second and third award were given to me by the lovely Crazy Book Slut.


Rules for this one are also very simple, just haev to pas sit along to other fellow blogger because we love them *winks*

Book Addict


A passion for books


Read-Write-Review


THE SUPERIOR SCRIBBLER AWARD
Here are the rules for this award:


1. Each Superior Scribbler must in turn pass The Award on to 5 most-deserving Bloggy Friends.

2. Each Superior Scribbler must link to the author & the name of the blog from whom he/she has received The Award.

3. Each Superior Scribbler must display The Award on his/her blog, and link to This Post, which explains The Award.

4. Each Blogger who wins The Superior Scribbler Award must visit this post and add his/her name to the Mr. Linky List. That way, we'll be able to keep up-to-date on everyone who receives This Prestigious Honor!

5. Each Superior Scribbler must post these rules on his/her blog.

My nominees:
Bookworming in the 21st Century

Trisha's Book Blog

The Book Obsession

Juciliciousss Reviews

Cornucopia of reviews


Thanks for all the love guys!

Teaser Tuesday - My Soul to Take




Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:





-Grab your current read
-Open to a random page
-Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
-BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn't give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
-Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!




I really love Rachel Vincent's books and I am happy to tease you with her most recent release, first book in her new young adult series: My Soul To Take!
I am only 3 chapters in but it is already awesome *grins*

My teaser:
" "I swear." And I meant it, because in that moment, with the sun painting his face in a harsh relief of light and shadow, Nash looked both scared and scary"

Awesome isn't it?

If I got you curious, you can read the prequel novella, My Soul To Loose.
Click the link for free download!

Sunday, September 20, 2009

Candor - Pam Bachorz


"Oscar Banks has everything under control. In a town where his father brainwashes everyone, he's found a way to secretly fight the subliminal Messages. He's got them all fooled: Oscar's the top student and the best-behaved teen in town. Nobody knows he's made his own Messages to deprogram his brain. Oscar has even found a way to get rich. For a hefty price, he helps new kids escape Candor, Florida before they're transformed into cookie-cutter teens. But then Nia Silva moves to Candor, and Oscar's carefully-controlled world crumbles." - Book Cover.

Candor makes me think of The Stepford Wives, with it's very own twist. Candor is a town built from scratch on top of a Florida swamp. Oscar's dad built this weird place to brainwash everyone so they all act like perfect citizens. Parents pay millions of dollars to move in with their problem child and are promised they will become good perfect kids. You smoke? We'll fix it. You have gambling problems? We'll fix it.
In Candor, nothing is to good to be true. But Oscar isn't fooled!

Oscar found out what his dad is doing and fight the system in a very unique way. He helps new children escape before they become silly clones like everyone else, while playing perfect daddy's boy. Nia will put the entire operation in danger though!

It is a pretty good debut novel from Pam Bachorz. Not my usual type of read but I liked it. Very well written, good characters choice, and a well built plot. Oscar's act is totally great, he is always fighting to keep the appearances while he wants to go wild with Nia. He faces a lot of moral debates and it adds depth to the story.
I was hoping for a happy ending so I was a bit disappointed with the end, I don't know if Pam is writing a sequel to this book but I would sure love to know what happens next!



Book stats:

Publisher: Egmontusa
Published: 22 September 2009
Format: Hardback 256 pages
See: Full bibliographic data
Categories: Science Fiction
ISBN 13: 9781606840122 ISBN 10: 1606840126

In My Mailbox



Before getting to serious buiness,
would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)


Last week was a bad week for my Mailbox,

but I got some very nice books this week!





Books I bought:


Graceling by Kristin Cashore


Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs


The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks


Books I won:


Candor by Pam Bachorz (ARC) (Thank you Kristen over at Bookworming in the 21st Century)


Entertwined by Gena Showalter (Thank you Amy over at Addicted To Books)


My Soul To Take by Rachel Vincent (Won at Melissa Marr's forum) It really was a suprise, I won this book so long ago I had completely forgotten I won it hehe


I hope your mailbox was as full of book-love as mine was this week!


Saturday, September 19, 2009

And the winner is...

The winner of the Never Cry Werewolf by Heather Davis book is...
Bianka.oo9

She said:
Oh I would love to read that book!
Please count me in!
I am a follower
I loved the random questions you asked her, always fun to learn more about someone.
Thanks for the opportunity!


Bianka, I am about to email you, I'll need your snail mail adress within 72hours or I will pick a new winner. Heather will be sending you your price!
Congrats!

Thanks everyone for entering the contest, don't forget you have until Sept 26, to enter my DawnBreaker by Jocelynn Drake giveaway!

Wednesday, September 16, 2009

BBAW Interview Swap


Hey guys, sorry to be posting this interview so late, but I just got the answers to my questions =)


Please let me introduce you to Tena from Crazy Book Slut!


Would you please introduce yourself? What are doing for a living?


Hello everyone!! My name is Tena and I am a stay at home mama that lives in So Cal with my hubby and 3 boys!


What's you blog main focus? genre? special features?


Crazy Book Slut's main focus is anything and everything about books. No genre is off limits. I try to play along with weekly meme's but sometimes days get away from me and I find that my participation in these meme's is few and far between, but they are fun.


How did you start blogging?


I started Crazy Book Slut to help keep my books in order because it was getting out of control. Than I came across all the wonderful reading challenges and I was hooked!


Would you like to explain your review system?


In one answer.... honest! I am not going to fluff a book I did not enjoy


How do you deal with family life, professional life and blogging?


My family is first and foremost in my life, and luckily they are also my professional life. When it comes to blogging, I take a "don't stress it" attitude towards it. If I can't post every day... oh well, life goes on. The moment blogging starts to feel like a job, is the moment I walk away from blogging.


Who are you favorite authors?


Is this the meanest question ever? LOL! I have a lot of favorite authors, Nicholas Sparks, Philippa Gregory Sophie Kinsella, Stephanie Meyers... the list is endless really!


What is your favorite book ever?


Okay, so I was wrong, this is the meanest question ever! LOL! The book that holds a special place in my heart is The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks. When my husband and I were dating ( he was a Marine), he read this book out loud to me every night, and to this day 10 1/2 years later the copy he read to me is in my night stand.


If you could only read 1 book for the rest of your life what would it be and why?


The Bible, everything I ever need to know is in that book.


Do you have any contest you would like to promote?


Not at this time, but I do have them so I hope people will come and visit me





Thanks a lot Tena for sharing with me! I hope my readers all stop by your blog!



*On a side note, I am being interviewed on her blog. Don't forget to check it out!

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Shadowfae - Erica Hayes

"Steal souls.
Live in hell.
Never die.
In a city infested with psychotic fairies and run by sadistic vampire mafiosi, life as a soul-sucking succubus rarely involves lacy lingerie, hot guys or great sex.Instead, Jade must spend her nights seducing gangsters and murderers, or simpering as a trophy girl for hell's minions.So when she discovers a forbidden ritual that promises to break hell's thrall and set her free, she's got nothing to lose, even if it involves seducing the four most repellent souls in town.But when you're cheating hell, there's always a catch... " -Product desciption from author website.


Jade was greedy as a human, craving for power, and got what she was looking for in a crazy twisted kind of way. She's a succubus. She got the power to enthrall men and suck their soul out of their body.
It wasn't what she was looking for, and after 140 years, she is blazée and depressed until she meets Rajah.Rajah, the incubus. She despise him and yet is drawn to him in a way she can't explain.She might not know yet, but he holds the key to her freedom. Will she be able to break her shackles?


First let's get a few facts straight.

This is NOT a young adult novel.

It should come with a warning "Please read carefully, you might be aroused".


Erica Hayes' debut novel is well written, and oh so steamy. The vocabulary is really diverse, my french-ness was challenged all the way. There are words in that book I didn't even know exist!The plot is well built, and the world is so special. Described to us clear as crystal, yet no humans knows what laying under their noses. Faeries, vampires, demons.

In the first half of the book I felt drowned in sex scenes. They are incredibly well written, so detailed, it turns you on not matter what. I would compare sex scenes in a book with Ice Cream: No matter how rich and exquisite it is, if you take to much it will make you sick. The was just to much sexuality in the first half for my personal taste, and it weighted down the story.

The second half though, WOW. The plot wrapped up, the intrigue unfolded and it was great! Yes there was still kinky encounters but they felt right. I think in that part of the book the steamy scenes were supporting the plot and not the other way around. It was hot, spicy, and well rounded.

The characters were awesome, I loved how Jade was still naive even though she is over 100 years old. Rajah is lovely in his own damned-soul kind of way, loves her but doesn't know how to handle it. I felt pity for Kane (the demon holding both Jade and Rajah in thrall), the guy is so lonely and depressed.

Overall it is a good book, I hope the second book will follow nicely to the second half of the book.

Great work Erica, I'm waiting for the next round!


Click to read Shadowfae's prequel.
Click to read Shadowfae's excerpt.



The chronicles series:
Shadowfae
Shadowglass (march 2010)
Book stats:
Paperback: 288 pages
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin; 1st edition edition (Oct 13 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0312578008
ISBN-13: 978-0312578008

Teaser Tuesday




Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:



-Grab your current read
-Open to a random page
-Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
-BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn't give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
-Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!


Currently I am reading the ARC of Erica Hayes' debut novel Shadowfae,
you can find more information about the book on Erica's website.

Here's my teaser:
"My gaze glued itself to his shinning mouth, inches from mine, and warmth crept up over my skin from my belly. I wanted to touch him, to trace my fingertip over those swelling wet lips..."

Yeah I know, that's some hot action going on *winks*

Sunday, September 13, 2009

In my mailbox + Giveaway!


Before getting to serious buiness,
would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)


This week my mailbox was very lonely, I purchased some books online, but they haven't been delivered yet. Hopefully they'll be here by next week!

I just got bills, and I'd rather send those ones back =P


I reached 100 followers this week (119 as we speak) so it's time to spread some love!

Giveaway time!



Jocelynn Drake stopped by on September 5th, and generously offered a signed copy of Dawnbreaker and a Dawnbreaker magnet!!

How awesome is that?


To enter you just need to be a follower and leave your email adress!


For extra entries:

Comment on Jocelynn's interview (+1)

Blog about my contest and link here (+5)

+1 entry for every extra places you post about my contest (need link)!

+1 Follow me on Twitter (@tynga)

+3 if you email subscribe to my blog

+10 if you put one of my buttons (and link) on your sidebar!


The contest will last until September 26th at midnight EST.

Your book will be mailed by Jocelynn herself =)


Thanks for stopping by!

Saturday, September 12, 2009

My ABC's

Available or Single? Engaged

Best Friend? Laura

Cake or Pie? Cake. Chocolate cake with Vanilla ice cream!

Drink of choice? Any fruit juice. Peach is the best.

Essential item for every day use? My cumputer.

Favorite color? Pink all the way!

Google? It's my Homepage.

Hometown? Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Indulgences? Books

January or February? umm February, because it's Valentine's day and because it's closer to spring! I hate the snow.

Kids and their names? Not yet, maybe in 2 or 3 years. Names I like though: Amanda, Angela, Melinda. and Antoine (french of Anthony) if it's a boy!

Life is incomplete without…? My boyfriend and my books =P

Marriage date? He doesn't wanna marry *sad panda*

Number of siblings? A little sister

Oranges or apples? Apples.

Phobias and fears? I am scared to death of having a car crash.

Quote for the day? I fail at quotes, let's go with "Live your life like there's no tomorrow".

Reason to smile? Anything sweet. I'm an emotionnal =P

Season? Summer! It never last long enough.

Unknown fact about me? Plhebotomy is part of my job, but I am scared of needles. I faint when I'm the target.

Vegetable you hate? you got me there, I don't know the english names! haha

Worst habit? umm. I used to bite my nail but got rid of that. I don't know really, I don't drink, I don't smoke, I am a boring person lol

X-rays you’ve had? Way to many, I broke 9 bones so far.

Your fave food? Pastas, any pastas!

Zodiac sign? Gemini

Friday, September 11, 2009

And the winner is...

The winner of the Cleopatra's Daughter Signed book is ...
April from Good Books & Good Wine !!

She said:
I like the US cover best. The UK cover has too much gold. The red isn't overwhelming on the US cover, it really draws my eye.goodbooksandgoodwine[at]gmail.com
+1 following you on twitter (@booksandwine)
+10 put the button and link in my sidebar http://readingisthespiceoflife.blogspot.com
+1 linked the contest in my giveaways section
+1 linked to the contest via twitter! http://twitter.com/booksandwine/status/3808709590
Can you tell that I really want this book? LOL

April, I am about to email you, I'll need your snail mail adress within 72hours or I will pick a new winner. Michelle will be sending you your price!
Congrats!

Thursday, September 10, 2009

Books Wallpapers

I was playing with PhotoShop and randomly decided to do desktop wallpapers for my 3 favorites series. Thought you guys might wanna see them =)
(click on the image for the full size image)
Feel free to use them on your computer!



Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead

Representing Rose and Dimitri



Shifters series by Rachel Vincent


Representing Faythe and Marc




Mercedes Thompson series by Patricia Briggs


Representing Adam, Mercy and Sam (from left to right)

I hope you like them! Your comments would be greatly appericiated!

Bone Crossed - Patricia Briggs


"By day, Mercy is a car mechanic in the sprawling Tri-Cities of Eastern Washington. By night, she explores her preternatural side. As a shapeshifter with some unique talents, Mercy has often found herself having to maintain a tenuous harmony between the human and the not so human. This time she may get more than she bargained for.

Marsilia, the local Vampire Queen, has learned that Mercy crossed her by slaying a member of her clan - and she's out for blood. But since Mercy is protected from direct reprisal by the werewolf pack (and her close relationship with its sexy Alpha), it won't be Mercy's blood Marsilia is after.

It'll be her friends." - Book Cover


Mercy has an incredible ability to put herself in trouble with insane ease. Marsilia knows our walker killed Andre, and trying to save her friends from the vampire's reprisal, Mercy gets herself in even more trouble.

How can it be worst then a vampire queen wanting your death? How other 2 powerful vampires wanting your death?

On top of imminent, and not negligible, death treats. Mercedes finds herself between a rock and a hard place when Stefan and Adam find themselves fighting for her attention.


Bone Crossed was another great book written by Patricia Briggs. Characters are well thread, and some of them are very edgy. You never quite know what to expect from them, which makes the story much more interesting!

Her plotting skills are awesome and you can't really figure out which way the action is heading.

It's gonna be real hard to wait until march for Silver Born to release, and have you seen how gorgeous is the cover? The clothing is kinda off though, can't imagine Mercy wearing that hehe.


Click the link for Bone Crossed sample chapter.

Mercy Thompson series:

Moon Called

Blood Bound

Iron Kissed

Bone Crossed

Silver Borne (2010)

Book stats:

Hardcover: 309 pages
Publisher: Ace (TRD) (Feb 3 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0441016766
ISBN-13: 978-0441016761
Product Dimensions: 23.1 x 15.7 x 3.3 cm

Awakening Consciousness A Girl's Guide by Robin Marvel

First of all, I would like to highlight that this is not my typical reviews. I was contacted by Robin about a month ago to review her book, but this is NOT a novel.
Awakening Consciousness A Girl's Guide, is a book meant as an introduction to spirituality, written for kids.

Here's a list to subject you can find:
-Exercise your seven chakras
-Discover how to keep a healthy aura
-Practice learning the pendulum
-Try aromatherapy with easy to do, fun crafts
-Learn about crystal
-Explore your inner self
-Create your own future.

Book is stuffed with fun exercises for kids, drawings, writing exercises.
What I found the most surprising about this book is that it didn't strike me a spirituality propaganda, this book won't turn your kid into a medium and whatnot.
It is focused on good self-esteem, good attitude, positive thinking.It introduce your kids to good values through spiritual activities, which I think is the best part.
It took me about an hour to read it (I didn't do the drawings and writings).
I think you might wanna give it a shot as a parent, I would suggest you to read it before handing it to my kids. Spirituality is a tricky path, so you might wanna know what you put in your kids hands.
You can find more on the author's website.
The book is available on both Barne's and Nobles and Amazon.

Wednesday, September 09, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday- Elphame's choice by P.C. Cast




Elphame's Choice by P.C. Cast

Release date: September 29th, 2009



Here's the book description:

I was marked from birth as belonging to the Goddess Epona--but that didn't make my life easy. Because of my "blessings," I was set apart, worshipped, unable to make real connections with others. Then came the Feeling, and with it a glimpse of my destiny. It led me to the MacCallen castle of legend, deserted since the terrible Fomorian war.
I followed the wordless call to breathe new life into a place long dead, but I didn't realize there were dark remnants of the war lingering in the nearby forest--victims and survivors who remained hidden. Others marked as different, powerful. Feared.
My choice was now twofold. I could keep to the happiness and safety of my newfound home, or I could choose a path that led to something more terrible, more dangerous, more thrilling than anything I'd ever expected.
And in that future I might never be alone again. . .

Monday, September 07, 2009

Interview + Giveaway with Heather Davis

Hey girls!
You may, or may not know yet, but Never Cry Werewolf as released on september 1st. It is Heather Davis' first novel and she took to the time to spot at my blog to talk about it and her experience as a writer! I'm really please dto intruce her on my blog today =)

Would you please tell us a bit about yourself?

That's a big question. What do we know about ourselves, anyway? lol. I'm a native of the Pacific Northwest and I've done everything from cooking in Alaskan lodges to substitute teaching elementary. I have a day job in sales/marketing, but I live to write!

There are quite a bunch of novels about werewolves and shifters, how does your book stands out?

My book had a much earlier release date but was pushed back to this September date, which actually works great with Halloween just around the corner. Back when I wrote the book, only Blood and Chocolate (from the 1990's) was out in the YA werewolf world. That said, no one else has written a funny, sweet werewolf book - so that makes mine standout right up front. It's a fun, quick read and is not trying to do anything but entertain. People looking for sad, deep reading should read something else.

Would you please introduce your mains characters to us?

Shelby is an appealingly average girl, transplanted from Milwaukee to Beverly Hills, where she lives with her distracted dad and evil stepmother. Austin is British and the son of a rockstar.

Is Never Cry Werewolf a stand alone or series debut?

I hope it will be a series! I'm not done with the characters yet.

What is the most difficult part in the entire publishing progress?

Waiting for your book to come out. Oh, and writing the book. Writing is hard work. It's a lot of long hours in the chair when you'd rather be out with your friends.

And the most exciting part?

Sending my dad his very own copy and hearing him say he's proud of me.

Would you have any advice for young adults dreaming of being published?


Don't be afraid to be terrible -- just write without censoring yourself or criticizing yourself too much. You can always go back and revise and edit! Also, make a plan for when you will write. You will be more productive that way.

What book are you reading right now?

Creativity for Life by Eric Maisel - it's about the artist's personality traits and how to make the most of your creative brain.

Is there anything else you would like to add?

Just thanks for doing the interview, Cindy! I hope your readers keep up with me at
http://www.booksboysbuzz.com/ where 5 other YA authors and I blog daily and do tons of giveaways!
If you wanna know more about Heather, don't forget to visit her website! http://www.heatherdavisbooks.com/

Now on with the giveaway!
Heather nicely offered a signed copy of her book to one lucky winner!

Here are the rules:
- You MUST be a follower
- Must write your email adress
- Comment about the interview (+1)
- Blog about my contest and link here (+5)
- +1 entry for every extra places you post about my contest!
- +1 Follow me on Twitter (@tynga)
- +10 if you put one of my buttons (and link) on your sidebar!
- The contest will last until September 18th at midnight EST.
Your book will be mailed by Heather Herself =)

Thanks for stopping by!

Saturday, September 05, 2009

Interview with Jocelynn Drake Author of the Dark Days series!

I am very happy to host an interview with the awesome author Jocelynn Drake!
As you may know, the third book of her Dark Days series, DawnBreaker, release on September 29th, and Jocelynn nicely offered her time for this interview!

How would introduce your Dark Days series to readers who haven't discovered it yet?
The Dark Days series is grim, fast-paced, action/adventure urban fantasy about a vampire and a vampire hunter that are forced to work together to stop a dark race called the naturi from wiping out mankind.

If you could describe your main characters with only 2 words, what would they be?
Mira – hot-tempered, impulsive
Danaus – determined, single-minded

I know you can't give any spoilers, but what can we expect in Dawnbreaker?
Dawnbreaker takes place a couple months after the conclusion of Dayhunter in Savannah where Mira is being hunted by the naturi. They are desperate to capture and destroy the vampire, as she and Danaus are the only ones that could potentially stop the naturi from freeing Aurora, Queen of the naturi, and the rest of the naturi people. While fighting the naturi, Mira is lucky enough to take a hostage that could help her turn the tables on the naturi when she and Danaus finally go to the final showdown at Machu Picchu, Peru. The dawn lies just over the horizon and Rowe is desperate to finally free his wife-queen. The time has come to face the past.

Are there plans for a fourth book?
I have actually completed the fourth book, which is called PRAY FOR DAWN, and we’re aiming for it to be released in late summer 2010. I am currently working on the fifth book, which is called WAIT FOR DUSK, and it will also be released in late summer 2010. I am contracted for at least six books, but I am hoping to write more for the series.

Any projects for a new series?
I have plans for many other books in the urban fantasy genre as well as other genres. However, I haven’t had the time to start working on them yet. I am hoping to finish a book outside of the Dark Days series in 2010, but I haven’t decided yet which side project I am going to work on.


Now up to some fun and random questions =)

What’s you favorite breakfast?
I have to admit that I’m not much of a breakfast person. Coffee and a chocolate-chip bagel with raspberry cream cheese is a great breakfast. However, my breakfast and a rare treat is crepes with yogurt and fresh fruit.

Where are we most likely to find you at 11pm ?
Because of my early work schedule, I am typically getting ready for bed. I’m checking my email, discussion boards, and blogs for the last time. On weekends, I might be hanging out at a party or at a local bar with friends.

Your favorite dessert?
Chocolate. Anything with lots and lots of chocolate.

A bit morbid, but if you had to choose, what would be written on your grave mark?
Here an author lies Staring blindly at the skies Locked forever in a world of her making But keep in mind she may still need a staking.

If you could only read 1 book for the rest of your life what would it be?
The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde, or Frankenstein by Mary Shelley.

Last movie you saw on big screen?
I don’t really remember, but I think it was Transformers 2

What would you consider the craziest thing you've ever done?
I’m not much for crazy. I’m a really cautious person by nature. I guess the most impulsive thing I’ve ever done was to fly out to Las Vegas by myself to celebrate my 30th birthday. It was a lot of fun and it was the first time that I had gone on vacation by myself. I would do it again in a heartbeat. Loved Vegas.


Thank you so much Jocelynn for stoping by my blog! I really love your grave mark!

If you would like to find more about Jocelynn series, please stop by her website!

You can find excerpt, essays and her biography =)

Make sure to stop by Jocelynn's blog also, she always have some very nice posts and giveaways!

In My Mailbox!


Before getting to serious buiness,
would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)

Well maybe last week was a disaster, but this week was fabulous! I didn't buy any books, but I received many treats!


My soul To Take by Rachel Vincent

It was a signed copy sent by Rachel, let me tell you, I am a very happy panda *winks*


Cleopatra's Daugther by Michelle Moran

Sent by Michelle, You can win your very own Copy in my giveaway!

ShadowFae by Erica Hayes

Review copy. Thanks a lot Erica and Ryann!

Storm Glass by Maria V Snyder

Sent and Signed by Maria.
Defenders of the Scroll by Shiraz

Copy for review, I didn't know this author, but make sure to check out my review!



Rampant by Diana Peterfreund (e-book)

Won over at Bookworming in the 21st Century. Thank you Kristen!

The Everafter by Amy Huntley (e-book)

Won over at Bookworming in the 21st Century. Thank you Kristen!

Thursday, September 03, 2009

Book Cover - The Mage in Black - Jaye Wells


Isn't it totally awesome?

This is the second book in the Sabina Kane series, you can find my review of the first book, Red-Headed Stepchild here.

Here's the bok description:

Sabina Kane doesn't have the best track record when it comes to family. After all, her own grandmother, leader of the vampire race, wants her dead. So when she arrives in New York to meet her mage relatives, the reunion puts the fun in dysfunctional. Not only is mage culture completely bizarre, but everyone seems to think she's some kind of 'Chosen' who'll unite the dark races. Sabina doesn't care who chose her, she's not into destiny. But the mages aren't Sabina's only problem. In New York's Black Light District, she has run-ins with fighting demons, hostile werewolves and an opportunistic old flame. Sabina thought she'd take a bite out of the Big Apple, but it looks like it wants to bite back.

I totally can't wait to read that book! I LOVED the first one, and I'm beting this one will be even better!

Halloween is early this year!


Book Chick City is proud to announce the first All Hallow's Eve.

Halloween is a time we celebrate everything that goes bump in the night; all things ghostly, paranormal and supernatural. Throughout the month of October, Book Chick City is having a halloween month special "All Hallow's Eve". Launch date is 1st Oct and will run until 31st Oct.
You can expect lots and lots of books reviews. There will also be interviews, live Q & A's, guest posts and lots of lovely giveaways. And, on the last day of the month - Halloween itself - there will be a GHOSTLY GIVEAWAY BONANZA!
Some of the genres that will be featured in All Hallow's Eve:
Supernatural Horror (Vampires, Werewolves and Ghosts)
Paranormal Romance
Urban Fantasy
Splatter Horror
Psychological Horror

Dare to join her?
Click on the poster for more details!
Carolyn contacted me earlier and I will be giving an interview for this special event! Make sure to stay tuned and join the party =)
It's gonna be one hell of a month if I may say *winks*

Prey - Rachel Vincent

"SOMETIMES PLAYING CAT AND MOUSE IS NO GAME...
Play? Right. My Pride is under fire from all sides, my father's authority is in question, and my lover is in exile. Which means I haven't laid eyes on Marc's gorgeous face in months. And with a new mother and an I-know-everything teenager under my protection, I don't exactly have time to fantasize about ever seeing him again.
Then our long-awaited reunion is ruined by a vicious ambush by strays. Now our group is under attack, Marc is missing, and I will need every bit of skill and smarts to keep my family from being torn apart. Forever."
- Book Cover

Faythe is sexy, fierce and smart but it doesn't to be enough to keep her out of trouble. On a better note, she isn't the one in the hot seat this time. Some other Alphas are on a mission to remove Greg from his Councilman status and they are ready to do anything to reach that goal.
Marc is now exiled, but after a weird twist of events, his life become at stake. Exile wasn't so bad after all!
Another brilliant novel written by Rachel, she's the queen of plotting! There were so many twist in that book, I never saw any of the blows coming. A lot of action going on at same time, it's a wonder how Rachel kept track of all the betrayals!
Rachel killed quite a bunch of her characters in that round and some of them broke my heart =(
Poor Faythe is surrounded by loss and grief, and with what's coming in Shift, I can't even seem to hope for a better ending.
I always try not to give out the main plot action in my reviews, so I'm not gonna tell you what the very last sentence of the book is, but I need to tell you, that is (pardon my french) one hell of a bomb to drop at the very end! I can't wait to see what that blow will turn out to be in the next novel!

I've said his before, but I will stay it again, if you haven't picked up the Shifters series, you need to! This series is wild, edgy, sexy, funny, and action packed. The characters are awesome, you fall in love with them instantly!

Read an excerpt




Shifters series:
Stray
Rogue
Pride
Prey
Shift (2010)
Alpha (2010)

Book stats:
Mass Market Paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Mira (July 1, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0778326810
ISBN-13: 978-0778326816
Product Dimensions: 6.6 x 4.2 x 1.2 inches

Wednesday, September 02, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday - DawnBreaker by Jocelynn Drake

Release date: September 29th, 2009

Only 5,99$ at thebookdepository.com, no reason not to order it!

Here's the book description (from author website) :

Those of her race fear Mira for the lethal fire she bends to her will -- a power unique among nightwalkers, both a gift ... and a curse.

The naturi despise Mira for what she is -- as they prepare the final sacrifice that will destroy the barriers between the worlds. And once the naturi are unchained, blood, chaos, and horror will reign supreme on Earth.

Mira can trust only Danaus, the more-than-mortal vampire slayer, though he is sworn to destroy her kind. And now, as the day approaches when titanic forces will duel under cover of darkness, destiny draws them toward an apocalyptic confrontation at Machu Picchu. But all is not lost, for a wild card has been dealt to them: a rogue enemy princess who can change the balance of power and turn the dread tide.

Jocelynn Drake will be here for an interview in the upcoming days, so stay tuned!