Monday, August 31, 2009

My Bookshelf

Hey girls!
I've been wanting to show you my bookshelf for a while now, but I had no camera. Guess what I bought yesterday? A camera!
So finally, Here's my bookshelf!
Prey by Rachel Vincent is missing, as it is the book I am reading right now, and I hadn't noticed until now that I forgot to put it back on shelf for picture purpose. oh well!




Cleopatra’s Daughter Giveaway!




As you guys may know, Michelle Moran's Cleopatra's Daughter release on September 15th, so it's time for a giveaway!

Michelle nicely offered a copy of her book for your pleasure!





Here are the rules:


- You MUST be a follower

- Must write your email adress

- Got to answer the following question: Which cover is the prettiest? UK(left) or US(right)? (+1)

- Blog about my contest and link here (+5)

- +1 entry for every extra places you post about my contest!

- +1 Follow me on Twitter (@tynga)

- +10 if you put one of my buttons (and link) on your sidebar!

- The contest will last until September 10th at midnight EST.

Your book will be mailed by Michelle Herself =)

Thanks for stopping by!

Sunday, August 30, 2009

In My Mailbox



Before getting to serious buiness,
would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)


This week my mailbox was very lonely, I didn't purchase any book, and I didn't receive any either. I just got bills, and I'd rather send those ones back =P


Hopefully I'll be getting some love next week!

Instead I will post one of those random, fun book cover!

Here are the rules:
CREATE YOUR DEBUT YA COVER


1 – Go to “Fake Name Generator” or click http://www.fakenamegenerator.com/The name that appears is your author name.



2 – Go to “Random Word Generator” or click
http://www.websitestyle.com/parser/randomword.shtml
The word listed under “Random Verb” is your title.



3 – Go to “FlickrCC” or click http://flickrcc.bluemountains.net/index.phpType your title into the search box. The first photo that contains a person is your cover.



4 – Use Photoshop, Picnik, or similar to put it all together. Be sure to crop and/or zoom in.



5 – Post it to your site along with this text.


Saturday, August 29, 2009

Pride - Rachel Vincent

" I'm on trial for my life. Falsely accused of infecting my human ex-boyfriend—and killing him to cover up the crime. Infecting a human is one of three capital offenses recognized by the Pride—along with murder and disclosure of our existence to a human.
I'm two for three. A goner.
Now we've discovered a rogue stray terrorizing the mountainside, hunting a wild teenage tabbycat. It's up to us to find and stop him before a human discovers us. With my lover Marc's help, I think I can protect the vulnerable girl from both the ambitious rogue and the scheming of the territorial council.
If I survive my own trial…
" - Book Cover

Faythe's trial is on the run in a secluded mountain area and it's not looking good. Two out of three alphas standing as judges are against her, and her claws isn't the worst she could loose.
Unsuprisingly, Faythe's future isn't the only one at stake because another alpla seems pretty inclined to drag Greg (Faythe's father) into the dirt.

Pride's affair aside, a couple as been missing for a few days and the pride is forced to get their hands dirty after being informed by a surprising visitor that strays were most likely evolved in that disappearance. But nothing is what it seems!

As always I am deeply in love with Faythe and Marc, their break up is sad but more tragical events are in the way. The turn out of events really broke my heart and I hope they find a way to avoid the hopeless situation they are stuck in.

The book was fast paced, plot is well knot, action packed, suspense kills you 'til the end. All you can ask for is in that book. I said it before, but if you haven't read that series, it's a crime. You must read it!
Off to read prey now!


Click for an excerpt

Shifters series:
Stray
Rogue
Pride
Pray
Shift (2010)
Alpha (TBD)

Book stats:
Mass Market Paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Mira (Feb 1 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0778326497
ISBN-13: 978-0778326496
Product Dimensions: 16.8 x 10.7 x 3 cm

New Award!




Hey Girls!

We all know there are so many great blog out there, but I haven't ran into any awards celebrating the hard work we all put into our layouts. So I created one!
This award is meant to pat on the back the ones paying particular attention to their blog presentation, and god knows some of them looks awesome! Of course none of them are pretty empty shells, so there's no shame to mention how nice their blogs are!


Here are the rules:

1. Post the award on your blog, with the name of the person who has granted the award, and his or her blog link.

2. Pass the award to 5 other blogs that your particularly like. Remember to contact the bloggers to let them know they have been chosen for this award.

Easy as pie!
Now I have cheated my own rules a bit here, since it's the birth of this award I will grant it to 7 blogs, I just couldn't pick only 5 *winks*

*DrumRolls*


Kristi at The Story Siren
Kate at The Neverending Shelf
Shayla at The Book Explorer
Kim at The Book Butterfly
Michelle G. at Michelle's Book Blog
Jessica at Book Reviews by Jess
Carolyn at Book Chick City

Spread the love my friends!

Thursday, August 27, 2009

And the winner is...

The winner of the Give Up the Ghost swag is ...
Kate from The Neverending Shelf !!

She said:
Great contest. I have been hearing great things about this book.
Thanks for hosting such a great writer!

I am a follower.
+1 comment on interview
+1 added to sidebar
neverendingshelf.blogspot.com

Kate, I am about to email you, I'll need your snail mail adress within 72hours or I will pick a new winner. Megan will be sending you your price!
Congrats!

Wednesday, August 26, 2009

Guest post - Michelle Moran


I am very pleased to introduce you to lovely Miss Michelle Moran, she is the author of historical fiction Nefertiti, The Heretic Queen (now available in paperback). Her third novel, Cleopatra's Daughter, will be release September 15, 2009.
Michelle will be visiting this blog soon for an interview and here is your chance to ask her your questions!
Feel free to leave a comment and I will pick the best questions, and ask 'em to her when time comes!
Until then, Michelle was nice enough to give us a glimpse of what we can expect from her !


Life and Libraries in the Classical Age

One of the most frequent questions I’m asked by readers is what life was like two thousand years ago when Julius Caesar walked the corridors of the Senate house and Cleopatra visited Rome. Surprisingly, life for the ancient Romans was not unbelievably different from today. The Romans had many of the little luxuries that we often associate exclusively with the modern world. For example, baths were to be found in every city, and public toilets were viewed as a necessity. The toilets depicted in HBO’s Rome Series are copies of those discovered in Pompeii, where those caught short could find a long stretch of latrines (much like a long bench with different sized holes) and relieve themselves next to their neighbor. Shops sold a variety of wigs, and women could buy irons to put curls their hair. For the rain, there were umbrellas, and for the sun, parasols. Houses for the wealthy were equipped with running water and were often decorated quite lavishly, with elaborate mosaics, painted ceilings, and plush carpets.

In the markets, the eager shopper could find a rich array of silks, along with linen and wool. You could also
find slaves, and in this, Roman times certainly differ from our own. While some men spoke out against it, one in three people were enslaved. Most of these slaves came from Greece, or Gaul (an area roughly comprising modern France). Abuse was rampant, and the misery caused by this led desperate men like Spartacus to risk death for freedom.

For those few who were free and wealthy, however, life in Rome provided
nearly endless entertainments. As a child, there were dolls and board games to be played with, and as an adult, there was every kind of amusement to be had, from the theatre to the chariot races. Even the poor could afford “bread and circuses,” which, according to Juvenal, was all the Romans were really interested in.

For those more academic minded, however, there were libraries. Although I don’t portray this in Cleopatra’s Daughter, libraries were incredibly noisy places. The male scholars and patrons read aloud to themselves and each other, for nothing was ever read silently (the Romans believed it was impossible!). Other cities were renowned for their learning, too: Pergamum (or Pergamon) was the largest and grandest library in the world. Built by the Greeks, Pergamum became Roman property when Greece was captured and many of its people enslaved. The library was said to be home to more than 200,000 volumes, and it is was in Pergamum that the history of writing was forever changed.

Built by Eumenes II, Pergamum inspired great jealousy in the Egyptian Ptolemies, who believed that their Library of Alexandria was superior. In order to cripple this Greek rival (and also because of crop shortages), Egypt ceased exporting papyrus, on which all manuscripts were written. Looking for an alternative solution, the Library of Pergamum began using parchment, or charta pergamena. For the first time, manuscripts were now being written on thin sheets of calf, sheep or goat’s skin. The result of this change from papyrus to parchment was significant. Now, knowledge could be saved by anyone with access to animal hide. Manuscripts (although still quite rare) were now available to more people. Alas, so impressive was this vast Pergamese library of parchment that Cleopatra asked Marc Antony to ship its entire contents to her as a wedding gift. This transfer marked the end of Pergamum’s scholarly dominance, and is the reason why, today, we remember Alexandria as possessing the ancient world’s greatest library.

The death of Cleopatra was only the beginning...


Check out Michelle's blog at michellemoran.blogspot.com


Feel free to visit her website, you can find very interesting resume about her novels. There is also a create section called "Go Behind the Story -- meet the characters!" with some very interesting facts!
Don't forget to leave your questions, and stay tuned for the answers!

Waiting on Wednesday - Demon Princess by Michelle Rowen



Here is a book I've been waiting to read for so long, I can't hold myself anymore.



Here's the story of the book, please note that this is from the author website =)

For Nikki Donovan, being a teenager can be hell. Literally.
As if trying to fit in at a new school and navigating the social scene isn't enough stress for her, sixteen-year-old Nikki Donovan just found out that her long-lost father is, in fact, the demon king of the Shadowlands' the world that separates and protects ours from the Underworld. When she is brought there by the mysterious (and surprisingly cute) messenger Michael, she learns that her father is dying, and that he wants her to assume the throne. To complicate matters, a war is brewing between the Shadowlands and the Underworld, her half-demon qualities are manifesting, and her growing feelings for Michael are forbidden. Ruling a kingdom, navigating a secret crush, and still making it home by curfew - what's a teenage demon princess to do?


You can read the first 2 chapters here.
(just scroll down a bit, it's below the description)

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

I'm in love!

Alright ladies! This isn't about books but i am treating myself here =)
I LOVE Jensen Akles!

Monday, August 24, 2009

Blood Promise - Richelle Mead

"Rose Hathaway's life will never be the same.

The recent attack on St. Vladimir's Academy devastated the entire Moroi world. Many are dead. And, for the few victims carried off by Strigoi, their fates are even worse. A rare tattoo now adorns Rose's neck, a mark that says she's killed far too many Strigoi to count. But only one victim matters . . . Dimitri Belikov. Rose must now choose one of two very different paths: honoring her life's vow to protect Lissa—her best friend and the last surviving Dragomir princess—or, dropping out of the Academy to strike out on her own and hunt down the man she loves. She'll have to go to the ends of the earth to find Dimitri and keep the promise he begged her to make. But the question is, when the time comes, will he want to be saved?

Now, with everything at stake—and worlds away from St. Vladimir's and her unguarded, vulnerable, and newly rebellious best friend—can Rose find the strength to destroy Dimitri? Or, will she sacrifice herself for a chance at eternal love?"

Well this review will be hard write because there are so many things I want to say, but I don't want to give spoilers!

Rose left the academy and is now on a crazy mission. She's stalking to streets and clubs of Russia trying to find a trail that would lead her to the love of her life - Dimitri. Along the way she'll befriend with some very special characters and find a lot more then she was looking for.
She will find Dimitri thought, and things surely don't turn out the way she planed.

On the other side of the world, Lissa and Adrian a grieving "the loss" of their friend Rose and it's not bright and shiny at the academy. They meet with some new friends but something seems really off, and they can't quite put their fingers on it.

Will Rose kill Dimitri? Will Dimitri awaken her? Will Rose come back to her friend Lissa? You'll need to read to find out =)

I was really feeling depressed reading the book, Rose was so drained of her fire and natural fierceness, she was drowning in grief and it was hard to bare.
Dimitri, oh fine Dimitri! He totally ripped my heart apart. He was so sweet, caring, knight-like and loving. All the magic is gone from him in Blood Promise and geez it hurts!
Lissa is becoming crazy and reckless, is spirit getting the best of her?

Most of the book was so sad it was a wonder the characters weren't putting a bullet the their head. The grief was so intense! I felt like crying alone with my book.
The end though, well I should say the last 200ish pages, WOW I was having a hard time sit still because I was so overwhelmed. I was feeling breathless by all the action going on.
And the very end.. oh.. my.. god.. Richelle managed to stun me. I mean really!
Richelle is good, oh so good! Why May 2010 is so far away? I want Spirit Bound now please!


Romeo and Juliet story's is out-shined by Rose and Dimitri's tragic love story. Hands down!

Read and excerpt:


Vampire Academy series:
Vampire Academy
Frostbite
Shadow Kiss
Blood Promise
Spirit Bound

Book stats:
  • Hardcover: 512 pages
  • Publisher: Razorbill (Aug 25 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1595141987
  • ISBN-13: 978-1595141989
  • Product Dimensions: 21.1 x 14.5 x 4.3 cm

And the winner is...

The winner of My Forbidden Desire is...
Michelle G from Michelle's Book Blog!!

She said:

Tynga,
Congrats on the 50 followers. :) I have not read anything by Ms. Jewel so I am excited about this giveaway.
I am most anticipating An Echo in the Bone by Diana Gabaldon - due out in September. I think this will be her last book in the Outlander series.
I am a follower. :)


Michelle, I will email you right about now, you have 72 hours to give me you snail infos so I can mail your price =) If I got get any news by then I will draw another winner.

Thanks everyone!

Don't forgot to enter for my Give Up The Ghost swap giveaway!

Sunday, August 23, 2009

In my mailbox this week!


Before getting to serious buiness,
would like to thank The Story Siren for hosting In My Mailbox every weeks =)

I had a few delivery this week, including the book I was so dying to read so I am a happy panda =)
Sorry If I haven't been very active this week, I am working 8 night (midnight to 8 Am) in a row at work and it's turning me into a zombie. for real.


Blood Promise by Richelle Mead


I am reading it right now, all I can say is OH MY GOD!!!!


Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs



Kiss of midnight by Lara Adrian



Kiss of Crimson by Lara Adrian

Saturday, August 22, 2009

Fire by Kristin Cashore (ARC)

"It is not a peaceful time in the Dells.
In King City, the young King Nash is clinging to the throne, while rebel lords in the north and south build armies to unseat him. War is coming. And the mountains and forest are filled with spies and thieves.
This is where Fire lives, a girl whose beauty is impossibly irresistible and who can control the minds of everyone around her." -Book cover

An epic medieval adventure mixed with the right amount of fantasy and suspense to have you craving for more! This is what you'll get when reading Fire.

Fire is a monster. A being of extreme beauty able to mind control any weak or willing mind in her surroundings. She is the last human monster and many try to make sure there will never be someone else like her by ending her days.

In a time of war, there are more important matters though. Fire have been summoned by King Nash to help him in an imminent war, but will she help him? Her powers are so terrible, how could she use them?

I really loved the book in so many ways! Fire is one lovely women. A monster yes, but so much more then that. A great mind, great morality, decided to do the greater good even though she has a shady past.
Many very interesting characters are involved during her journey and I found myself very fond of Brigan. Mysterious, handsome, talented and so out of reach!
Kristin bring us so deep in the medieval atmosphere that you feel right in the middle of the action all the time, I could totally picture myself in a stone castle plotting to put an end to the kingdom's enemies.

I haven't read Graceling yet (ordered it right as I finished Fire though) so I can't tell you how Fire fits in. I read the resume of Graceling and I'm kinda sad because it doesn't seem like I can expect to see Fire or Brigan in that novel. Hopefully I am wrong!
Fire release in September or October depending on your country, but you gotta pre-order that book! Every fantasy lover out there will fall for that book hands down!

Book stats:
Hardcover: 480 pages
Publisher: Dial (Oct 6 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0803734611
ISBN-13: 978-0803734616
Product Dimensions: 21.7 x 15 x 3.8 cm

Thursday, August 20, 2009

New Layout!

Hey Guys =)
I asked around this week if it was time for a revamp, answers were really different, so I gave it a try. What do you think of my new layout? Prefer the old one? Any suggestions?
Please let me know what you think, your opinion is very valuable!
I will have to re-visit my old posts to edit text colors, but it's gonna be for later,
I'm bleeding my eyes out right now!
Thanks again for stopping by!

Wednesday, August 19, 2009

Interview + Giveaway with Megan Crewe

Hi everyone!

I have the huge pleasure to introduce you to Miss Megan Crewe!
She is a totally wonderful person and her debut novel Give Up The Ghost will be out on September 15th.

First of all I would like to thank Megan for according me my very first interview =) She's been very lovely and it was much appreciated!

Would you please tell us a bit about yourself?

I'm Canadian, lived in Toronto all my life. *waves to readers across the border* I've loved books and stories for as long as I can remember, and started making up my own pretty much as soon as I could talk. I work with kids with special needs, love to travel, and am learning kung fu!

There's this very cute poll on your website asking if we've ever seen a ghost. Have you ever seen one *winks*?

Nope. One time I thought maybe my cat had seen one under the bed (it got really freaked out all of a sudden and refused to go under the bed--once a favorite hiding place--for months afterward) but I haven't seen one myself.

Would you please introduce your mains characters to us?

Cass McKenna is something of an avenger. Her ghostly friends find out the nasty secrets about kids in her school--who's lying, cheating, etc.--and she confronts her classmates with their wrong-doings, hoping to make them face up or at least make their victims a little wiser. She's worried that if she didn't do this, she'd end up becoming a victim herself again. She's very isolated from the other kids, and sometimes feels lonely.

Tim Reed is the kind of guy everyone knows. He's on the student council and hangs out with other kids who are active at school. He never really thought about his place in things much until after his mom died, and he started seeing the different reactions to that, and to his grief. He cared about her a lot and has been struggling to deal with her absence.

Did you have a specific inspiration?

Not really. The idea just popped into my head--the image of a girl hanging out with her ghostly sister like it was a totally normal thing--and the story grew from there.

Is Give Up The Ghost a stand alone or series debut?

At the moment it's a stand alone, but you never know what could happen! :)

What is the most difficult part in the entire publishing progress?

All the things that are beyond my control. A lot happens on the publishing side of things without any author involvement, and you have to wait to find out what's going on... It can be hard to be patient, especially when it involves something so important to me.

And the most exciting part?

The actual book! I had my first signing the other day, and it was so amazing seeing these big stacks of my book sitting there on the table. That was the first time I'd ever seen the finished book. I expect it'll be even more exciting walking into my regular bookstores and spotting it there!

Would you have any advice for young adults dreaming of being published?

Focus on the writing. By far the most important factor in getting published is writing a really good book. Which means you might have to write a few (or several) books before you find the right one, you might have to revise a book a number of times before it's ready. That's all normal! Learn everything you can about writing and do your best to apply it to your own work, and you'll get there eventually.

What book are you reading right now?

I just finished reading a wonderful YA fantasy called SHADOW by my friend Jenny Moss, which will be out next spring.

Is there anything else you would like to add?

I hope you will all stop by my blog from time to time for book news and giveaways and fun discussions! (http://www.megancrewe.com/blog ) Thanks for the interview!

Megan





You can find more infos on Megan over here on her website. There is a very nice biography available =)

You can also find the book description over here on my Waiting on Wednesday post =)




Now On with the Giveaway!
Megan will give one lucky commenter a very nice Give Up The Ghost swag! I own one myself and love it =)
The Swag includes:
a ghost scent sample (they smell awesome!)
a bookmark
a sticker set
a button
a mini paper lantern, and a friendship bracelet.

Contest Rules:
-You MUST be a follower
-Must write your email adress
-You can comment on the interview (+1)
-Blog about my contest and link here (+5)
-+1 entry for every extra places you post about my contest!
-The contest will last until August 26th at midnight EST.

Waiting on Wednesday!



This meme is hosted by Breaking the Spine. Here is a book I've been waiting to read for so long, I can't hold myself anymore.



Here's the story of the book, please note that this is from the author website =)

Cass McKenna much prefers the company of ghosts over "breathers." Ghosts are uncomplicated and dependable, and they know the dirt on everybody... and Cass loves dirt. She's on a mission to expose the dirty secrets of the poseurs in her school.
But when the vice president of the student council discovers her secret, Cass's whole scheme hangs in the balance. Tim wants her to help him contact his recently deceased mother, and Cass reluctantly agrees.
As Cass becomes increasingly entwined in Tim's life, she's surprised to realize he's not so bad--and he needs help more desperately than anyone else suspects. Maybe it's time to give the living another chance...


And how beautiful is the cover?
I can't wait to read it!
You can find in interview and giveaway with the author here.

Tuesday, August 18, 2009

Teaser Tuesday! Blood Promise and Fire!



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:




  • Grab your current read

  • Open to a random page

  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page

  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


This week I'm gonna cheat again. You'll a tease from the book I am currently reading (Fire by Kristin Cashore) so I will be a real teaser and give you a taste of this book about 2 months before it's release! (please note that this is an ARC so not the final version).


And because I am a very happy panda you will get a teaser from BLOOD PROMISE that I got delivered today straight from Europe! Now that is one big tease right?



"Don't hit him again, Fire thought desperately, Brigan, please; for the sound of bone scraping bone was not aiding her attempts to stop crying".




Please note that this is not the ARC cover, but this one is so beautiful!






If you click on the image you'll notice the book is 50% off so cost only 8.48$. I paid full price when I ordered, but hell it was wroth it to have it early =)

" I dreamed of Dimitri again, his arms around me and beautiful face leaning over me to care for me as he'd done so often when I was sick."

Awww don't we all love dimitri?


I'm gonna be a good girl and finish reading Fire before I start reading Blood Promise but geez I can't wait to read it!

Thanks for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed being teased =)

Monday, August 17, 2009

Memes

There are many kool memes going on and I chose to be part of the followings, you can click it to see older posts.

Teaser Tuesday
Waiting on Wednesday
Trailer Thursday
Fan Art Friday
In My Mailbox


Features:
Beautiful Monday
When I'm not Writing...  The concept is to discover your favorite authors in their natural habitat (!) and learn more about the man/woman, when they don’t have their author-faces (as opposed to poker-faces!) on. Click for more details, you can even suggest authors you'd like to see!

My Awards

Here's the list of awards lovely bloggers gave to me =)






















Sunshine


 

Other Giveaways

Count on me to keep this page updated so you can register to the latest giveaways available around the blogworld!

Harmony Book Review is giving 5 copies of ruined! (09/25)

Bloody Bookaholic is Having one massive giveaway! (09/27) If you heard about this giveaway here please write it in your comment please =) we will get 1 extra entry each!

The Book Resort is a pack of 6 books!. (09/30)

Bookworming in the 21st century is giving multiple books!. (09/30)

My Giveaways


Ends Nov 7th



Ends Nov 8th


Giveaway Policies


Here’s a list of general policies applying to all giveaways, unless stated otherwise.
  • All contests are open to those 13 years of age or older. 
  • All contest winners will be announced on the blog.
  • Winner will be expected to provide mailing address within 48 hours of announcement.
  • I am not responsible for items lost/damaged in the mail.
  • I can end a contest before its original deadline without any prior notice.
  • I can disqualify any entry as I see fit.
When entering any of my giveaways make sure you…
  • Check contest deadlines!
  • Check Shipping restrictions.
  • Follow giveaway instructions. 
If there are any problem with your prize (ex: you haven’t received it a month after you sent me your address), please contact me and I will see what I can do, but as stated above, I am not responsible for lost prizes.
(This giveaway policies was inspired by Kristi, The Story Siren)