Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday - Blood Promise



This meme is hosted by Breaking the Spine. Here is a book I've been waiting to read for so long, I can't hold myself anymore.




Read an Excerpt

Book Description:

Rose Hathaway's life will never be the same.

The recent attack on St. Vladimir's Academy devastated the entire Moroi world. Many are dead. And, for the few victims carried off by Strigoi, their fates are even worse. A rare tattoo now adorns Rose's neck, a mark that says she's killed far too many Strigoi to count. But only one victim matters . . . Dimitri Belikov. Rose must now choose one of two very different paths: honoring her life's vow to protect Lissa—her best friend and the last surviving Dragomir princess—or, dropping out of the Academy to strike out on her own and hunt down the man she loves. She'll have to go to the ends of the earth to find Dimitri and keep the promise he begged her to make. But the question is, when the time comes, will he want to be saved?

Now, with everything at stake—and worlds away from St. Vladimir's and her unguarded, vulnerable, and newly rebellious best friend—can Rose find the strength to destroy Dimitri? Or, will she sacrifice herself for a chance at eternal love?


I'll be honest with you guys I haven't read the Excerpt, I never read em! They are just too much teasing for me to handle, I wanna read the whole thing right away! lol

So I'm holding back nicely and hope August 25th very come by very quickly 'cause the suspense is killing me!

You can find my reviews on the previous of that series here:

Vampire Academy

Frostbite

Shadow Kiss

Stray - Rachel Vincent



"I look like an all-American grad student. But I am a werecat, a shape-shifter, and I live in two worlds.

Despite reservations from my family and my Pride, I escaped the pressure to continue my species and carved out a normal life for myself. Until the night a Stray attacked.

I'd been warned about Strays—werecats without a Pride, constantly on the lookout for someone like me: attractive, female and fertile. I fought him off, but then learned two of my fellow tabbies had disappeared.

This brush with danger was all my Pride needed to summon me back…for my own protection. Yeah, right. But I'm no meek kitty. I'll take on whatever—and whoever—I have to in order to find my friends. Watch out, Strays—'cause I got claws, and I'm not afraid to use them…." - Book cover.

Faythe left her pride 5 years ago to go to University, try have a normal life and avoid Pride responsibility such as getting married and have many babies. She left behind her boyfriend Marc after he proposed her. And guess who's picking her up when daddy calls Faythe back home? Marc!

Rebel in so many ways, Faythe tries to fight her way out of the family farm to get back to her normal life and it promises to be no easy quest. She has to put her plans on hold to save her friends kidnapped by some crazy stray. Hands full with troubles, Faythe does her best to keep her head out of the water.

I have been attracted by that series for quite a while but after reading some bad reviews on amazon I held back. Discovering the wonderful world of blogs I noticed that many people truly loves the series so I gave it a try and Geez I wasn't disappointed! I completely LOVED the book.

Faythe is definitely my kind of girl, big mouth, big attitude and the strength to back up all of her crap. Marc is one awesome guy if you ignore the compulsive jealousy. All of Faythe's brothers and friends are one totally cool crew and I would hang out with them anytime.

Rachel's writing is plain awesome and I can't believe and held out so long for that series. I was desperate yesterday when I realised the second book of the series (Rogue) is sold out on amazon (both Can and US), Indigo Chapters, and all book stores in my area! I finally ordered on The book depository in the UK and they have free shipping worldwide! That made me an happy kitty *winks*

Click for an excerpt

Shifters Series:
Stray
Rogue
Pride
Pray

Book stats:
Mass Market Paperback: 624 pages
Publisher: Mira (June 1, 2007)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0778324214
ISBN-13: 978-0778324218

Sunday, July 26, 2009

Blue Moon - Alyson Noel

"Just as Ever is learning everything she can about her new abilities as an immortal, initiated into the dark, seductive world by her beloved Damen, something terrible is happening to him. As Ever’s powers are increasing, Damen’s are fading—stricken by a mysterious illness that threatens his memory, his identity, his life.
Desperate to save him, Ever travels to the mystical dimension of Summerland, uncovering not only the secrets of Damen’s past—the brutal, tortured history he hoped to keep hidden—but also an ancient text revealing the workings of time. With the approaching blue moon heralding her only window for travel, Ever is forced to decide between turning back the clock and saving her family from the accident that claimed them—or staying in the present and saving Damen, who grows weaker each day..." -Book Cover

Ever really thinks she's got her happy ending of "living happily ever after" but it's not quite the case. Roman, a mysterious new guy at school is about to jeopardize all of her plans. Damen grows weak and sick and she can't quite figure out how to help him and is willing to do about anything to save him, but the journey promises to not be that easy.

Blue Moon was totally amazing, even better then Evermore (which I really liked). I was so taken by Ever's emotion I was blinking back tears at more then one moment. I was so into the moment it was hard to bare to suspense and Ever's grief. The storyline is so well built it's insane, you really don't see the ending coming. I was completely shocked!Very well done Alyson the book is great and I can't wait to read shadowland!

Read an excerpt
The Immortals:

Evermore

Blue Moon
Shadowland

Book Stats:
Reading level: Young Adult
Paperback: 304 pages
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin; 1 edition (July 7, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0312532768
ISBN-13: 978-0312532765

Saturday, July 25, 2009

Greywalker - Kat Richardson



"Harper Blaine was slogging along as a small-time P.I. when a two-bit perp's savage assault left her dead.
For two minutes, to be precise.

When Harper comes to in the hospital, she begins to feel a bit ...strange. She sees things that can only be described as weird-shapes emerging from a foggy grey mist, snarling teeth, creatures roaring.

But Harper's not crazy. Her "death" has made her a Greywalker-able to move between our world and the mysterious, cross-over zone where things that go bump in the night exist. And her new gift (or curse) is about to drag her into that world of vampires and ghosts, magic and witches, necromancers and sinister artifacts.
Whether she likes it or not." -Book Cover
Harper Blaine is working as a PI and gets beat up nastily and dies in the very first pages. Brought back to life by efficient cares she now feels dizzy and sees weird things. Doctor at the emergency suggest she should meet with some friends of his.

After meeting with them, Harper is struggling to make her mind around what she'd learn. There is some kind of alternate world where ghosts, vampires and such lives. She now as acces to that world!

Some very weird clients now shows up at her office and she is being dragged further down The Grey drain.

Honestly after reading it I'm not quite sure how I feel about the book. The story isn't bad, the action is fine, some interesting character but something doesn't feel right. I can't say I don't like it, nor that I liked it. I can't quite pinpoint what's bothering me.One thing is for sure though, Blaine is suppose to be some kind of strong woman but she just rings weak to me. The girl is smart and gets out of nasty situation but she's kind of whiny.I haven't made up my mind yet if I'm gonna read the following books.
Does it get any better?
Does she finally learn to control her supposedly strong powers?
Please let me know what you guys think!

Read an excerpt from Greywalker.

The Greywalker series:
Greywalker
Poltergeist
Underground
Vanished

Book Stats:
Mass Market Paperback: 368 pages
Publisher: Roc; Reprint edition (June 2, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0451461320
ISBN-13: 978-0451461322


Thursday, July 23, 2009

Succubus Heat - Richelle Mead

"Georgina Kincaid has been a bad, bad succubus...
…which should be a good thing. But lately, thanks to her foul mood over breaking up with bestselling writer Seth Mortensen, she’s been so wicked that Seattle’s über-demon Jerome, decides to “outsource” Georgina to a rival—and have her spy for him in the process.

Being exiled to the frozen north—okay, Vancouver—and leaving Seth in the cozy clutches of his new girlfriend is unpleasant enough. Then Jerome is kidnapped, and all immortals under his control mysteriously lose their powers. One bright spot: with her life-sucking ability gone, there’s nothing to keep Georgina from getting down and dirty with Seth—nothing apart from his girlfriend that is. Now, as the supernatural population starts turning on itself, a newly mortal Georgina must rescue her boss and figure out who’s been playing them—or all hell will break loose…" -Book cover

After Seth broke up with her, Georgie went all out feeding like crazy at any men running into her. Even thought she's paying more then her deed to her boss, her extreme bad mood gets her in trouble and she ends up working for another demon in Canada.
Cruising back and forth between Seattle and Vancouver, trying to control a crazy group of devil preachers, start to gets on her nerves.
One morning our lovely Succubi wakes up with her 2 vampire buddies at her place: Vampires? in the sun? not toasting? Georgina slowly discover all of her powers are gone. Result of Jerome Disappearance.
It seems like everyone is too busy enjoying the sun or plotting to be a next archdemon to bother try and find Jerome so Georgina work her ass off trying to find him with little help from her new boyfriend Dante.

The fact that Georgina became mortal was a very big part of the whole novel. The way she was scared to death walking the streets knowing she could die was just stunning and the lack of evil power inducted a new side to her relationship with Seth.
The book was totally amazing as a whole. I couldn't put it down and read it all in 1 day. The end was great! I can't wait to put my hands on the fifth book.
GO Richelle Mead GO.
Best author, hands down!

Read Excerpt

Georgina Kinkaid series:
Succubus Blues
Succubus on Top
Succubus Dreams
Succubus Heat

Book stats:
Paperback: 304 pages
Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corporation (May 26, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0758231997
ISBN-13: 978-0758231994

Succubus Dreams - Richelle Mead

"Some days, a girl just can't catch a break...
…especially when the girl in question is Georgina Kincaid, a shape-shifting succubus who gets her energy from seducing men. First there’s her relationship with gorgeous bestselling writer Seth Mortensen, which is unsatisfying on a number of levels. It’s not just that they can’t have sex in case Georgina inadvertently kills him (generally a turn-off for most guys). Lately, even spending time together is a challenge. Seth's obsessed with finishing his latest novel, and Georgina's under demonic orders to mentor the new (and surprisingly inept) succubus on the block.

Then there are the dreams. Someone, or something, is preying on Georgina at night, draining her energy, and supplying eerie visions of her future. Georgina seeks answers from Dante, a dream interpreter with ties to the underworld, but his flirtatious charm only leaves her more confused—especially as the situation with Seth reaches crisis point. Now Georgina faces a double challenge—rein in her out-of-control love life, and go toe-to-toe with an enemy capable of wreaking serious havoc among mankind. Otherwise, Georgina, and the entire mortal world, may never sleep easy again…" -Book cover.

Georgie keeps cruising Seattle streets with some new challenges at hands. She's got to mentor one epic failure succubus brought in town by the imp who bought her soul. Makes our succubi mad out of her mind and he keeps poking here and there trying to make her life miserable and she can't figure out why.

Babysitting the ridiculous succubi isn't enough of a burden, Geogina can't seem to sleep safely. Something is feeding on her overnight, while she dreams of a nice impossible future.

Her relationship with Seth isn't getting easier and it's gonna take a very interesting twist in that novel!

Like all of Richelle Mead books I really enjoyed that one. Georgina is so awesome, you'd just want a girl like take to be your friend, demon job aside. She's gonna live thought some major loss in the book and you can't help but feel for her. I was left stunned at the end of the book. I just couldn't believe it.

Read Excerpt

Georgina Kinkaid series:
Succubus Blues
Succubus on Top
Succubus Dreams
Succubus Heat

Book stats:
Paperback: 304 pages
Publisher: Kensington; First Edition Thus edition (October 1, 2008)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0758216432
ISBN-13: 978-0758216434

Tuesday, July 21, 2009

In my mailbox this week!

First of all these are all books i've BOUGHT on amazon. I hadn't bought any in a while so I knocked myself out lol.

First of all Kim Harrison's books you saw in reading pile for this week:


Nightwalker by Jocelynn Drake:


Blue Moon: The Immortals by Alyson Noel:


Forbidden Magic by Cheyenne McCray:


La vida Vampire by Nancy Haddock


Angels' Blood by Nalini Singh


Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs:


Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs


Midnight'd Daughter by Karen Chance


Touch The Dark by Karen Chance


Stray by Rachel Vincent


City of Glass by Cassandra Clare
And the worst part is I have another shipping comming in next week. Someone tie my hands so I can't buy anymore for a while!

Monday, July 20, 2009

It's Monday! What are you reading? (July 20, 2009)



Last week on top of moving to a new place I read:

Dead Witch walking by Kim Harrison, you can find my review here.

Red-headed Stepchild by Jaye Wells, you can also find my review to this link.








Today I received an Amazon delivery YAY!



I'll be reading:
Greywalker by Kat Richardson



The Good, The bad, The undead, Every witch way but dead and A fistful of charm by Kim Harrison.




Probably won't have time to read all four but it's my objective anyhow ^^

Sunday, July 19, 2009

Red-Headed Stepchild - Jaye Wells


" In a world where being of mixed-blood is a major liability, Sabina doesn’t really fit in. And being an assassin – the only profession fit for an outcast – doesn’t help matters. But she’s never brought her work home. Until now.
Her latest mission is uncomfortably complex, and threatens the fragile peace between the vampire and mage races. As Sabina scrambles to figure out which side she’s on, she uncovers a tangled political web, some nasty facts about her family and some unexpected new talents. Any of these things could be worryingly life-changing, but together, they could be fatal …
This time, it’s personal.
" -Book cover


Before I get into details I need to quote a moment in the book that made me laugh to loud :

" Why haven't you exploded yet?" The demon was closer now, only a few feet away. i opened one eye to look at the arrow. Blood bloomed from the site of impact, just over my left breast.
"I -- I don't know". Holding myself up became difficult as the seconds passed.
"Hmm. I wonder if I should stake you just to be sure"
"I'd really prefer it if you didn't," I said. "I'm sure I'll ignite any second."


Sabrina lives in a world where all dark races are on an edgy peaceful state. Spawn of a forbidden union between a mage and a vampire, she is destined to be an outcast. Raised by her grandmother, head of the vampire clan, Sabrina has been raised in a web of half-truth and lies. Brained-washed to the bones Sabrina dives deep down in a life-changing mission, and only realize it when she's waist deep in it.


I bought the book back at it's release day but for some reason I hadn't read it yet. Let me tell you I've been missing on something! The story was great and believable, full of very interesting plot twist. You grow fond of the characters as you get deeper in the story and starved for more. I started reading the book this morning and I'm already done. It was action packed, with emotional involvement. I totally enjoyed it!


The Sabrina Kane series:
Read-Headed Stepchild
The mage in black


Book stats:
Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: Orbit (April 1, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0316037761
ISBN-13: 978-0316037761
Product Dimensions: 6.7 x 4.1 x 1.1 inches

Dead Witch Walking - Kim Harrison

" All the creatures of the night gather in "the Hollows" of Cincinnati, to hide, to prowl, to party... and to feed.

Vampires rule the darkness in a predator-eat-predator world rife with dangers beyond imagining - and it's Rachel Morgan's job to keep that world civilized.

A bounty hunter and witch with serious sex appeal and an attitude, she'll bring 'em back alive, dead... or undead" - Book cover.

Dead witch walking is Kim Harrison's debut novel and I think she scored.
Kim built a world where creatures of the night lived known by the rest of human kind. They were exposed after humans created a nasty virus while genetically modiying tomatoes. The virus almost wiped out human-kind and Vampires, Werewolves, Witches and like stood out because they were immune. So much for trying to fit in for multiple centuries. Most inderlanders now live in the hollows, a place where everything is possible!

Rachel Morgan is a witch and works for the I.S. and try to put some orders in the mess Inderlanders can make. Her boss is on her back all the time, she keeps getting shity missions and she's got enough of it. She takes off!
The only problem is her Vampire Co-worker (the I.S. best runner) and a pixy called Jenks decided to take off with her. Which ends in the dead treat on Rachel's head.

We follow Rachel as she try to escape this death penalty, and find a way to pay off the I.S. so they let her be, but it promises not to be that easy!

The novel is very fast paced with multiple attacks on Morgan, she is surrounded by lovable characters and she's very smart. The plot took twists I never anticipated; it makes the story very interesting. Trent is a mysterious bad guy and I can't wait to discover what the guy really is, we don't even know if he is human or inderlander. Hopefully we will find out in the following books!

Read an Excerpt

The Hollows series:

Dead Witch Walking
The Good, The Bad, and The Undead
Every Which Way But Dead

A Fistful of Charms
For A Few Demons More
The Outlaw Demon Wails
White Witch Black Curse


Book stats:
Hardcover: 368 pages
Publisher: Eos (April 29, 2008)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0061567191
ISBN-13: 978-0061567193
Product Dimensions: 8.9 x 5.9 x 1.4 inches

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

My very first Giveaway! The Vampire's Seduction by Raven Hart

Here we go!
I thought it would be time to hold my very first giveaway and I choose to give The Vampire's Seduction by Raven Hart.
It's the first book of a 5 novels series and you can find more information on the author's website. You can read an excerpt here

Here's the fun part, contest rules!

-The contest is open to US and Canada only (sorry)
- You MUST be a follower
- Must write your email adress
- Got to answer the following question: What's you favorite vampire series? (+1)
- Blog about my contest and link here (+5)
- +1 entry for every extra places you post about my contest!
- The contest will last until August 15th at midnight EST.
Thanks for stopping by!

More giveaways!

Here's another list of giveaways!

Lee A. Verday is having a giveaway of The hollow here. (please refer to my blog if you found the contest here ^^ )

Vampire Wire is giving away Shadowfea here.

Amberkatze is giving Would-be Witched here.

Confessions of a wandering heart is giving an ARC copy of
The Better Part of Darkness here.

Bitten by Books is having interview and Giveaway with author Jennifer Radin here.

Suzanne McLeod is having another giveaway here!

Fantastic book Review is having an insane Giveaway here and is also giving an ARC of Eyes like Stars here.

Library Lounge Lizard is Giving a signed copy of My soul to take here.

Lost in a book is giving away Evermore by Alyson Noel, The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening and The Struggle by L.J. Smith and Skin Hunger by Kathleen Duey here.

Friday, July 10, 2009

The otherworld series - Yasmine Galenorn


The otherworld series (also known as The sisters of the moon series) is established in a world separated in 3 different areas. You got the world as we know it, the otherworld where the feys and likes live and the Subterranean Realms where dark things crawls.
We are spending in the story with 3 narrators:
1st and 4th book are lived by Camille, the oldest of the sisters who is a witch.
2nd and 5th book are presented by Delilah, the middle sister, she's a cat shifter (orange tabby and black panther).
3rd and 6th novels are narrated by Menolly, the youngest and a vampire.
The feys are out of the closest on earthside and the sister work for the fey-FBI and are working to keep things nice and well, but it wasn't nice and well for so long.
A dark character from Subterranean Realms has big plans to invade both earthside and otherworld and because of short-staff issues due to an imminent war in the otherworld the sisters are facing demon ennemies with very little support.

Through the series we follows the sisters adventures with the demons, but also their relation to each other, their friends and let's say, multiple lovers!
Sister of the moon series is very interesting and you really notice the atmosphere related to each sisters as we get deeper in the story. The all have different past, Menolly's is particularly hard. The girls are great because even though they are strong and resourceful they aren't all mighty and it makes them more real to the reader.
I hope I got you curious, the series is real great and the author is lovely and reach-able. It is really worth it believe me =)

Thursday, July 09, 2009

Moving this weekend!

Hey Guys!
I thought I'd let you know I am moving this Saturday and won't have Internet at home until Thursday 16th, so I probably won't have any reviews posted 'til then. But I'll try to check in a couple of times! If you don't get an email answer right away worry not I'll get back to you soon enough!
Have a lovely weekend!
-Tynga

Wednesday, July 08, 2009

Some Giveaways

Here's some link to win come goodies!

*Shooting Stars Mag is giving away 1 copy of Jasmyn by Alex Bell. (31/07)

*No such thing as too many books is giving away Perfect Kisses by Susan Johnson, Sylvia Day and Noelle Mack, (10/07) , A Taste Of Magic by Tracy Madison (10/07),
Redneck Cinderella by LuAnn McLane (10/07), Lord Of The Forest by Dawn Thompson (10/07).

*SciFiGuy.ca is giving away The Purifying Fire by Laura Resnick (10/07)

*Anna's Book Blog is giving away Knight of desire by Margaret Mallory (15/07)

*Royal Reviews is giving away a choice of 3 different books (31/07)

*The book resort is giving away a copy of Eyes like stars (16/07)

*Suzanne McLaod is having a nice giveaway here (15/07)

Megan Crew is holding a contest for a next release Give up the ghost (20/07) you can also take a very cute quiz here.

Here was my result:

You're most like Cass!

result image

Cass McKenna has had it pretty tough--first her best friend turned the whole school against her, then she started seeing ghosts everywhere she looked. It's no wonder she's isolated herself from everyone but the dead. But Cass has a strong sense of morality, stubbornness to spare, and plenty of compassion for those who deserve it. When the popular kids are taking advantage of their more clueless peers, Cass isn't afraid to fight back.

Tuesday, July 07, 2009

Teaser Tuesday!


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
Here's my teaser:

"Often the mere washing of your clothes together leaves enough of a scent to let your lover know you care"

"If you vampire lover moves to a more private location in the middle of a conversation, be assured that he or she isn't spurning you. It's an invitation"

- Dead Witch Walking - Kim Harrison

Succubus on top - Richelle Mead

"Love hurts, and no one knows it better than Georgina Kincaid. If she so much as kisses Seth Mortensen, the shy, sexy, incredibly gifted Seattle writer she's been dating, she'll drain his life force. Georgina is a succubus - a demon who draws her power from other men's pleasure. Admittedly, the shapeshifting and immortality perks are terrific, and yes, Georgina did choose to join the ranks of hell centuries ago. But it seems completely unfair that a she-demon whose purpose is seduction can't get hot and heavy with the one mortal who knows and accepts her for who she is...It's not just her personal life that's in chaos. Doug, Georgina's co-worker at a local bookstore, has been exhibiting bizarre behaviour, and Georgina suspects that something far more demonic than double espressos is at work. She could use help finding out, but Bastien, an irresistibly charming incubus and her best immortal friend, is preoccupied with corrupting an ultra-conservative talk radio star - and giving Georgina some highly distracting come-hither vibes. Georgina is going to have to work solo on this one - and fast because soon, Doug's life won't be the only one on the line... " - Book Cover

Second book of the series, Succubus on top, was as addictive as the first one. Our lovely Georgie has her hands in multiple pies in the novel which may lead her into trouble.
Seth and her are in a growing relationship where touching and kissing is a big no-no but our lady still got to have sex with men to stay alive which may cause some trouble in heaven.
Not only that, but a old friend - literally - gets on the scene. Bastien, an incubus, comes in Seattle on his big horses with a mission to save his ass. He tasted the forbidden fruit and got to amend for it by seducing a high profile conservative radio hostess but it promise to not be that easy.
Like it wasn't enough Doug (Georgina's co-worker) got himself in trouble and our golden heart succubus will do all she can to get him out of it at the risk of her own life.

As series progress you get more and more found of Georgina and really hope that she can get that love life she deserve, Seth may or may not be the answer. Personally I'm not a big fan of Seth, but after reading forums and what not many woman falls for his shy and so comprehensive personality.

If you liked the first book you definitely wanna buy this one!

Read Excerpt

Georgina Kinkaid series:

Succbus Blues

Succubus on top

Succubus Dreams

Succubus Heat

Book stats:
  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Kensington (January 1, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0758216424
  • ISBN-13: 978-0758216427

Succubus Blues - Richelle Mead

"Succubus (n.) An alluring, shape-shifting demon who seduces and pleasures mortal men. Pathetic (adj.) A succubus with great shoes and no social life. See: Georgina Kincaid.

When it comes to jobs in hell, being a succubus seems pretty glamorous. A girl can be anything she wants, the wardrobe is killer, and mortal men will do anything just for a touch. Granted, they often pay with their souls, but why get technical?

But Seattle succubus Georgina Kincaid's life is far less exotic. Her boss is a middle-management demon with a thing for John Cusack movies. Her immortal best friends haven't stopped teasing her about the time she shape-shifted into the Demon Goddess getup complete with whip and wings. And she can't have a decent date without sucking away part of the guy's life. At least there's her day job at a local bookstore--free books; all the white chocolate mochas she can drink; and easy access to bestselling, sexy writer, Seth Mortensen, aka He Whom She Would Give Anything to Touch but Can't.

But dreaming about Seth will have to wait. Something wicked is at work in Seattle's demon underground. And for once, all of her hot charms and drop-dead one-liners won't help because Georgina's about to discover there are some creatures out there that both heaven and hell want to deny... " - Book Cover.

First of all, the book isn't what it may seem from first impression; it is not a novel full of extremely erotic sex scenes (even though there's 2 good ones).

Succubus blues is Richelle Mead's debut novel and let me tell you it is one fine debut! I read this book a few months ago, so I had to chance to read the first 3 books back-to-back and I had a very hard time to put them down.

Georgina has been "reborn" in ancient Greece and after centuries of seducing mortals and sucking their life energy she's kind of blaze. Working as an assistant manager in a book store and navigate through eternity dreaming of love, romance and kids. None of which is possible due to her deal with hell.

Mead built a world where hell is an administrative business, and Georgina is at the bottom of the food chain. Her 2 vampires buddies, an imp and her are the mains demons under Jerome (arch-demon with Johhn Cusack fantasies) control, who is more then friendly with a local angel, Carter.

Trouble starts when some immortals are found heavily beaten up or simply dead and heaven and hell rallies their fire power to eliminate the menace.

As mentioned before the novel isn't really action based (the end is one hell of an ending tho!), you cruise along with Georgina's trouble in her love life, or should I say lack of, you really come to love Mead's characters and feel for them. Kinkaid is one snappy little bitch when she wants to and what could be a very depressing situation turns out to be funny thanks to her sense of humor.

Read Excerpt

Georgina Kinkaid series:

Succbus Blues

Succubus on top

Succubus Dreams

Succubus Heat

Book stats:

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Kensington (March 1, 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0758216416
  • ISBN-13: 978-0758216410

Monday, July 06, 2009

Evermore - Alyson Noel

"After a horrible accident claims the lives of her family, sixteen-year-old Ever Bloom can see people’s auras, hear their thoughts, and know someone’s entire life story by touching them. Going out of her way to avoid human contact and suppress her abilities, she has been branded a freak at her new high school–but everything changes when she meets Damen Auguste.
Damen is gorgeous, exotic, and wealthy. He’s the only one who can silence the noise and random energy in her head–wielding a magic so intense, it’s as though he can peer straight into her soul. As Ever is drawn deeper into his enticing world of secrets and mystery, she’s left with more questions than answers. And she has no idea just who he really is–or what he is. The only thing she knows to be true is that she’s falling deeply and helplessly in love with him." - Book cover.

Evermore is the first novel of a new very interesting series, fans of Twilight, Vampire Academy and such won't be disapdointed with that novel! The cover attracted me at the book store, and even though I had never heard about the book I just had to buy it and let me tell you it was worth every single penny. Ever is definitely not your teen-next-door, she's got psychic power she'd rather not have: she can see aura's, read thoughts and.. see ghosts. In fact she sees one ghost: her little sister. Her sister is one cute little thing who adds a touch of lightness to the story. Everything gets mysterious when Damen "to new guy" shows up at her high school, the guy is smoky-sexy, secretive and he can silence the world for her. Most of the book their relationship is like a roller coaster, full of ups and downs and you have no idea if they will end up together or not. Most importantly we have no idea what Damen is, one thing is sure that guy isn't normal either.

I'd give the book a 8.5/10, I really enjoyed it! The story was different from the Vampire boost in popularity (not that I mind vampires, my all time favorite series is about them) , it's very refreshing. Second book release tomorrow and I'll sure review about it when I get the chance =)

Read an excerpt

The Immortals series:
Evermore
Blue Moon
Shadowland (?)

Book stats:
  • Reading level: Young Adult
  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin; 1 edition (July 7, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0312532768
  • ISBN-13: 978-0312532765

Sunday, July 05, 2009

Hunter's Prayer - Lilith Saintcrow


"Another night on the Nightside...An ancient evil looms over Santa Luz. Prostitutes are showing up dead and eviscerated. And Jill Kismet just might be able to get her revenge against an old enemy.

There's just one problem. Someone wants Jill dead--again. And if they have to open up Hell itself to kill her, they will.

Sometimes, even when you're Jill Kismet, you don't have a prayer... " - Book Cover.

Jill is never done protecting her territory and is once more dragged in a great thriller when pregnant prostitutes start showing up dead randomly with all their organs and eyes taken out: not for delicate stomach. Jill isn't alone anymore though and she thanks god everyday for it. Saul Dustcircle came back to her and they built a relationship as stable as it can get when you are a hunter. Kismet, Saul and Perry are knee deep in a very complicated series of events and try to sort it all out, not without loosing some feathers in the process.

Another great novel by Lilith Saintcrow: Jill is more and more interesting. She's facing her hunted past more then once in that novel and grow as a character. Near-death experience rains in a story full of action and Treason. We are left wondering what the heck it is with Perry and his weird games, we want to know what he is! Hopefully we will find out in the third book of the series.

Jill Kismet series:
Night Shift
Hunter's Prayers
Redemption Alley

Book Stats:
  • Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit; First Edition edition (September 1, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0316001767
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316001762

Night Shift - Lilith Saintcrow

"Not everyone can take on the things that go bump in the night.
Not everyone tries.
But Jill Kismet is not just anyone.
She's a Hunter, trained by the best - and in over her head.
Welcome to the night shift... " - book cover.

Jill Kismet is a hunter, her job is to exorcise the possessed, and destroys evil things that bumps in the night. She's not bright-white-clean either; she made a deal with a powerful hellbreed to increase her senses, her strength and gives her more power in the hunt. It doesn't come for free though and she owes the hellbreed monthly visit with kinky games. Everything goes to hell when something starts killing cops, lots of them, and weres comes in to help.

The novel has a great rhythm, fast pace action and Kismet is definitely entertaining. She has a very difficult past on the streets, and she's very determined to never go back down. After years of killing stuff and defending the innocents, she now has a sick sense of humor highlighted by "Get it? Arf, arf," everytime she shoots a bad joke for herself. Novel is full of very interesting characters and plot is very well built, you hang right on the suspense until the very end. English not being my first language I found the vocabulary a bit harder then what I'm used to, but it didn't interfere with my enjoyment. Bought the second book right when I finished the first one. Very promising series and third book is due for August 3rd.

Jill Kismet series:
Night Shift
Hunter's Prayers
Redemption Alley

Book stats:
  • Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit; 1 edition (July 1, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0316001783
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316001786

Policies

 
Thank you very much for your interest in Tynga’s Reviews!
 
Review Policies
 
We spend countless hours a week working on the blog, but blogging isn’t our job,thus why it’s necessary to include some guidelines regarding review copies.
 
First of all, you need to know that sending us a review copy does not guaranty a review, but we will post a review for each book that we read integrally. And even though we try very hard to review your books in a timely manner, we do not work under a time-limited frame.
 
Also, we never guaranty a positive review, but we promise you our review will be fair and honest, and we will never denigrate an author’s work. We will mention the reasons why we didn’t like a book if it’s the case.
 
Before sending us a review request please take a look at our Past Reviews List, if you think your book would fall in that category (mostly Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult Fantasy, some Dystopian & Steampunk), I'd be more than happy to hear from you!
 
We much prefer reading a series in order, so if the book you wish us to review is part of a series we haven’t read, we would appreciate you sending us the previous books as well.
 
Please that note that as of now, we do not review self-published material.
We accept bound and e-copies depending on the reviewer.
 
We do accept authors guest posts, but it has to be unique content (a.k.a we can’t find the same content on another blog).
 
STATUS: We are accepting review copies from our wish lists only (see nav bar), please specify which reviewer asked for this title when emailing me.
 
Fell free to contact me at tyngaUF(a)gmail(.)com if you need more information.
Thank you for your interest!
 
 
**** “In accordance with the new FTC Guidelines for blogging and endorsements, Tynga's Reviews would like everyone to know that we purchase most of our books for review, but you should know some books reviewed here at Tynga's Reviews were provided by the publisher or the author for free, in which case it will be specified on the review.” ****
 
Giveaway Policies
 

Here’s a list of general policies applying to all giveaways, unless stated otherwise.

  • When entering a giveaway on Tynga’s Reviews you agree to provide a name, mailing address and email address if you win, so we can send your prize.
  • Giveaways are ran using Rafflecopter. (see their privacy policy)
  • All contests are open to those 13 years of age or older. 
  • All contest winners will be announced on the original Rafflecopter form.
  • Winner will be expected to provide mailing address within 48 hours of announcement.
  • We are not responsible for items lost/damaged in the mail.
  • We can end a contest before its original deadline without any prior notice.
  • We can disqualify any entry as we see fit.
When entering any of our giveaways make sure you…
  • Check contest deadlines!
  • Check Shipping restrictions.
  • Follow giveaway instructions. 

If there are any problem with your prize (ex: you haven’t received it a month after you sent me your address), please contact me and I will see what I can do, but as stated above, I am not responsible for lost prizes.

Privacy Policies

At Tynga’s Reviews we consider the privacy of our visitors to be extremely important. This privacy policy document describes in detail the types of personal information is collected and recorded by www.tyngasreviews.com and how we use it.

Log Files
Like many other Web sites, www.tyngasreviews.com makes use of log files. These files merely logs visitors to the site - usually a standard procedure for hosting companies and a part of hosting services's analytics. The information inside the log files includes internet protocol (IP) addresses, browser type, Internet Service Provider (ISP), date/time stamp, referring/exit pages, and possibly the number of clicks. This information is used to analyze trends, administer the site, track user's movement around the site, and gather demographic information. Those statistics might be shared with advertisers but IP addresses, and other such information are not linked to any information that is personally identifiable.

Cookies and Web Beacons
www.tyngasreviews.com uses cookies to store information about visitors' preferences, to record user-specific information on which pages the site visitor accesses or visits, and to personalize or customize our web page content based upon visitors' browser type or other information that the visitor sends via their browser.

Our Affiliates

Tynga’s Reviews provides affiliate links (listed below)  Some of our advertising partners may use cookies and web beacons on our site. Our advertising partners include .......

  • Amazon
  • Book Depository

Each of them have their own privacy policies, which is their responsibility, and Tynga’s Reviews has no control over them. Tynga’s Reviews invites you to familiarize yourself with those policies for more detailed information on their practices as well as for instructions about how to opt-out of certain practices. Tynga’s Reviews privacy policy does not apply to, and we cannot control the activities of, such other advertisers or web sites.

If you wish to disable cookies, you may do so through your individual browser options. More detailed information about cookie management with specific web browsers can be found at the browsers' respective websites. What Are Cookies?

Children's Information
Tynga’s Reviews does not knowingly collect any personally identifiable information from children under the age of 13. If a parent or guardian believes that www.tyngasreviews.com has in its database the personally-identifiable information of a child under the age of 13, please contact us immediately and we will use our best efforts to promptly remove such information from our records.

Online Privacy Policy Only
This privacy policy applies only to our online activities and is valid for visitors to our website and regarding information shared and/or collected there. This policy does not apply to any information collected offline or via channels other than this website.

Consent
By using our website, you hereby consent to our privacy policy and agree to its terms.

Update
This Privacy Policy was last updated on: Tuesday, May 15th, 2012.tynsig

Shadow Kiss - Richelle Mead


" What if following her heart means Rose could lose her best friend forever?
Rose Hathaway knows it is forbidden to love another guardian. Her best friend, Lissa - the last Dragomir princess - must always come first. Unfortunately, when it comes the gorgeous Dimitri Belikov, some rules are meant to be broken…

But since making her first Strigoi kills, Rose hasn’t been feeling right. Something dark has begun to grow in her mind, and ghostly shadows warn of a terrible evil drawing nearer to the Academy’s iron gates. And now that Lissa and Rose's sworn enemy, Victor Dashkov, is on trial for his freedom, tensions in the Moroi world are higher than ever imagined . . .

Lying to Lissa about Dimitri is one thing, but suddenly there’s way more than friendship at stake. The immortal undead are on the prowl, and they want vengeance for the lives that Rose has stolen. In a heart-stopping battle to rival her worst nightmares, Rose will have to choose between life, love, and the two people who matter most…but will her choice mean that only one can survive? " - book cover

**Do not read if you haven't read frostbite**
After what happened at the end of frostbite Rose will never be the same again. Mason's death is really hard on her and reality of guardian's life has hit her like a wall. She's having a hard time focus at school, having a hard time with her guardian ultimate evaluation and she's feeling stalked by dark things. She's wondering if she's becoming crazy and she feels like she can't tell anyone. She's attracted more then ever to Dimitri and can't deny it anymore, but what will she do about it? Problems with the strogois aren't over and more intense action is to come!

Shadow kiss is the best novel of the three, I couldn't put it down! The suspense is so intense I had issues containing myself, I couldn't believe my own eyes. You feel like you're on the edge the entiere time and the relation ship between Rose and Dimitri is awesome, Rose and Adrian have that special bound as well that leaves you hanging for more. The novel is over-the-top-awesome, it's really hard to find words to describe how good it was. I just can't wait for Blood Promise to release on August 25th.

Read excerpt

Vampire Academy series:
Vampire Academy
Frostbite
Shadow Kissed
Blood Promise

Book stats:
  • Reading level: Young Adult
  • Paperback: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Razorbill (November 13, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1595141979
  • ISBN-13: 978-1595141972

Frostbite - Richelle Mead

"Rose loves Dimitri, Dimitri might love Tasha, and Mason would die to be with Rose...

It's winter break at St. Vladimir's, but Rose is feeling anything but festive. A massive Strigoi attack has put the school on high alert, and now the Academy's crawling with Guardians--including Rose's hard-hitting mother, Janine Hathaway. And if handto- hand combat with her mom wasn't bad enough, Rose's tutor Dimitri has his eye on someone else, her friend Mason's got a huge crush on her, and Rose keeps getting stuck in Lissa's head while she's making out with her boyfriend, Christian! The Strigoi are closing in, and the Academy's not taking any risks....This year, St. Vlad's annual holiday ski trip is mandatory.

But the glittering winter landscape and the posh Idaho resort only create the illusion of safety. When three friends run away in an offensive move against the deadly Strigoi, Rose must join forces with Christian to rescue them. But heroism rarely comes without a price... " - Book Cover.

Frostbite is the second book in the amazing Vampire Academy series written by Richelle Mead. The first book was great but the second one is even better. Rose is 6 months away from her graduation; she'll be a full fledged guardian. She has to meet a very well known guardian for an evaluation, and since he can't leave the moroi he is protecting, Rose and Dimitri heads out to meet him. Only what they found wasn't what they expected. The entiere royal family and their guardians have all been slaughtered, evidences points in the direction of an alliance between strogois and humans. School is now on a high alert and many guardians comes in to protect the young ones, including Rose's mother. All school is brought on a mandatory ski trip and Rose meets Adrian who's disliked by all her friends due to his reputation. He isn't the one who will get them in trouble tho. Everything goes wrong when 3 students leave the school wanting to take out a group of strogois by themselves and of course Rose can't let that happen. She's running after them with Christian and finds more then she wished for.
I am totally in love with Rose personality, her dilemma between Dimitri and Mason, her hard time dealing with her mother, her sense of honor and how she does everything to protect the ones she loves. She isn't perfect, she got her flaws and that's what makes her so interesting. You grow with her as the series develops. It is definitely my favorite series! Even tho it's young adult rated, I promise you adult will find their share of excitement in this novel. I was very glad I already had the third book of the series in my possession, waiting for the release would have been torture!

Read an excerpt
Vampire Academy series:
Vampire Academy
Frostbite
Shadow Kissed
Blood Promise
Spirit Bound

Book stats:
  • Reading level: Young Adult
  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Razorbill (April 10, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1595141758
  • ISBN-13: 978-1595141750